Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Mar 19, 2020
    100
    If you liked Panzer General and the original Panzer Corps, then PC2 is a must buy. The “more so” comes into play as regards gamers who may have bypassed these games in the past, considering them more beer and pretzels or generic mainstream strategy fare. PC2 has added just enough modifications to push the realism level into the wargaming proper category, giving a distinct WWII feel without sacrificing the elegant simplicity that made its ancestors famous.
  2. Mar 28, 2020
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Mar 17, 2020
    90
    Panzer Corps 2 is a must-buy for any history and strategy game fan.
  4. Mar 11, 2020
    90
    Panzer Corps 2 is one of the best wargame of recent years. If not the best at all.
  5. Mar 19, 2020
    85
    Panzer Corps 2 is a very good wargame reminiscant of Panzer General, strongly profiting from ist new engine as well as enhanced dynamics and terrain variety.
  6. Mar 15, 2020
    85
    Panzer Corps 2 is a modern approach to the wargame genre, but it can easily become a new classic in the years to come.
  7. Mar 10, 2020
    82
    Very complex, slightly outdated turn based strategy game with five very long, exclusively German campaigns featuring over 1.000 different troops.
  8. Mar 17, 2020
    80
    An evolution, not a revolution: fans of WWII settings will enjoy a deep, but accessible, strategy game.
  9. Mar 16, 2020
    80
    Panzer Corps 2 is an excellent turn-based wargame that has a complex and refined regulation on its side.
  10. Mar 16, 2020
    80
    Panzer Corps 2 has some noticeable flaws with regards to in-game mechanics and performance woes. Likewise, it doesn't try to reinvent age-old systems. Though it can be a little tedious the further you are in the campaign, the game makes up for it with a ton of playable content.
  11. Mar 14, 2020
    80
    I’d recommend giving the tactical puzzles a go before you begin a campaign, they’re fun challenges giving you a specific task and only take a single turn to achieve them. To me they really highlight the tactical diversity of Panzer Corps 2, a game where order of movement and positioning can turn a certain defeat into a grand triumph. If you love maneuvering to cut off an enemy and softening them up with artillery or a strafing run then you’ll enjoy the intense small scale actions you’ll find in every mission.
  12. Mar 15, 2020
    75
    For better or worse, this is a classic hex wargame with updated graphics.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Mar 19, 2020
    Panzer Corps 2 had a lot to live up to, both because of its predecessor’s success but also the fact that publishers Slitherine have a competing series, Order of Battle, that already improved on so much of what Panzer Corps did. This sequel does enough to justify standing on its own merits though, finding a cozy spot between its rival’s offerings. I’m normally always playing a game like this in my spare time, and I’m confident that this is the one I’ll be playing a lot more of through 2020.
User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 24
  2. Negative: 9 out of 24
  1. Mar 26, 2020
    0
    Very disappointing. First off, the release was over an hour late, so thanks for having me stare at the steam page refreshing every 2 minutesVery disappointing. First off, the release was over an hour late, so thanks for having me stare at the steam page refreshing every 2 minutes for an hour. Second off - I'm deeply disappointed, and hate the game. Which is sad, because I loved the first game. It suffers from the same crap Panzer General suffered from when it went from 2D to 3D - somehow they think they need to change other things that worked too. I like the new tactical debth to some units, and hate the changes they made to others - like for instance that artillery now no-longer can support adjacent units being attacked by hard units(tanks etc), and is generally worthless when it comes to scoring any kind of damage. Now they are relegated to uber-crap support units.

    Here's my main gripes with the game, tho; As with Panzer General, it went from a somewhat "massive" scale, where you could have cool combinations of units and field quite a force, to now limiting you excessively, and leaving both you and the enemy with less units on the field, that for some stupid reason have more numbers per unit in a hex. This is terrible. Now you can't be as tactical as you could before, because there are so damn little units to play around with. There's a new core pool, and it's **** Instead of having a set number of units you can mix and match for the tactic of your pleasing, now you are limited to a core number that each unit fills up an excessive amount of, and oversizing units seems somewhat a must (infantry is oversized by default, and it sucks) - the graphics are messy and somewhat confusing, and hurts my attention-span to look at, and tires me.

    I did not enjoy this one bit. I wanted to. I've been looking forwards to it for years. But what they delivered is unacceptable garbage.

    I can't bother writing much more, but it's safe to say that unless they radically change the game, it's trash. Just stick to the original. It is still a 10/10 for me - this seems amateur-like, and just plain sucks. Devoid of fun. What happened with PG 3D? They removed the sense of tactics by severely limiting the number of units you can control - and the same is true here. Among several other terrible... TERRIBLE mistakes they've made decision-wise while making this pile of steaming ****.

    Steer clear. Not worth your money at the asking-price, or even a third of it. I wish I pirated it. I want my money back. This was garbage.

    Matrix/slitherine games are usually hit or miss. This was a huge miss. 2/10. Do better. I just really don't want to ever start this game up again.

    Had to go 0/10 to make the actual score more correct. Blatant idiots keep giving it 10/10. This is nowhere near 10/10. It's misleading BS.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 20, 2020
    4
    almost nothing new besides heroes and overrun. short campaign with 23 missions, technical problems and so on.
  3. Mar 19, 2020
    2
    Gameplay is like in PzC1, but with 3D (which is unnecessary, 2D was better) and heroes (interesting, but we can live without them). You canGameplay is like in PzC1, but with 3D (which is unnecessary, 2D was better) and heroes (interesting, but we can live without them). You can find technical problems. And be ready to see short campaign (only 23-24 missions).

    The worst thing of the game is publisher. Slitherine is absolutely inadequate company. I’ve said here about no bonuses for those who are in quarantine (for example, new stage of beta), no preload, overprice and censorship at the official forum (publisher closed some themes where gamers criticized Slitherine). And then I was banned forever. So, these guys will ban everyone who criticizes their games. Dear developers, please, find another publisher with adequate employees.
    Full Review »