Overlord Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 317 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Controlling a mysterious figure that has inherited the legacy of the evil, long-dead Overlord, the player emerges, near death, from the ruins of the old Overlord's Dark Tower. Only the player's actions determine if they will rise to become the new all-powerful Overlord; it's all down to howControlling a mysterious figure that has inherited the legacy of the evil, long-dead Overlord, the player emerges, near death, from the ruins of the old Overlord's Dark Tower. Only the player's actions determine if they will rise to become the new all-powerful Overlord; it's all down to how much of a bad ass they want to be in order to succeed...evil or really evil! Played out with plenty of black humour and dark irony, the game immerses players in twisted parodies of classic fantasy scenarios and characters. Overlord's key innovation is the introduction of an array of impish creatures – the Minions. They believe you are the old Overlord reborn and will use their unique skills to fetch, fight and die for you. Throughout the game players actively control a horde of these gremlin-like critters and they follow your every instruction no matter how despotic or, for the Minions, life threatening it is. [Codemasters] Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Overlord Official Trailer 1
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. PC Gamer
    91
    I guess it's true what they say: Bad guys have more fun. [Oct 2007, p.64]
  2. Its fresh take on the fantasy genre, excellent minion mechanics and morbid humor make for a gaming experience you won't soon forget.
  3. It's got a surprising amount of depth and innovation in a lot of different areas of design, excellent humor, art work and sound.
  4. But the “evil or eviler” tagline has more to do with marketing than with the game, which for the most part offers a choice closer to being an evil or benevolent despot.
  5. More than the script (generally witty and sharp, if occasionally undercut by an iffy voice-actor) or the graphic design (a brother to Fable's faux-fantasy charm), the constant capering of your charges is what gives the game its personality. That is, they have a lot of personality and so does the game.
  6. Pelit (Finland)
    79
    Controlling your horde of loyal and evil Naši youth feels refreshing compared to the typical action adventure formula. The technical execution is solid and the over the top fantasy cliché humour works decently. The game does not have a whole lot of longevity or challenge but it does have burning hobbits. [Aug 2007]
  7. 70
    You find yourself in a game resembling a mix of Fable and Pikmin.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 55
  2. Negative: 5 out of 55
  1. [anonymous]
    Jun 19, 2009
    10
    this game really brings out some of the best games ive played : fable and pikmin. the controls are awesome and the humor is great
  2. Jan 2, 2020
    10
    Great art direction; minions are funny cute, & funny; some puzzle elements; thoughtful map design.
    At first i thought the characters and the
    Great art direction; minions are funny cute, & funny; some puzzle elements; thoughtful map design.
    At first i thought the characters and the setting was bland. The main anti-hero you play is just called "overlord" and you're just on the side of "evil," but as the plot advances, things get more nuanced than that. i definitely want to applaud the devs for the great storytelling that was fresh and thought-provoking. after i finished it, i had to sit and reflect on how easily good can be corrupted. i did get stuck couple of times and had to look up a walk-through, and it would have been nice to have an in-game map (the printed out map that comes with the box version of the game is pretty much useless.) If it's on sale on steam, definitely check it out (I didn't play the expansion, but i think it's suppose to add additional areas to all the maps, so wouldn't hurt to get that too if you want to just a single run-through both).
    I played this with a xbox360 controller and it worked great.
    Expand
  3. Jan 28, 2017
    10
    Divertido, fácil, agradable, único... esto si es un juego para pasar el rato, quizás sea un poco corto. pero junto con su expansión tendras unDivertido, fácil, agradable, único... esto si es un juego para pasar el rato, quizás sea un poco corto. pero junto con su expansión tendras un gran rato agradable Expand
  4. DennisR.
    Oct 28, 2007
    9
    A really good game, a few loading screens but they don't bother me much. Its a very fun game with black humour and enough free will to A really good game, a few loading screens but they don't bother me much. Its a very fun game with black humour and enough free will to keep you entertained. The specs don't really lie, playing it low graphics, 1280x960 with a P4 Prescott 3.2Ghz and an X1550 OC'd at 648/428. Expand
  5. Oct 10, 2020
    8
    Very fun and innovative game idea. Playing as the bad guy has never felt so good before, and the colourful graphics, as well as the humour areVery fun and innovative game idea. Playing as the bad guy has never felt so good before, and the colourful graphics, as well as the humour are awesome. Expand
  6. Fred
    Jul 28, 2007
    8
    The game is conceptually fine, but you won't be able to run it without a cutting edge computer. The recommended requirements are The game is conceptually fine, but you won't be able to run it without a cutting edge computer. The recommended requirements are actually minimum requirements, and the minimum requirements... I don't know what those are for. So other people can laugh at you, I guess. Because it's not possible to play the game with that system. I would like to point out that the reviewer below who gave the game a 4 and complained about his mistress not being evil enough should actually play the game, since there are two mistresses, and he's talking about the tame one. The game was made to be a dark comedy, not a rape fantasy. Expand
  7. Jul 21, 2013
    2
    Easily one of the worst games I've ever played for PC the controls are shonky and terrible often leaving you screaming at the screen becauseEasily one of the worst games I've ever played for PC the controls are shonky and terrible often leaving you screaming at the screen because the "minions" are almost totally uncontrollable, the gameplay is incredibly unbalanced and coupled with the hideous control system often leaves me just quitting in rage.
    The truly disgusting thing about this game, the reason I call it "one of the worst", is because it has such huge potential. The start is actually quiet good and almost makes you think they're about to do something never before tried in Strategy/role playing games. Alas, stupid design decisions and poor programming make this a sorry mess. Not what I expected from the studio behind "Age of Wonders". Sad.
    Expand

See all 55 User Reviews

Trailers