Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 18
  2. Negative: 3 out of 18
  1. Sep 7, 2015
    85
    While it may not have the most captivating of storylines, the game itself is fun and addictive. It’s a great way to kill some time – no pun intended – and may leave you muttering things under your breath that make others question your sanity. Plus, you can count on new content being added in the future, which will increase the game’s replayability and won’t cost you a cent.
  2. Sep 1, 2015
    85
    Party Hard is a game that’s definitely greater than the sum of its parts.
  3. Oct 30, 2015
    80
    Its gameplay was addictive yet fun, and there are countless ways to beat a level. Despite being a relatively short game, you can beat each level with different characters to test your youth killing skills.
  4. Sep 30, 2015
    80
    Party Hard is a really entertaining and old school title, with both action and stealth approaches, fine soundtrack and pretty 8-bit pixel art visuals.
  5. Aug 25, 2015
    80
    Party Hard blends a novel concept with a great mix of gameplay mechanics. Throw in the random behavior of NPCs and the tongue-in-cheek style and shutting down parties feels quite good. Gameplay might become repetitive in some situations but, overall, you'll have a nice time with it.
  6. Sep 14, 2015
    78
    For better and for worse, Party Hard is one of the most faithful tributes to the slasher genre. It overstays its welcome, but it's still a bloody fun time for the most part.
  7. Sep 2, 2015
    75
    It has a solid concept, but it does need some improvements here and there. We had fun playing it, though, and we're already looking forward to playing a sequel with some fixes and tweaks.
  8. Jul 18, 2016
    70
    Party Hard is funny, brutal and controversial. Although impression is flawed by unnecessary mistakes and lack of clarity of some rules, thanks to the creativity of the community this mayhem game can still be recommended.
  9. Jan 11, 2016
    70
    A peculiar stealth game of sorts, with a high challenge level even with its simple mechanics. It’s good fun, but it’s partially ruined by some miscalculations in the procedural elements of the maps and an A.I. that doesn’t always work as intended.
  10. Sep 14, 2015
    70
    Party Hard combines the killing playground of Hitman with the styling advise of Hotline Miami. To creatively disturb parties in a very bloody way is a lot of fun, but it does get boring pretty quickly as well.
  11. Sep 1, 2015
    70
    Party Hard is a very simple and fun title, but it becomes quite repetitive after a while. The randomization of levels is supposed to help with that, but there’s simply not enough variety to keep it engaging for long periods of time.
  12. Nov 10, 2015
    60
    When you’ve wasted 15 minutes watching two pixel people chat each other up but never move to the bedroom to seal the deal; it’s these scenarios where getting caught by the cops or feds becomes a frustration instead of a punishment. It’s almost like some people don’t want to get murdered. Rude.
  13. Sep 21, 2015
    60
    Party Hard is good clean fun, but that fun tends to devolve into waiting and tedium towards the end of any level. The core gameplay is an idea that can be expanded upon though, and the developer is already adding new content to the game to resolve the issue.
  14. Aug 25, 2015
    60
    Despite owing a lot to Hotline Miami in terms of sight and sound, Party Hard is almost the antithesis of its most obvious influence. On a personal note, it's actually more reminiscent of How to be a Complete Bastard, a similar (and ancient) game involving house parties and a destructive protagonist.
  15. Jan 3, 2016
    58
    Party Hard really is a one-trick pony, and once you've seen that trick a few times you'll be ready for the next thing.
  16. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Sep 14, 2016
    40
    Interesting concept unfortunately runs out of fuel within the first hour or two, and then you are left with a repetitive, often painfully sadistic gameplay. [Issue#266]
  17. Aug 25, 2015
    40
    Party Hard falls flat in execution and bores in some cases. It’s a dour middle ground between a playground for murder and a puzzle: too restrictive in weapon / trap choice and infuriating to enjoy completely, and too simple and redundant to boggle the mind.
  18. Sep 29, 2015
    20
    Party Hard is not a game that rewards players who take chances or attempt to learn the layout of levels, since the developers randomize the stages after each failure. Trap elements, items, and victim gathering points change every time. There's no value in practicing techniques when there's no guarantee players will have a chance to use them.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 95 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 95
  2. Negative: 8 out of 95
  1. Aug 26, 2015
    10
    I think it's very awesome! Fun! Fun! And Fun! I like it. I have not seen most graceful and crazy dance club ever. This game made me veryI think it's very awesome! Fun! Fun! And Fun! I like it. I have not seen most graceful and crazy dance club ever. This game made me very happy indeed :). Full Review »
  2. Aug 27, 2015
    5
    The game hardly matches its own description and promises.

    What you actually get is: The game starts out with some cutscenes about some
    The game hardly matches its own description and promises.

    What you actually get is:
    The game starts out with some cutscenes about some murderer that goes from Party to Party.
    Afterwards you get dropped at one, and must kill all people.

    The first stage is merely a tutorial.

    The second stage, and the following stages aren't any different it's basically like this:
    Activate some stage explosions to get rid of a lot of people.
    Then wait for people to get separated, stab them - bug out though because you don't want to be seen with a fresh corpse, that's how you get busted.
    Rinse and repeat, and trust me - this will take quite some time to get all people dead.

    Now, the issue with this is:
    The NPC behavior is randomized, just like what is available in certain stages. For instance, sometimes you get a bomb, sometimes you get spare clothes. Sometimes there's some speaker that blows up, sometimes not.

    So, all you do really is waiting for random AI movement to have them separated so you can kill them.

    And this gets boring really fast.
    Whenever I play it I felt like I'd rather play Hitman: Blood Money, and just try to kill all people at the party level without getting caught.

    I don't have anything against party people though :D - just saying this is what the game could have been like, and instead we got some half-assed assassin game where even Hotline Miami was more about stealth.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 25, 2015
    9
    Very fun game. Great mix of stealth, fun and pixelart. The game is full of tiny little details that make you smile. Also, I was surprised toVery fun game. Great mix of stealth, fun and pixelart. The game is full of tiny little details that make you smile. Also, I was surprised to find a full storyline and a world map here.

    And, of course, the music is GREAT. Very groovy. I'm almost dancing when hear it :)

    PS: Played on a gamepad and it works great.

    Totally recommend. Interesting idea, great music, fun realization. Quite fresh gameplay.
    Full Review »