Night in the Woods Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 260 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Night In The Woods is a 2D story-focused adventure/exploration game with many extracurricular activities to enjoy, characters to meet, and secrets to discover. Run, jump and use astral projection to explore the many sides of town of Possum Springs and the surrounding environs. Waste timeNight In The Woods is a 2D story-focused adventure/exploration game with many extracurricular activities to enjoy, characters to meet, and secrets to discover. Run, jump and use astral projection to explore the many sides of town of Possum Springs and the surrounding environs. Waste time around town with your crew of loser friends. Gain abilities that grant passage to new areas. Discover the secrets of a large cast of characters and the town itself. Experience a big crazy world and the remarkable events unfolding there. Play bass. Break stuff. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Night in the Woods - Announcement Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. May 23, 2017
    100
    A warm, moving tale of alienation and redemption in the era of late stage capitalism.
  2. Mar 14, 2017
    100
    While slow in patches when it deviates from its core strengths, or occasionally fiddly in its mini-games, the game is buoyed by its dialogue, warm and charming art style, and Holowka’s soundtrack, which keeps even the occasionally clunky platforming from feeling too tedious.
  3. Apr 2, 2017
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. Feb 25, 2017
    87
    Its ability to swerve from the amusing hijinks of its vibrant heroes into very real, and very serious subject matter without feeling forced or unnatural was a pleasant surprise that kept me invested in its character drama long after I’d said goodbye to Possum Springs for the first time. But just like Mae, I know I’ll be back soon.
  5. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Mar 24, 2017
    85
    Anthropomorphic animals of Night in the Woods are far more humane, honest and touching than human-like robots of many other games that try to tell a simple, down-to-earth story. [Issue#218, p.58]
  6. Mar 2, 2017
    85
    Witty, smart and great to look at, there are many worse ways to spend your time than a Night in with Night in the Woods.
  7. Mar 1, 2017
    75
    Night in the Woods is a charming game. I was fascinated by its general atmosphere, graphics and music, which I found amazing. It’s a good adventure overall, with very well written dialogue, but its bare mechanics made it relatively boring for me. The player doesn’t really have to do that much, remaining extremely passive. It’s interesting how the designers were able to deal with difficult themes such as depression, anxiety and child abuse in a very congenial way, without sounding too inane or obnoxious, but they did put a lot of accent on these aspects making the real plot marginal.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 49
  2. Negative: 10 out of 49
  1. Feb 28, 2017
    10
    This is amazing indie games of 2017 I have a huge blast playing it. I like the characters in the game. The art is to dead for it so stuckThis is amazing indie games of 2017 I have a huge blast playing it. I like the characters in the game. The art is to dead for it so stuck in my head. I give these game a awesome 10/10 best kick starter game! Collapse
  2. Jul 16, 2017
    10
    Absolutely amazing game, I'd recommend it to about anyone. The story is very good and the music through the whole game is beautiful, the gameAbsolutely amazing game, I'd recommend it to about anyone. The story is very good and the music through the whole game is beautiful, the game is probably the only one I'd want a squeal to. Expand
  3. Jul 1, 2017
    9
    Night in the woods is a 2D story-driven platformer made by Infinite Fall and Finji.
    I've seen a lot of good reviews for this game which got
    Night in the woods is a 2D story-driven platformer made by Infinite Fall and Finji.
    I've seen a lot of good reviews for this game which got me interested, so I decided to play it and I loved it.

    Night in the woods has one of the strongest and most mature stories I've seen in quite a long time, it has a lot of different themes that I can really relate to and it does have a good mystery. The characters are lovable and relatable, the main character is a very flawed person but you do feel sorry for her and you don't want to see her in pain, the other characters are funny, sarcastic and they also have a lot of moments where you do feel for them and near the end I was almost in tears.

    The gameplay has surprisingly a lot of variety, it's mostly walking around and talk to different people but the game has a lot of mini-games, which makes the game a little more unique.
    But the gameplay is probably the weakest part of the game, but that's okay because the story did carry the entire experience and it's refreshing sometimes.

    I do believe it's worth paying 20 bucks to play this game, it took me 8 hours and it does have some replay value so I do recommend it, it's for now my favourite story of 2017.
    Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2018
    8
    Loved the story, characters, the town vibe, graphics, soundtrack, but should this be a game? We don't do much except walking and sometimesLoved the story, characters, the town vibe, graphics, soundtrack, but should this be a game? We don't do much except walking and sometimes picking up pizza slices or playing bass etc. Don't get me wrong, I still liked it, but they could've give us more to do. All in all this game was an amazing experience. Pickens approves! Expand
  5. Sep 16, 2017
    7
    This game looks beautiful, the graphics are simple but well done and allow the creators to tell a very adult tale with the visuals of aThis game looks beautiful, the graphics are simple but well done and allow the creators to tell a very adult tale with the visuals of a child's cartoon. The story is interesting but not complicated, and the characters are very likeable. I loved the whole feel and had fun pottering around this world for a bit. The controls are few and very basic so not much to learn and won't stretch your brain. Some of the dialogue was a bit excessive, and I admittedly lost patience a couple of times. The dream sequences are nice although there are a lot of them and they're almost identical, the soundtrack suited them perfectly. All in all this game was a good ride, presented well and not overly challenging. It has a brilliant sense of humour, and I very much enjoyed it. Expand
  6. Nov 17, 2018
    6
    Visual part of the game is great. Animation and characters looks pretty well. But quests, story and dialogs are very poor, After hours andVisual part of the game is great. Animation and characters looks pretty well. But quests, story and dialogs are very poor, After hours and hours of reading tons of dialogs you really understand that they miss something important. Maybe they or writers. I think Bethany Hockenberry, one of the writers, simply copied herself in all of characters of the game so they had different story, different life, but they all speak and sound identically. And the story... You play and play game waiting for something really interesting to happen but it doesn`t. And in the end when main story finds its final shape you asking yourself and that`s all you wanted to tell? Expand
  7. May 12, 2019
    0
    This game is absolutely terrible. it lacks any game play what so ever so the only thing it relies on is the dialogue and story and needless toThis game is absolutely terrible. it lacks any game play what so ever so the only thing it relies on is the dialogue and story and needless to say both are horrendous . your choices have practically 0 effect on the story and no one talks like real people. I've seen many people praise this game for how natural the dialogue is but it all boils down to the words "like" or "ugh" with many text boxes only containing 1 of those 2 words, or lol random xD middle school humor, you know when a kid says "lol muffinz" thats as deep as the humor gets . if you think this is how real 20 year old acts you've probably spent all of high school and middle school writing fan fiction. The story itself is nothing, you walk around at a snails pace reading the most boring or unfunny dialogue until the last hour of this around 9 hour snooze fest when they try to force a crappy murder mystery down your throat. the story has no setup aside from someone mentioning a murder off hand like twice and it does not connect at all to the rest of the game nor does it make any sense. As much as game theory wants you to think this game is a metaphor for something all kids go through theres just no deeper meaning here. its just unrealistic characters doing and saying mundane things. theres no game play aside from walking at .2 mph(and like 2 terrible minigames) and theres no story that you cant get from scrolling down tumblr in 2012 its just a complete waste of 9 hours. Expand

See all 49 User Reviews