Observer Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 208 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: What would you do if your fears were hacked? >observer_ is a cyberpunk horror game from Bloober Team, the creators of Layers of Fear. Play as an Observer, the new front line of neural police, as you hack into the jagged minds of the insane.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Observer - The Year is 2084 Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. Oct 24, 2017
    100
    The game is visually stunning and sets a new bar for the genre of Cyberpunk games. The voice acting from Rutger Hauer is perfectly casted, and he delivers the role spectacularly. Observer is overall pretty short, but it will have you playing until you push on to uncover the truth – it truly is a captivating game. The sound design is fantastic, too, from the impressive soundtrack, written and composer by Arkadiusz Reikowski, to the noise of creaky doors, all lends itself to a truly great psychological horror game.
  2. Aug 14, 2017
    90
    An audio and visual tour de force, Observer doesn’t pull any punches. It would appear that Layers of Fear was simply foreplay for Bloober Team; a warm up for the full-on fuckfest that Observer is. Combining investigation, exploration, stealth, puzzles, and a near constant barrage of horror, Observer is a meticulously created game that rarely puts a foot wrong. If you think you have the stomach for it, this could be one of the biggest surprises of the year.
  3. Aug 22, 2017
    90
    >OBSERVER_ is a superior, more frightening take on the experience we glimpsed from Westwood Studios’ Blade Runner adaptation back in 1997. Outstanding level design and a perfectly paced nightmare make for one of the best adventure titles I’ve ever played. You will feel a sense of cybernetic dread that has been missing since your last run in with Shodan. This is a must play for fans of the genre or anyone looking for a solid scare.
  4. Aug 14, 2017
    80
    Observer is a good sci-fi horror adventure, with a strong narrative, blessed by the amazing performance of Rutger Hauer. Some less-convincing elements (notably, recycling of assets and gameplay ideas from Layers of Fear, the previous game from Bloober Team) don't diminish the value of an intriguing experience, full of love for Blade Runner and the sci-fi avantpop.
  5. Aug 21, 2017
    80
    Dark, violent, visionary. Observer's cyberpunk universe hits hard despite some too long and boring mind trips.
  6. Aug 14, 2017
    78
    Observer is a fascinating adventure with solid narrative references and a focus on the inevitable ethical issues of cybernetic augmentations. Beautifully dubbed by Rutger Hauer, detective Daniel Lazarski takes us on a journey into the dystopian future of year 2048.
  7. Aug 23, 2017
    45
    Brainhacking will blow your mind, but you'll want to get the cop out of your head by the end.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Sep 10, 2017
    10
    I give 10 for the story, which in my opinion is excellent and something that I did not expected to when buying the game. Every one wasI give 10 for the story, which in my opinion is excellent and something that I did not expected to when buying the game. Every one was speaking about cyberpunk, but the story and the way they shown peoples mind hacking is brilliant in my opinion.
    From the other hand this game has its weak sides too, but it is so creepy and second part of the game was real blow for my mind. Looking forward for next game from the Bloober Team. Another step up after Layers of Fear.
    Expand
  2. Aug 15, 2017
    10
    Is like Blade Runner meeting Layers of Fear. The atmosphere is insanely well crafted. The story makes us go forward. And the parts where weIs like Blade Runner meeting Layers of Fear. The atmosphere is insanely well crafted. The story makes us go forward. And the parts where we hack into the mind of people are just insane as Layers of Fear, with nightmarish visions and abstract things happening around us, the surroundings shifting, and we never know what to expect next.
    Bloober Team just did it again!
    I'm loving this game just as I loved Layers of Fear.
    Expand
  3. Aug 16, 2017
    10
    As soon as I realised this game was made by some polish developers I got curious. By experience most developers from Eastern Europe alwaysAs soon as I realised this game was made by some polish developers I got curious. By experience most developers from Eastern Europe always care a lot for a unique style, story and atmosphere and luckily I was not disappointed. A dystopian horror adventure with great character and a likeable protagonist!
    Do me a favour...watch the first hour or so in a let's play...if you like what you see buy it! Small developers who dare to bring us experiences like that deserve to be supported!
    Expand
  4. Aug 19, 2018
    9
    Ever imagined yourself the Blade Runner meetting atmospheric horror and then, built into the first-person detective game where protagonist isEver imagined yourself the Blade Runner meetting atmospheric horror and then, built into the first-person detective game where protagonist is voiced by Rutger Hauer himself?

    Observer is an another hidden gem of Cyberpunk genre. A first-person pshycological sci-fi horror. The world of Observer is a true dystopia - gloomy and bleak world suffering from scars of war, pollution and self-destruction, half-dead dirty cities and millions of people, dragging on their existence in tiny flats, with cybernetic implants, holograms, drugs, or all this together trying to escape the disgusting reality.

    You are a Daniel Lazarski, an observer - a corporate tool, a dog-sniffer. You're the one who arrives when crime is made and there are no evidences....or....they are deep inside half-broken mind. You are diving deeply into memories, fears and gallucinations of the victims and murderers, trying to get infromation you need to stop another crime...or to find your own answers.

    Observer made a masterpiece work in plunge player into the bleak and blurry reality of cyberpunk dystopia, gallucinations and madness. During the walktrough, protagonist is struggling more and more between about investigating the crime and his own family problems, trying to find his long ago disappearead son. Did Adam really called you or it was just an another hallucination, fed by melancholy attack and critically low level of stimulators in your half-mechanized body? Are you really sure that diving into memory of a maniac, you will not change yourself even a bit? After everything you saw, are you still thinking you are doing a right job, or you're just a blind pawn in the paws of corporation - same blind and crazy as everyone else around you?

    Through dark and ambient wordlspace design, high psychological pressure, amazing soundtrack, thrilling detective elements, jumpscares and sudden perception of disturbing and sometimes disgusting facts - Observer will make you remember such titles as Matrix and Ghost in the Shell, and give you an amazing plunge into intriguing, terrific reality, one of the possible scenarios of how our own world can evolve if we will let technological progress control ourselves.
    Expand
  5. Jun 2, 2019
    8
    A virtuous indie horror game from the creators of "Layers of Fear".

    The spirit and style of the developers can be felt in this game,
    A virtuous indie horror game from the creators of "Layers of Fear".

    The spirit and style of the developers can be felt in this game, compared to the previous one (also passed earlier). However, it didn't spoil the experience of the game.
    The psychedelics are great, and even in the setting of cyberpunk it looks great and original.
    The plot is typical detective, but I will not say that a trivial and primitive. In my opinion it would be possible to expand it a little bit as some moments are presented too crumpled.
    I am glad that there are two endings here.

    Compared to the company's previous game, there was more madness in it, because there's a story about an artist and it's more skillful. But I expected that it would be just as cool here. Cool, but not enough. Although it can be compensated by the amazing cyber-punk atmosphere and entourage.

    Total: 7 severed heads out of 10.
    It is possible and necessary to play.
    Expand
  6. Jul 1, 2018
    8
    If you're looking for a cyberpunk walking sim then >observer_ is a great choice. It is in many ways a throw back to 80's sci fi right down toIf you're looking for a cyberpunk walking sim then >observer_ is a great choice. It is in many ways a throw back to 80's sci fi right down to having Rutger Hauer as a voice actor. It had a great plot, good visuals, good performance and the few quirks it did have didn't overshadow the good parts.

    The gameplay is a mesh of walking sim in the exploring the apartment building that you are trapped in, solving puzzles and some stealth portions where you have to sneak by monsters who can insta kill you. qThe exploration parts were really well done as there is a good amount of lore and backstory that can be found on the soceity, tenants of the building and present events. The puzzles were pretty well done, most are straight forward and only a couple tried my patience. The stealth portions are a little annoying at times because I found that if I left the game and re opened it the last checkpoint could sometimes be farther back then it should have been when I was close to a monster. I know I saw the game saving but if I quit and came back in I started back further than I was before. This only seemed to be around the monster bits.

    The visuals were pretty good. The game has good lighting and great art direction. Some things like the blood look kind of strange and the skin of people looked strangly fake but overall it was above average. The game had an alright set of options. You could adjust between two types of AA, a toggle for SSAO, support for Vsync and 7 other options to play with. ALT-Tab also gave me no issues. It does lack certain things such as an FOV slider, manual saves and was locked to 60 FPS. If there is one thing I dislike about being locked to 60 FPS, aside from it not putting my 144hz display to use, is that when locked to 60 I find games often times drop down in to the 50's a lot rather than stay at a smooth 60. >observer_ had this issue as well.

    I played on Linux and can say it was a well done Linux version. Overall the game ran great maxed out, only the random odd rops into the 50's every so often. It will need a beefy CPU though as back wehn I had my FX-9590 my typical FPS was in the 40's pretty much all the time but my Ryzen CPU fixed that. The game only uses 1-2 CPU cores so performance per core matters a lot. My top CPU usage while playing was 38% and was usually closer to 15-20% for the bulk of my playthrough so having a ton of cores doesn't matter. My total system usage for RAM was 2.5GB-3GB while playing so you won't need tons of RAM either, just a beefy CPU and GPU if you want to max it out. It also never crashed once on me.

    My system:

    AMD Ryzen 5 2600X | 16GB DDR4-3000 CL15 | MSI RX 580 8GB Gaming X | Mesa 18.1.1 | Samsung 850 Evo 250GB | Solus 3 | Kernel 4.17.2-78.current

    My score: 8.5/10
    Expand
  7. Sep 1, 2017
    0
    I mean, to be honest, this game is a walking simulator which makes me sick. The illumination feels the game developer just chuck every filterI mean, to be honest, this game is a walking simulator which makes me sick. The illumination feels the game developer just chuck every filter in a unity plugin into the game. It is a harsh game. Expand

See all 29 User Reviews