OneShot Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 167 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: OneShot is a surreal top down Puzzle/Adventure game with unique gameplay capabilities. You are to guide a child through a mysterious world on a mission to restore its long-dead sun. The world knows you exist.

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
OneShot - Launch Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Games Master UK
    Feb 18, 2017
    91
    Thought-provoking, innovative, and haunting, OneShot is immmersive in a totally unique way. [Feb 2017, p.80]
  2. Dec 7, 2016
    90
    OneShot pulls players in with poise and wit in a way most games can only dream of, offering up the best an adventure game can offer. With a character that can easily be understood and cared for, OneShot creates an unforgettable adventure while hiding secrets that could very well be missed. What awaits in OneShot is well worth anyone’s time.
  3. Jan 2, 2017
    85
    It’s short, but worth every second of your time. This version is somewhat more forgiving than the original, much to my disappointment, but the visuals, atmosphere and narrative come together to create a particularly impressive experience.
  4. Dec 21, 2016
    80
    A completely unexpected wonder. Its use of witty dialogue and strong focus on characters can easily rival that of Undertale. The story, though slowed somewhat by one or two finicky puzzles, will pull at your heart strings constantly. You definitely won’t want it to end.
  5. Dec 28, 2016
    70
    If you're looking for a great story, give OneShot a try. It won't give you many choices, but those you have will really matter. It's aimed at a certain audience, but this audience will love it.
  6. Dec 15, 2017
    70
    Imagine a world without light. Imagine being the saviour of that world. Become the messiah and resolve puzzles to accomplish your objectives. OneShot has innovative mechanics that transcend the game screen and uses your own computer to offer you clues.
  7. Nov 29, 2018
    70
    By its very nature, OneShot‘s persistent world experience is incredibly difficult to distill into words accurately, but those who dig quirky or emotional tales and don’t shy away from something completely different should seriously consider taking this particular plunge.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 47
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 47
  3. Negative: 5 out of 47
  1. Apr 26, 2017
    10
    I can confidently say that OneShot became one of my favourite videogames. Nay, this is not just a game, it's an "experience"!

    Games such as
    I can confidently say that OneShot became one of my favourite videogames. Nay, this is not just a game, it's an "experience"!

    Games such as Undertale, To The Moon and now OneShot too made me love indie games more than ever before. There are indie games that can accomplish more than "AAA title games made by highly paid developers"!

    I have only two problems with this game:
    - It's short...
    - You don't get to know the characters "deeper". As Himeji said:
    "(...) the characters aren't very deeply developed, aside from Niko, the protagonist alongside the player. Their interactions start to become interesting, but are very brief, and you'll never see those NPCs again, making their short development almost pointless."
    Expand
  2. Sep 18, 2021
    10
    This game changed my life, I love the story, OST, puzzles and of course the characters. It's a masterpiece, go play it.
  3. Mar 29, 2020
    10
    i really love this game. It's a great experience. You don't know how surprise i am when i play this game.this game also make me veryi really love this game. It's a great experience. You don't know how surprise i am when i play this game.this game also make me very attractive.The way that creator made the story are very amazing and impressive.
    This is my favorite now!!
    Expand
  4. Apr 27, 2017
    10
    This game is downright amazing. I didn't think much of it at first (like most indie games with little-to-no promotion), but the more I playedThis game is downright amazing. I didn't think much of it at first (like most indie games with little-to-no promotion), but the more I played it the more I fell in love with it. In my opinion (my OPINION, keep that in mind), here's what makes it so great:

    - It has the very uncommon trait of causing you to feel for the character(s). When they're sad, you're sad. When they're happy, you're happy. This helps so much in creating a bond between you and the main character.
    - It has some of the coolest puzzle solving aspects (like making you solve puzzles with hints that it practically throws onto your desktop wallpaper or documents folder), while still maintaining a simplistic style of gameplay.
    - The fact that the 4th wall is completely demolished is almost as amazing as both the way they put YOU in the game, and that it makes perfect sense how you're involved.
    - The story seems pretty generic and cliche at first, but then slowly evolves into something much more amazing. Then, it somehow tops that as well.
    - Practically half of what makes this game amazing, is it's wonderful retro/indie soundtrack. Every piece of this original soundtrack perfectly fits the environment or situation that you are in, and makes it memorable enough that I can easily remember the area I was in JUST from hearing the music alone.
    - The little details that it adds each time you play it, make this game so amazing.

    This game broke the 4th wall, broke my heart, and best of all broke my expectations. Without a single doubt in my mind, I give this a 10/10.
    Expand
  5. Jul 15, 2020
    9
    Loved this game, primarily because of the out-of-the-box puzzling and the really good story. You'll probably like it if you like games likeLoved this game, primarily because of the out-of-the-box puzzling and the really good story. You'll probably like it if you like games like Undertale and LISA: the Painful.

    Highly recommend giving this a go.
    Expand
  6. Apr 17, 2020
    9
    A hidden masterpiece that (un)fortunately didn't received all the attention it deserved due to being overshadowed by Undertale (don't get meA hidden masterpiece that (un)fortunately didn't received all the attention it deserved due to being overshadowed by Undertale (don't get me wrong, UT is a masterpiece too) in it's period, but even today it's still a great game that I highly recommend to play especially if you are into games with a meta narrative like I do, because this game has freaking NAILED this type of narrative.
    Now, I don't want to go too much in detail because I'm lazy and I don't want to heavily spoiler the game, so I'll sum up with pros and cons (yes, this game has cons, of course).

    Pros:
    -Niko (The Not Cat), the main protagonist, is one of the most likeable characters I've ever seen in a videogame (and it's really cute, too);
    -Great soundtracks, maybe a little bit too short especially for some parts of the game, but still really nice to listen while doing puzzles and following the story;
    -Graphics simple but gorgeous with really good drawn cut-scenes;
    -Slow pace but since it's an entertaining puzzle-story driven game it's perfectly fine to play;
    -Game mechanics are fun to play with, especially the item one which you've to combine items in order to progress or equip a specific item to unlock new dialogues and interactions;
    -Unique and mind-blowing 4th wall breaks I never saw in a videogame before (not even Undertale) that perfectly goes along with the story;
    -Perfectly done environments that clearly shows you how the world is really decaying, combined with the general melancholic tune the soundtracks have;
    -Nice looking npcs and main characters in general;
    -Challenging and interesting puzzles, not too easy and stupid but not too difficult either;
    -Well designed and big but not dispersive maps. Everything will connect at some point;
    -Addicting (emotionally too if you're that type of player like me), interesting and detailed story that not only uses the 4th wall break mechanic to it's finest, but it immerse YOU, The Player, to the point you're just the second protagonist alongside with Niko. In the end you'll probably cry.

    These are all the pros I can recall now.

    Cons:
    -Limited and tile by tile only movement, both respectively meaning that you can't walk diagonally if not by doing a zig-zag type of movement (which it could be quite annoying at times because some parts of the game require you to move diagonally) and pressing a movement key even for a split second will result in Niko moving from a whole tile to another one, so no precise movements. All of this can sometimes give the feel that there's input lag;
    -Even tho it's explained a little bit why later in the game, it's quite sad that we can't get to know more about most of the characters;
    -A map. A FREAKING MAP PLEASE. Not necessarily a minimap like those in GTA and similar games who tells you everything, but at least one that when you discover a place that you can't interact with yet because you miss an item, it marks that place for you so you can come back easily and not get lost when you obtain that missing item. I managed to loose an hour in The Barrens in my first run because of this. I know there's fast travel but still a map assistant wouldn't hurt the game experience;
    -The photography puzzle is too subject-specific IMHO, like if you don't know at least the basics of that subject (which is totally possible, I don't know anything about photography) you would end up searching on Internet for a solution.

    And these instead are all the cons I can remember, which even if there are a few, they don't hurt the experience that much and are forgivable.

    In the end, should I suggest this game? Absolutely YES.
    Expand
  7. Jun 30, 2017
    2
    I was hoping this game would be interesting like Undertale, but the breaking-the-4th wall aspect is implemented in an incredibly dull andI was hoping this game would be interesting like Undertale, but the breaking-the-4th wall aspect is implemented in an incredibly dull and boring way. It's a single-trick gimmick that's kind of lame. Expand

See all 47 User Reviews

Trailers