Need for Speed: The Run Image
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 478 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Need for Speed The Run lures players into an underground world of illicit, high-stakes racing. The heat is on – and it isn’t just the fuzz who are after you. Entering the race is just the beginning as you blow across borders, weave through dense urban traffic, rocket down icy mountain passesNeed for Speed The Run lures players into an underground world of illicit, high-stakes racing. The heat is on – and it isn’t just the fuzz who are after you. Entering the race is just the beginning as you blow across borders, weave through dense urban traffic, rocket down icy mountain passes and navigate narrow canyons at breakneck speeds. Powered by DICE’s state-of-the-art Frostbite 2 engine, Need for Speed The Run takes the action racing genre to new heights with stunning visuals and car physics that hug the road even at top speeds all built around a gripping storyline. The cars are hot, the racing is intense and the story will have you at the edge of your seat… all the way from the Golden Gate Bridge to the Empire State building. Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Need for Speed The Run - Limited Edition Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Nov 24, 2011
    90
    While points have to be docked for the annoying QTEs, the rest of The Run is amazingly exhilarating. The set pieces left us panting for breath, unable to process what had just happened, and the excitement level only dropped to 'really exciting' in between.
  2. Dec 7, 2011
    81
    In the wake of full-fledged car and driver series like Gran Turismo, Forza Motorsport, and Test Drive Unlimited, the inflated expectations around The Run make it seem like more of a letdown than it really is.
  3. Nov 18, 2011
    79
    EA studio Blackbox fails to combine a fast paced racing experience, Battlefield 3 graphics with a good entertaining and satisfying story in Need for Speed: The Run. While the action is fun and the different settings look very good, the Frostbite Engine 2.0 could have been used slightly better on PC and the story could actually be a story: not just an excuse to send some uninteresting dude from A to B.
  4. Nov 21, 2011
    70
    Racing purists may thumb their nose at it, but if you're the kind of person who prefers Burnout over Gran Turismo, you'll eat it right up.
  5. 68
    The Run bragged about revolutionizing the NFS series with an enticing story and memorable gameplay. Unfortunately, the story was better off missing in action and the only things that are memorable from the gameplay are its shortcoming: no freedom of choice, no Free Roaming, no Replay, no cockpit camera, no choice of races in multiplayer.
  6. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 19, 2012
    60
    Innovation at all cost doomed NFS The Run – for every good idea comes a terrible one, and even the best ones are buried by technical issues. [Christmas 2011]
  7. Dec 27, 2011
    53
    Tiresome racer that only takes two hours to complete, yet somehow feels longer. That's both impressive and depressing.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 108
  2. Negative: 37 out of 108
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    From dazzling scenery to spectacular set pieces, this is a worthy entry in the need for speed franchise. The frostbite 2 engine makes theFrom dazzling scenery to spectacular set pieces, this is a worthy entry in the need for speed franchise. The frostbite 2 engine makes the whole world just stuningly beautiful and there is only so much that words can describe. Intense white knuckled racing is absolutely addicting. The autolog helps you compete with your friends and makes the game so much more competitive. Multiplayer is splendid and is even more enjoyable with friends as winning gives you much bragging rights. A huge variety of cars to choose, from vintage muscles to modern supercars. This game gives you that adrenaline feeling that few games on todays market offer. A must have for any racing fan, be it arcade or sim fan. This game is absolutely fun and I have no idea why IGN gave it such a crappy score. The only thing I agree with their review is that this game is slightly short but that may perhaps be that Im enjoying myself so much and finished the game too quickly which leaves me craving for me. This game is a masterpiece. Expand
  2. Sep 16, 2020
    10
    Лучшая во всем каждая трасса уникальная держит напряжение,проходил много раз одна из любимых нфс.Лучшая во всем каждая трасса уникальная держит напряжение,проходил много раз одна из любимых нфс.
  3. Mar 28, 2020
    9
    If you don't compare it with other NfS games The Run is a great action-oriented cinematic racing game. Multiplayer is dead because of cheatersIf you don't compare it with other NfS games The Run is a great action-oriented cinematic racing game. Multiplayer is dead because of cheaters though. Wonder why people don't like it that much. Expand
  4. Feb 19, 2019
    7
    Too bad there was only few fine tracks with nice action that I really enjoyed. But this tracks (like in mountains) was so good that I mustToo bad there was only few fine tracks with nice action that I really enjoyed. But this tracks (like in mountains) was so good that I must score it as a really good game. Expand
  5. Oct 29, 2016
    5
    Probaly worst NFS that ive played and actually finished. Only thing going for it are the for the time amazing first time out of BattlefieldProbaly worst NFS that ive played and actually finished. Only thing going for it are the for the time amazing first time out of Battlefield games used Frostbite engine graphics which make roads and scenery look amazing, but from there it just goes down hill at break neck speed.

    Driving first of all feels just awful, no matter which car you drive they all feel like boats on 4 wheels with abysmal handling. Also pretty much all cars sound like vacuum cleaners. Idea of panUSA race is a great one, but poorly executed. Racer AI is insanely rubber banded and scripted not letting you pull ahead if youre a good driver. Narrative is just cringe worthy and stupid action out of the car QTE segments just kill it. Youre also faced against mafia hit squads in Cayennes that can keep up and over take your Audi R8 V10 and other super cars making the gameplay even more frustrating and to top it all off throw machine gun mounted helicopters at you.

    All that makes me think whether EA wanted to make a Call of Duty game or NFS. In the end it seems they made an ugly love child of both of them.
    Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2011
    3
    first of all, the pc version is capped at 30 fps
    secondly, there is no AA
    thats what we get for the "exclusive pc version" ea and black box -
    first of all, the pc version is capped at 30 fps
    secondly, there is no AA
    thats what we get for the "exclusive pc version" ea and black box - hello? frostbite engine in dx 11 with 30 fps cap and no AA? you call that 3 years of development?
    at the start of the game it tells you to press LT & RT on the keyboard. where is that on my keyboard? i cant find it. OH wait its on the controller. how are we meant to press controller keys on the damn computer keyboard???

    and last but least, the singleplayer is 2 hours short, including cutscenes and retries 3 hours

    2 hours singleplayer and **** console port and asking us for $60 ($90 for aussies)?
    Expand
  7. Jul 6, 2020
    0
    J'ai vu ça dans un bac à jeux soldés pour je ne sais plus combien, sans doute une poignée d'euros ou une poignée de figues si on est prêt àJ'ai vu ça dans un bac à jeux soldés pour je ne sais plus combien, sans doute une poignée d'euros ou une poignée de figues si on est prêt à négocier... mais c'était il y a un sacré bout de temps et le jeu est resté sur une étagère, car après tout, qui va se précipiter sur la daube Need For Speed annuelle, même quasiment donnée...? surtout quand elle date et sent même un peu la daube renfermée avec le temps !

    Mais j'avais une 6870, puis je l'ai changée pour une R9 380 (il y a un certain temps aussi) alors j'ai installé les deux disques (de quoi d'ailleurs se rendre compte que la procédure d'installation est incroyablement mal faite dans "Origin", le lanceur EA mais passons...) puis j'ai lancé le merdier, m'attendant comme d'habitude... à de la merde.

    Je n'ai été au début qu'à moitié déçu, car ces "sprints" (sous forme d'épreuves) qui m'ont l'air inspirés des "The Croûte" d'Ubisoft sont étonnamment plus proches de l'esprit des premiers sinon du tout premier NFS avec beaucoup de circulation sur des voies rapides ou des nationales plus lentes et tutti quanti...! et c'est plutôt sympathique a priori, la voiture se maniant de façon moins merdique que d'habitude... ah bah ça alors...!

    D'autant que le jeu est vraiment très beau mais... il est bloqué à 30 im/s sur le PC, tu le crois ça ? jouer à 30 im/s sur PC, t'es sérieux, là, "EA" ?!?... un patch est arrivé (quand même... depuis le temps je suppose !) qui a permis de débloquer la synchro qui s'envole alors jusque n'importe où, ce qu'on évite en général (sauf si on a un moniteur G-sync machintruc bien sûr) car ça fait des fluctuations importantes de framerate et des sensations de ralentissements... Heureusement, il y a Afterburner le petit programme très pratique de MSI pou bloquer la synchro déssynchro à 60 et on se rend compte alors que le jeu ramouille encore pas mal à 57, 58 et ainsi de suite...!

    Surtout en vue capot, moins en vue externe cela dit... mais le pire (quand même) pour un jeu de 2011 (!) c'est qu'avec la 380, je me cantonne au 720p pour maintenir donc à peu près les 60 im/s selon les courses, c'est dingue, ça...! de toute façon, aucun réglage ou détail graphique n'est réglable parce que chez EA on s'en bat les couilles du PC et du reste, tu comprends...

    De toute façon, le jeu se révèle vite désagréable puisque la difficulté y est mal fichue avec des pics impromptus et inexplicables selon les épreuves ; lassé, vite lassé de recommencer ce jeu qui ne tourne pas bien, lassé de ne pouvoir -pas- zapper ces cinématiques de merde, je quitte et je désinstalle cet étron technique aux jolis paysages certes mais un étron inacceptable quoi qu'il en soit : 2011 le jeu, putain, et c'est une patate !
    Expand

See all 108 User Reviews

Trailers