User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 665 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 25, 2017
    10
    Atmosphere , graphics sound effects gameplay is the best !!!Atmosphere , graphics sound effects gameplay is the best !!! ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ Expand
  2. Apr 25, 2017
    10
    А мне игра понравилась,очень сильно захватывает,графика на высоте,и другие персонажи сделаны очень хорошо.Из минусов - (их нет),а плюсы можно пересчитывать бесконечно.
  3. Apr 25, 2017
    10
    this game is good as long as you know what you at looking for. The game lives upto its reputation. do not go my word or reviews try it your self to experience story, atmosphere , graphics and sound effects.
  4. May 12, 2018
    8
    The game is amazing and I strongly disagree with most of the reviewers and critics. First of all, some of the people said that the game is a little bit dark. Well, how is it supposed to be? Have you ever been in forest at night? Well, guess what? You can't see anything and you're not supposed to. It gets me mad that so many people got used to the games where night isn't a challenge like itThe game is amazing and I strongly disagree with most of the reviewers and critics. First of all, some of the people said that the game is a little bit dark. Well, how is it supposed to be? Have you ever been in forest at night? Well, guess what? You can't see anything and you're not supposed to. It gets me mad that so many people got used to the games where night isn't a challenge like it is in real life. In many games night isn't exactly night because you can see everything. That's my opinion. Secondly, I want to discuss the story. Some people said that it was rather regular and full of cliche. The parts where you appear in the school have deeper meaning and most of you didn't understand that. It's so sad to see that you start to criticize the game without even getting deeper into the story. The story is actually so complex, that no one can actually understand what the hell happened in this town. There are even many versions about that, but you say that story is simple. Ok, so many people, so many thoughts. I can agree on the point that the characters aren't fully developed as they should be. But it's a horror game. I don't think it's so important here. To conclude, I think this game is outstanding by its new concept (religious fanatics), it has some mystery in it, it's really not cliche because all the screamers are random and are not expected and it has a dark, creepy atmosphere. Best of genre in past few years. Better than the previous part. Expand
  5. Aug 16, 2019
    9
    As the first Outlast, this game has a amazing quality, nice graphics, explicit violence, fear and some jumpscares, and the history its very heavy but good
  6. May 18, 2020
    8
    Outlast 2 has a fascinating story about religious extremism and how it can misrepresent an entire faith. Sadly, this is bogged down by some unpolished gameplay which can feel inconsistent and fails to guide the player along an intended path at times, making it feel like trial and error. That's not to say it's terrible though, as it can still carry some good tension and dread at times. IfOutlast 2 has a fascinating story about religious extremism and how it can misrepresent an entire faith. Sadly, this is bogged down by some unpolished gameplay which can feel inconsistent and fails to guide the player along an intended path at times, making it feel like trial and error. That's not to say it's terrible though, as it can still carry some good tension and dread at times. If you find yourself content with the gameplay and can focus on the story and its themes, however, I think that you may have a great time experiencing it. Expand
  7. Jun 3, 2019
    10
    А мне игра понравилась,очень сильно захватывает,графика на высоте,и другие персонажи сделаны очень хорошо.Из минусов - (их нет),а плюсы можно пересчитывать бесконечно.
  8. Feb 6, 2020
    8
    8/10 ------------------------------------------------------------------------
  9. Nov 11, 2019
    10
    Me re cagué encima es impresionante el nivel de realismo q maneja esto
    Al nivel del twister
  10. Mar 28, 2020
    10
    El mejor juego de terror que he jugado en mi puta vida, no hagais caso a los hijos de puta que le ponen nota baja, es basicamente por que son unos cacas y no la pasaron bien
  11. May 20, 2020
    10
    Scariest game I've ever played! Is there anything scarier than this thing in world?
  12. Sep 4, 2020
    8
    Good game but not great than first one,ost is ok not great,first person is doing not good but ok
  13. May 21, 2017
    9
    This game is really good except for a few problems holding it back (mostly trial and error gameplay). The story is good however to understand it you have to really dig into the story. It made me jump several times. Overall it is a good sequel to the first Outlast.
  14. Apr 25, 2017
    8
    I love getting scared. I relish these experiences.Several times, I had to stop playing completely, at one point forcing myself to take a nap in order to calm down. But, I have to be honest... there was so much initial promise, with a great premise and some truly stunning visuals, but the onslaught of everything we’ve seen a hundred times before in horror games with much smaller budgetsI love getting scared. I relish these experiences.Several times, I had to stop playing completely, at one point forcing myself to take a nap in order to calm down. But, I have to be honest... there was so much initial promise, with a great premise and some truly stunning visuals, but the onslaught of everything we’ve seen a hundred times before in horror games with much smaller budgets than this left me feeling bored, frustrated, and even vaguely insulted. Truly a sequel in name alone. Outlast 2 pushed much further than most other entries in the genre, though. Expand
  15. Mar 18, 2018
    10
    Хороший ужастик с красивой графикой и интересным сюжетом! Сюжет с первого раза и не поймешь!
    Кругом мерзость, кишки и насилие! Вокруг различные религиозные фанатики которые жаждут вас выпотрошить!))
    И у главного героя "Тихо шифером шурша, КРЫША едет неспеша!))"
    Хороший ужастик с красивой графикой и интересным сюжетом! Сюжет с первого раза и не поймешь!
    Кругом мерзость, кишки и насилие! Вокруг различные религиозные фанатики которые жаждут вас выпотрошить!))
    И у главного героя "Тихо шифером шурша, КРЫША едет неспеша!))"
  16. Nov 11, 2017
    9
    This game is the same as first Outlast, but now on the nature. And in the school. More screamers, religion and mysteries. After this game, I have a some questions, so I hope on the DLC.
  17. Oct 2, 2017
    9
    Great, scary, simple, everything you could possibly expect in a horror game. Outlast 2 excels at scary but the story is strangely put together and might take you awhile to straighten out what is going on but Outlast 2 defines the horror genre with this stunning chapter to the Outlast series!
  18. Apr 5, 2018
    10
    A Red Barrels fez um excelente trabalho com a jogabilidade e o terror psicológico, porém faltou um esclarecimento da história que está confusa, uma DLC não seria mau para fazer isso. Mas tirando isso nada a reclamar.
  19. Mar 13, 2019
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In my opinion this game is done unbelievably well like it's first ones. I love the Atmosphere, the soundtrack (including the ambiance), the graphics and the characters. The school parts are also very nervbreaking at some point, because of this claustrophobic feeling, which I really appreciated in the first Outlast games. This game although features a complete different environment, which is open. That means, a complete opposite from the first games, but it's still managing making in a frightening experience for me at least. Many players were complaining about the AI, many chases, even the story and the ending. I honestly can understand the critical voices among the players. Dear Red Barrels I just wanted to make up some thing clear. The chases didn't make the first Outlast so famous. It was the Atmosphere and the cool characters, such as Fatty, Eddie Gluskin (my absolute favourite character), the Walrider, Father Martin, Miles Upshur, Waylon Park, Jeremy Blaire and so on and so on. In Outlast 2 there are honestly not so many memorable characters. I mean Marta is very scary at many points, but Nick and Laird really wanted me to punch my screen. The school demon was the most scary thing I saw in a horror game in my opinion. Also I very liked Papa Knoth and would have wished giving him more screen time, because he is a very intersting character. Unlike some other people I didn't have any problems with the brightness. I mean come on, a forest at night, of course it will be dark. The story of this game or let's say the lore, is what makes you as player proceed and motivated to play 'till the very end. The whole mix between illusion and reality was a thing in Outlast 2 which I really appreciated. Deep beyond the surface of Outlast 2 is a very sad story which is mixed with the events happening in the main game. The more we proceed the worse the issusions in the school get and the more we uncover the dark truth and traumatization which Blake (the main protagonist) had to face, when he was a little boy in the christian school. Personally I liked the religion based topic in the Outlast series, but I would have wished a more obvious connection with the Murkoff Corperation (if you ain't ignorant you will see realize that Murkoff is playing a major role on the brainwashing of the villagers and Blake. So in a nutshell, Outlast 2 in my opinion is a worthful sequel to the first Outlast (2013) and I definetly recommend playing this game. It will give you nightmares. Expand
  20. Mar 22, 2019
    10
    Ten points just because of Jessica. And since the game is not bad, however, the short storyline, and a lot of running around from all sorts of idiots, it is very annoying, but the graphic part with the storyline in the school is chic.
  21. Feb 23, 2020
    10
    incredible story. Although to understand is hard. game has epic story, cool graphics, new camera updates. if you can not understand story it can became you will say it sucks. but no nowadays many games hc many secrets it encourages you to investigate and for me it is very cool
  22. Apr 25, 2017
    10
    An excellent sequel to the original Outlast. More hiding mechanics and increased maneuverability make things much more intense, and the scares are plenty and constant.
    While figuring out where to go or how to progress could be difficult at times, I still had an absolute blast playing this.
    Definitely one of my favorite games to come out this year
  23. Apr 25, 2017
    10
    this game is good as long as you know what you at looking for. The game lives upto its reputation. do not go my word or reviews try it your self to experience story, atmosphere , graphics and sound effects. great
  24. Apr 26, 2017
    9
    Игра очень понравилась,что первая что вторая часть,меня сложно чем либо напугать,но вторая часть предлагает вам постоянно быть в кипише вам не даётся время на передышку вам нужно постоянно от кого то убегать,локации стали больше атмосферней,присутствуют некоторые баги но на это я закрыл глаза,мне очень понравилось что ты ходишь по всяким пещерам читаешь записки и узнаёшь что здесь на этомИгра очень понравилась,что первая что вторая часть,меня сложно чем либо напугать,но вторая часть предлагает вам постоянно быть в кипише вам не даётся время на передышку вам нужно постоянно от кого то убегать,локации стали больше атмосферней,присутствуют некоторые баги но на это я закрыл глаза,мне очень понравилось что ты ходишь по всяким пещерам читаешь записки и узнаёшь что здесь на этом месте произошло что-то ужасное насилие убийства что угодно,и это всё с каждым разом тебя поглощает в атмосферу игры.Одно я заметил что многие говорят что игра слишком банальна,муж спасает жену,соглашусь но это сделано грамотно!Графика я к ней не придираюсь она атмосферная больше и не надо,другие нытики из-за графики идите лесом))она жуткая много не приятных вещей,играл только ночью и в наушниках и это было что-то,я доволен,стоит ли игра своих денег?Однозначно да яб и дал даже чуточку больше,моя оценка 9 из 10 потому что есть два минуса не приятных,с одним у меня либо руки из ж*пы или всёж БАГ бывали моменты что уроды которые тебя ищут видят тебя со спины,не часто такое было но проблема это есть,это я ещё на в присядь шёл)))и момент ближе к середину игры когда тебя ищут уже боссы то тут самое интересное,они на твоих глазах могут появится и пойти за тобой,не приятный момент или просто напросто за твоей спиной))Может не доработка ещё чего но это самое не приятное на этом всё,игра шикарна) Expand
  25. Apr 26, 2017
    8
    Outlast 2
    More anxiety than Horror
    In Outlast 2 you play as a cameraman working with your wife doing your investigative journalism thing, getting to the bottom of the possible murder of a pregnant woman And then your helicopter crashes, you can’t find your wife, and you spend the rest of the game trying to find her… Outlast 2 is more open feeling than the claustrophobic original…
    Outlast 2
    More anxiety than Horror
    In Outlast 2 you play as a cameraman working with your wife doing your investigative journalism thing, getting to the bottom of the possible murder of a pregnant woman
    And then your helicopter crashes, you can’t find your wife, and you spend the rest of the game trying to find her…
    Outlast 2 is more open feeling than the claustrophobic original…
    While at the same time much more linear feeling
    But I found it to be a lot more stressful…
    Instead of 4 hours, Outlast 2 clocks in at a little less than 7…
    Which felt to be a bit of a mistake...
    It feels like it drags on forever, mostly thanks to the games awful pacing…
    This is still la survival horror game, collect batteries for your camera, use that camera to record things and as a light source, collect bandages to heal yourself when you’re hurt and get through everything the game throws at you..
    Hide under beds, and in barrels and lockers...
    But the game is missing those tense moments the original had…
    I feel outlast 2 throws way too many enemies at your way too often…
    This is where the pacing issue comes in...
    You never have down time, you never have time to soak in the environment and let it creep you out… because beyond the first chapter the game is throwing multiple enemies for you to deal with around every corner... and it isn’t tense or scary, it’s annoying...
    Getting through sections of the game is frustrating...
    You never feel like stealth is a real option...
    It never really feels like it works…
    Enemey detection is way too sensitive and I felt like they always knew where I was
    and I felt like I had to trigger enemies, make them chase me, and run around the map to get past sections…
    And some points in the game you’re forced to deal with situations like this
    and it just never stops, making the game feel like a chore, especially in the final few chapters..
    The game is gorgeous though, and creepy
    it’s full of jump scares and surprises, especially with the random transitions between your location in this religious cult and a catholic school…
    The game never becomes predictable.
    And is definitely worth seeing through to the end,
    I don’t want to set any expectations, but I’ll just say it’s better than the original outlasts ending.
    Outlast 2 has a lot going for it, as does the series in general...
    I just wish it stuck to the one enemy at a time formula the original had... it made moments tense...
    instead of throwing multiple enemies at you that you cant deal with and never letting you breathe…
    Again, I was more annoyed by outlast 2 than I was scared by it…
    The Demo was a more enjoyable experience for me than the actual game
    I give Outlast 2
    a 7.5/10
    Expand
  26. May 6, 2017
    10
    Fantastic game. Oulast 2 is better in every way of the first excellent game. Great graphics, fantastic atmosphere, wonderfull locations and exellent gameplay. I dont understant very negative reviews of some people. Red barrels is very talented studio and this is the proof. I hope for another game of the same quality in the future. A must buy
  27. Jul 20, 2017
    8
    Five Word Review: Gory romp through crazy town.
    Favorite Thing: The atmosphere. It was pretty creepy and sickening.
    Least Favorite Thing: The battery mechanic was a terrible mechanic in the last game and it's a terrible mechanic in this game. I missed a few scares while trying to conserve batteries. Date Completed: 2017-07-15 Playtime: ~ 8h Enjoyment: 8/10 Recommendation: Yes. If,
    Five Word Review: Gory romp through crazy town.
    Favorite Thing: The atmosphere. It was pretty creepy and sickening.
    Least Favorite Thing: The battery mechanic was a terrible mechanic in the last game and it's a terrible mechanic in this game. I missed a few scares while trying to conserve batteries.

    Date Completed: 2017-07-15
    Playtime: ~ 8h
    Enjoyment: 8/10
    Recommendation: Yes. If, like me, you enjoy horror games you'll enjoy this one.
    Expand
  28. Aug 5, 2017
    8
    I played this game in nightmare mode, is nice and well done BUT:

    1 - enemies are idiotically strong and unpredictable, one shot-hit and one hit-kill. Sometimes you survive but there's almost always a couple other that will kill you before you even get up 2 - there's no way to fight back even the weakest enemy, even a sick one-armed man 3 - I don't know how to look at game design, it's
    I played this game in nightmare mode, is nice and well done BUT:

    1 - enemies are idiotically strong and unpredictable, one shot-hit and one hit-kill. Sometimes you survive but there's almost always a couple other that will kill you before you even get up
    2 - there's no way to fight back even the weakest enemy, even a sick one-armed man
    3 - I don't know how to look at game design, it's really bad but maybe it is designed that way to make it more frustrating. It succeeds
    4 - very hard to tell which way to go considering almost every time you don't have any time to actually choose a direction being hunted as you are
    5 - forget notes and secret documents, in this game you'll read a lot of prayers with hidden meanings, I just stopped after a while because of ther sheer verbosity of the stuff.
    6 - stealth is nicely done but useless more often than not, running and hoping to find a way before they catch you is usually the right answer in every situation.
    7 - hiding spots are very deceptive, and in some occasions you can't interact with them no more based on the plot whim

    The overall feeling from this game is a vague sense of reiterate punishment, as your every action will kill you if imperfectely executed or alternatively put you in an equally bad situation if perfectly done, with very sparse and few quiet parts. This is easily one of the most frustrating game in the industry, and I have a feeling it's not by accident. I'm about to finish it and would not be surprised if the end credits spelled a single big "F**K YOU" and nothing else.

    EDIT: now I have finished the game. Superb finale, the plot is one of the best ever. Unfortunately its full understanding requires attention to detail and some few key hidden documents, and this game discourages the required exploration, as most of the time you're either sorrounded or running for your skin. All in all a beautiful and very different game
    Expand
  29. May 21, 2017
    10
    Really great atmosphere and scary environment. Great story and memorable characters with an outstanding soundtrack. Only a few little problems holding it back but overall it is a well done game!
  30. Aug 8, 2017
    8
    Outlast 2 jest krwawy, brutalny i bezprecedensowy. Odwrócone krzyże, martwe noworodki, rozczłonkowane ciała - nie ma tutaj tematu tabu. Wizerunku dopełnia krwawy deszcz, który spływa na naszego bohatera w jednej z lokacji. Jak jednak taka ilość przemocy wpływa to na samą rozgrywkę? Po 7 godzinach mojej przygody z tym tytułem mogę powiedzieć jedno - to było intensywne i mocne przeżycie,Outlast 2 jest krwawy, brutalny i bezprecedensowy. Odwrócone krzyże, martwe noworodki, rozczłonkowane ciała - nie ma tutaj tematu tabu. Wizerunku dopełnia krwawy deszcz, który spływa na naszego bohatera w jednej z lokacji. Jak jednak taka ilość przemocy wpływa to na samą rozgrywkę? Po 7 godzinach mojej przygody z tym tytułem mogę powiedzieć jedno - to było intensywne i mocne przeżycie, które cholernie mi się podobało. Mniej więcej do połowy trochę wiało nudą, ale później to prawdziwa jazda bez trzymanki. Szkoda tylko, że fabuła pozostawia tak wiele interpretacji, ale w tym wypadku można to również potraktować jako atut. Outlast 2 wraz z Resident Evil 7 to aktualnie najlepsze survival horrory 2017 roku.

    Plusy:
    + grafika, wygląd lokacji i otoczenia
    + wszechobecne uczucie strachu i zaszczucia
    + brudny, mroczny i krwawy świat
    + robiący wrażenie przeciwnicy
    + historia z potencjałem

    Minusy:
    – miejscami źle zbalansowany poziom trudności
    – fabuła pozostawia masę interpretacji
    – mało satysfakcjonujące zakończenie

    Pełna recenzja dostępna jest na blogu Gracz.org
    Expand
  31. May 5, 2017
    9
    The first impression of the game are the same as on the demo. Everything is cool, and nothing is clear. The story is so twisted that after the passage I had to look to other theories and making guess youtubers. But Red Barrels, you sick freaks. Such a good story crafted to detail I haven`t seen in any other game. Although sometimes the story begins to pull vomiting out of blood / guts,The first impression of the game are the same as on the demo. Everything is cool, and nothing is clear. The story is so twisted that after the passage I had to look to other theories and making guess youtubers. But Red Barrels, you sick freaks. Such a good story crafted to detail I haven`t seen in any other game. Although sometimes the story begins to pull vomiting out of blood / guts, etc. Graphic component is great. You can really call it next-gene now. And scripted-scenes become much better here than in the first part. However, if you are so rich company Red Barrels, why you did`nt buy motion-cap technology? Innovation. The new system of capture notes just amazing, for that respect to you. Now you really feel like a journalist. The same feeling about the note. Now you can go to the main menu and view the records. As a result, after the walktrough of this game I have a good impression. I recommend for purchase, and hey, Red Barrels, make DSL or continue to learn more about the story. Before, I did`nt use to like you, Red Barrels, but now I`m your quite a big fan. Expand
  32. Apr 29, 2017
    10
    the game is not perfect but i really enjoyed my time with it. Great survival horror if you liked the first one there is no reason to not like this one too. I played on the nightmatre difficulty and loved the challenge that offered. Cheers
  33. May 1, 2017
    10
    Не смотря на негативные оценки к это игре, мне игра ОЧЕНЬ понравилась, она на много атмосфернее первой части, а мир очень красивый и проработанный и детализованный. Жду сюжетных DLC.
  34. May 6, 2017
    8
    This, in itself, is a very f***ed up game, and it's definitely not for the faint of heart; the violence and sensuality gets as adult as it can get in here. However, the quality of the game and the darkness of the story itself is something that definitely should receive praise. Even if you haven't played the original Outlast (which you should if you haven't), you're going to understand aThis, in itself, is a very f***ed up game, and it's definitely not for the faint of heart; the violence and sensuality gets as adult as it can get in here. However, the quality of the game and the darkness of the story itself is something that definitely should receive praise. Even if you haven't played the original Outlast (which you should if you haven't), you're going to understand a lot of things in this game anyway, as the connection on both games' lore is slim. (Or you can read The Murkoff Account, I don't care.) The maddening environment, the disturbing "visions" that Blake has, and the constant thrill of being chased unexpectedly is what makes a horror game, well, a horror game, and for that, I appreciate what got put in here. They kept their promise when they said this would scare the crap out of us. Expand
  35. Apr 30, 2017
    10
    Outlast 2 is one of the most intense games produced. It just doesn't rely on jumpscare alone but also put alot of great chases which are pretty solid elements of a horror game. The story is interesting but the problem of this is it seems that almost of the story was written on the scattered documents instead of having it narrated and it seems that almost of the people who played the gameOutlast 2 is one of the most intense games produced. It just doesn't rely on jumpscare alone but also put alot of great chases which are pretty solid elements of a horror game. The story is interesting but the problem of this is it seems that almost of the story was written on the scattered documents instead of having it narrated and it seems that almost of the people who played the game doesn't read alot of those so plot holes are created.

    But for the experience alone, the game is a solid 10, With great intense chases, very unique jumpscares + with very good psychological aspects to it + with all new polished graphics. Overall very good game.
    Expand
  36. Aug 5, 2017
    10
    this game is good as long as you know what you at looking for. The game lives upto its reputation. do not go my word or reviews try it your self to experience story, atmosphere , graphics and sound effects.
  37. Apr 30, 2017
    10
    Outlast 2 brings back the great horror from the first one, improving on the gameplay. The sounds are amazingly handled and the graphics, despite using Unreal Engine 3, look very good.

    The gameplay can get a bit repetitive over time as there are many chase sequences throughout the game. I heard that the other difficulty levels, aside from "Normal", are broken leading to some bugs that
    Outlast 2 brings back the great horror from the first one, improving on the gameplay. The sounds are amazingly handled and the graphics, despite using Unreal Engine 3, look very good.

    The gameplay can get a bit repetitive over time as there are many chase sequences throughout the game. I heard that the other difficulty levels, aside from "Normal", are broken leading to some bugs that broke the experience for some.

    The story is amazingly detailed but the delivery was very weak, since most of the plot makes sense if you read the notes that give some background information. Looking at the story in its entirety, it is way better and more interesting than the first one and definitely one of the best stories from a horror game.

    Overall, the game is amazing, the tension it builds is great, there is no place where you can feel safe. Considering that this game was made by an Indie developer and it's price ($30), this is a game is worth buying.
    Expand
  38. Apr 10, 2022
    10
    Not as scary as the first game but still very intense and terrifying. Better graphics, music and they also added some new gameplay mechanics. Also the story is better.
  39. Nov 17, 2020
    8
    First I thought I couldn't cope with the stress this game brought me. Then I realized that the adrenaline pump was giving me a boost to keep it up and get addicted to it.
  40. Nov 17, 2020
    8
    IIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII Good Game IIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII
  41. Dec 7, 2020
    8
    Outlast 2 is an entertaining thrill ride that is linear and easy to follow, granted you don't get turned around through a few doors or past some trees. After three complete play throughs and several back and forths to find collectibles that I missed, I can firmly recommend this adventure. If you liked Silent Hill, Resident Evil, FEAR or other similar games, I believe you will enjoy thisOutlast 2 is an entertaining thrill ride that is linear and easy to follow, granted you don't get turned around through a few doors or past some trees. After three complete play throughs and several back and forths to find collectibles that I missed, I can firmly recommend this adventure. If you liked Silent Hill, Resident Evil, FEAR or other similar games, I believe you will enjoy this game. However, in Outlast 2, you have no weapons. You have to run, hide, or die. Enjoy!

    In comparing as a sequel, it seems inappropriate. Outlast 2 has a very different feel than the first Outlast release. The sense of urgency isn't quite the same, leaving me wondering why is he not more panicked, considering his predicament. I understood what was going on relatively quickly, but the story was still well told. The protagonist seemed relaxed and more like a curious detective at times, while other times it felt perfectly preformed.

    Outlast 2 pulls you in most of the time and you can enjoy the sensation it brings, but I do feel like Outlast 1 was more immersive.
    Expand
  42. Jul 12, 2021
    8
    Loved the experience. Love to play a good horror game time to time and looking for one? Go on with this, You'll not regret.
  43. May 8, 2021
    8
    It wasn't as interesting as the first game, but was still a good game. Best horror game released in 2017.
  44. Jan 22, 2022
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Я не ожидал большего и не ожидал меньшего. Мне очень понравилось как и первая часть. Проходил на кошмаре как и первую часть. Эти переходы в школу и отличный сюжет даёт свою атмосферу. Всем советую! Expand
  45. Feb 21, 2022
    9
    Es bueno, tienen claro que en outlast 1 la distorsión de imagen por oscuridad se tenia que arreglar y se hizo, tiene algunos bugs los cuales son de movimiento y de forma de accesar a algunas áreas.
    Sí da sustos y pone al jugador en modo supervivencia.
  46. Mar 5, 2022
    9
    πολύ καλό βιντεοπαιχνίδι αξίζει να το παίξετε περνάς την ώρα σου ευχάριστα
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 48
  2. Negative: 1 out of 48
  1. Oct 23, 2019
    50
    A faltering sequel that borrows even more liberally from well-worn horror tropes than its predecessor, Outlast 2 ends up a middling entry despite its high production values and some shining moments of found footage fright.
  2. Jul 5, 2017
    57
    Red Barrels built the sequel on the tried more of the same principle, but this is by far is not the worst problem of the second installment.
  3. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jul 5, 2017
    60
    Instead of the standard entertainment, we received unnecessarily over-combined horror game with atmosphere incomparable to the original one. [Issue#275]