User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 261 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 261

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 4, 2018
    2
    While it markets itself as a story-based game, there is little actual story until well over the halfway point of the game. Since the game is largely devoid of a discernible narrative, the dialogue and character interactions should pick up the slack. If one is going to meander through a story, at least make it entertaining meandering, right? Unfortunately this isn't the case in Night inWhile it markets itself as a story-based game, there is little actual story until well over the halfway point of the game. Since the game is largely devoid of a discernible narrative, the dialogue and character interactions should pick up the slack. If one is going to meander through a story, at least make it entertaining meandering, right? Unfortunately this isn't the case in Night in the Woods.
    The dialogue is as meandering as any story and is more often than not unbearable trite. It can only be described as fruitless padding written by a person who has not once interacted with another human being. When the dialogue isn't busy being dull and monotonous, it takes itself to the opposite extreme and is unbearably obnoxious with its constant failed, out of place and out of character attempts at wit.
    Visuals are just about the sole bright spot on an otherwise embarrassingly horrid game.
    Expand
  2. Jun 26, 2017
    2
    This barely qualifies as a game. It's one small step above a visual novel. The only gameplay is jumping from one area to the next to initiate dialogue with each different character.

    People are praising this story because the characters are realistic and relatable, but that's exactly why I don't like it. Real life is mundane, banal, and boring, and so are the real life worries that the
    This barely qualifies as a game. It's one small step above a visual novel. The only gameplay is jumping from one area to the next to initiate dialogue with each different character.

    People are praising this story because the characters are realistic and relatable, but that's exactly why I don't like it. Real life is mundane, banal, and boring, and so are the real life worries that the characters have in this game. The writers are very presumptuous and opinionated about how they think life should be and they use their boring and uninteresting characters as a mouthpiece. It comes off as whiny to me.

    The mystery/supernatural element is the only interesting thing about this game, and it takes a while to come to fruition.

    Not my cup of tea. I play games for larger than life characters facing epic challenges. If you're into visual novels you may enjoy it.
    Expand
  3. May 2, 2017
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I loved the art. The character designs, music, and background art was one of my absolute favorites. Despite that, the story was unbearable. It seemed to have no purpose other than "we're young and we hate everything", which may be relatable to some individuals. But if you don't necessarily identify with a shoplifting, knife wielding, wanna-be rebel who constantly refers to themselves as "trash" and is a jobless college dropout looking for ghosts and vandalizing graves... this isn't for you.

    In addition, the plot was extremely confusing and at times had forced subplots (such as the cult) which were completely out of place. The dream sequence and having to walk back-and-forth constantly was tedious and felt like fluff. This can also be applied to the dialogue, where there were constant fillers of "..." and choppy sentences with the overuse of "like" and "ugh". With that said, none of the characters were likable or relatable, and were generally the same in terms of speech pattern and behavior. The game also did not provide the freedom of exploring or making choices.
    Overall, this would have been much better if it was a movie rather than a game.
    Expand
  4. Jan 6, 2018
    2
    So now, in perspective:

    Its not a real game, there is not a real interaction, so its close to a walking simulation. And there are a lot of stunning walking simulation in the market. This is not one of them. The 2d art is fine, but its not great. In fact, its fine for a flash game. In comparison with The Vanishing of Ethan Carter (another walking simulator), this game is really meh.
    So now, in perspective:

    Its not a real game, there is not a real interaction, so its close to a walking simulation. And there are a lot of stunning walking simulation in the market. This is not one of them.
    The 2d art is fine, but its not great. In fact, its fine for a flash game. In comparison with The Vanishing of Ethan Carter (another walking simulator), this game is really meh.
    The music is ok.
    And the story, if you are a teen and you don't get it, then may be this game is for you. My father was hippies (real hippies, not those wannabes) but they never tried to brainwashed me like the current SJW. This game is plain SJW propaganda and its cheap.

    Its even directly anti capitalist and its curious, an anti-capitalist game that you could buy using the credit card of your parents. Evil parents and evil credit card company but everything else is OK.. right?. I don't get the current SJW movement and im glad that i don't understand it, thank you very much.

    And about the game, is... lineal, it has some exploring features and mini games but in general is boring.

    2 points: its not really a game, the graphics are meh, the history is meh and only gets 2 points because the music. Everything else is meh. I would give 6-8 points for a free game but its not for free, so nah!.
    Expand
  5. May 30, 2017
    0
    Unberably slow, primarily because of the structure of the dialogues, made of micro-statements ("hello" (click) "hello" (click) "it's me" (click) "oh it's you" (click)), which ends up in very frustrating button mashing. Shame, because the artwork is very interesting.
  6. Jan 16, 2018
    4
    Very awkward game. First off, there is not even enough justification for it to be a game. Gameplay consists mostly of holding "left" and a bunch of minigames which are too simplistic and uninspired to be enjoyable (Demontower is alright though).
    90% of content here is dialogue but the characters rarely have anything interesting to say. It's mostly fluff which is also delivered in the
    Very awkward game. First off, there is not even enough justification for it to be a game. Gameplay consists mostly of holding "left" and a bunch of minigames which are too simplistic and uninspired to be enjoyable (Demontower is alright though).
    90% of content here is dialogue but the characters rarely have anything interesting to say. It's mostly fluff which is also delivered in the least engaging way possible. There are often scenes when characters act emotional and energetic but there is no indication of it whatsoever, no body language, no animations, no voice acting, not even ambient sound or music. It's just static picture with text for most of the time. RIP immersion.
    Overall, it's one of the most boring games I've ever played
    Expand
  7. Feb 25, 2017
    3
    i knew nothing about this game before going in. didn't even watch the trailer just say the art style and genre. unfortunately the pace is just way way to slow. i even fell asleep playing it. it mostly focuses on the narrative on not any real type of gameplay. i kept feeling this would make a much better short graphic novel.

    i like the art style and the music but it's not enough to keep
    i knew nothing about this game before going in. didn't even watch the trailer just say the art style and genre. unfortunately the pace is just way way to slow. i even fell asleep playing it. it mostly focuses on the narrative on not any real type of gameplay. i kept feeling this would make a much better short graphic novel.

    i like the art style and the music but it's not enough to keep me entertained.

    oh and another annoyance is the linearity. i recall early on going to the video store looking for angus, speaking to some girl there who never spoke of angus... that is until, i'd gone to another store spoke to someone who said angus was at the video store and when i went back the girl she now spoke of angus.
    Expand
  8. May 14, 2017
    3
    I repetitive side-scroller about a college dropout, bisexual cat with "issues". From a technical standpoint, the engine is terrific. The town is busy and lively. But it's linear story really is just walking back and forth talking to people with an occasional weak puzzle thrown in. It gives you the illusion of choice while it forces you to follow it down its liberal agenda in the guise of aI repetitive side-scroller about a college dropout, bisexual cat with "issues". From a technical standpoint, the engine is terrific. The town is busy and lively. But it's linear story really is just walking back and forth talking to people with an occasional weak puzzle thrown in. It gives you the illusion of choice while it forces you to follow it down its liberal agenda in the guise of a secret cult story. Expand
  9. Apr 9, 2018
    2
    Pro: Characters
    Con: Pacing
    Holding the control stick to the left or right between dialogue sequences, bad mini-games occurring about once every hour, and about 10 hours of setting up characters who are mostly irrelevant when the plot finally gets moving and wraps up in the last hour and a half. As a webcomic I would have liked this, but as a video game I think this is one of the
    Pro: Characters
    Con: Pacing
    Holding the control stick to the left or right between dialogue sequences, bad mini-games occurring about once every hour, and about 10 hours of setting up characters who are mostly irrelevant when the plot finally gets moving and wraps up in the last hour and a half.

    As a webcomic I would have liked this, but as a video game I think this is one of the worst uses of the medium I've ever seen. If you want some fiction about relatable young adults, I strongly recommend you look elsewhere.
    Expand
  10. May 12, 2019
    0
    This game is absolutely terrible. it lacks any game play what so ever so the only thing it relies on is the dialogue and story and needless to say both are horrendous . your choices have practically 0 effect on the story and no one talks like real people. I've seen many people praise this game for how natural the dialogue is but it all boils down to the words "like" or "ugh" with many textThis game is absolutely terrible. it lacks any game play what so ever so the only thing it relies on is the dialogue and story and needless to say both are horrendous . your choices have practically 0 effect on the story and no one talks like real people. I've seen many people praise this game for how natural the dialogue is but it all boils down to the words "like" or "ugh" with many text boxes only containing 1 of those 2 words, or lol random xD middle school humor, you know when a kid says "lol muffinz" thats as deep as the humor gets . if you think this is how real 20 year old acts you've probably spent all of high school and middle school writing fan fiction. The story itself is nothing, you walk around at a snails pace reading the most boring or unfunny dialogue until the last hour of this around 9 hour snooze fest when they try to force a crappy murder mystery down your throat. the story has no setup aside from someone mentioning a murder off hand like twice and it does not connect at all to the rest of the game nor does it make any sense. As much as game theory wants you to think this game is a metaphor for something all kids go through theres just no deeper meaning here. its just unrealistic characters doing and saying mundane things. theres no game play aside from walking at .2 mph(and like 2 terrible minigames) and theres no story that you cant get from scrolling down tumblr in 2012 its just a complete waste of 9 hours. Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. May 23, 2017
    100
    A warm, moving tale of alienation and redemption in the era of late stage capitalism.
  2. Games Master UK
    May 19, 2017
    85
    A delightfully different narrative experience that offers the perfect blend of serious and silly. [Apr 2017, p.79]
  3. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Apr 18, 2017
    100
    Beautifully created adventure game will catch you not only for its visuals, but mainly by the way it observes the problems of young adults. [Issue#273]