Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. Aug 29, 2016
    75
    No Man’s Sky has very clear problems. Its mechanics are insubstantial, with the crafting and inventory management systems being a particular exercise in tedium. Yet its scale and beauty is unmatched by any other game I’ve ever seen. It does things no other game ever has. It’s tempting to call No Man’s Sky “decent, but not great,” but that undersells both the game’s successes and its failures. No Man’s Sky is incredible, awe-inspiring, and profoundly disappointing.
  2. Aug 22, 2016
    75
    In the end, No Man's Sky is an addicting grind fest of a game that can successfully lure players looking for a relaxing experience of discovery further and further into the vast unknown. It's not action packed, nor is it story intensive. At times it is an intriguing push forward, at others it is a slow burn of slow travel. No Man's Sky certainly isn't for everyone.
  3. Sep 20, 2016
    70
    No Man's Sky is not the fever dream I imagined when I saw the first trailer. However, it is still an amazing technical feat, even if it's still rather full of bugs.
  4. Aug 29, 2016
    69
    For the time being, No Man's Sky on PC runs slightly better than the console versions, the control system doesn't work very well with the mouse + keyboard combo, and that's about the only differences worthy of being mentioned. All the potential of the game and the disappointment are still there.
  5. Aug 18, 2016
    68
    Despite its missed opportunities and forgotten promises, I’m still glad I dropped the money to experience No Man’s Sky. It’s something unique in a world where most of what we get are sequels or off-shoots. Fortune favors the bold, and I hope this is just the beginning of the type of innovation we can expect to see from Hello Games. And frankly, I hope they take all the time they need with their next game.
  6. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 11, 2016
    67
    No Man's Sky breaks the record in falling short of the hype – which is an incredible achievement in the category of super ambitious space games. The huge universe is a repetitive, lifeless and meaningless place, no amount of random generated creatures can change that. The most unforgivable fail is making the spaceship such a pain to fly, which makes exploring the vast universe simply a chore. However, at its best the game is epic and many of the issues should be easy to fix, so this might not be the end of the journey after all. [Sept 2016]
  7. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Sep 21, 2016
    65
    No Man’s Sky is a textbook example of how overenthusiastic PR can hurt a game: in the end, bar was raised so high that fans expecting things that weren’t even promised. To meet such demands, NMS had to be a breakthrough space game with revolutionary procedural generation system and unbelievably advanced AI. Since Hello Games couldn’t conceivably deliver, they should’ve used pre-launch interviews to state, time and again, that it’s just an indie space exploration game with a very routine gameplay loop. [Issue#212, p.50]
  8. Aug 18, 2016
    64
    Relaxing exploration and some lovely scenery coupled with repetitive systems, frustrating menus, and a lack of real discovery.
  9. PC PowerPlay
    Oct 2, 2016
    60
    It's partially broken, shallow, repetitive and aimless, but hang me, I still kind of love it. [Issue#255, p.56]
  10. Edge Magazine
    Sep 27, 2016
    60
    While some poorly designed systems and mechanics chip away at your patience, the feeling of flying seamlessly from space down to a peninsula you spotted from orbit never fails to enthrall. [Nov 2016, p.106]
  11. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Sep 14, 2016
    60
    If you enjoy the game art and somewhat hypnotic aimlessness of wandering through generated universe, you could wander for another five or ten years. Otherwise, you leave the game after a few hours never to come back. [Issue#266]
  12. Aug 22, 2016
    60
    Absolutely bursting with breathtaking vistas, No Man's Sky works best as a stellar walking sim. Sadly the half-baked survival elements only detract from the experience.
  13. Aug 21, 2016
    60
    An impressive piece of technology capable of generating some truly gorgeous vistas, the game layered on top however disappoints in almost every way and just has no depth. Planets are fun to wander around whilst gathering resources to move on but you won’t linger.
  14. Sep 13, 2016
    50
    An atmospheric walk through the beautiful worlds soon become a routine stereotype because of very poor game mechanics. It's also drowned by its technical flaws. It can bring some brief relaxation, but isn't immersive enough for deep and long gameplay.
  15. Aug 22, 2016
    50
    I guess the strongest thing I can say is: I’m struggling to want to play No Man’s Sky again, let alone contemplating getting to the centre of its universe.
  16. Aug 29, 2016
    47
    No Mans Sky would've made an excellent tech demo of something greater yet to come, or as a $20 independent game from a studio trying to find its footing. It certainly doesn't live up to what was once a marquee title during one of Sony's E3 press conferences, and it doesn't come close to justifying its $60 asking price. No Man's Sky had so much potential in delivering a game that compelled and rewarded unbridled exploration. That it fails to do so only makes its shortcomings more striking, and it's disappointing when compared to how the game was described leading up to its release.
  17. Sep 1, 2016
    20
    Procedural generation is not an end. It is a means to an end. But there is no such end in No Man’s Sky. It’s endless randomness for the sake of endless randomness. It does what it does because it can, not because it should. I would describe it as procedural generation in search of a game, but it’s worse than that. It has found its game. And the game is hollow and awful.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Aug 15, 2016
    Don't just wait for a sale; wait for a major overhaul.
  2. Oct 19, 2016
    Few games in recent memory have been as open to a metaphorical interpretation as No Man’s Sky, bleak though many of those interpretations may be. You are alone, voiceless and bodiless, casting about in an endless copy-paste universe. You will only find peace when you accept that you’re never going to find what you were looking for.
  3. This likely reads as an overwhelmingly negative review, and it’s deserved – No Man’s Sky is massively flawed, and systematically poorly designed. But it’s also a massive playground of potential and opportunity, and its sheer ambition, for all its massive stumbles, is rewarded in play. It’s bloody awful that the whole time I’ve been playing, the dozens of hours on PC this weekend, I’ve been thinking about the PS4 hastily hooked up to the TV at the other side of my office and wishing I were still playing over there.
User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 2326 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Aug 12, 2016
    4
    Its very dissapointing to say the least. Ironically, it makes me appreciate Elite: Dangerous much more than ever before.

    My biggest problem
    Its very dissapointing to say the least. Ironically, it makes me appreciate Elite: Dangerous much more than ever before.

    My biggest problem is how on rails the space flight feels, and how poorly the game looks and performs. I don't think its a bad game, just not worth 60 dollars. I'd certainly consider getting it on discount price.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 12, 2016
    0
    Must say I'm amazed at this.... it actually runs worse than Arkham Knight on release on this computer.

    Concerning the game content, doesn't
    Must say I'm amazed at this.... it actually runs worse than Arkham Knight on release on this computer.

    Concerning the game content, doesn't matter if there's a lot of sand in a desert when each piece looks the same
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 12, 2016
    2
    First hour or two are amazing. Then you suddenly realize you've finished the game, nothing new to see.
    gazillion planets. all the same,
    First hour or two are amazing. Then you suddenly realize you've finished the game, nothing new to see.
    gazillion planets. all the same, boring, nothing to do.
    You see one planet, you saw them all. After 2-3 hours its just repetitive grind, no motivation to go further, random landscapes are just reskinned things you've already seen. Old stuff in different colors.
    Full Review »