User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 36
  2. Negative: 2 out of 36

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 18, 2022
    10
    The game is so fast quick and great love the story of being a demon angel hybrid, not a huge fan of card gameplay but neon white does it in a way where it’s not terrible so it’s just the best game ever
  2. Jun 20, 2022
    10
    outstanding game, don't sleep on it. It does everything right and knows exactly what game it wants to be.
  3. Jun 18, 2022
    10
    Found this hidden gem during Steam demo event and have been excited about it ever since. Finally, it's here.

    Best game of 2022 so far.
  4. Jun 17, 2022
    10
    KekdksskskwkwowowjnwnwosihdsusjsusveggwJdisishsjsousvshsKsisosjndoskshsHdjsjs
  5. Jun 21, 2022
    10
    The best speedrun game for those who don't like speedrun games.
    Excellent pace of gameplay and a good combination of genres.
  6. Jun 17, 2022
    10
    FOR FREAKS, BY FREAKS!
    This game is one of the most fun games i have ever played.
    Its just plain and simply fun.
    Amazing soundtrack as well
  7. Jun 18, 2022
    6
    Neon White is a mix of great gameplay, mediocre story, and really, really poor performances. It's not entirely on the voice actors - the script is pretty lifeless and there appears to have been very little (if any) direction given to tie the performances together (or to secure a second line reading when the first completely whiffed).
    The story is kind of filler but not necessarily in a
    Neon White is a mix of great gameplay, mediocre story, and really, really poor performances. It's not entirely on the voice actors - the script is pretty lifeless and there appears to have been very little (if any) direction given to tie the performances together (or to secure a second line reading when the first completely whiffed).
    The story is kind of filler but not necessarily in a bad way; it's just that none of the beats come across clearly or strongly. Every performance sounds like a miscast person reading the script for the very first time. The worst performance rests with the protagonist, who sounds like a middle-aged man trying and failing to portray a young adult.
    Again, great gameplay, but the story and characters are an unavoidable significant part of the game. Think of the worst anime dub you've ever heard. Get ready for that.
    Expand
  8. Jun 25, 2022
    0
    Game shiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiit!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  9. Jun 19, 2022
    9
    This game is really, really fun.
    Loved how much it challenged me.
    The characters are really funny.
    The gameplay is super creative and makes you feel like a gifted ninja.
    The only down side is the character progression and story, the dialogues unlocked feels really empty and shallow.
  10. Jun 18, 2022
    9
    This game has been a surprise for me. I bought it on a whim and it's just been super addictive. I thought the story would be total **** but it's been enticing enough. Definitely recommend for anyone who kind of enjoys time trials similar to Trials the sidescroll bike game. Though it's in the form of an FPS it scratches that itch for me.
  11. Jun 27, 2022
    10
    Easily the best game to come out this year, bar none. Great action platformer, tons of high octane fun, great soundtrack, great and very fitting graphics style, a wealth of content in the main "story" and a surprising amount of side-story content. The game is also very skill based, there's very little RNG here (mostly confined to accuracy spread of some weapons). It's a lot of fun,Easily the best game to come out this year, bar none. Great action platformer, tons of high octane fun, great soundtrack, great and very fitting graphics style, a wealth of content in the main "story" and a surprising amount of side-story content. The game is also very skill based, there's very little RNG here (mostly confined to accuracy spread of some weapons). It's a lot of fun, especially if you like to challenge yourself for the best times on levels - game is honestly closest to Trackmania in terms of its base philosophy, and it delivers on all fronts a fun experience, enjoyable for a casual player and even better for anyone looking to test their abilities. Expand
  12. Jun 23, 2022
    7
    A cool speedrunning game where its mostly about reflex and thinking on your feet, you dont need to memorize the maps or cards to get aces.
    The story has a Shin Megami anime style and its like Hades where it just serves as a breather between missions, i didnt care much for it.
  13. Jun 19, 2022
    9
    A great game, there have not been such indie games for a long time that would be so catchy with their story, gameplay and atmosphere, I advise Quake fans to play, but I agree with the person who wrote that voice actors are terrible, unfortunately this is the case
  14. Jun 19, 2022
    9
    What a great game! I love speedrunners like Ghostrunner, Cyber Hook and a bit of Mirror's Edge. But Neon White just brings another trick to the rush of running as fast as possible, a system with "cards/weapons" that will help you finishing each level by learning the level itself and understanding how much faster is it possible to beat it.
    I rushed through the story (reason below) and
    What a great game! I love speedrunners like Ghostrunner, Cyber Hook and a bit of Mirror's Edge. But Neon White just brings another trick to the rush of running as fast as possible, a system with "cards/weapons" that will help you finishing each level by learning the level itself and understanding how much faster is it possible to beat it.
    I rushed through the story (reason below) and didn't finish any side quests.
    The text is a bit cringe, but the voice acting helps a lot.
    The story is interesting but nothing much from it, just different.
    The gameplay is the best in this. Great re-playability value!!
    Expand
  15. Jun 21, 2022
    10
    I think this game hits a very specific niche of people. Do you like speedrunning games and trying to achieve the best time possible? Do you like FPS games or games in general with a focus on movement (Apex, Titanfall, Mirrors Edge)? Fan of anime or visual novels? If so, this is the game for you. I have never left a review on this site, but I see this game isn't getting much traction and inI think this game hits a very specific niche of people. Do you like speedrunning games and trying to achieve the best time possible? Do you like FPS games or games in general with a focus on movement (Apex, Titanfall, Mirrors Edge)? Fan of anime or visual novels? If so, this is the game for you. I have never left a review on this site, but I see this game isn't getting much traction and in my opinion this is the second best game of the year so far, very close behind Elden Ring. Improving my times by milliseconds and climbing the global/friends leaderboards is extremely fun. Also, the music rocks. I'd give it a go. Expand
  16. Jun 22, 2022
    10
    The most fun and fast game i've played all year no stress chill game where you break your own PR and feel like you've acomplished something every time you play it with a great story behind it and great voice acting
  17. Jun 24, 2022
    9
    incredible gameplay fast and quick not to frustrating and the game make you want to do the level again and again to have the best time possible. the story is good but you can be spoil if you give to much gift at the begining of the game
  18. Jun 30, 2022
    9
    Neon White is a game you'll love if you're all about the gameplay, because in that department it offers fast paced platforming & decision making to culminate in a constantly rewarding & enjoyable gameplay loop of running through a level, checking your time, replaying said level to collect gifts for other characters & then replaying it again & again & again to shave those precious few extraNeon White is a game you'll love if you're all about the gameplay, because in that department it offers fast paced platforming & decision making to culminate in a constantly rewarding & enjoyable gameplay loop of running through a level, checking your time, replaying said level to collect gifts for other characters & then replaying it again & again & again to shave those precious few extra seconds off the clock. Neon White not only encourages improvement with tight level design & easy to grasp mechanics, it makes you feel like a badass every time you get an ace trophy after dominating a stage, & it does not get old. On the other hand, If you play games for the story then unfortunately all Neon White has to offer are a mixed bag of vocal performances, stiff & sometimes cringeworthy dialogue & a story that doesn't exactly break new ground in any way. The writing style in this game reminds me of the Danganronpa series, but not for any of the positive aspects Danganronpa may have. All in all, if you enjoy the dopamine rush of effortlessly clearing a stage that you've come to know like the back of your hand in an experience a la Doom Eternal, then Neon White will leave you more than satisfied. The game sits at a fairly affordable indie price point of $31.99 CAD & will provide you plenty of bang for your buck if you don't want to splurge on a full price AAA title. Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Jun 28, 2022
    100
    Neon White is a video game vision executed with the kind of immense creativity and skill the industry needs more of. Intensely satisfying gameplay combines with a well-executed story, engaging characters and a crisp art style. Every facet compliments another area of the title with a serene cohesion which culminates in an adrenaline pumping, high-octane blockbuster of a game. Neon White is a very strong contender for my game of the year, and if you own a Switch or PC you owe it to yourself to experience this incredible title. Failure is common in Hell, but only through trial can you reach the salvation of Neon Heaven.
  2. Jun 27, 2022
    90
    As you run, jump, and dash your way through Neon White, you’ll not only find yourself comfortably falling into the natural rhythm of each platforming puzzle, you’ll also find yourself eager to replay stages and beat your previous score, or your friends’ scores, or both.
  3. Jun 27, 2022
    85
    You might love or loathe Neon White's willfully cringe anime storytelling, but these blistering platforming time trials are a heavenly delight.