User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 142 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 142
  2. Negative: 39 out of 142

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 4, 2022
    10
    A beautiful game, great soundtrack and an interesting story. The best thing about this game is the secret/true ending where all 8 stories are combined and the characters share an ending. The difficulty of the game is enough to challenge you, especially because of the final boss, and you will need to understand each class/profession. Finally, we recommend that you complete all the secondaryA beautiful game, great soundtrack and an interesting story. The best thing about this game is the secret/true ending where all 8 stories are combined and the characters share an ending. The difficulty of the game is enough to challenge you, especially because of the final boss, and you will need to understand each class/profession. Finally, we recommend that you complete all the secondary stories, to unlock the true ending and prepare for the last boss.

    A game that when you complete it 100% (all the stories and the true ending) you will love.
    Expand
  2. May 30, 2022
    10
    One of the best games i have played. Even played it a second time to get the true ending
  3. Apr 4, 2022
    6
    Los inicios me parecieron magníficos, los personajes tienen carisma (algunos) y otros son mas bien estereotipos tipicos. Los graficos al inicio son muy llamativos pero conforme avanza el juego te van sorprendiendo cada vez menos. La BSO es lo mejor, de lo mejorcito del genero. El sistema de combate esta bien, sobre todo para amantes del genero pero la subida de nivel me parece una tortura.Los inicios me parecieron magníficos, los personajes tienen carisma (algunos) y otros son mas bien estereotipos tipicos. Los graficos al inicio son muy llamativos pero conforme avanza el juego te van sorprendiendo cada vez menos. La BSO es lo mejor, de lo mejorcito del genero. El sistema de combate esta bien, sobre todo para amantes del genero pero la subida de nivel me parece una tortura. Hay que dedicarle demasiado tiempo a levear, se hace desesperante cada vez que coges un personaje nuevo tener que volverlo a subir. Eso hace que algunas zonas se vuelvan una pesadilla si no tienes todos los personajes equilibrados. El juego para mi es en general notable pero falla estrepitosamente en el tema del leveo, un desastre que lastra la experiencia de juego y puede hacer que te acabes aburriendo. El resto una joya artistica muy recomendable para amantes del JRPG. Expand
  4. Jan 29, 2022
    10
    Good game, got that metal slug art style, very good story but can't really connect them to each other except when using the Travel Banter, also very grindy and expensive, but definitely a good game
  5. Dec 21, 2021
    8
    the game i've had the most fun with in the past few years, i think. beautiful environments and music, had fun with battles and strategizing for them

    i recommend english monolingual people play with japanese voice acting and english text settings in general

    visuals: 8/10
    audibles: 8/10
    interaction: 7/10
  6. Aug 24, 2021
    5
    I avoided this game for a long while due to lukewarm reviews. I'm glad it came to Game Pass and I could finally try it. But for some games I have a (seemingly) euphoric revelation where I ask myself if I am still enjoying the game and can see myself playing for another however many hours. In this case the answer was no.
    The story is almost non-existent, instead there are 8 mini stories,
    I avoided this game for a long while due to lukewarm reviews. I'm glad it came to Game Pass and I could finally try it. But for some games I have a (seemingly) euphoric revelation where I ask myself if I am still enjoying the game and can see myself playing for another however many hours. In this case the answer was no.
    The story is almost non-existent, instead there are 8 mini stories, and the characters barely acknowledge one another. The lack of xp for "idle" party members and the insistence on grinding would have been better left in the 90s. You can make a retro JRPG without adopting the terrible mechanics some of them used.

    Date Dropped: 2021-08-24
    Playtime: 23h
    Enjoyment: 5/10
    Recommendation: Unless you absolutely swoon at the mention of 90s era JRPGs, no.
    Expand
  7. Aug 20, 2021
    7
    Unos pixeles hermosos, unos cuantos principales olvidables, y unas ciudades y locaciones bastante interesantes, son algunas de las cosas que componen este juego, aunque tambien lo conforman una subida de nivel con grindeo, ciudades vacias y misiones secundarias realmente repetitivas. Realmente no es que esperes mas de un juego de este estilo, pero la sensacion que te da el estar jugandoUnos pixeles hermosos, unos cuantos principales olvidables, y unas ciudades y locaciones bastante interesantes, son algunas de las cosas que componen este juego, aunque tambien lo conforman una subida de nivel con grindeo, ciudades vacias y misiones secundarias realmente repetitivas. Realmente no es que esperes mas de un juego de este estilo, pero la sensacion que te da el estar jugando despues de unas 30 horas de juego (30 horas en las que aun no termino la historia principal del personaje principal debido a que necesito subir de nivel) es de cansancio, nada te apega a seguir la historia de los demas companeros que no te interesan, es un juego realmente entretenido al inicio de partida con batallas deasafiantes, pero nada te detiene a desinstalarlo despues de saber lo que te ofrece este juego. Expand
  8. Jun 12, 2021
    6
    Art-style is great. Music is great. Combat is great.

    Now, on the downside, the story is very lackluster and the characters do not interact at all between them (except for the optional heart to hearts that don't contribute to the story). This had to be expected due to the nature of the game where you choose and pick adventures from eight different paths, but it definitely negatively
    Art-style is great. Music is great. Combat is great.

    Now, on the downside, the story is very lackluster and the characters do not interact at all between them (except for the optional heart to hearts that don't contribute to the story). This had to be expected due to the nature of the game where you choose and pick adventures from eight different paths, but it definitely negatively impacts the game. The narrative also sounded rather pretentious, more in a few paths than others, with generally little substance.

    Each character's chapter is essentially the game holding your hand very tightly to guide you from one cutscene to the next, to ultimately lead you to a minimal maze with random encounters and a boss at the end. Between this and the side quests that are often totally on the opposite side of the spectrum with their cryptic nature, I feel like the game failed at finding the right level of difficulty outside of battles.

    Overall, the game hits some individual good notes, but isn't build well enough to hold everything together. I have finished the story of four characters in a semi-casual manner and have 59 hours of playtime on my save file (Likely 70 hours totally including the unsaved content). The first 5-10 hours was the best part for me.
    Expand
  9. Jun 12, 2021
    10
    It is a beauty, it seems that you are playing in a diorama the art is simply beautiful, each story makes you feel that you connect with each character and each ending is convincing and leaves a good taste in your mouth and invites you when you finish it to continue exploring its world, a must buy.
  10. May 5, 2021
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Good history, excellent graphics, astonishing music, and addictive gameplay

    This game only flaw is being too short.

    [Spoilers]

    No, seriously, I find the lack of end game content a real issue on the game; four advanced classes that, because of his overpowered skills, they just obliterate all main history bosses, make them only useful and interesting on use to defeat Galdera. That's a waste of content. I would love to use the full potential of that classes for more than just one enemy.
    Expand
  11. Apr 21, 2021
    0
    Is this a joke? I don't understand how we can have such a poor designed game in this day an age, you might as well get a SNES emulator and play any of the games in that platform.

    The storylines are plain out generic, made a million times over, the fight system has very little going on for itself. The game is a massive grind, you get generic story after generic story, I'm guessing you're
    Is this a joke? I don't understand how we can have such a poor designed game in this day an age, you might as well get a SNES emulator and play any of the games in that platform.

    The storylines are plain out generic, made a million times over, the fight system has very little going on for itself. The game is a massive grind, you get generic story after generic story, I'm guessing you're supposed to collect all 8 travelers but after collecting 2 or 3 of them you realise you're in a silly grinding loop filled up with generic content, generic monsters which don't pose any challenge after a short while, and I didn't finish it, but I'm going to guess the completion of each story must be more of the generic content you have. Wrapped up in graphics from 20 years ago, you've got yourself a huge scam of a videogame, and somehow the internet is piled up with positive reviews, I've got no idea what on earth they're doing, maybe it's very young people who haven't seen this a million times? I don't know, if you managed to play this for more than a few hours I commend you on your stubbornness, it has worst graphics, worse gameplay and worse story than an average money grabbing gacha mobile game.
    Expand
  12. Apr 18, 2021
    2
    I stopped playing this game because it's graphics are so primitive. The look of the game is so primitive it's not even cute or nostalgic. Developers, maybe there's a fine game in there, but please provide games with modern graphics, and, especially, drop that strong depth of field blur.
  13. Mar 26, 2021
    4
    Pro's

    Amazing artstyle that pays homage to classic jrpgs 8 characters each with their own story and playstyle Good voice overs, nice music Cons Inexcusably tedious combat Boring Lacking polish Octopath Traveler would have been great on SNES or PS1 back in the late 90s but for this era it is very dated which is a shame because graphically, it has a lot of vintage charm with
    Pro's

    Amazing artstyle that pays homage to classic jrpgs
    8 characters each with their own story and playstyle
    Good voice overs, nice music

    Cons

    Inexcusably tedious combat
    Boring
    Lacking polish

    Octopath Traveler would have been great on SNES or PS1 back in the late 90s but for this era it is very dated which is a shame because graphically, it has a lot of vintage charm with nice graphics and some interesting story telling that unfortunately is let down by obnoxiously slow paced combat that makes the game get exceptionally boring fast forcing the player to either not bother and move on to a faster paced game, even by all classic snes jrpgs virtually none have the same tedious turn based combat style.

    Square Enix, you know better! Don't ever make a turn based JRPG that takes several minutes just to beat one basic monster this makes for a tedious eye rolling slog. It doesn't matter how deep the combat system is if you have players bored in the first hour of playing.
    Expand
  14. Feb 25, 2021
    4
    Octopath traveler, they haven't worked enough on it and ask for 60€ for it. Made on Unreal Engine for quick development I think for commercial reasons. Below I break down the different aspects of the game.

    Fantastic music, sound track is the best of the game. Each character has his own music theme, maybe too melancholic but is a 10/10. The plot is too simple and linear, cliche
    Octopath traveler, they haven't worked enough on it and ask for 60€ for it. Made on Unreal Engine for quick development I think for commercial reasons. Below I break down the different aspects of the game.

    Fantastic music, sound track is the best of the game. Each character has his own music theme, maybe too melancholic but is a 10/10.

    The plot is too simple and linear, cliche characters, there is no evolution in them over time. Too Manichean, evil and good well separated. A noble girl becomes a prostitute seeking for vengeance for no reason, instead of using her money and inheritance for it. Anyways narrative is ok, it is ok even if it is full of topics and empty of plot twists. It is a game for kids, not a book. Hire a Jewish screenwriter to review it before starting though, Square Enix 6/10.

    Gameplay is horrible, it is a typical 90's RPG game, but dynamics are too slow.

    They made a weakness point counter system which stuns and weakens enemies when they came to 0. But there are not any strategic but this in the game. In addition, they made an initiative point system, these points increase if you do not use them, and they boost your skills and attacks.

    Both systems combined make combat so tedious as you have to wait turns taking enemies weaknesses points as you wait to your initiative points to increase for making massive damage.

    Boss fights long the same as common fights. And skills are limited, attack, heal, low, and increase defense and attack. Enemies can blind, sleep, etc. you but it is very limited to you to do these things. You have very powerful ultimate skills at your disposal that end a combat after gaining some initiative points.

    These long fights appears each two steps on map, so you can't walk at all, unless you have a mage on team who provides of an extension walking longitude before fighting. Game is hardly bearable even with this mage's skill, it is unplayable if u don't have this.

    You do not need to properly manage your items, you are full of healing things and other things, you will never run out of them, even resurrection items.

    There is not any puzzle on map, just walking, taking treasure chests (some are hidden by 2D vision perspective) and fighting.

    The interaction of the NPCs is the 90's RPGs and they added that, depending of which character is in your team, you can steal or trade items with them, even fight a duel or investigate them, which improves skills or shows you the positions of hidden items, which is a great thing, but the plot is linear so when you get to a village you just examine, steal or trade with everyone to get new items and upgrade skills, you can also have an NPC character following you and help you in battles, you cannot control them .

    You cannot make any decision, there are not dialogues which spread a list of answers, plot is linear.
    3/10

    Talking about graphics, all goods things and effects came from Unreal Engine basics, so they didn’t have to work so much on it, they made low quality sprites for characters, and cartoon textures for the 3D maps and a static camera angle imitating 90's RPG quality, Low-cost graphics which did not provide budget for extending other game features.2/10

    In conclusion this game is just an experimental game made by Square Enix for commercial researches.
    Using a very portable graphic engine, great music, cute story, bad game development and cheap graphics budget. 4/10
    Expand
  15. Jan 25, 2021
    0
    bad story = bad jrpg.
    octopath traveller is a bad jrpg
    very overpriced
    music is good
    combat is ok (for turn based system)
  16. Dec 24, 2020
    6
    I did not play this game to it's completion. Better yet, to any of it's 8 completions.

    But I believe I played enough of it and have seen enough reviews to make up my own opinion. The two strong points to this JRPG are the diverse storylines and the visual aspects. I was expecting a lot more out of it in terms of story-telling, and I was also very disappointed by it's art. Even though
    I did not play this game to it's completion. Better yet, to any of it's 8 completions.

    But I believe I played enough of it and have seen enough reviews to make up my own opinion. The two strong points to this JRPG are the diverse storylines and the visual aspects.

    I was expecting a lot more out of it in terms of story-telling, and I was also very disappointed by it's art. Even though it's good, it's nowhere near as good as I thought it would be. The stories aren't well connected, and just by playing the first four to five hours of the game you can tell the game isn't shaped correctly. The gameplay is not very in sync with the plot, nor is the narrative very well directed. Some bits go on for way too long even though they are ultimately trivial and without any significance.

    It is unique though, and it has very fun twists. If you are a fan of this genre, you should not miss this game!
    Expand
  17. Dec 3, 2020
    6
    Es una pena que un sistema de combate tan atractivo se vea lastrado por una historia tan vacía y superflua. El juego en sus primeros compases es soporífero y solamente desafiante en el tramo final
  18. Nov 1, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Я скажу коротко, честно и по-русски - ХУ-Е-ТА ! Expand
  19. Oct 23, 2020
    10
    De lo mejor del 2018 que por suerte lo podemos jugar en PC desde el año pasado, lo jugue en su momento en la switch y ahora tiene una magnifica oferta del 50% en steam y pensar poderlo jugar a 4k...es demasiada la tentacion, compra obligatoria en la plataforma que sea para los amantes del genero.
  20. Aug 17, 2020
    6
    I wanted to love it but it was just bad. Story was a mess, combat wasn't interesting and you couldn't take 2 steps between random encounters that take far too long to deal with. The graphics and sound weren't bad for what they aimed for but still could've been better, especially at full price.
  21. Aug 1, 2020
    10
    An underrated game that needs more attention, the return of classic turn based jrpg is the best, the characters are amazing, their specific skills are great and useful in situations then you just relate to them one way or another. The soundtrack in this is one of the best, the art style is amazing! I might buy it on the switch for portable playing!
  22. May 13, 2020
    5
    Sadly this is just an overpriced generic JRPG. You can probably recreate this game yourself in RPG maker in a few days.
  23. May 1, 2020
    9
    Sehr schönes Game, wunderbarer Grafikstil und motivierendes Kampfsystem. Endlich mal wieder ein gutes jrpg von Square enix
  24. Mar 7, 2020
    5
    I really wanted to love this game, but a great JRPG needs to have better writing.

    Pros: Extremely extensive gameplay (I've put in 75 hours, and probably have 25 hours left before beating every story line) The battle system is simple but morphs and evolves throughout the game, making it different with each boss. The quaint atmosphere allows the game play to be very casual, excellent
    I really wanted to love this game, but a great JRPG needs to have better writing.

    Pros: Extremely extensive gameplay (I've put in 75 hours, and probably have 25 hours left before beating every story line)
    The battle system is simple but morphs and evolves throughout the game, making it different with each boss.
    The quaint atmosphere allows the game play to be very casual, excellent for relaxing.

    Cons: The characters/story lines do not interact with each other in any authentic way. (About 1/3 of the way into the game, they do start talking but it feels very forced/unnatural).
    The game is essentially 32 bosses interspersed with tiny dungeons that have no real riddles or problems to solve.
    The battle graphics could have been a bit more elaborate seeing as more than half of the game takes place within the battle system.
    The story lines are so simple and outdated. You can find these kinds of stories in kids' picture books. Nothing really intriguing.
    Expand
  25. Sep 17, 2019
    2
    This is among the most disappointing JRPGs I've ever played.

    At first I was pulled in by its beautiful artstyle and more than beautiful soundtrack, but that is pretty much it. You could compare it to a disfigured and moldy pumpkin trying to hide its atrocities behind make up and plastic surgeries. The writing is beyond horrible. Characters that almost constantly act out of character,
    This is among the most disappointing JRPGs I've ever played.

    At first I was pulled in by its beautiful artstyle and more than beautiful soundtrack, but that is pretty much it. You could compare it to a disfigured and moldy pumpkin trying to hide its atrocities behind make up and plastic surgeries.

    The writing is beyond horrible. Characters that almost constantly act out of character, don't make sense whatsoever and doing things that - sure keep the story going but - do not make sense whatsoever. And instead of anyone questioning their behaviour like a normal person would, everyone just takes it the way it is. Good writing shouldn't need these inconsistencies only to keep the story going, instead its characters should keep it going naturally. Other than that it was able to partake in the biggest sin of story-writing possible: Overexposition. Whatever you see on screen, the game will not hesitate to think you stupid enough not to have taken in what happened and explains it in great depths, over and over again. Then of course it also mostly deals with themes explored by many RPGs before it, making it feel even lazier and more uncreative.

    If that was the only gripe I have with this game, at the very least it could be a fun little gameplay-heavy game, but the gameplay is subpar at best for that to happen. Enemies, no matter if random encounter or bosses, are the epitome of bulletsponges. Fights are far from hard, after hours of playing it not once did I die, but instead fights are stretched out like an old stepped upon bubblegum. They are merely there to artificially make the game longer. Enemies weaknesses do not make sense most of the time and unlike other, good, JRPGs are just a guessing game, which makes the fights even more atrocious. The animations, slowdowns and particle effects at least make the actual attacks feel satisfying, but if the main parts of the fighting system can't hold up, that doesn't save it either.

    So the fighting system is frustratingly annoying and the story-writing is insultingly bad... What else makes a good RPG? Freedom and exploring! The game is rather free with you being able to choose from 8 different characters that have different stories from the start to fit your playstyle. However outside of battle - in which they all behave relatively same-y - they only get one "skill" for you to use. Things like being able to steal from people, charm them or provocate them for a fight should make the game more interesting, but they barely have any consequences outside of what items you got, how much experience you get or which places to go. Places are by the way scarce. The big "open" world is designed in such a linear fashion, that exploration mostly consists of going off the path for a few seconds to open randomly placed chests. Now linearity is not a bad thing per se, but in a game where there isn't much of anything else, it was the last hope to get some good out of it.

    The controls weren't problematic, as I've played it with my gamepad instead of using my mouse and keyboard, as that is just my preferred way of playing JRPGs. So I can't say much about how it does control with mouse and keyboard.

    My recommendation is to save your money for something better. The gameplay, the story and the exploration are beyond disappointing. Listen to the soundtrack on YouTube or buy it extra somewhere else and avoid this game as well as possible.
    Expand
  26. Sep 14, 2019
    6
    OT is interesting in some ways but difficult in other. There are 8 stories separate from one another, some more interesting then others, The problem is the interest level. I had trouble to relate to those stories and characters because there were too many and not focus into a main one. So, in a sens, there was no real tension in it. The visual are pretty nice for a 8 bit style game. TheOT is interesting in some ways but difficult in other. There are 8 stories separate from one another, some more interesting then others, The problem is the interest level. I had trouble to relate to those stories and characters because there were too many and not focus into a main one. So, in a sens, there was no real tension in it. The visual are pretty nice for a 8 bit style game. The combat is fun.

    The exploration is too often for the same types of items. Each character has a unique ability regarding interaction with NPC. Some are interesting, some are hard to understand, some too similar. I lost interest after 6 characters and couldn't motivate myself to explore anymore. I give a 65%. If it wasn't for the strange structure, it could have been better. But as it stands, it's just a bunch of side quests.
    Expand
  27. Sep 3, 2019
    7
    Octoparth traveler review

    Octoparth traveler is an original JRPG TURN BASED game. The game will feature the main characters to choose from up to 8 characters, each character will have a path. Proceed with your own story Story So, I have to say, very interesting. I can see a complex story that is interesting through 8 path. !!!! But w.w.w.w.w. Wait a minute If you are thinking
    Octoparth traveler review

    Octoparth traveler is an original JRPG TURN BASED game.
    The game will feature the main characters to choose from up to 8 characters, each character will have a path. Proceed with your own story

    Story
    So, I have to say, very interesting. I can see a complex story that is interesting through 8 path. !!!!
    But w.w.w.w.w. Wait a minute
    If you are thinking (like me) that
    Each character will meet and create many stories on the same main story ............
    Must say that Sorry
    Because the thing that depends on Octoparth traveler is .........
    It is a total of 8 separate stories.
    With only a very short conversation, which the characters interactive during the journey.
    And these 8 main stories are NOT connected at all.
    Good thing is, it's easy to dev.
    But its very bad disadvantage is that like you are playing 8 short JRPG games.
    ....................... boring
    So, the story of this game is not as I expected.

    Game play

    Turn based ADD-ON with weak point system
    And BT system a sytem similar power potential reward.
    Which both parts make the game easier !!!
    Or more difficult???
    Without the status edition system like the original JRPG
    The STATUS is change only from leveled up or
    Change secondary job, weapons, armor,
    And can use special items that can up some status that can be found in side quests.
    I had fun at first.
    But I think that this system is not good enough for carry on playing all long 8 stories.
    For me, I enjoyed the first 60% of the game.
    and then require effort to finish the game.
    ......................... so boring
    So, it is a good system. But for boring people like me.
    It might have Better story To be overlooked, use repetitive commands

    Graphic and sound
    Although the game is made in the form of 2.5 D
    But with the power of Unreal engine 4
    The light and shadow of the game is displayed very beautiful and impressive.
    Although I would like to see more pictures of the main characters
    Well, at this point there should be an ANIME CUTSCENE to make the characters look more alive.
    Or an anime character display when talking can help.
    at least, you will get to see the character's emotion.
    As for the music, I think that the music is smooth and fits the atmosphere of the game.
    Considered to be better than the standard of JRPG in general nowadays

    In summary, Octoparth traveler is a very good JRPG TURN BASED game. And if you are looking for this type of game
    Octoparth traveler is a good choice. I scored Octoparth traveler equal to Suki pot / 10 The Octoparth traveler storyline Will not reach what I expected But with a good concept and beautiful graphics Also made me have a good time some day. For the value, I think it is in a very good spot if the price is lower than 33 usd down. If you already have a lot of pickling games already Recommend to wait first Get it when reduced in price ^^ KNOT-SAMA
    Expand
  28. Jul 11, 2019
    10
    Great game with a fantastic combat system. If you are into the JRPG genre then this is a must play for you!
  29. Jun 25, 2019
    7
    Great visuals and the combat is good for a jrpg. The stories of the main characters are pretty interesting but I dislike the way that the game tells the stories, they also don't connect the stories or characters very well.
  30. Jun 20, 2019
    10
    I do not know why the bad reviews if this game gives you a classic rpg experience with pixel art graphics but do not feel old you really stop and appreciate the beautiful work that is behind you all this and the story something fundamental in the rpg is wonderful I love the approach that I could give but I already spend 40 hours of game
  31. Jun 17, 2019
    7
    Alright JRPG. The best aspect of the game is the beautiful artstyle.

    It also, while mostly being as classic as a JRPG can be, tries something new with its story. The game has 8 individual main characters with their own story. These character join together after a while, but everyone follows their own path. This brings the biggest problem of the game: the 8 characters aren't
    Alright JRPG. The best aspect of the game is the beautiful artstyle.

    It also, while mostly being as classic as a JRPG can be, tries something new with its story.
    The game has 8 individual main characters with their own story. These character join together after a while, but everyone follows their own path.
    This brings the biggest problem of the game: the 8 characters aren't interacting with each other, at all. Only in specific events, but those aren't connected to each others story.

    Overall still a decent game, worth checking out if you enjoy SNES era JRPGs
    Expand
  32. Jun 15, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great pixel art and BGM, stories.
    I love 'n it as SaGa Frontier.
    I have not Nintendo Switch.
    I'm dissatisfied that this game's price, but FINAL FANTASY VI was $ 120 when I bought 30years ago.
    Expand
  33. Jun 13, 2019
    10
    El mejor sistema de combate por turnos, con unas historias muy personales con las que empatizas y juegas deseando ver el desenlace. Artísticamente me parece maravilloso.
  34. Jun 11, 2019
    10
    Great game I've played the game using Xbox one, PS4, and Xbox 360 and all work fine for me on PC. The game brings me back to the awesome JRPGs from the 90s with a modern look. You definitely should add this game to your steam collection
  35. Jun 9, 2019
    9
    Octopath Traveler is a beautiful JRPG that feels and looks like the classics of old.
    But like most classic games, it is certainly not perfect and left something to be desired.
    I won't go too much into the story. Just know that you play as 8 different characters (4 in your Party at any time) and that they have their own story, that, very rarely and sadly very poorly, intermingles with
    Octopath Traveler is a beautiful JRPG that feels and looks like the classics of old.
    But like most classic games, it is certainly not perfect and left something to be desired.

    I won't go too much into the story.
    Just know that you play as 8 different characters (4 in your Party at any time) and that they have their own story, that, very rarely and sadly very poorly, intermingles with that of their teammates. In fact, the story is the most disappointing part about this game. It doesn't have the 'epicness' of Final Fantasy VI or the intrigue of something like Chrono Trigger. It feels... empty? Something is certainly left to be desired.
    The same sadly goes for the characters as well; most of them are more like caricatures, archetypes or stereotypes, rather than actually fleshed out characters.

    The game-play on the other hand makes up for everything bad about the story and characters.
    It's your classical turn-based JRPG that we all know and love. Specific characters can use specific weapons or spells, thus making every party member valuable. Square Enix also carried over a modified version of a mechanic they used in their other game "Bravely Default", where, after you chose to 'default' (defend) your character would gain an action point and they could be used to move several times in one turn. In this modified state however, you gain a point every turn, and you can not only go several times per turn, but also power-up your spells and techniques to make them even more deadly.
    The enemy variety is also quite big, thus making combat less repetitive and actually fun, no matter at which point in the game you are.

    The sound design is also amazing.
    Both Japanese and English voice acting is pretty good, but there are some exceptions in the English VA, which is why I would personally recommend playing with the Japanese VA.
    Sound effects and BGM are really good and crisp, especially the BGM.
    The OST in general just... perfect. Go listen to it when you get the chance!

    Finally, the graphics.
    This game has an 16-Bit graphics style alongside some modern VFX, and it is an absolutely beautiful blend. Even on the Switch with 720p in docked mode, this game looks amazing! It is at 60 FPS, which makes it even better!
    16-Bit graphics have always and will always look good in my eyes, however that pushed the game over the edge are the VFX. Spells, Water/the Ocean, Dark Caves... They all look so much more impressive thanks to the amazing VFX.

    Tl;Dr Octopath Traveler is a beautiful nod to JRPGs of the past, specifically SNES JRPGs, and it's really good at what it's trying to accomplish, even though it does have some hiccups in the story department. Overall, most certainly worth a purchase, if you don't own it on Switch already. If that's the case, wait for a price drop, since there is nothing new here except for improved graphics and framerate
    Expand
  36. Jun 8, 2019
    0
    This is an old fashioned J-RPG game with lengthiness dialogue and turn-based fight that would cost the player massive time. The interest in the plots is faded in such a long and boring time. BTW, Xbox controller is not supported in this game, and keyboard input sucks too. I recommended you not to spend your time and money on Octopath Traveller. If you really a J-RPG lover and want to tryThis is an old fashioned J-RPG game with lengthiness dialogue and turn-based fight that would cost the player massive time. The interest in the plots is faded in such a long and boring time. BTW, Xbox controller is not supported in this game, and keyboard input sucks too. I recommended you not to spend your time and money on Octopath Traveller. If you really a J-RPG lover and want to try this game, I suggest you buy the NS edition that controller is supported and you can sell the game card after finishing it. Collapse
  37. Jun 8, 2019
    0
    Парни, единственный русский обзор
    Игра - не стоит своих денег ни разу, не берите, особенно в стим за 4500
  38. Jun 8, 2019
    10
    Played 75 hours on switch and now looking forward to complete it on Pc. Awesome game.
  39. Jun 7, 2019
    10
    Octopath Traveler is a good old jrpg. Thanks for the beta testing, bing bing wahoo!
  40. Jun 8, 2019
    0
    This is an old fashioned J-RPG game with lengthiness dialogue and turn-based fight that would cost the player massive time. The interest in the plots is faded in such a long and boring time. BTW, Xbox controller is not supported in this game, and keyboard input sucks too. I recommended you not to spend your time and money on Octopath Traveller. If you really a J-RPG lover and want to tryThis is an old fashioned J-RPG game with lengthiness dialogue and turn-based fight that would cost the player massive time. The interest in the plots is faded in such a long and boring time. BTW, Xbox controller is not supported in this game, and keyboard input sucks too. I recommended you not to spend your time and money on Octopath Traveller. If you really a J-RPG lover and want to try this game, I suggest you buy the NS edition that controller is supported and you can sell the game card after finishing it. Collapse
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Sep 18, 2019
    84
    An otherwise delightful and nostalgic JRPG, Octopath Traveler's lack of an integrated story leaves the experience feeling empty in the end.
  2. Aug 27, 2019
    70
    In the end, I love what Octopath Traveler is trying to do with its shieldbreaking and its eight-way narrative, but it’s probably better suited to the Switch than the PC. It feels like a title that needs to be played in short bursts, as is fitting for Nintendo’s portable platform. Perhaps I wouldn’t be as frustrated with its quirks if I walked away from time to time and did something else — I will go back and complete the quest, but for now, I just need a break.
  3. Aug 2, 2019
    90
    An excellent port of a great game, that still requires a controller to enjoy it to the fullest. It has 8 great stories, 8 interesting characters, a bunch of mechanics to use and most of all - a tone of hours to pour into it and finish it all.