Nuclear Throne Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 181 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Nuclear Throne is Vlambeers latest action roguelike-like about mutants fighting their way through a post-apocalyptic world. The radioactive waste in the world allows mutants to get ahead by mutating new limbs on the fly, the abundant availability of powerful weaponry make the quest to becomeNuclear Throne is Vlambeers latest action roguelike-like about mutants fighting their way through a post-apocalyptic world. The radioactive waste in the world allows mutants to get ahead by mutating new limbs on the fly, the abundant availability of powerful weaponry make the quest to become ruler of the Wasteland one frought with peril. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Feb 21, 2016
    100
    Nuclear Throne knows what it is and makes no bones about it. It’s a difficult, stylized roguelike with a clear vision of what it’s trying to achieve.
  2. Dec 8, 2015
    90
    Nuclear Throne manages to walk a fine line between challenging, with options for the player who wants to succeed in the post-apocalypse, and unfairly difficult, filled with obstacles that will induce frustration for even the most hardened fans of the rogue-like genre.
  3. Dec 10, 2015
    90
    Another perfectly constructed neo-arcade game from the makers of Luftrausers, which perfectly marries twin stick shooters with roguelike punishment.
  4. Jan 27, 2016
    90
    Grab the spoils of combat as quickly as you can, and get ready to be sucked in to the next level. Just be glad you don’t have to keep putting money in when you die again, and again, and again.
  5. Apr 8, 2016
    90
    It’s wonderful, evil, gorgeous, horrible, satisfying and merciless. You might hate its lack of checkpoints, or bad levels spawns that almost instantly kill you. It doesn’t care. Screw you. It hates you. But you’ll love it.
  6. Dec 21, 2015
    87
    Nuclear Throne is a frantic and challenging action game. If you love the rogue-like games get this without hesitation.
  7. Jan 31, 2016
    80
    Brain off, trigger finger on. It's easy to forget the simple visuals and it's ideal for a quick game.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Jun 4, 2014
    10
    Nuclear Throne is pure, unadulterated chaos on top of a set of evolving and tight controls. Things will try to kill you, and you need to learnNuclear Throne is pure, unadulterated chaos on top of a set of evolving and tight controls. Things will try to kill you, and you need to learn exactly how many hits each enemy takes, how each of the multitudinous weapons deals damage, how the mutations work alongside weapons and character traits, what particular types of terrain and obstacles do, etc. - otherwise, you'll fall apart in this randomly-generated top-down shooter. It's brutal! That's part of the fun - even the developers often have a hard time getting past World 5. [@GenoTS - that chest is called a "Mimic," and having no indicator that it's a mimic is the whole point of the enemy, a la Dark Souls. It's supposed to be tough!] Coming up on its 30th update, the team has been squashing bugs and making new stuff, while broadcasting their work on Twitch. They've almost reached their creation of the final level now. The soundtrack is awesome. The pixel art is expressive, weird, and cool. There are some really freaking cool secrets, and also some secrets that will kill you. Expand
  2. Mar 7, 2016
    10
    Pretty damn great 8 - bit game that I really enjoyed.
    At first I didn't want to play it,it seemed boring and repetitive but than I actually
    Pretty damn great 8 - bit game that I really enjoyed.
    At first I didn't want to play it,it seemed boring and repetitive but than I actually played and HOLY CHICKEN was it good. It is super addictive and hell of a lot of fun , especially when you unlock a crazy gun blazing jacked scientist STEROIDS.
    So this game is just great I don't know what to add, you have to play this, it is amazing.
    Expand
  3. Jan 16, 2015
    10
    Amazingly addictive and fun to play. You must try it Yourself, to get hooked up, because it doesnt look as awesome as it really is whenAmazingly addictive and fun to play. You must try it Yourself, to get hooked up, because it doesnt look as awesome as it really is when somebody else is playing it.
    Im waiting for PS VITA release. Itll be awesome :D I want this and broforce on the go.
    The downside is waiting time for release, but thats ok I guess I bought luftrausers and it lacked the love that nuclear throne gets from devs.
    Expand
  4. Apr 10, 2016
    9
    Nuclear Throne is a super fun game in which I've sunk a wild, fast-paced, 12 hours ... but it's also super hard. Anyone that doesn't enjoyNuclear Throne is a super fun game in which I've sunk a wild, fast-paced, 12 hours ... but it's also super hard. Anyone that doesn't enjoy difficult games should turn away right now, but those of you (us) who enjoy a punishing rogue-like with massive explosions, and a variety of guns BUY NOW. Controls are super tight, though occasionally when trying to shoot in tight spaces you shoot the wall for a while (which can be kind of annoying). That's my only real gripe, and that occasionally the game lags when there is a lot happening on screen, but that's being very nit-picky. Blowing away/up a multitude of mutants is a pretty enjoyable endeavor. Expand
  5. Dec 18, 2015
    9
    Great game, maybe an excellent one, but I personally feel that it lacks something. It's a game that I choose to play when I have to "fillGreat game, maybe an excellent one, but I personally feel that it lacks something. It's a game that I choose to play when I have to "fill time", and I have a great time, but doesn't make me choose the game over others or see where in the time table can I make a gap to play it.

    A great Indie game but for me it lacks "ambition".
    Expand
  6. Dec 20, 2015
    7
    WOW! This game doesn't deserve the 90 percent that the critics are giving it. All though it's pretty fun. So... on with they review then:WOW! This game doesn't deserve the 90 percent that the critics are giving it. All though it's pretty fun. So... on with they review then:

    Pros:
    -The pixel graphics. I don't know what is it about pixel graphics but they just suck me in. I love the graphical style and it looks great
    -Thankfully the most important part of the game (the gun play) is fun. It feels very good to blow your enemies to smithereens and to get just that right gun to get you a little further. But now on to the cons

    Cons:
    -The characters feel the same. I know each one has different special abilities but i want something more damn it. How about different speeds of walking, different bullets for each character, hell even different stages for each character. But no the only difference is their special ability.
    - As you guys probably know this is a rogue-like. And i am not a huge fan of the genre. It just feels like a cheap way to make games harder so that you can play them longer. I have the same problem with Binding of Isac and Rogue Legacy but Nuclear throne at least isn't very cheap.

    So yeah, if you enjoy this kind of game go right ahead but for me it's just a decent time waster.
    Expand
  7. Dec 31, 2015
    5
    Is fine but nothing exceptional. Is like The binding of isaac but more simple and more difficult, the characters are boring and the feel isIs fine but nothing exceptional. Is like The binding of isaac but more simple and more difficult, the characters are boring and the feel is similar. The secrets are impossible to discover by yourself, the game depend the internet to see more 50% of the game. Expand

See all 32 User Reviews