Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Jan 10, 2022
    90
    Northgard is one of the prettiest titles in the genre, and with a very addicting gameplay loop, players are sure to spend several dozen hours to it.
  2. May 7, 2018
    85
    Northgard is a surprisingly great game. It will appeal both to fans of The Settlers series and to enthusiasts of multiplayer strategies. Additionally, it sounds nice, looks decent and it has a high replay value. Even the single-player campaign is well-made and interesting. Northgard is a great example of perfecting the use of Early Access.
  3. Mar 19, 2018
    84
    Northgard is a surprising, elegant RTS that's laden with a very dull story.
  4. Mar 16, 2018
    84
    Completely well-made indie-building strategy game that doesn't have to hide from genre competition. Odin would be proud.
  5. May 14, 2018
    80
    All in all, it has to be said that Northgard is an extremely promising premise. It has a good storyline with challenging campaigns. While there are some minor hiccups here and there, overall, it's an awesome addition to the RTS genre.
  6. Apr 17, 2018
    80
    Northgard is a good RTS game with a friendly gameplay for rookie gamers. Maybe we miss more fighters at the screen, but It's not a problem when you're fighting with Odin in a cartoon style.
  7. Apr 12, 2018
    80
    Make no mistake, while Northgard might not have pages of tech trees and armies of clashing units, it has a fundamental gameplay loop that is never less than engaging and consistently challenging. Northgard is an RTS where neither the usual binary strategies of turtling or aggression are effective and where every victory feels especially sweet.
  8. Apr 7, 2018
    80
    Veterans of the genre will love this mash-up, but newcomers will buckle under the weight. Writing aside, it’s a mighty fine attempt.
  9. Apr 5, 2018
    80
    Northgard can be a good replacement for The Settlers in the absence of a new part of the series.
  10. Mar 19, 2018
    80
    Northgard is a must-play game for fans of the genre and could serve as a very good starting point for the newcomers who are just discovering RTS games for the first time.
  11. Mar 18, 2018
    80
    Northgard is a good and different RTS that brings back the memory to The Settlers series. It has few mechanics, but all works well.
  12. Mar 15, 2018
    79
    This town builder looks decent and it shows off some great mechanics. But if you want depth, you should look somewhere else.
  13. CD-Action
    Jun 5, 2018
    70
    I felt Northgard’s unintuitive rules of territorial expansion needlessly limit my options but once I got used to them I had fun. Look for this game on Steam sales. [05/2018, p.75]
  14. Jun 3, 2018
    70
    Northgard is a refreshing and pleasing experience, thanks to the elements it draws from RTS, 4X and even management games.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Northgard is simple in all the right ways, challenging not because of complexity but complacency – it’s harsh, but rarely unfair.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 71
  2. Negative: 10 out of 71
  1. Apr 19, 2020
    2
    I really like this game, but...

    You can play up to 8 and there are 6 clans in the base version of the game. See the problem ? I
    I really like this game, but...

    You can play up to 8

    and

    there are 6 clans in the base version of the game.

    See the problem ? I don't think mirror matches should be a thing in an RTS. 8 different clans should be the very least, 12 (for example) would problably be wiser to at least allow some flexibility. I am waiting for the base game (DLC excluded !) to contain a decent number of clans to change my red score into a green score and write a more extensive review. Until then, the red score is a sanction for asking 5 dollars for one single new clan !
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 22, 2022
    6
    This game is okay, I got a good 15 hours of fun out of it before I started to see the holes that bothered me. I did enjoy the early rideThis game is okay, I got a good 15 hours of fun out of it before I started to see the holes that bothered me. I did enjoy the early ride though, I was quite hooked. It has some neat original mechanics and it's fun to master the concept.
    However after a while it wears on you because the story plot is garbage (dead father, save the world, zzz), the game constantly throws missions at you that are gimmicks that seem like betrayals because the game has taught you to play it one way, then with the gimmick you have to learn all over again. It feels like you have to hack the game concept several times over just to finish, which is never a good feeling and shows a bit of laaazy on the game designers part.
    Also, the worst part is after a while you really, really, really get the feeling you're just playing a Warcraft clone where the combat is no different than 1995.
    I think I got this on sale at GOG for like $8, I got enough play out of it for that value. Don't pay over $10 for this game.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 19, 2021
    10
    Highly Recommended : 10/10
    1. Graphics : GOOD
    2. Gameplay : GOOD
    Definitely worth a try !