Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Oct 15, 2020
    73
    Partisans 1941 appearance in the genre of real time tactics games tries to bring us memories from the past of the genre. Even though it is composed of some fresh ideas, these are left half-finished and the result can be frustrating. But where it fails miserably is when its developers try to tear apart the connection of Nazism to the dark events of WW II.
  2. Oct 14, 2020
    71
    You can see sparks of an excellent game here and there, but the full potential got lost along the way. Still, not so many tactical action games around – beggars can’t be choosers!
  3. Dec 3, 2020
    70
    Partisans 1941 is an enjoyable take on the real time tactics genre, but too often your perfect ambush is then undone moments later by hyper-alert enemies spotting your squad. There's some balance issues (which will hopefully be improved with patches), but there's a solid tactical game here with an enjoyable story and some gameplay mechanics that we’ve not previously seen in the genre.
  4. Nov 18, 2020
    70
    Partisans 1941 is a valiant effort to innovate over the Commandos formula. Some problems like a poor beginning stop it from being a better game.
  5. Oct 30, 2020
    70
    For newcomers to the real-time tactics genre, it may represent a step too far as a first experience. However, for experienced players, Partisans 1941 is a solid and engaging title, with plenty of scope to try out a number of different approaches. Overall, it’s also a refreshing change to see the Second World War represented from a different perspective.
  6. Oct 14, 2020
    70
    Partisans 1941 is a good strategy game that remind us some great names in the genre, but fails to show the horror of war due to its own playable approaches.
  7. Oct 14, 2020
    65
    This is a game in a rarely explored genre nowadays, and it does offer the interesting experience of fighting a guerrilla war on the Soviet front – a rare occurrence outside Russian games. If you are a fan of this kind of title and have a lot of patience for rough edges and frustrating stealth, Partisans 1941 might actually be worth a shot.
  8. CD-Action
    Feb 8, 2021
    60
    I’ve had a weak spot for tactical games since 1988 (Laser Squad!) and during all this time I had my share of occasionally frustrating titles. Partisans 1941 is far beyond occasionally frustrating – it was infuriatingly hard even on lower difficulty setting, and additionally unfair due to chaotic combat and disheartening bugs (spotted by a sentry through a solid wall? Mission over!). [13/2020, p.34]
  9. Nov 21, 2020
    60
    Partisans 1941 is not a puzzle that makes you go over all the available tactical options in search of the most ingenious solution, but a lengthy exercise in mundanity.
  10. Oct 19, 2020
    50
    Taking the role of a small, under-equipped squad is a novel angle for a real time strategy game like this. Some aspects of Partisans 1941 were interesting, but the core of the game has too many small complaints to recommend it in a high regard. Combat being far too random is the largest problem as it is causing constant saves and reloads with how deadly it is. Strategy games are in a dearth right now, so this is not a bad game in the slightest if there is a need to play something new, but it simply does not stack up against some of the heavy weights of the genre.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. That story, of a vast civilian population forced into a total war footing, Partisans tells very well indeed. If you’ve got even a passing interest in the war on the Eastern front, or you enjoyed the various Commandos, Desperados and Shadow Tacticses of this world, I’d recommend it without hesitation. This machine kills fascists, one quicksave at a time.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 53
  2. Negative: 9 out of 53
  1. Oct 16, 2020
    9
    Я всегда был уверен, что stealth это про Splinter Cell или Hitman. А игры с изометрией для тех кто не заработал на дорогую видеокарту и AAAЯ всегда был уверен, что stealth это про Splinter Cell или Hitman. А игры с изометрией для тех кто не заработал на дорогую видеокарту и AAA игры. Я пробовал и Desperados и Shadow Tactics. На долго меня не хватило. Партизанская тема мне как-то ближе. И я обажаю стелс! И тут его много. И он офигенный! Чуваки явно долго курили игры предшественники и понадергали оттуда все лучшее. Далали с любовью. Это видно. Когда поправят баги это будет 10. Но по-любому - красавчики! И цена отличная, я считаю. Full Review »
  2. Oct 16, 2020
    10
    I only made an account to counter out that dude who gave zero points right at the beginning because "even positive reviews were talking aboutI only made an account to counter out that dude who gave zero points right at the beginning because "even positive reviews were talking about something negative" That's called journalism. Normally i would give it a 8.5. Full Review »
  3. Oct 31, 2020
    10
    I played with great pleasure! Recognizable images of heroes, interesting levels. Developers are great fellows, thank you guys!