Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Jul 18, 2018
    90
    Explosive and exciting, with and interesting characters and mystery to unfold.
  2. May 14, 2018
    85
    A perfectly proportioned adventure in a colorful land where you are the only one who can solve the mystery of the end of the world.
  3. May 30, 2018
    80
    The enticing story and solid characters are definitely the main highlights of Omensight, so if you're looking for a game that has both, Spearhead Games' new title will deliver. On the flip side, the repetitive nature of the time-travel mechanic is one of the game's main downsides, but if you can get passed it, you'll find that Omensight is actually a wonderful gem.
  4. May 16, 2018
    80
    In all, Omensight clearly has a lot of heart and, while not as lengthy or deep as some other games in the genre, it offers up a kind of marriage between gameplay and story telling that makes use of it's format rather than being limited by it. That somewhat tragic story is one that seems likely to inspire a lot of thought from the young minds that interact with it, hopefully some of the aged ones too.
  5. May 14, 2018
    80
    An enticing (if sometimes uneven) action-adventure that will surprise you with an intriguing mystery and surprisingly deep characters.
  6. May 22, 2018
    75
    Like the film Groundhog Day, Omensight is a great action game that propose fight, day after day, until save the fantastic world of Urraria. It's a bit repetitive in its action, but its passionate and clever storyline push it to complete its great adventure.
  7. CD-Action
    Aug 2, 2018
    70
    Omensight is a sibling of Spearhead Games’ previous title. Just like in Stories: The Path of Destinies, in key moments you need to make choices that lead to mutually exclusive levels. It gives you an unparalleled impression of influencing the story and shaping the game world, so the first couple of short playthroughs are immensely enjoyable. The more you play though, the more evident the game’s simple, repetitive structure becomes and the initial enchantment fades. Look for Omensight on sales. [07/2018, p.82]
  8. May 26, 2018
    65
    Although the 5-6 hours adventure doesn’t outstay its welcome it nevertheless doesn’t manage to surpass or even reach the unquestionable charm of Stories: The Path of Destinies. The dramatic murder mystery cannot sustain the interest throughout the somewhat predictable or unexciting reveals and the quite linear progression seems to come at odds with the main “Groundhog Day” storytelling approach. Not be too harsh, it’s a quite enjoyable adventure but we preferred much more the heart-warming misadventures of Reynardo.
  9. May 17, 2018
    65
    Omensight is a title worth admiring for its bold storytelling approach and unique take on the action RPG genre.
  10. May 16, 2018
    65
    Omensight‘s fluid combat and colorful cast of characters are the stars in this time-altering murder mystery. The beautiful art style and personality of the game is enough to overshadow some of the sketchy platforming and camera angles. But the game’s surprisingly linear progression left me yearning for more mystery solving than was provided.
  11. 60
    A unique murder mystery that excels in narrative but is hindered by elementary combat, Omensight may have all of the workings of a good game but its shortcomings still take a big toll on the overall experience.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 25
  2. Negative: 4 out of 25
  1. Jun 12, 2019
    8
    Omensight's combat elements are brilliant as they have depth to them and this in turn made the combat exciting and rewarding throughout yourOmensight's combat elements are brilliant as they have depth to them and this in turn made the combat exciting and rewarding throughout your journey. Spearhead Games caught my attention almost immediately thanks to their game Stories: The Path of Destinies so I was excited to play their new release Omensight. Spearhead Games has delivered once again, because I thoroughly enjoyed Omensight from beginning to end due to it getting their new release right once again. The first thing you’ll notice that they get right then is the presentation of the audio and graphics, which give the gameplay and fresh look to all areas. The already brilliant story was even better from the moment I started the game I was hooked by the game’s fantastic story and characters found in it. The gameplay also did a very good job of keeping me hooked as well and this was without a doubt due to the combat involved. I’m not exaggerating when I speak to the combat's depth and each move that you pull off feels satisfying. You’ll be able to pull off more powerful moves as you progress thanks to the upgrades that are made available to you, which makes obtaining these upgrades a worthwhile experience. At times an annoying camera and few small glitches here and there, can easily be looked past because the game just gets so much more right. The future seems bright for Spearhead Games because both the games I’ve played on the Xbox One were great fun and well executed. I definitely recommend Omensight because it takes you on an adventure that remains exciting and it features some of the most enjoyable combat you can experience. When you also factor in the fantastic story it makes this game a value priced journey that needs to be experienced. If you are a fan of the genre I would highly recommend adding it to your Xbox One library of games. Full Review »
  2. May 29, 2018
    0
    You dont solve anything. The games takes you the only way you can go. So there is no actually thinking. Kinda got me yawning. The graphics areYou dont solve anything. The games takes you the only way you can go. So there is no actually thinking. Kinda got me yawning. The graphics are nice same as game mechanics, but not the camera. Full Review »
  3. May 15, 2018
    10
    I just finished the game and I must admit, this game is deeply addictive with interesting visual, a dynamic combat system and a veryI just finished the game and I must admit, this game is deeply addictive with interesting visual, a dynamic combat system and a very intriguing story. Its a must have for action rpg story driven fan Full Review »