Need for Speed: Rivals Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
3.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 660 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Welcome to Redview County, where a street-racing rivalry between cops and racers never ends as both sides compete in all-out warfare featuring the fastest cars, mods and technology in a gritty open road environment. Play as either a copper or racer, where each side of the law has its own setWelcome to Redview County, where a street-racing rivalry between cops and racers never ends as both sides compete in all-out warfare featuring the fastest cars, mods and technology in a gritty open road environment. Play as either a copper or racer, where each side of the law has its own set of high stakes challenges, rewards and consequences. Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Need for Speed Rivals - Racer Personalization Gameplay Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Nov 19, 2013
    85
    Need For Speed ​​Rivals is fast-paced, convincing and fun above all. AllDrive beats down barriers between online and offline once and for all but the 30 FPS anchorage on PC would not be good for enthusiasts.
  2. Games Master UK
    Dec 19, 2013
    85
    A scintillating return to form that's all style...and no little substance. Blistering arcade racing. [Jan 2014, p.76]
  3. Nov 20, 2013
    80
    Rivals is a good street racer that adrenalizes again the Hot Pursuit brand with ludicrous speed and beautiful landscapes. The 30 FPS limitation on the PC screams revenge nonetheless.
  4. Dec 1, 2013
    80
    Need for Speed Rivals is a fun and enjoyable racing game that sports really nice looking visuals and a strong multiplayer mode. There's nothing really new and incredibly exciting, but everything works fine.
  5. Nov 27, 2013
    79
    The good news: Rivals tops The Run and Most Wanted. The bad news: Rivals does not live up to the great Need for Speed legacy. If you are playing solo, racing Redview County is fun for a few hours, but the longer you play, the more repetitive and boring the gameplay gets.
  6. Nov 22, 2013
    75
    It's most certainly a launch title racer and it's not doing much to rectify that. I'm reminded of the limited scope of Motorstorm as a launch racer for PS3. Like Motorstorm, however, the core Gameplay is solid enough to earn a recommendation to NFS fans.
  7. Nov 25, 2013
    50
    Simply put, while Rivals can be fun with the right people and in the right doses on the right platforms, it is very poorly suited to PC gaming.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 156
  1. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    This game is a blast to play. Fun game for fans of the franchise and arcade racing fans in general. I feel like this game is what Most WantedThis game is a blast to play. Fun game for fans of the franchise and arcade racing fans in general. I feel like this game is what Most Wanted should have been. Handling has improved, more customization options than ever before, and the multiplayer (which, is basically the whole game considering you're always connected to other people) is innovative and fun. Being able to race other players with the press of a single button is awesome, and the presence of player cops will always keep you on your toes (haven't tried the cop career yet, though I imagine it's a blast taking everyone's speed points).

    Only negative is the game isn't amazingly optimized for the PC. I have a few hiccups while running it (though, for comparison, I have none at all while running Battlefield 4).

    This game was a great buy with the $10 off code from McDonald's for Origin. There is plenty of content and replay value to be worth $40 over and over again.
    Expand
  2. Dec 2, 2013
    8
    NFS Rivals Breaks the rules of stereotype driving arcade games.
    The game presents an any of new cars with reasonably good handling. All cars
    NFS Rivals Breaks the rules of stereotype driving arcade games.
    The game presents an any of new cars with reasonably good handling. All cars ar fully customizable from performance hardware to outlooks. The races are good and enjoyable, added with a new feature of instant head-to-head challenge mode, that allows you to randomly challenge any passer-by racer. The game puts an end to the old lobby based multiplayer system allowing the players to challenge each other in a head-to-head battle or group race directly by spotting each-other in-game. The game takes alot from its ancestors: Hot Pursuit (2010) and Most Wanted (2012) by clubbing up the best of both games. What still lacks is the presence of a strong story, which just like its predecessors it lacks to copme up with. One last and very important thing Being capped on 30 FPS is just a NOOB's excuse to dislike such a marvellous game, because any simulation below 24 FPS is considered jerky or laggy above 24 fps, the smoothness just rises. So please think logically before offending unreasonably. Thank You
    Expand
  3. c3p
    Jan 22, 2014
    6
    It would be nice if you could pause when you are only playing with bots.
    FPS is not that bad, but it is worth 1 point in my opinion.
    What i
    It would be nice if you could pause when you are only playing with bots.
    FPS is not that bad, but it is worth 1 point in my opinion.
    What i dislike most is that the map is pretty useless, i would like to zoom it out much further.
    Expand
  4. Nov 19, 2013
    1
    Avoid, if you can. If you have to have it, buy it for a console.

    In short: -bad port, - locked at 30 FPS (Can't change it in the options.
    Avoid, if you can. If you have to have it, buy it for a console.

    In short:
    -bad port,
    - locked at 30 FPS (Can't change it in the options. Console commands make the game go nuts speed up) ;
    **** GUI no mouse control IG (maps); Tutorial is pointless (Cant skip); Cut-scenes (Cant skip),
    -Customization is "Limited" (Why can't we tune our cars like we could in the Underground (2), Most wanted, carbon ?)
    -no in car view... only 2 choices, 3rd person view or pumper.

    The list goes on and on, it's the same need for speed we've seen in the last few years. again.
    Expand
  5. Apr 16, 2014
    0
    Cant play the game my gamepad is not supported, why the hell only work xbox controller. seem they are not supporting the gamers anymore,i amCant play the game my gamepad is not supported, why the hell only work xbox controller. seem they are not supporting the gamers anymore,i am done with nfs their last releases are crap anyway. Expand
  6. Nov 23, 2013
    0
    DO NOT BUY THIS GAME INTENTIONALLY INSERTED DUNG INTO THIS PC PORT. No Mouse support for menus, No AA. I can live with those draw backs BUTDO NOT BUY THIS GAME INTENTIONALLY INSERTED DUNG INTO THIS PC PORT. No Mouse support for menus, No AA. I can live with those draw backs BUT Artificial 30 frames per second cap just RUINS the game completely. This game should be rated minus 10 as PC gamers have been robbed. EA should of put a warning sticker on the game "EA INTENTS TO SHAFT YOU OVER" So people can make informed decision before buying.
    I though limiting to 30 FPS would be a stupid business decision.
    Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2013
    0
    DISGUSTING!
    hard coded to 30 fps, game runs double speed if changed to 60 fps.
    the 10/10 reviews are FAKE! DO NOT BUY! it is obvious they
    DISGUSTING!
    hard coded to 30 fps, game runs double speed if changed to 60 fps.
    the 10/10 reviews are FAKE! DO NOT BUY!
    it is obvious they did not spend anytime developing the PC version.
    Expand

See all 156 User Reviews

Trailers