Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Aug 11, 2020
    90
    Othercide is very enjoyable for both lovers of tactics and for those who don't know this genre and want to start playing it. With a campaign that offers many possibilities and immense amount of hours, all this added to its very compelling visual style, especially if you are a Lovecraft fan.
  2. Jul 29, 2020
    90
    Regardless of its more technical flaws, Othercide promises a fresh and challenging TRPG experience for both new and veteran players of the genre. With captivating visuals and a unique take on turn-based initiative, Lightbulb Crew has given players a game more than worth its $34.99 price tag.
  3. 90
    Othercide’s story is by no means bad, but when compared to everything else the game excels in, story delivery is where the game stumbles a bit. With solid gameplay, mechanics, and visuals, Othercide is a standout title this year in the turn-based strategy tactics and roguelike genre.
  4. Jul 28, 2020
    90
    Othercide may challenge you harshly, but it also adequately rewards your perseverance.
  5. Jul 27, 2020
    90
    Othercide is an engaging tactical rpg and I’m going to hop right back in. There are so many different strategies to employ that it never gets boring. The timeline is a fantastic idea that adds a lot of strategic options. It can be almost too hard at times, but I know I’ll get through anything given enough time.
  6. Jul 27, 2020
    90
    Othercide is a tactical roguelike with a flair for the dramatic, full of satisfying combat, careful planning, and sometimes heart-rending decisions.
  7. Jul 27, 2020
    85
    Othercide is a fresh take on the turn-based genre that presents a unique approach to the genre full of challenging moments of strategic combat. With the influx of similar titles, Othercide manages to stand out through its dark and gorgeous themes paired with a memorable narrative. There are moments of the gameflow that can be improved on, but I have rarely been this eager to jump back into a game suffering a loss.
  8. Sep 20, 2020
    83
    Othercide is low-key but stylish, smart, exciting, even though it doesn't have the budget and technologies of Gears Tactics. It does fall into the same gameplay cracks sometimes, yet, unlike GT, it always keeps you engaged and invested in the fate of your team.
  9. CD-Action
    Oct 15, 2020
    80
    With its distinct visual style, interesting, complex gameplay mechanics, and merciless difficulty level, Othercide is a treat for anyone who enjoys challenging turn-based tactical games. [10/2020, p.50]
  10. Aug 17, 2020
    80
    Ultimately, Othercide is a unique entry into the genre that is definitely worth your time. It’s pacing issues and ramping difficulty might be the stuff of nightmares for some, but when it comes together, the clever timeline mechanics and risk-based troop management can be the stuff of sweet tactical dreams.
  11. Aug 13, 2020
    80
    Although a slight bitterness remains for some questionable design choices and for a roguelite structure that tends to limit the very potential of production instead of enhancing it, it is impossible not to recognize the undoubted value of the project and the equally undeniable talent of a development team. which will certainly be talked about in the years to come.
  12. Aug 12, 2020
    80
    Othercide manages to blend tactical RPGs and rogue-lite gameplay superbly that works to offer a compelling gameplay loop. Both elements come together to make for a energizing title, one that offers a refreshing, engrossing combat system that releases the restraints to allow more experimentation. A bold, beautiful presentation sets the tone, hampered mostly by a couple of small quality assurance issues and the lack of variety in mission design and maps. Othercide makes for another great surprise in Focus Home Interactive’s growing library, and is a game people should pay attention to.
  13. Jul 29, 2020
    80
    Othercide is a modern gothic take on turn-based tactics. It's stylish, difficult and a solid addition to the genre.
  14. Jul 28, 2020
    80
    Othercide is damn hard, but if you can push through and find your feet, it's also an incredibly satisfying and atmospheric experience. Whatever you do, don't go in expecting to play a straightforward XCOM-clone. Othercide deserves more respect than that.
  15. Aug 2, 2020
    76
    Owns its bleak theming completely, even if it can get a little repetitive.
  16. Aug 27, 2020
    75
    I was drawn to Othercide not only because I’m a fan of turn-based tactical combat and compelling aesthetics, but because of its mysterious premise. That said, the repetitive gameplay and lack of variety made me eventually lose interest. The themes of death, struggle, and rebirth are interesting, but they weren’t enough to override the repetition and and unconventional design choices.
  17. Aug 6, 2020
    75
    There aren't many games like Othercide that dig deep into gameplay that make players be willing to die. Although it offers great tactical and strategic elements, after players die again and again, it becomes so repetitive and boring.
  18. Jul 28, 2020
    75
    Othercide is a flawed but generally fun strategy-RPG. It has some balance issues and an annoying UI, but beyond that, it does everything that it sets out to do. It's not as difficult or punishing as an XCOM title might have been, but it may be a good replacement for those who like the strategy game style without the punishment of losing so much when you die. Be prepared to do that a lot, since death is in many ways the only way to advance in the game. Overall, I had fun with Othercide, but it's the kind of game where my opinion will likely improve after a couple of patches.
  19. Jul 30, 2020
    70
    Othercide is an interesting twist on the tactical RPG genre with a striking artstyle, adding in roguelike elements to questionable effect. Not everything comes together well mechanically, it's a little bit repetitive, and I think the narrative elements could have benefitted from just a tad more outward direction. It's certainly a unique game, which may be worth checking it out if you like trying new and different styles even if the execution is spotty in places.
  20. Jul 29, 2020
    70
    Othercide mixes a mid-2000s Hot Topic aesthetic with tightly-designed tactics that work very well, even if it largely runs out of new ideas after the first few hours. It's more a proof-of-concept than anything, but it's smart and entertaining while it lasts.
  21. Jul 27, 2020
    70
    Othercide has a number of interesting quirks and its art design, with gothic and noir elements, creates a uniquely forboding atmosphere. Unfortunately, it's also got a ridiculous degree of difficulty that you normally don't associate with the turn-based strategy genre. The game's roguelite concepts are more than welcome, though repetition and restarts, combined with the genre's slower progression and mission system, will make playthroughs feel like time-consuming affairs.
  22. Jul 28, 2020
    65
    Othercide is a stylish turn based strategy game, with a lot of innovation and a "beautiful" setting, but every mission is a copy-and-paste and there is a lack of diversification.
  23. Jul 28, 2020
    60
    The game shows too quickly what it has to offer and struggles to infuse the feeling of progression essential in this type of register, due to a slightly unbalanced structure.
  24. Jul 27, 2020
    60
    The presentation and atmosphere on offer are fantastic, but Othercide's gameplay sadly cannot match. So much potential that's regrettably not well utilised.
  25. Jul 27, 2020
    60
    A combat system that’s deeper than it first appears is the real star here, but you’ll likely also stick around for the perverse and disturbing universe and the story that plays out within it. The voiceover work will quickly annoy you and the difficulty is unfair, but there is still a bit to enjoy here, assuming you can ignore some of Othercide’s shortcomings. I wanted to like Othercide much more than I did.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 42
  2. Negative: 10 out of 42
  1. Sep 16, 2020
    5
    This game drew me in with its beautiful art and drips of story, used me with its repetitive gameplay, then asked me to do it all over again. IThis game drew me in with its beautiful art and drips of story, used me with its repetitive gameplay, then asked me to do it all over again. I was excited to start but after 14 hours nothing has changed. I've lost interest. You shall join the elite ranks of my unfinished games.

    Date Dropped: 2020-09-15
    Playtime: 14h
    Enjoyment: 5/10
    Recommendation: No. There's almost no story, just a whole lot of repetition.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 1, 2020
    10
    Probably my favorite tactical Rpg game, it is the perfect mix between Darkest dungeon and Xcom 2. Also let's not forget the sublime visual,Probably my favorite tactical Rpg game, it is the perfect mix between Darkest dungeon and Xcom 2. Also let's not forget the sublime visual, this game is a treat for the eyes. Full Review »
  3. Feb 19, 2021
    6
    I gotta hand it to this game, it looks really neat in trailers. A lot of the reviews here will say the same things, and that's because they'reI gotta hand it to this game, it looks really neat in trailers. A lot of the reviews here will say the same things, and that's because they're pretty much spot on. The game has a lot to draw you in. The art direction is top-notch, the story they drip to you sounds interesting, and I think this would all play out super well in an action game starring the "Mother" character you get to mess with during the tutorial. After that... you get three classes that may as well negate the whole permadeath thing, dialogue that gets repeated over and over and over and says literally nothing ("When will their suffering end?" I dunno, lady, but you've said that at EVERY LOADING SCREEN FOR THE PAST FOUR HOURS.) and a difficulty curve that makes Xcom look like Skyrim.

    The game's problems start with this description going around. There's nothing scary in the first several hours, if anything at all. There's creepy flesh monsters you kill in one swing that are only annoying because of how many the game throws at you for no reason. There's an incomprehensible plot about the ravings of a lunatic and a pandemic and some supernatural otherworld stuff. It sounds really neat, but the problem is in the presentation. You're going to read a lot of stuff that explains nothing while playing a game that features a meager three classes against about twenty or so enemies from the length of the bestiary at the start, and everything takes far too long to be enjoyable.

    My biggest gripe with the game is how slow it is. Not just the story and learning things, but the gameplay loop. Often I'll move my three characters and then watch five enemies move up and do nothing, but their turns take twice as long as one of mine, as if the AI has to THINK about what it's doing, or the game's loading things needlessly. There's just a certain pause that it shares with Xcom that really grinds my gears and makes me want to skip my enemy's turns, especially the uneventful ones, which is many of them. In the first Era, the game's chapters are divided as such, the game tries to give you the impression there's a lot of depth, but I couldn't find it for all the confusion and tedium. Skill that interrupt enemies cost HP, HP can only be regained by sacrificing a character of equal or higher level, therefore interrupt skills suck and you should avoid them, but they're also incredibly necessary for setting up big damage or saving other characters. Risk/reward has never felt so lame! Imagine playing Fire Emblem, or Xcom, and every time you shoot your gun you take damage. Yeah, it's just pointlessly hindering for the sake of difficulty. Like, they didn't want to copy the Xcom accuracy system, so here's something more annoying. Oh, and there's no other way to regain HP other than sacrificing, and I can't fathom trying to raise more than three characters at a time over level 3, because that's how many you get to take with you on a mission.

    Which leads me to the biggest downfall of the game. There's only three classes. There's only. Three. Classes. You get guns, a sword, and a spear and shield. That's it. Offense, range, defense. Not even, like, a mage? How about you use the damage skills in a more interesting way and make a blood mage that sacrifices HP to heal the other units, but can't heal herself? THAT would be better. But, no, here's three classes, you have three slots, they learn the same moves at the same levels, one swordsman is the same as the next. Yawn. Sure, they get different passives, but that implies you survive. The game honestly may as well reset if you lose someone, because you'll just hit a level wall if you keep going with an uneven party. And again, the stupid healing thing.

    The game has an easy mode, that's probably the better experience, but overall the game feels like it aimed at the Darkest Dungeon fans, and I can't say whether it hit the mark or not. It's not a bad game, it's just tedious and hard for the sake of hard. It's like a Dark Souls clone that changes the formula to make the game "harder" so they can put it on the box. There's nothing wrong with difficult games, there's something wrong when you make the hard part boring.
    Full Review »