Need for Speed Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 371 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: One of the first things you’ll notice when tackling the front of your car is the ability to modify your stance. Whether you are changing the ride height by slamming it to the ground, raising it up, or anything in between, you choose your perfect ride height. Throw in options for rake andOne of the first things you’ll notice when tackling the front of your car is the ability to modify your stance. Whether you are changing the ride height by slamming it to the ground, raising it up, or anything in between, you choose your perfect ride height. Throw in options for rake and both front and rear track width, and you’re on your way to creating something truly unique. Suspension tuning is finished up with your camber. With the angle on both the front and rear wheels being set independently you’ve got the ability to create some truly out of this world looking cars. The PC version has new features, including unlocked framerate with 4K resolution, manual transmission, and steering wheel support for a selection of steering wheels. Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Need for Speed - Official Gamescom 2015 Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Mar 10, 2016
    82
    Quotation forthcoming.
  2. Mar 10, 2016
    80
    A good game enriched thanks to the support of the steering wheels, the manual transmission and 60 frames per second.
  3. Mar 10, 2016
    79
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. Mar 9, 2016
    75
    Ghost Games used those four months since the initial console release well: Need for Speed runs very slick on modern PCs and looks stunning. The low difficulty is a major flaw though.
  5. Mar 25, 2016
    70
    After Need for Speed Undercover the core NFS-games seemed to have become lost glory. This new Need for Speed however marks the return of those core Need for Speed elements and shows that the voice of the fans really is heard by the developers.
  6. Mar 10, 2016
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. PC PowerPlay
    May 9, 2016
    50
    Yeah it looks amazing but [*FISTBUMPS*] do not a good racing game make. [Issue#250, p.69]

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 96
  2. Negative: 48 out of 96
  1. Mar 15, 2016
    10
    Huehue hue hue hueee hueee heue, this is the best nfs I've played in the years, I don't know why people voting negative for this game, becauseHuehue hue hue hueee hueee heue, this is the best nfs I've played in the years, I don't know why people voting negative for this game, because this game has nothing that is bad, everything about this game is good, unless ur hater or something that's why ur voting negative for this game, such a shame Expand
  2. Dec 17, 2016
    10
    I had to wait for a new graphics card to play as it runs on Graphics Core Next (GCN) Architecture. In my opinion, running on an average ADSLI had to wait for a new graphics card to play as it runs on Graphics Core Next (GCN) Architecture. In my opinion, running on an average ADSL line, it's the best Need For Speed yet! I have played about 4 hours now and have no issues with latency or connectivity. This is true to it's roots Need For Speed. I'm running the graphics on Ultra and it looks and sounds amazing. Gameplay is very smooth and there is no frame loss on a my new gen card. Vehicle customization is epic and the best it's ever been, especially the performance upgrades. Don't expect big damage when you slam into obstacles because it's not a sim. Loading times are a little long but all in all a solid arcade style racer. Expand
  3. Oct 1, 2020
    8
    Only thing I can hold against this game is it's online only DRM, But it's fun meeting drivers in the game, the game is fun with a quirkyOnly thing I can hold against this game is it's online only DRM, But it's fun meeting drivers in the game, the game is fun with a quirky characters. very fun to play, I got the deluxe edition for cheap on origin. Expand
  4. Mar 22, 2016
    4
    Here are the main reasons for my rating:
    First thing that i dislike about this game is the fact that its always online. Your internet dies in
    Here are the main reasons for my rating:
    First thing that i dislike about this game is the fact that its always online. Your internet dies in the middle of the race you get booted to the welcoming screen for being a filthy pirate i guess.
    Then there the controls which are sluggish cars feel like you are driving tanks. I played with the XBox controller so i do not know how it plays with keyboard or wheel, but controller was horrible.
    You can change handling of your car with the tune-able parts to drift focused or grip focus. Drift focus mean that it will be near impossible to drive straight while grip means you will have turning circle of a supertanker a middle road means that you will start drifting but next second you are driving dead straight into the wall. Anyway handling is absurd is what i meant to say.
    Next on the list AI and difficulty. There are races with three difficulties easy medium and hard. Depending on the race it is more like extremely easy somewhat easy and almost challenging. AI cars are super dumb and thanks to the fact that races take place in the open world you will often smash into AI racers that are just driving around getting in way. Also other human players can come over and ruin you races with no consequence to themselves so that is fun too.
    Cops in this game are utterly pointless they never catch anyone all they do is annoy you with sirens flashing lights and when you will inevitably escape you will get blinding blue flash to let you know. Also getting chased by cops prevents from restarting events.
    On the point of restarting races if you do restart you will be teleported to the event starting place and will have to watch loading screen and unskippable race intro again.
    And a 1000 more minor annoyances like interface some controls are remapable some not etc all add up to make game with great potential into frustrating mess.
    Anyway when my internet dropped i played NFSMW (2005) and it was so much better than this how is it possible they could not make a decent NFS in 11 years?
    Expand
  5. Jul 8, 2016
    3
    This game is just bad...It tries too hard to be edgy altrough the **** acting was actually entertaining to me. The always online feature isThis game is just bad...It tries too hard to be edgy altrough the **** acting was actually entertaining to me. The always online feature is extremly dumb and I despise it also I despise Origin, it's a piece of **** software that never works as it should. The graphics in my opinion are plain horrible with water drops looking like glitter, I don't mind the always night setting but it's ALWAYS raining which is stupid. What I also hate is the framerate, on a really decent, if not powerful system (Overclocked i7-920 and HD7970) it ran pretty bad, with frame drops from 40-50FPS to 5FPS at random for absolutely no reason. If your graphics card can't run TAA, don't even consider buying this, it's plain awful without it, one of the ugliest games I have EVER seen when that setting is turnt down to FXAA or plain off, the rain-drops are UGLY under the light and I freaking hate the graphics, I think I emphesized on that enough. Also another horrible thing, and the worst of all is the bloody handling, it is SO SO BAD, my Foxbody couldn't do a **** u-turn without needing to drift.

    Plain and simple, don't buy it.
    Expand
  6. May 19, 2016
    2
    A dumpster fire of incompetence. A huge disapointment. Just go play forza horizon 1. Even the CREW is better. Underground 2 and MW 2005 areA dumpster fire of incompetence. A huge disapointment. Just go play forza horizon 1. Even the CREW is better. Underground 2 and MW 2005 are much more fun.

    Good points:
    the graphics are good, but nowhere near as great as in the screenshots
    some nice choice of cars
    great sound
    cheesy, but fun cutscenes

    Bad points:
    The handling is just **** The cars are zero fun to drive. Also drifting is obligatory. Grip setup? go **** yourself to the last place and nothing more. Without the drift stability assist the driving is even more god awful.
    The cops are useless. No joke, they are not a threat. The **** handling is more of a threat.
    The car customization is bollocks. The 240sx has some, the rest is 1 or 3 at max options. The rim choice is good though.
    The AI opponent rubber banding is terrible. I dont even want to think what it was before the supposed patches.
    No sense of progression- the game just flails around.
    Forgettable city. All the bends are the same.

    This game is a waste of money. Its just plain bad. It might be okay if it was made some 3rd rate dev at a 3rd world country jungle clearing, but no, ghost games had the money, and they have the skill somewhere, but this game is just a ****ing piece of **** DO NOT BUY IT. DO NOT BUY IT.
    **** EA.
    Expand
  7. Sep 26, 2019
    0
    Невероятно плохая игра, в которой плохо все: начиная от графики и управления и заканчивая обычной ездой по городу. Я бы поставил отрицательнуюНевероятно плохая игра, в которой плохо все: начиная от графики и управления и заканчивая обычной ездой по городу. Я бы поставил отрицательную оценку, но такой нет. Очень жаль потраченных денег! Expand

See all 96 User Reviews