Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Feb 9, 2021
    100
    Nioh 2 is a refinement of an already great game. The biggest flaw in my opinion of the previous title was that it was difficult to hop into. Truly getting to know a moveset required an investment that wasn’t always easy to recover, and trying to put together a build felt foolish for anything you’d replace down the line. Now it feels a lot more open to experimentation. Everything I loved about the original is still here of course. There’s more stylish moves than ever to learn, and the bosses are more than happy to slam me to the mat any time I start getting overconfident.
  2. Feb 4, 2021
    95
    Nioh 2 on PC is the same great and challenging experience. It’s packed with content that spans a lengthy timeline of nightmares making this release a must for anyone who held out on the PS4 version or who can’t get enough. The graphical options only make a great game better, but even after 120 hours, I still don’t understand anything about this plot.
  3. Feb 4, 2021
    95
    With a huge amount of content and a tightly designed, challenging action RPG experience, Nioh 2 – The Complete Edition is a game that can keep those willing to delve deep into its gameplay systems engaged for hundreds of hours. Despite some issues, like incorrect button prompts for mouse and keyboard controls, optimization problems and visuals not much improved over the PlayStation 4 release, the PC version is a solid port that's worth your money, especially if you have the system capable of taking advantage of exclusive features like Ultrawide resolutions and up to 120 FPS gameplay.
  4. Feb 9, 2021
    92
    Nioh 2 runs and plays beautifully. Ever since Dark Souls set the world alight, FromSoftware have had plenty of imitators come for the crown. Often, even the better ones come with the caveat of not being as good. Nioh 2, though, evolves what was already unique about Nioh into something that Team Ninja can very much call their own. It might be operating in the same genre space, but Nioh 2 has its own flavour, and it’s like nothing else out there.
  5. Feb 17, 2021
    90
    Nioh 2 is a superb sequel that builds upon its predecessor by adding massive amounts of new content, enhanced combat, and deep character customization.
  6. 90
    Nioh 2: Complete Edition carves out its own identity, standing tall as an evolution of the Souls formula instead of a derivative.
  7. Feb 5, 2021
    90
    From Software might have started this genre, but Ninja Theory is hot on their heels when it comes to quality. Nioh 2 is an achievement. It’s equal parts challenging and rewarding, with a loot system that rocks, a combat system that is deep and nuanced, an online component that adds to the experience, and great performance on PC. I haven’t enjoyed myself this much in a long time. If you enjoy games of this subgenre and haven’t yet experienced Nioh 2, the time is now. Jump in, test your mettle, and become the samurai that world of Nioh so desperately needs.
  8. Feb 4, 2021
    90
    Ultimately, if you’re lucky enough to have a PS5, that’s the format to get Nioh 2 – The Complete Edition on. If not, the PC version will serve you well. There will be hiccups along the way, however, at least until DLSS arrives or any other performance-improving updates. But even those technical issues can’t get in the way of how fantastic Nioh 2 is to play, especially when all it takes is a bit of experimentation with settings to find the perfect balance.
  9. Feb 4, 2021
    90
    Nioh 2: The Complete Edition is an excellent Soulslike that features superb combat mechanics, great level design, a beautiful world, and more, and the upgrades and bonuses that come with the Complete Edition are the cherry on top.
  10. Feb 4, 2021
    90
    Nioh 2 - The Complete Edition manages to give budding yokai hunters even more to do, and whether you missed the PS4 version of the game or not, it's definitely one to sink your teeth into if you fancy a challenging experience.
  11. Feb 2, 2021
    90
    Nioh 2 isn’t a game for everyone. It requires real dedication to learn to an even functional level, and it’s not a game that lends itself to quick pop-in sessions or returning to after playing something else for a while. But, like a coconut or your really introverted friend, there’s beauty to be found beneath the hard exterior. Team Ninja has made a fantastic addition to the still-young souls-like genre, and I’m incredibly happy that the experience is no longer limited to the PlayStation consoles.
  12. Feb 8, 2021
    89
    I think Nioh 2 is one of the most underrated titles of 2020 and launched at a dreadfully inopportune time. Thankfully, The Complete Edition brings all of the new missions, weapons, magic, and ninjutsu skills that were added post-launch and brings it to PC. This is by far my favorite Souls-like or Soulsborne game and I applaud Team Ninja for pushing Nioh to an elevated status in Nioh 2 and introducing new mechanics, like Burst Counter, instead of letting the combat remain static. Despite the lack of graphical options to choose from, Nioh 2 still ran fantastic and much smoother than on my PS4 Pro. If you are at all interested in a new and challenging Souls-like game, or just love grinding for loot, then Nioh 2 – The Complete Edition is a must-buy on PC.
  13. Feb 21, 2021
    86
    Nioh 2 is more about refining its core gameplay than making radical changes. By adding extra layers of depth to its well-tempered mechanics, it offers a high-quality Action-RPG which retains its unique identity, despite some technical issues. Last but not least, it's a more inviting experience this time around, but as it happens with all Souls-like games, player's commitment is mandatory to progress.
  14. Feb 25, 2021
    85
    Nioh 2 Complete Edition is not a flawless PC port and is not technically stable, but still delivers for those who never had the chance to try it on PS4.
  15. Feb 16, 2021
    85
    Nioh 2 is an excellent game on PC and if you were a fan of the first one, this is a must-buy. If you haven’t played the original, I hope the review gave you a sense of what the game is like. Are myriad of complexities in action games something that gets you excited or do they sound like needless distractions? I personally lean more to the minimalist side, but when a game pulls off its mechanics as well as Nioh 2, I don’t mind diving in once in head-first.
  16. Feb 8, 2021
    85
    Nioh 2: The Complete Edition does everything that's expected from a sequel. The original game's mechanics remain as tight as ever, with the new additions slotting in perfectly without upsetting the overall balance. The game remains as tough as ever, but the deaths never feel cheap, and while the depth of the various skill trees and mountains of loot may scare away those who aren't used to this sort of thing, it works perfectly for those who want something different in their masochistic action games. Nioh 2 features a ton of content and the ability to play co-op, so Soulsborne fans will likely be playing this one for a long time.
  17. Feb 8, 2021
    85
    The title remains as formidable as ever. Nioh 2 thus manages to find a rare balance: that of a demanding and accessible action game, where fans will enjoy as much (if not more) than in the first opus.
  18. Feb 4, 2021
    85
    Nioh 2 represents the end of a year-long journey, made up of hundreds of hours of content and a decent technical optimization.
  19. 85
    Our time with the complete edition of Nioh 2 proved to be really positive, an element that leads us once again to praise the care with which Team Ninja tries to involve PC users, offering them an extremely dignified port of their game. The presence of all three additional contents published for the title guarantees not only an almost inexhaustible fun, given the new stories and modes, but also a good and interesting closure for a story that will leave a mark on the soulslike scene. A word of warning: make sure your PC is within the hardware requirements.
  20. Feb 19, 2021
    80
    Nioh 2 – The Complete Edition is a phenomenal game. And while I would personally recommend getting it on PS4 over PC due to personal circumstances, there really isn’t a whole lot else to say about this game that isn’t some form of praise. If you’re a fan of the original Nioh, or soulslike games in general, this is absolutely something worth picking up. And for those of you who aren’t so accustomed to games like this one? Well, so long as you go in with the right mindset and strive to keep improving yourself, you should end up loving it, too.
  21. Feb 8, 2021
    80
    The best way to play Nioh 2 today. Substantial technical and performance improvements only clouded by small PC issues we trust will be fixed soon.
  22. Feb 3, 2021
    80
    Nioh 2: The Complete Edition is a good souls-like, with balanced level design and a deep battle system. The plot is told in short cutscenes and it is rich and evocative enough to engage the player. Sadly, although the port is ok (with some stuttering), the reuse of old assets is excessive considered we are talking of a next-gen edition.
  23. Feb 4, 2021
    75
    As great as it is frustrating, Nioh 2 will resonate more with people who like the thrill of constantly dying suddenly. The game is brutal, the camera kind of sucks, and a lot of the enemies get old fast. But it's also got extraordinary depth and a bevy of complicated systems that offers players plenty to dig into.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. I'd hesitate to renew that Nioh 2 prescription if you're someone who's already invested many hours into the PS4 version. Apart from the DLC and the swanky performance upgrades, you aren't really getting anything actually new (apart from an RGB Valve helmet, I suppose). Having said that, I think Nioh 2: CE is absolutely worth it if you're fresh to Nioh and like crunchy, combo-laden combat. Even moreso if you love stats and skill-trees on top of that.
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 90 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 90
  2. Negative: 32 out of 90
  1. Feb 6, 2021
    0
    a beautiful game totally ruined by awful controls and awkward mappings for the PC version
  2. Feb 6, 2021
    0
    I really don't understand why they ported the game in such a bad state. Game Controls are a complete disasters! They should tell me how are weI really don't understand why they ported the game in such a bad state. Game Controls are a complete disasters! They should tell me how are we supposed to play the game whis way? It's a nightmare. And every pop-up which keeps appearing on the screen refers to the console version key bindings, you will be blown away and stop playing it because it's annoying. Graphics is also very bad and not optimized. Textures are dull and seem from a game released in 2009-2010 Full Review »
  3. Feb 6, 2021
    3
    Extremely lazy port of what could be a great game. Literally pain to play if you do not have PS4 controller (even is you have XBox one). AvoidExtremely lazy port of what could be a great game. Literally pain to play if you do not have PS4 controller (even is you have XBox one). Avoid at all costs - play PS4 version if possible. Full Review »