No Man's Sky Image
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
3.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 2318 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: No Man’s Sky is an exploration and survival game set in an infinite procedurally generated universe. Whether a distant mountain or a planet hanging low on the horizon, you can go forth there. You can fly seamlessly from the surface of a planet to another, and every star in the sky is a sunNo Man’s Sky is an exploration and survival game set in an infinite procedurally generated universe. Whether a distant mountain or a planet hanging low on the horizon, you can go forth there. You can fly seamlessly from the surface of a planet to another, and every star in the sky is a sun that you can visit. Where you’ll go and how fast you’ll make you way through this universe is your decision. Explore uncharted solar systems and catalog unique new forms of life. Every planet’s landscape is different from the next and populated by species never before encountered. Acquire ancient artifacts that may reveal the secrets behind the universe. Choose whether to share your discoveries with other players. You won’t see them, but they’re exploring the same universe in parallel; perhaps you’ll make your mark on their worlds as well as your own. Every solar system, planet, ocean and cave is filled with danger, and - make no mistake - you are vulnerable. Your ship and suit are fragile, and every encounter may test your skills to the limit. From dog-fighting in space to first-person combat on a planet’s surface, you will face foes ready to overwhelm you. One mistake could see you lose it all. In No Man’s Sky, every victory and every defeat is permanent. The voyage that stands before you cannot be taken lightly. You must prepare. Collect precious resources on the surfaces of planets and trade them for the ships, suits and equipment that will take you to your destiny in the stars. Expand

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
No Man's Sky - Fight Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. Aug 29, 2016
    75
    No Man’s Sky has very clear problems. Its mechanics are insubstantial, with the crafting and inventory management systems being a particular exercise in tedium. Yet its scale and beauty is unmatched by any other game I’ve ever seen. It does things no other game ever has. It’s tempting to call No Man’s Sky “decent, but not great,” but that undersells both the game’s successes and its failures. No Man’s Sky is incredible, awe-inspiring, and profoundly disappointing.
  2. Sep 20, 2016
    70
    No Man's Sky is not the fever dream I imagined when I saw the first trailer. However, it is still an amazing technical feat, even if it's still rather full of bugs.
  3. Aug 18, 2016
    68
    Despite its missed opportunities and forgotten promises, I’m still glad I dropped the money to experience No Man’s Sky. It’s something unique in a world where most of what we get are sequels or off-shoots. Fortune favors the bold, and I hope this is just the beginning of the type of innovation we can expect to see from Hello Games. And frankly, I hope they take all the time they need with their next game.
  4. Aug 21, 2016
    60
    An impressive piece of technology capable of generating some truly gorgeous vistas, the game layered on top however disappoints in almost every way and just has no depth. Planets are fun to wander around whilst gathering resources to move on but you won’t linger.
  5. PC PowerPlay
    Oct 2, 2016
    60
    It's partially broken, shallow, repetitive and aimless, but hang me, I still kind of love it. [Issue#255, p.56]
  6. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Sep 14, 2016
    60
    If you enjoy the game art and somewhat hypnotic aimlessness of wandering through generated universe, you could wander for another five or ten years. Otherwise, you leave the game after a few hours never to come back. [Issue#266]
  7. Sep 1, 2016
    20
    Procedural generation is not an end. It is a means to an end. But there is no such end in No Man’s Sky. It’s endless randomness for the sake of endless randomness. It does what it does because it can, not because it should. I would describe it as procedural generation in search of a game, but it’s worse than that. It has found its game. And the game is hollow and awful.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Aug 13, 2016
    10
    First off, I want to state that I am not having any of the problems that were reported minutes after the games release yesterday (8/12/2016).First off, I want to state that I am not having any of the problems that were reported minutes after the games release yesterday (8/12/2016). I am seeing a few stutters in the frame rate, but that's really about it.

    I love exploration games. Flight Simulator, Train Simulator, Minecraft, Creativerse, 7 Days to Die, Fallout 4 the GTA franchise even Starbound. I can spend hours just wandering around looking at what the game or developer generated for me to explore.

    No Man's Sky is pretty much the ultimate version of that type of game. With 18 Quintillion world in just one (of possibly many) galaxies, there is just no limit to my exploration bug.

    World generation is crazy, making Minecraft look tame, The creatures and plants that live on these worlds are straight out of 1960's SciFi book covers and comic books.

    There is even an underlying story to the four major races in the game (if there are four, I have only found one so far).

    If I had any complaints, it would be inventory management or the early lack of inventory space is a pain. However I could say the same for pretty much every game I mentioned above. You can fairly quickly start increasing those spaces by finding objects on the planets that will increase your suits inventory.

    A nit pick would be that planets usually don't bunch up together like they have here. There should be planets all around their star. I should have to fly past the star to get to planets that might be on the other side. Not the case here. They are all pretty much bunched up together. Physics wouldn't allow this, but hey. It's a game not a true simulator.

    That's really it. The fact that there is probably one one "hand drawn" object in the game, the main alien races mentioned earlier. Everything else is put together by the game, Ships, Multi-tool guns, plants, animals, planets, everything. So far, they all look fantastic.

    If you are into Minecraft, Creativerse, 7 Days to Die, you will be dropping those games in favor of No Man's Sky for quite some time. I absolutely recommend this one!
    Expand
  2. Aug 29, 2016
    10
    This game is pretty fun and interesting to me. I haven't played it long and don't intend on dumping 100's of hours into it, but it playsThis game is pretty fun and interesting to me. I haven't played it long and don't intend on dumping 100's of hours into it, but it plays great on my i7 4770 with gtx 970 sli rig. Expand
  3. Mar 17, 2020
    8
    In the beginning this game was crap, but it has changed for good. i do think this has a way to go but so far there is much more to do, itsIn the beginning this game was crap, but it has changed for good. i do think this has a way to go but so far there is much more to do, its extremely fun to to play now (2020) than it was at launch. i think this deserves to be reviewed once again and im sure the negative will come back to positive. unfortunately some people may have forgotten to change the review. its worth playing if you like space games. Expand
  4. Dec 17, 2019
    3
    Zelfs met de laatste update (12-2019)

    k heb er net 6 uur op zitten en ga er mee kappen. de interface valt geen touw aan vast te knopen en
    Zelfs met de laatste update (12-2019)

    k heb er net 6 uur op zitten en ga er mee kappen. de interface valt geen touw aan vast te knopen en voelt meer als een puzzle waar ik elke keer loop te zoeken naar welk scherm ik nodig heb.

    Tevens heb ik het gevoel dat ik totaal geen overzicht heb in het spel, waar ik ben, waar ik naartoe moet/wil. de tutorial slaat qua verhaal echt helemaal nergens op.

    Ook wordt ik moedeloos van het constante inventory geneuzel en raak ik depressief als ik zie hoever ik nog verwijderd ben van het kunnen bouwen van storage containers om dat wat dragelijker te maken.

    Als ik echt kwaad wordt op een spel is dat ook geen goed teken. biofuel reactor gebouwd zoals de tutorial zegt, er moet wat fuel in, ok dan wat carbon *poef* al m'n 2500 carbon weg waar ik een half uur over bezig ben geweest om te minen, en geen enkele manier om het terug te krijgen.
    Expand
  5. Aug 20, 2016
    1
    No Man's Sky boasts to be the next in a generation of already tedious games. You explore the vast nothingness of space and all the trillionsNo Man's Sky boasts to be the next in a generation of already tedious games. You explore the vast nothingness of space and all the trillions of planets within. The core concept of No Man's Sky is one that I am particularly fond of. This game, however, does nothing to advance this genre. On top of the lazy procedural generation nonsense that all looks the same after only an hour or so of gameplay, the developers just seemed to have shot themselves in the foot at every key decision in the game. If they had kept the number of planets down significantly and actually designed the planets themselves, or used interesting templates that could have some elements of procedural generation in them, the game would be much more enjoyable. If player interaction was actually a thing that frequently happens and not something that only a small percent of the player base ever experiences, the game would be much more enjoyable. If there was actual progression in the game itself, the game would be much more enjoyable. However, Hello Games (the developers of No Man's Sky) decided that they knew what was best for the player base and chose to not do any of these things. No Man's Sky, or as some have dubbed it, No Guy Buy, is the worst kind of game; an amazing concept in an exciting genre that boasts grandiose claims and does nothing but devolve the genre. This game has so much potential, but fails to meet any of the goals it set out to accomplish. Expand
  6. Aug 26, 2019
    0
    Итак. Резюмируя все вышесказанное, свой опыт в почти 600 часов игры и впечатления от обновления.
    Чего же ждали все от "огромного" и
    Итак. Резюмируя все вышесказанное, свой опыт в почти 600 часов игры и впечатления от обновления.
    Чего же ждали все от "огромного" и распиаренного обновления игроки?
    Провода? Я лично ожидал увидеть все что угодно, но не это!
    Ждали я так думаю оптимизации и разнообразия в этом унылом мире,
    в котором все планеты похожи и ловишь себя на мысли в какой-то момент что ты попал в тот самый день сурка.
    Что-же помешало убрать наконец пластелиновые крылья из однообразных собак галактики?
    Что помешало добавить в унылые ландшафты реки, водопады и прочие излишества? Например небольшие города/поселки.
    Или сделать дополнительно энное количество приличных моделек животных и растений и добавить их в генерацию, что-бы она действительно создавала нечто интересное, уникальное для каждой планеты.
    Что помешало создать например рейдовые планеты. С ценными ресурсами и дикими зверюгами для кооператива?
    Это провода. Вы серьезно? Провода? Провода в фантастическом мире? Где и так достаточно мелкой возни и гринда? Добавить провода?
    Добавить полигоналей, что-бы у тех кто плюс-минус героическими ухищрениями и шаманством с бубуном кое как оптимизировал сам для себя игру,
    было возгорание энной точки от такого обновления.
    Вы себе так представляли фантастический мир? С унылыми, однообразными кораблями, похожими на творения детей аутистов?
    Даже та самая расчудесная станция Нексус, - пустая и унылая. Такими должны быть системные станции. А не Нексус.
    Вы серьезно? Вы этим гордитесь? Умиляетесь сами себе и своей гениальностью в твиттере? Вы думаете этого должно хватить?
    Вам не хватает здравых идей и простоты ума? Обращайтесь к игрокам, которые по вашему плохо реализуют свои идеи.
    Давайте я вам накидаю идей.
    Добавьте моделей животных и растений в игру. Добавьте биомов.
    Добавьте реки, озера. И хотя-бы небольшие городки.
    Что-бы ваша хваленая генерация выдавала действительно нечто уникальное.
    Затем создайте в игре механизм зоо и биопарков, для посещения другими игроками.
    Создайте рейдовые планеты. С действительно опасными животными, на которые нужно будет собирать отряд в том же Нексусе.
    Добавьте уже возможность видоизменять корабли. И вообще действительно интересные и фантастические модели кораблей.
    Expand
  7. Aug 28, 2016
    0
    No multiplayer.
    No mountains.
    No deep caves. No deep sea exploration. No forests. No customizable FOV. No challenge. No interesting
    No multiplayer.
    No mountains.
    No deep caves.
    No deep sea exploration.
    No forests.
    No customizable FOV.
    No challenge.
    No interesting NPC.
    No story.
    No ending.
    Expand

See all 698 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Most Anticipated Video Games of 2016, Part 2: New IP and Indie Releases

    Most Anticipated Video Games of 2016, Part 2: New IP and Indie Releases Image
    Published: January 21, 2016
    Preview 25 notable new videogame franchises debuting in 2016, including No Man's Sky, Star Citizen, The Division, Firewatch, Battleborn, Horizon: Zero Dawn, The Witness, Quantum Break, Overwatch, and more.