Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Sep 8, 2020
    100
    Paradise Killer's non-linear focus, cast of intriguing characters, deep investigation mechanics, and vaporwave presentation make it one of the best whodunnits in recent memory.
  2. Sep 21, 2020
    95
    I'm going to go so far as to say that Paradise Killer is a masterpiece. This isn't to say it's perfect. The music is top-tier, the mystery is deep and twisted, the world is exciting and interesting to explore with some lovely visuals. The characters are all well designed and compelling. What's not to like?
  3. Sep 3, 2020
    91
    An incredible world of demons, mystery, and vaporwave, Paradise Killer sets new standards for the detective genre.
  4. Nov 16, 2020
    90
    An investigative adventure that actually makes you feel like a detective, Paradise Killer blends surreal world-building, vibrant art, clever writing, and rock-solid open-world gameplay to create an experience you won’t soon forget.
  5. Oct 29, 2020
    90
    This is by far one of the most creative, most satisfying, and most appealing games I’ve played all year, firmly sitting at the top of my GOTY 2020 list.
  6. Sep 25, 2020
    90
    Paradise Killer marries a beautifully repulsive world with a gratifyingly open-ended approach to detective work, but its real achievement is in how it ties everything you’ve learned together. After a whole game of learning the story, you’re suddenly the one writing the ending. The most important person a detective needs to prove a case to is themselves, to give them the confidence to pass those details along. Paradise Killer treats you in much the same way. By the end of its 15 hours, the only person you really need to convince is yourself: Is that the ending you want to see? OK, prove it.
  7. Sep 11, 2020
    90
    Paradise Killer is a singular, exemplary experience. It's a detective game that feels like real detective work in a way few games do, and it makes its extremely complex worldbuilding feel effortless. I put off the final trial for as long as I can not only because I wanted all the evidence I could find, but because I did not want to leave the island or the game. Paradise might have been killed, but when you're deep into untangling the game's conspiracies, it feels very much alive.
  8. Sep 10, 2020
    90
    Paradise Killer is an exceptionally enjoyable piece of entertainment. I loved the world and characters and I loved solving the mystery. Anyone who enjoys piecing things together and carefully combing over a digital world for goodies will likely be elated by what's on offer.
  9. Oct 13, 2020
    85
    Paradise Killer offers the complexity and freedom we expect from a detective adventure.
  10. Oct 8, 2020
    85
    An extremely distinct investigation game with the rare confidence to let you actually be a detective, and a fun groove to boot.
  11. Oct 9, 2020
    84
    Few games can offer something quite as weirdly creative as Paradise Killer. Exploring the island, talking with the suspects, piecing the mystery together, and holding the final trial is a thoroughly enjoyable ride in this open world crime mystery.
  12. Oct 4, 2020
    80
    There’s nothing so gauche or straightforward as a Miss Marple denouement reveal, where you discover whether or not your conclusions were correct. In Paradise Killer the truth is more complicated and, counterintuitively, all the more satisfying for it.
  13. Oct 2, 2020
    80
    Paradise Killer is a pure, unguided detective mystery that doesn't dare hold your hand. You, and you alone, are in charge of seeking out not only the truth of this locked room murder, but the truth of the wild and cosmically corrupt world that the game takes place in. The open ended nature of the investigation can be daunting at first, and while some clunky platforming and frequent periods of downtime can sour the experience just a bit, Paradise Killer still manages to be one of the most well put together and utterly satisfying mystery games I've ever experienced.
  14. Sep 3, 2020
    80
    A bright and breezy game that unfortunately drags a little at points, Paradise Killer is nevertheless an enjoyable jaunt that does something a little different with a genre that has a reputation for being somewhat dour. Absolutely worth your time – just be prepared to dedicate a little more of it than you might expect in the early stages.
  15. Sep 3, 2020
    80
    There are very few murder mystery games that give you as much agency as Paradise Killer does. Although it takes a little while to get into the swing of things, when you’re deep in your investigation, coming across key pieces of evidence or catching your suspects out in a lie, you feel unstoppable. And having the power to make an accusation, right or wrong, is a very nice touch too. I’d like to see the same gameplay replicated in an experience more grounded in reality, but once you get used to the fact you’re living amongst gods and immortal beings, it’s hard not to love Paradise Killer exactly how it is.
  16. Sep 18, 2020
    77
    For a good while this is a quite motivating, in terms of storytelling quite tense thriller - with a rather disappointing ending.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Sep 9, 2020
    A stylish, dreamily wrought open-world detective adventure that dances masterfully on the edge of cosmic nightmare. [Eurogamer Recommended]
  2. But Paradise Killer also backs the style with substance. The Syndicate’s lifestyle is supported by the mass abduction and eventual murder of normal people from our reality, who become a kind of cattle class. They’re banned from doing basically anything, placated by soft drink mascots, and give their literal blood to a cause they never benefit from.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 3 out of 11
  1. Sep 29, 2020
    4
    HYPERBOLE reviews aren't from real people.

    i got this when i read its polygon article. how this is such an amazing game, and ohmagwad dat
    HYPERBOLE reviews aren't from real people.

    i got this when i read its polygon article. how this is such an amazing game, and ohmagwad dat setting and exploration and game of the year ohmagaaaawd 3 page essay ohmaGAAAAWD

    but of course, real people don't react like that or write essays on how good something is and why u shuld buy it init.

    game's vibe and brightness = psychosmatic symptoms and nausea

    *-*8_8*88**8--just so u were warned B4HAND*-*8_8*88**8--

    10/10 would rather sloppily make out with pewdiepie ok??
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 27, 2020
    1
    What can say? Pretty "meh" in my opinion. I tried it and it was like "whatever"
  3. Oct 19, 2020
    10
    This game is a vaporwave acid trip unlike anything I've ever experienced. Its an open-world detective game that doesn't hold your hand for aThis game is a vaporwave acid trip unlike anything I've ever experienced. Its an open-world detective game that doesn't hold your hand for a second. It lets you wander around this incredible setting to find or miss clues as you go and then you decide when you've figured it all out and take it to trial. The accusations and conclusions are your own.

    The setting itself is wild and deeply thought-out, with graphics that are as strange, beautiful, horrifying, and cool as the world they're portraying. Plus, a dope soundtrack.

    There should be no hesitancy in picking up and playing this game.
    Full Review »