Omensight Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 25 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Omensight is an Action Murder-Mystery game. You are the Harbinger, a powerful mystical warrior who has witnessed the destruction of the world. In order to prevent annihilation, you are destined to repeat that fateful day and solve the murder of the Godless-Priestess, whose death precipitatedOmensight is an Action Murder-Mystery game. You are the Harbinger, a powerful mystical warrior who has witnessed the destruction of the world. In order to prevent annihilation, you are destined to repeat that fateful day and solve the murder of the Godless-Priestess, whose death precipitated the apocalypse.
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
15 Minutes Of Time Traveling Action In Omensight
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Jul 18, 2018
    90
    Explosive and exciting, with and interesting characters and mystery to unfold.
  2. May 14, 2018
    85
    A perfectly proportioned adventure in a colorful land where you are the only one who can solve the mystery of the end of the world.
  3. May 30, 2018
    80
    The enticing story and solid characters are definitely the main highlights of Omensight, so if you're looking for a game that has both, Spearhead Games' new title will deliver. On the flip side, the repetitive nature of the time-travel mechanic is one of the game's main downsides, but if you can get passed it, you'll find that Omensight is actually a wonderful gem.
  4. May 22, 2018
    75
    Like the film Groundhog Day, Omensight is a great action game that propose fight, day after day, until save the fantastic world of Urraria. It's a bit repetitive in its action, but its passionate and clever storyline push it to complete its great adventure.
  5. CD-Action
    Aug 2, 2018
    70
    Omensight is a sibling of Spearhead Games’ previous title. Just like in Stories: The Path of Destinies, in key moments you need to make choices that lead to mutually exclusive levels. It gives you an unparalleled impression of influencing the story and shaping the game world, so the first couple of short playthroughs are immensely enjoyable. The more you play though, the more evident the game’s simple, repetitive structure becomes and the initial enchantment fades. Look for Omensight on sales. [07/2018, p.82]
  6. May 26, 2018
    65
    Although the 5-6 hours adventure doesn’t outstay its welcome it nevertheless doesn’t manage to surpass or even reach the unquestionable charm of Stories: The Path of Destinies. The dramatic murder mystery cannot sustain the interest throughout the somewhat predictable or unexciting reveals and the quite linear progression seems to come at odds with the main “Groundhog Day” storytelling approach. Not be too harsh, it’s a quite enjoyable adventure but we preferred much more the heart-warming misadventures of Reynardo.
  7. 60
    A unique murder mystery that excels in narrative but is hindered by elementary combat, Omensight may have all of the workings of a good game but its shortcomings still take a big toll on the overall experience.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. May 15, 2018
    10
    I just finished the game and I must admit, this game is deeply addictive with interesting visual, a dynamic combat system and a veryI just finished the game and I must admit, this game is deeply addictive with interesting visual, a dynamic combat system and a very intriguing story. Its a must have for action rpg story driven fan Expand
  2. May 22, 2018
    10
    Leaving a very positive score here because I absolutely loved this game and it's "brother" 'Stories: The Path of Destinies".

    While rating
    Leaving a very positive score here because I absolutely loved this game and it's "brother" 'Stories: The Path of Destinies".

    While rating this game you always have to have in mind that his a indie studio and that their ressources are limited. For what it is, Omensight is an awesome game with nice visuals, good music, wonderful voiceovers and dynamic combat.

    I love the story idea behind it, although I loved Stories: Path of Destinies more.
    The only bad thing about Omensight is the ending in my opinion. While everything gets explained the fate of the characters you meet seems to be told a little bit unloved.
    Expand
  3. May 29, 2018
    9
    Preety interesting game. Only suspicious thing are commands if you are using keyboard ( i was lazy to think how to get my joystick workingPreety interesting game. Only suspicious thing are commands if you are using keyboard ( i was lazy to think how to get my joystick working since i wanted to make myself get used to new style of controls ), it is hard to get used to the controls in few points of view and that results in a lot of dying. I like the idea of this game, great story and, at some point that much interesting gameplay that you wake up that oldschool gamers instinct and gain a wish to play a game in higher difficulty since it doesn t take long to finish the game ( 7 - 10 hrs ) Collapse
  4. Mar 7, 2019
    8
    Omensight was interesting. Because the story is by timewarp on the same events on 4-6 locations, there is a certain aspect of it that isOmensight was interesting. Because the story is by timewarp on the same events on 4-6 locations, there is a certain aspect of it that is repetitive. But each iterations of repetitions is different in it's own way. The combat is pretty decent and the platforming is forgiving. I played with a controller and it was perfect. The RPG elements are minimal but important to your combat and protection. The ending, well I am not sure. It was ok but somehow not that satisfying. I give it a 80%. Nice game that use time travel in an interesting way. Expand
  5. Jun 12, 2019
    8
    Omensight's combat elements are brilliant as they have depth to them and this in turn made the combat exciting and rewarding throughout yourOmensight's combat elements are brilliant as they have depth to them and this in turn made the combat exciting and rewarding throughout your journey. Spearhead Games caught my attention almost immediately thanks to their game Stories: The Path of Destinies so I was excited to play their new release Omensight. Spearhead Games has delivered once again, because I thoroughly enjoyed Omensight from beginning to end due to it getting their new release right once again. The first thing you’ll notice that they get right then is the presentation of the audio and graphics, which give the gameplay and fresh look to all areas. The already brilliant story was even better from the moment I started the game I was hooked by the game’s fantastic story and characters found in it. The gameplay also did a very good job of keeping me hooked as well and this was without a doubt due to the combat involved. I’m not exaggerating when I speak to the combat's depth and each move that you pull off feels satisfying. You’ll be able to pull off more powerful moves as you progress thanks to the upgrades that are made available to you, which makes obtaining these upgrades a worthwhile experience. At times an annoying camera and few small glitches here and there, can easily be looked past because the game just gets so much more right. The future seems bright for Spearhead Games because both the games I’ve played on the Xbox One were great fun and well executed. I definitely recommend Omensight because it takes you on an adventure that remains exciting and it features some of the most enjoyable combat you can experience. When you also factor in the fantastic story it makes this game a value priced journey that needs to be experienced. If you are a fan of the genre I would highly recommend adding it to your Xbox One library of games. Expand
  6. Mar 27, 2019
    8
    Omensight is a action game/murder mystery. Made by the same people as Stories: The Paths of Destiny, this game, too, makes use of a branchingOmensight is a action game/murder mystery. Made by the same people as Stories: The Paths of Destiny, this game, too, makes use of a branching narrative structure, a time travel loop, and a cast of anthropomorphic animals (i.e. furries). Much like their other game, this game has a somewhat repetitive gameplay loop, and relies heavily on the story and its characters to sell the game to you.

    Fortunately, much like their previous game, this game is pretty solid in those regards.

    You play as the Harbinger – a mute glowing humanoid guardian. It’s the end of the world, and it is the Harbinger’s job to stop it. Unfortunately, the Harbinger only shows up moments before the end of the world; wandering arcoss a battlefield, the player is beset by enemies intent on killing them. You find first the corpse of Ludimir, a mighty bear warrior who tried (and failed) to assassinate the Emperor Indrik, then a dying Imperial general Draga, Indrik’s finest general. But it seems the war you’re observing is moot as Voden, a horrible magical serpent, breaks free and destroys the world and everyone in it.

    The Harbinger is then introduced to the central game mechanic – at the end of every day, when the world is destroyed, the Harbinger is brought to the Tree of Life, the one place safe from the serpent. From here, you can level up, turn in “Amber” (the game’s currency) for purchasable upgrades, and then go back into the world, starting from the morning of a character of your choice – you start out being able to only follow Ludimir and Draga, but over the course of the game you unlock additional characters you can follow as you find their corpses (or more often, simply kill them yourself so you can start following them).

    Your goal in doing all of this is to figure out how to prevent the end of the world at the hands of Voden. The Godless-Priestess Vera, a Dalhai Lama-esque figure, has been murdered, but worse, her spirit has somehow been trapped, preventing her from returning to the world and protecting it, and at the start of the game, it seems like your goal is pretty simple – find out who murdered Vera. But this being a mystery game, things aren’t as they seem, and there are a number of twists and turns in the plot as you make your way through.

    Unlike Stories, this game actually has a pretty clear progression as you make your way through it, via the titular Omensight mechanic. As quickly becomes clear, your real goal in each cycle is to find an Omensight, a vision of what happened to the Godless-Priestess that would point towards what happened to her. This is typically achieved by finding someone who will teach you how to open a seal, a big magical lock thing that is found in several places, hiding off various secret areas and hidden memories. By going through the cycles, the characters will hint at who you should follow next or where you should be going by discovering things, or outright help you by teaching you how to open the seals.

    At first, you are following around your allies, but after you start getting Omensights, each day, you show them the latest Omensight, which causes them to start changing their behavior – this leads you through the various levels in different ways, and even causes them to go to different levels entirely in pursuit of different characters. This can lead characters into conflicts that they never encountered normally, and also allow you to spare characters who would ordinarily get into fatal conflicts.

    There are even a few points where you have a mid-path choice, where two characters come into conflict and you can either choose to help the person you’re following (starting a boss fight) or share your Omensight with the opponent as well, earning their trust and forcing them to collaborate with the person you’re following around. Each of these leads to different paths and different clues about what is going on.

    Each run through a day is pretty short – most of them clock in around 30-40 minutes, but some are significantly shorter or longer than others. In some cases, virtually everyone in an area is friendly to the person you’re following around, while in others, you have to take a circuitous route through the level and fight everyone you come across. This is a good thing, however, as you’re going to be running through at least 10 days, and closer to 25 if you’re trying to do everything.

    Action-wise, the game is alright - a bit on the repetitive side, and it has few normal enemies (only 10 or so), but it has 8 bosses, which is fairly decent.

    All in all, I ended up liking this game – I thought that it, like Stories, played with player choice in an interesting way. But at the same time, I feel like this game had many of the same weaknesses as their previous game – the gameplay ends up being repetitive by the end of it, and the story’s ending is kind of a letdown.
    Expand
  7. May 29, 2018
    0
    You dont solve anything. The games takes you the only way you can go. So there is no actually thinking. Kinda got me yawning. The graphics areYou dont solve anything. The games takes you the only way you can go. So there is no actually thinking. Kinda got me yawning. The graphics are nice same as game mechanics, but not the camera. Expand