Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Aug 8, 2016
    90
    Overcooked is a game that could lead the return of the good old couch party games. The kitchens in this game can bring a real chaos to your home, but also lots of fun for you and your best friends.
  2. Aug 1, 2016
    86
    One of the most fun and challenging local co-op games ever made, but the single-player experience is less thrilling, making the lack of online play disappointing.
  3. CD-Action
    Oct 14, 2016
    85
    One of the best party games ever made – and I don’t even like cooking. [10/2016, p.65]
  4. Aug 4, 2016
    85
    Overcooked is delightful and appropriate for players of all ages. The core mechanics are solid, the cooperative gameplay is enjoyable, and it's a great game from start to finish. Perhaps the only real complaint one can level against it is that the single-player gameplay isn't as enjoyable as the multiplayer.
  5. Aug 4, 2016
    85
    You might pull your hair out trying to complete the story mode, but you'll have a blast doing it.
  6. Aug 2, 2016
    85
    Overcooked is a real treat of a game, which also lends itself to extra DLC further down the line, as there are plenty of unexplored environments and recipes to master. It’s incredibly simple to learn, as there are only two or three buttons you need to press, but it’s going to take a lot of coordination to make it to the end. If you have got a few friends and a weekend to kill, Overcooked is one of the best experiences you will have this year.
  7. Aug 22, 2016
    80
    There isn’t much to write about this, it’s a solid game that’s really fun as a co-op game for a games night/party and a nice family game after the Sunday roast. Video options weren’t key for me, especially if it’s not demanding on the system. But, the caveat to the high score is if it were have sold itself purely as a single player game and at the same RRP, then it might have the issue of being undercooked.
  8. Aug 10, 2016
    80
    Overcooked is a very funny game, with a good number of content and a brilliant level design. The lack of online multiplayer is the only real flaw of the work published by Team17.
  9. 80
    While it's not nearly as enjoyable as a solo outing, Overcooked is one of the best party games we've played in years. Just make sure you bring some friends or family along for the ride.
  10. Aug 1, 2016
    80
    Overcooked has so much to offer for someone who loves playing games with their friends but, for those of you lone wolves, single player is a little bit of a drag.
  11. Aug 8, 2016
    77
    "Explosive cartoony kitchen chaos" is the only way we can describe Overcooked with its witty humor, cute graphics and bug-free co-op experience. If you are looking for a party game while feeling lazy at home with a couple of friends, grab some booze, a couple of big sized pizzas and get lost in the co-op madness of Overcooked.
  12. Oct 12, 2016
    75
    It might take a lot to make a stew, but Overcooked brews one delicious soup that's ideal for those gatherings where you just need a little break and have a hilarious bit of fun.
  13. Aug 5, 2016
    75
    Overcooked is not very original, but it's very well executed, and the multiplayer addition makes it very addictive.
  14. Nov 22, 2016
    72
    Overcooked is a fresh title with a curious concept, but the lack of multiplayer modes is a heavy burden on the overall experience.
  15. Aug 9, 2016
    70
    The game has a simplistic style but still feels playful and vibrant, with a fun narrative giving the gameplay purpose. I would certainly recommend this game if you like a challenge or playing with friends.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Aug 4, 2016
    Cleverly designed, and brimming with charm—the cast of characters includes an anthropomorphic cardboard box and a paraplegic racoon—Overcooked is a game that I've been coming back to again and again over the past few weeks, and one that joins the likes of Towerfall Ascension and Rayman Legends on my small but steadily growing list of great couch co-op games. Just make sure your relationship is strong enough to withstand the inevitable fallout.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 115 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 115
  2. Negative: 9 out of 115
  1. Aug 31, 2016
    0
    can't redefine keyboard controls.unacceptable.they are very simple,but not being able to redefine them to your needs is not something that cancan't redefine keyboard controls.unacceptable.they are very simple,but not being able to redefine them to your needs is not something that can be accepted in this time and age. Full Review »
  2. Dec 5, 2016
    10
    It's probably the best co-op game I've played. Most co-op games just require 2 or more people to be playing in the same screen, and that's allIt's probably the best co-op game I've played. Most co-op games just require 2 or more people to be playing in the same screen, and that's all the "co-op" you get. In this case, you really need to comunicate and coordinate with your teammates, or you are screwed.

    I've played together with my wife (who's not a gamer), and with different groups of friends, and always had a blast playing. Great game, it really deserves more attention. The only downside is the lack of multiplayer. Hopefully that will be fixed in the future.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 17, 2016
    9
    Along with Broforce, this is one of the best party games (on PC or not) in recent years. We screamed and laughed so hard! Such a shame it doesAlong with Broforce, this is one of the best party games (on PC or not) in recent years. We screamed and laughed so hard! Such a shame it does not have online co-op which is why I gave it a 9 instead of a 10. Full Review »