Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Aug 2, 2019
    90
    An excellent port of a great game, that still requires a controller to enjoy it to the fullest. It has 8 great stories, 8 interesting characters, a bunch of mechanics to use and most of all - a tone of hours to pour into it and finish it all.
  2. Jun 17, 2019
    90
    A wonderful love letter to the 16-bit era with both style and substance.
  3. Jun 7, 2019
    88
    A work that has so much to tell, a journey that travels eight streets at the same time, destined to unite, to be loved.
  4. Jun 7, 2019
    88
    With its splendid soundtrack, its courageous narrative structure with eight protagonists and a solid combat system that has its roots in the glorious past of the genre, Octopath Traveler is a game that will kidnap and entertain you for a large amount of hours.
  5. Jun 13, 2019
    87
    It’s a pleasure to play Octopath Traveler on PC as it is on the Nintendo Switch.
  6. Jun 7, 2019
    85
    A good port of an already excellent JRPG that the genre's fans should play if they've not yet.
  7. Sep 18, 2019
    84
    An otherwise delightful and nostalgic JRPG, Octopath Traveler's lack of an integrated story leaves the experience feeling empty in the end.
  8. Jun 7, 2019
    84
    Like its Switch sibling roughly a year ago this is a captivating old-school RPG with an extensive turn-based battle system and stunning art design, but also quite some grind and varying quality in the storytelling for the eight protagonists.
  9. Jun 17, 2019
    82
    While I do wish that Octopath had a bit more off-the-wall ambition the fact is that it definitely accomplishes what it set out to do. They really don’t make games like they used to, and this is the most playable old-school JRPG I can remember in forever. The turn-based combat is very engaging, as are the soapy stories. The style is confident, from the music to the character designs, to the lighting and motion blur, this is a game that knows what it is about. And while some of the writing and voice acting stumbles in places, that’s kind of part of the charm. For good and bad, Octopath Traveler evokes the games of the past, and for a lot of us, we miss the bad as much as we do the good.
  10. Jul 10, 2019
    80
    Octopath Traveler is an appealing title full of pleasant little stories, and offers solid combat mechanisms. However, some not-so-up-to-date decisions prevent it from reaching its full potential.
  11. Jul 9, 2019
    80
    Octopath Traveler is a love letter dedicated to the gamers of the 16 bits era. Adult narrative, strong exploration, epic battles and an unforgettable music that remind the feeling of some of the best J-RPG titles.
  12. Jul 8, 2019
    80
    Octopath Traveler has many little and big pros. Its 'HD-02' visual style is beautiful; the music is great; the world is very big, non-linear, and full of things to do; the characters can be customised in many different ways; and, finally, the combat is fast, yet tactical, simple, yet deep. Octopath Traveler is great. However, it also has a couple of cons that for many people will be the deciding factor of whether they should play this or not, and these are, the almost non-existent interaction between its eight characters, its somewhat… artificial vibe, and the lack of a decent main plot.
  13. Jun 23, 2019
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  14. Jun 18, 2019
    80
    This breathtakingly beautiful revival of SNES-era jRPGs stumbles because of its fragmented main quest but still manages to provide a compelling experience for RPG fans.
  15. 80
    Octopath Traveler may not be the perfect JRPG revival that many had hoped for, but this PC port takes what worked before and makes it just a touch better.
  16. Jun 7, 2019
    80
    Revisiting Octopath Traveler on PC has been a treat, not the least of all because of the available graphics settings that let you tweak the game's iconic hybrid visuals. This is an obvious feature in most PC games, but Octopath's mix of retro pixel art and modern post-processing effects are unlike most games. With one foot in the past and another in the present, adjusting resolution, textures, and lighting effects lets you dictate, to a point, which half of its aesthetic identity is most prominent. It's not a game changer, but it is an appreciated option that gives the PC version a slight edge over the Switch original.
  17. Jun 7, 2019
    80
    This is one of the best JRPG from 2018, and now it’s available on PC with all its vices and virtues. If you don’t own a Switch or prefer playing on PC, it’s worth checking it out.
  18. Jun 7, 2019
    80
    On PC, Octopath Traveler is still this charming and gorgeous retro-RPG that offers a well-built but classic adventure to fans of the genre.
  19. Jun 7, 2019
    76
    Never quite the sum of its parts, Octopath Traveler is a game with brilliant moments rather than a brilliant game.
  20. Aug 27, 2019
    70
    In the end, I love what Octopath Traveler is trying to do with its shieldbreaking and its eight-way narrative, but it’s probably better suited to the Switch than the PC. It feels like a title that needs to be played in short bursts, as is fitting for Nintendo’s portable platform. Perhaps I wouldn’t be as frustrated with its quirks if I walked away from time to time and did something else — I will go back and complete the quest, but for now, I just need a break.
  21. Jun 10, 2019
    70
    Octopath Traveler's beautiful art, music, and in-depth combat system make it a journey worth taking, despite the haphazard plotting and somewhat repetitious nature.
  22. Jun 7, 2019
    70
    This is the exact same game we already played on Switch: ideas, mechanics and gameplay that suffer when put all together in the same game.
  23. Jun 19, 2019
    50
    Octopath Traveler was a pretty good game on Switch and a mediocre game on PC. It's so clearly tailored for Nintendo's portable system that plunking it anywhere else is just going to exacerbate the flaws that it has. Yes, this port "works" okay, but that doesn't mean it works best here. For all Octopath Traveler's promises of harkening back to JRPGs of yore, it forgets we loved those games because we loved to see their characters share the load.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. I just wish it was better structured to deliver that a conclusion without collapsing on itself at the last hurdle. Because there are hints of something wider at play here. It just does a terrible job of pulling it all together, which can leave Octopath Traveler feeling like a big old anticlimax. I both love it and hate it in equal measure, although I must say the PC version’s gorgeous 60fps is absolutely to die for after chugging through it on the Switch. It makes me all the more inclined to give it a sort of sneaky thumbs up, but in the end I think even JRPG die hards will find this a bit of a slog.
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 140 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 140
  2. Negative: 39 out of 140
  1. Jun 8, 2019
    0
    Парни, единственный русский обзор
    Игра - не стоит своих денег ни разу, не берите, особенно в стим за 4500
    Парни, единственный русский обзор
    Игра - не стоит своих денег ни разу, не берите, особенно в стим за 4500
  2. Jun 8, 2019
    0
    This is an old fashioned J-RPG game with lengthiness dialogue and turn-based fight that would cost the player massive time. The interest inThis is an old fashioned J-RPG game with lengthiness dialogue and turn-based fight that would cost the player massive time. The interest in the plots is faded in such a long and boring time. BTW, Xbox controller is not supported in this game, and keyboard input sucks too. I recommended you not to spend your time and money on Octopath Traveller. If you really a J-RPG lover and want to try this game, I suggest you buy the NS edition that controller is supported and you can sell the game card after finishing it. Full Review »
  3. Jun 25, 2019
    7
    Great visuals and the combat is good for a jrpg. The stories of the main characters are pretty interesting but I dislike the way that the gameGreat visuals and the combat is good for a jrpg. The stories of the main characters are pretty interesting but I dislike the way that the game tells the stories, they also don't connect the stories or characters very well. Full Review »