Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. May 7, 2018
    85
    Northgard is a surprisingly great game. It will appeal both to fans of The Settlers series and to enthusiasts of multiplayer strategies. Additionally, it sounds nice, looks decent and it has a high replay value. Even the single-player campaign is well-made and interesting. Northgard is a great example of perfecting the use of Early Access.
  2. Mar 19, 2018
    84
    Northgard is a surprising, elegant RTS that's laden with a very dull story.
  3. Mar 16, 2018
    84
    Completely well-made indie-building strategy game that doesn't have to hide from genre competition. Odin would be proud.
  4. May 14, 2018
    80
    All in all, it has to be said that Northgard is an extremely promising premise. It has a good storyline with challenging campaigns. While there are some minor hiccups here and there, overall, it's an awesome addition to the RTS genre.
  5. Apr 17, 2018
    80
    Northgard is a good RTS game with a friendly gameplay for rookie gamers. Maybe we miss more fighters at the screen, but It's not a problem when you're fighting with Odin in a cartoon style.
  6. Apr 12, 2018
    80
    Make no mistake, while Northgard might not have pages of tech trees and armies of clashing units, it has a fundamental gameplay loop that is never less than engaging and consistently challenging. Northgard is an RTS where neither the usual binary strategies of turtling or aggression are effective and where every victory feels especially sweet.
  7. Apr 7, 2018
    80
    Veterans of the genre will love this mash-up, but newcomers will buckle under the weight. Writing aside, it’s a mighty fine attempt.
  8. Apr 5, 2018
    80
    Northgard can be a good replacement for The Settlers in the absence of a new part of the series.
  9. Mar 19, 2018
    80
    Northgard is a must-play game for fans of the genre and could serve as a very good starting point for the newcomers who are just discovering RTS games for the first time.
  10. Mar 18, 2018
    80
    Northgard is a good and different RTS that brings back the memory to The Settlers series. It has few mechanics, but all works well.
  11. Mar 15, 2018
    79
    This town builder looks decent and it shows off some great mechanics. But if you want depth, you should look somewhere else.
  12. CD-Action
    Jun 5, 2018
    70
    I felt Northgard’s unintuitive rules of territorial expansion needlessly limit my options but once I got used to them I had fun. Look for this game on Steam sales. [05/2018, p.75]
  13. Jun 3, 2018
    70
    Northgard is a refreshing and pleasing experience, thanks to the elements it draws from RTS, 4X and even management games.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Northgard is simple in all the right ways, challenging not because of complexity but complacency – it’s harsh, but rarely unfair.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 51
  2. Negative: 7 out of 51
  1. Jul 19, 2020
    1
    A clone of "The settlers" very simplified without roads, with only a few buildings and a simple chain of production. If we were in 1990 iA clone of "The settlers" very simplified without roads, with only a few buildings and a simple chain of production. If we were in 1990 i imagine it would be rated as an original game but now if you want to play "the settlers" just find you a good emulator and a avoid this useless copy Full Review »
  2. Apr 22, 2020
    4
    This has the makings of a good game but its odd ball attitude to developing land with restrictions like 3/3 buildings in a large area of landThis has the makings of a good game but its odd ball attitude to developing land with restrictions like 3/3 buildings in a large area of land where more buildings could be constructed makes it unreasonably and illogically hard to develop your settlement.

    I'm really at a loss to understand why game developers these days don't use common sense and apply the keep it simple rule. Being too clever can mean making a game un-enjoyable and frustrating. Such is the case here.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 19, 2020
    2
    I really like this game, but...

    You can play up to 8 and there are 6 clans in the base version of the game. See the problem ? I
    I really like this game, but...

    You can play up to 8

    and

    there are 6 clans in the base version of the game.

    See the problem ? I don't think mirror matches should be a thing in an RTS. 8 different clans should be the very least, 12 (for example) would problably be wiser to at least allow some flexibility. I am waiting for the base game (DLC excluded !) to contain a decent number of clans to change my red score into a green score and write a more extensive review. Until then, the red score is a sanction for asking 5 dollars for one single new clan !
    Full Review »