User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 274 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 274

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 8, 2021
    6
    I think in its current state it has too many bugs. Some of them even gamebreaking. Many skills don't work as intended, some don't work at all.
  2. Sep 5, 2021
    7
    "Almost fantastic, but not quite" is how I would describe Pathfinder Wrath of the Righteous. Past the fans or haters that will rate 10 or 0, with either not an ounce of criticism or praise for a product that deserves both, you will discover that this game has a lot to offer, but it also has a lot of problems.

    Let's start with the positives: The setting is really compelling, and the
    "Almost fantastic, but not quite" is how I would describe Pathfinder Wrath of the Righteous. Past the fans or haters that will rate 10 or 0, with either not an ounce of criticism or praise for a product that deserves both, you will discover that this game has a lot to offer, but it also has a lot of problems.

    Let's start with the positives: The setting is really compelling, and the story, most of the time, is really well written. The voice acting is superb, and the way quests are weaven with one another makes a lot of sense. There is a fantastic feeling of being part of something larger than life, and that is really inspiring if the player enjoys that kind of "chosen one" overarching epic fantasy adventure. For those that prefer more of a humble, contained adventure, this might not be so great. The UI and interface are improved in comparison to Kingmaker, and the game is much easier to get into and be good at, despite the plethora of options to choose from. There are 140+ different classes/archetypes to choose from, only at level 1. That is simply absurdly deep, and it can not be a bad thing, ever.

    Less impressive is that the turn-based mode is still amateur-level. If you are like me, that enjoys playing CRPGs in this setting, you will be sorely disappointed. You will lose turns because your character chose to not cast the spell you asked her to cast, but still consumed her turn. You will lose turns because of switching weapons, even though that does not consume a turn as per the game's own rules. You will see Attacks of Opportunity happen somewhere around the battlefield when it's not even the turn to act for any of the characters involved in the interaction and they were just idly staring at each other. You will see enemies that are there but can not be attacked, presuming that it is because the turn mode was triggered by the game before the enemy models were actual part of the game, and the animation in which they appeared was playing out. If you liked the idea of mounted combat, you might as well let it wait. It just does not work well, especially with turn-based mode.

    Asides from that, which won't affect you a lot if you enjoy playing the game in real-time with pause mode, and one can assume that will be eventually patched, there are deeper problems that can't be patched. This is in the inability to really roleplay your character the way you wish. You are encased into an array of standard Lawful/Chaotic/Good/Evil behaviours in your dialogue choices, and the only way you have to communicate your character behaviour to the game is through those dialogue choices, which also determine how everything around you reacts. There is no nuance, no delicacy, no personalisation whatsoever. If you are, for example, a Chaotic Good swashbuckler, that has a fair morality compass but in the end, doesn't give a sh*t about most people's problems, you won't be able to feel the game reacting to you. Sometimes, you will have to choose between a lawful and chaotic dialogue choice, and you will choose chaotic because well, the lawful one doesn't make sense to you, but you are not really anywhere close to the chaotic choice presented either, and you will accept it as the lesser of two evils. This happens recurrently, and constantly, and it is quite disheartening for an RPG that is so complex in other areas, yet so lacking in the one that matters. And that is my main gripe with this game. It does not let me play the character I want, it forces you to play the one that suits their own writer's fantasy, and that is not how you RPG, at least not if we are talking about the values that Pathfinder promotes in its tabletop versions, and which this game tries so hard to emulate.

    Another issue is once again the "management" part of the game, which in this version, rather than realm management, is army management. To me, it really gets in the way and takes too much time/focus/effort to deal with, as well as not being really fun or compelling, in my opinion. Feels like a chore that takes you from playing the proper parts of the game, and you can't even set it to "automatic", because if it's like Kingmaker, there is a fair chance that you will lose the game and have to restart from scratch after 80 hours playing, just because the AI made poor choices to keep your realm/army alive. Ah well.

    All in all, the game still offers a fantastic experience to most players, especially those who enjoy real-time with pause, and those that enjoy reading a novel with pre-written outcomes, rather than trying to create their own. If you love turn-based mode, wait for patching. If you don't like railroaded RPGs or being encased into very cliche "hero" roles, wait for a sale. If you like both real-time with pause gameplay, and being guided through a heroic tale of ascension and conquer where you play one of a few predetermined cliche heroes rather than something nuanced of your own, this game is easily a 9/10.
    Expand
  3. Oct 27, 2021
    5
    I am an rpg fan but I am disappointed with the game. If you look without thinking 200 hours ending rpg game is great. However crusade-choice effect-puzzle part act2-3-5 are trash
    Except these it is still a 120 hours game but dungeons apart from 3-4 are boring ivory sanctum-prison that inheritor kept and labs are repetitive - act 5 same places bactrack
    Act 4 is a good improvement. If there
    I am an rpg fan but I am disappointed with the game. If you look without thinking 200 hours ending rpg game is great. However crusade-choice effect-puzzle part act2-3-5 are trash
    Except these it is still a 120 hours game but dungeons apart from 3-4 are boring ivory sanctum-prison that inheritor kept and labs are repetitive - act 5 same places bactrack
    Act 4 is a good improvement. If there is no Act 4 game is really a mess. Drezen and before area well designed at Act 2 but most main quest big areas trash and puzzle multi trash
    No item crafting only silly recipes 90% items for sale or useless
    Rpg means crafting - different jobs - different areas. Alchemy ? repair ? Talk effects ? Bad companions why could not make more oneself ? Useless companion quests with trash companions, time management and quests but you become god in 90-100 days
    Stop lying some streamers youtubers if they make this game after 10 years of Skyrim stop and say - we love these because no one makes games like these except Drezen war - before area and Act4 boring - items not important or few items are godlike important for seceet end
    Expand
  4. Sep 6, 2021
    7
    A good successor to Kingmaker. Wrath of the Righteous trades in Kingmaker's whimsical wilderness kingdom builder for a somber religious crusade, and the theme works its way into the environments, music, and artwork. And, like its prequel, Wrath brings in engaging and fun characters with conflicting motivations. The characters just leap off the screen in a way that many CRPG NPCs do not.A good successor to Kingmaker. Wrath of the Righteous trades in Kingmaker's whimsical wilderness kingdom builder for a somber religious crusade, and the theme works its way into the environments, music, and artwork. And, like its prequel, Wrath brings in engaging and fun characters with conflicting motivations. The characters just leap off the screen in a way that many CRPG NPCs do not. There are many improvements from Kingmaker, and the sheer amount of character options is mind-boggling. Over about 10 hours of gameplay I've been having a grand time exploring the new setting, combat, and diving into all of the lore. The excellent writing is on full display, with random books lying around with paragraphs of lore, humor, and clues.

    Unfortunately like its predecessor, Wrath of the Righteous is plagued by many bugs which knock it down from a 9 to an 8 for me. Some spells simply have no visual indicator that they've been cast, some spells simply failed to cast (I had a cleric cast channel energy 5 times in a row without actually healing anyone), weapon damage is not consistent with weapon descriptions. There are even some rather inexplicable bugs, like characters running through objects and tables, even in the main tavern hub. I had a main story mission bug out, with endless enemies spawning in but unable to actually attack my characters, and the "objective" enemies failing to show up. I would excuse such bugs in side-quests or random encounters, but these were in unavoidable story missions in the primary hub location. Fortunately, a reload game almost always fixes the issues, but there's always a frustrating moment of not knowing if you're missing something or if the game is just bugged.

    Edit: after reaching the crusade portion, I have to knock this game down another point to 7. The crusader army management and in particular the army battles seem so half-baked, even more than the city-building mechanics in Kingmaker. The game already has a functional turn-based combat system that would work perfectly for large-scale unit combat. But for some weird reason they came up with a new, barely there turn-based combat system for the armies, and it is tedious.
    Expand
  5. Oct 1, 2021
    7
    I absolutely love DnD CRPGS, they are probably my favorite type of game to play. After beating this game on (mostly) hard difficulty, I've put about 180 hours into the game. Like the first pathfinder, it does a lot of things really well. Just like the first pathfinder game, the balance is absolutely atrocious.

    The balance issues really frustrate the gameplay experience, and once I was
    I absolutely love DnD CRPGS, they are probably my favorite type of game to play. After beating this game on (mostly) hard difficulty, I've put about 180 hours into the game. Like the first pathfinder, it does a lot of things really well. Just like the first pathfinder game, the balance is absolutely atrocious.

    The balance issues really frustrate the gameplay experience, and once I was more than 120 hours into the game, I honestly just wanted it to end. You will be save scumming on MOST fights if you play this game at hard or unfair, and by save scumming... I don't mean the occasional save scum. You will be reloading your game over and over again for most fights in this game.

    - Most of your spells just won't land on enemies, even if you have full spell penetration and spell mastery.

    - Enemy spells will always land regardless on how you spec or what buffs you have on. You will be forced to choose all defensive traits to even have a chance.

    - There are simply too many spells that can't be countered. There's also not nearly enough information out there to know what resistance or spell is needed to counter a spell. Even as someone who has played these games for 25+ years now, this was still extremely overwhelming. We need MUCH better tooltips here.

    - My main tank had 65+ AC and last stand at the end of the game... she would still get one shot on a regular basis. Last Stand doesn't seem to always work (archers / certain spells will still kill your tank through last stand)

    - Meele DPS is near impossible to play on any difficulty over "core." Just like the original pathfinder game, archers reign supreme. Most streamers I see playing this game on hard are running a very heavy archer team build.

    - Half the classes aren't playable on the harder difficulties. This gives the illusion of build choice. You will be forced to meta build if you don't want to pull your hair out. This is unacceptable for a single player RPG.

    - There's no taunt in DnD so I understand why pathfinder doesn't have one. However, many enemies will straight ignore collision on choke points and focus your caster. You will be save scumming multiple times because of this issue alone.

    - As others have pointed out, there are many, MANY, game breaking or near game breaking bugs.

    Please don't get me wrong. I'm so grateful that there are companies like Owlcat out there making games like this. Its a dime a dozen these days. If they choose to continue making isometric CRPG's I really hope they decide to trim the fat and focus on the core gameplay experience going forward. I would much rather play an 80 hour flushed out game, instead of a 180 hour, buggy and unbalanced one.
    Expand
  6. Sep 7, 2021
    7
    I.... am not sure if I'm having fun with this. Playing a spell caster when half the enemies have spell resistance is not fun. And while the setting, graphics and story has been great so far... the Tavern defence mission almost broke me with its tedium. I'm convinced it wasn't tested. So boring and long I lowered the difficulty to casual to get it over with. In all honesty I wasI.... am not sure if I'm having fun with this. Playing a spell caster when half the enemies have spell resistance is not fun. And while the setting, graphics and story has been great so far... the Tavern defence mission almost broke me with its tedium. I'm convinced it wasn't tested. So boring and long I lowered the difficulty to casual to get it over with. In all honesty I was -close- to demanding a refund. It was atrocious. Expand
  7. Sep 6, 2021
    7
    People giving this game a ten are choosing to ignore quite a few bugs, choppy gameplay, and dated elements that could be modernized. That having been said, it's pretty good. My main reason for dropping the score is that the difficulty scaling is pretty much broken right now. Even the devs have told people not to play on certain settings. If you have a difficulty setting that is so highPeople giving this game a ten are choosing to ignore quite a few bugs, choppy gameplay, and dated elements that could be modernized. That having been said, it's pretty good. My main reason for dropping the score is that the difficulty scaling is pretty much broken right now. Even the devs have told people not to play on certain settings. If you have a difficulty setting that is so high that it actually breaks the game, then that's just a bug. On the other hand, even if you're playing on a reduced difficulty, some fights are still incredibly difficult if not impossible, while simultaneously allowing other fights to be completely trivial. The difficulty balancing seems unfinished from what I can tell. It's a real shame. Expand
  8. Sep 4, 2021
    7
    Overall it's a good game. But the lack of controller support means a lot to me. Nice characters, class and progression systems, battles, story... everything is awesome in this game. It is the RPG we needed. It is a very complex game that offers a lot of replayability.

    I fully recommend it. Controller support will be added sometime in the future, probably March 2nd, 2022 when the console
    Overall it's a good game. But the lack of controller support means a lot to me. Nice characters, class and progression systems, battles, story... everything is awesome in this game. It is the RPG we needed. It is a very complex game that offers a lot of replayability.

    I fully recommend it. Controller support will be added sometime in the future, probably March 2nd, 2022 when the console version is released or some time after that.
    Expand
  9. Oct 24, 2021
    6
    I would reiterate ShakkaZu's review about this game being plagued by serious balancing and pacing problems. I couldn't get through Act 3 because of a combination of the enemies with 60 AC and the horribly implemented Crusade mode.

    However, I think a lot of the issues with the game are inherent to DND 3.5e/Pathfinder 1e as a whole. There is a reason why DND 5e reduced AC and attack
    I would reiterate ShakkaZu's review about this game being plagued by serious balancing and pacing problems. I couldn't get through Act 3 because of a combination of the enemies with 60 AC and the horribly implemented Crusade mode.

    However, I think a lot of the issues with the game are inherent to DND 3.5e/Pathfinder 1e as a whole. There is a reason why DND 5e reduced AC and attack bonuses -- to reduce the tedium of having to cast 100 buffs and debuffs so that your characters are actually capable of hitting npcs and vice versa. Unfortunately, Owlcat decided to be 95% faithful to DND 3.5e/Pathfinder 1e, which is why this game is such a tedious and frustrating slog.

    Would not recommend at full price. If you're in the mood for a CRPG, try out Solasta: Crown of the Magister or wait for the much, much, much better Baldur's Gate 3.
    Expand
  10. Sep 18, 2021
    7
    El juego es muy bueno la verdad, ya tenía ganas de jugar a rol puro de verdad. Aún así le pongo una nota de "bien" por la cantidad de pequeños buggs y errores que tiene.. La gota que colma el vaso ha sido el continuo "crasheo" del juego cuando vas a descansar con los personajes después de 40 - 50h de juego que llevo llegando a cerrarse completamente el juego, me ha pasado como 5 o 6 veces.El juego es muy bueno la verdad, ya tenía ganas de jugar a rol puro de verdad. Aún así le pongo una nota de "bien" por la cantidad de pequeños buggs y errores que tiene.. La gota que colma el vaso ha sido el continuo "crasheo" del juego cuando vas a descansar con los personajes después de 40 - 50h de juego que llevo llegando a cerrarse completamente el juego, me ha pasado como 5 o 6 veces. Es muy buen juego, pero cuando lo arregléis jugaré. Estoy cansado ya de que las compañías saquen productos defectuosos al mercado. La norma parece ser que es.. "saco un juego y luego le arreglo los cientos de errores que tiene". Expand
  11. Sep 10, 2021
    5
    Сюжет на шестерку + можно поиграть за некроманта и за рой, но в остальном начинается трэш. Трэш, который частично приходит из анналов класических рпг.
    Когда-то я тащился по днд играм, но с годами, с развитием геймдева в общем, они мне все больше казались кастрированными. Возьмём ограничения, аля штрафы от доспехов, заканчивая, одно с другим мешать нельзя, при этом никто не может объяснить
    Сюжет на шестерку + можно поиграть за некроманта и за рой, но в остальном начинается трэш. Трэш, который частично приходит из анналов класических рпг.
    Когда-то я тащился по днд играм, но с годами, с развитием геймдева в общем, они мне все больше казались кастрированными. Возьмём ограничения, аля штрафы от доспехов, заканчивая, одно с другим мешать нельзя, при этом никто не может объяснить почему, а если и пытаются, то выходит лажа. Ну лан, это вкусовщина, и не так критичная, но вот геймплэй, эта мешанина рпг и героев - то пздц. Разумеется, крестовый поход можно включить га автопилот, но тогда какие-то квесты могут быть недоступны, зашибись альтернатива. А сбор армии? Тот ещё гемор. Плин, и как же все медленно. И будто этого мало, ещё загрузки при переходах. Наслаждаюсь ли я прохождением? Нет, мешает вся эта хрень, сотворённая чтоб растянуть часы в игре. Сложность тоже ничего из себя не представляет, ии туп, как пробка, в итоге вся сложность - как долго ковырять. А еще толерантность и что-то как-то много независимых женщин
    Expand
  12. Sep 12, 2021
    7
    Одна из лучших игр от российских разработчиков, после Мести Боксера, конечно.
    Плюсы:
    1. Сюжет. Он весьма непредсказуем и интересен, особенно все что касается Главгероя и его спутников. 2. Графическая часть для РПГ на уровне, не хуже чем в Диабло 3. Как и в Диабле, если приблизить будет видна нехватка полигонов, поэтому лучше пореже это делать. 3. Реализация правил ДнД в игре на хорошом
    Одна из лучших игр от российских разработчиков, после Мести Боксера, конечно.
    Плюсы:
    1. Сюжет. Он весьма непредсказуем и интересен, особенно все что касается Главгероя и его спутников.
    2. Графическая часть для РПГ на уровне, не хуже чем в Диабло 3. Как и в Диабле, если приблизить будет видна нехватка полигонов, поэтому лучше пореже это делать.
    3. Реализация правил ДнД в игре на хорошом уровне. Достаточно много классов и нужно разбираться как их качать, чтобы не завпорот прохождение на высоких сложностях.
    4. Загадки. Для кого то это может быть минус. Но я вообще не видел никогда интересных и одновременно сложных загадок, над которыми надо голову поломать ни в одной игре, кроме этой.
    Минусы:
    1. Баги. Некоторые из них ломают прохождение.
    Например, может вообще не появиться на карте важная для заданий локация (в моем случае это были Саркорианские шахты).
    Или например, вместо потрета Главгероя стал изоброжен Белый Квадрат Малевича, ближе к концу игры.
    2. Ужасная тактическая система управления крестовыми походами аля Герои.
    Благо ее можно отключить, хотя и не хочется, так как часть квестов становится недоступна. Ад перфекциониста вобщем.
    3. Просто разьедающий нервы бэктрекинг. Например, в Адских Островах. Да там еще и черт ногу сломит где какой проход. Можно часов 10 убить просто ходя выполняя квестики, ходя по этой локе, не считая битв.
    Вобщем, эта игра получает от меня 7 записок на эльфийском из 10!
    Expand
  13. Oct 15, 2021
    7
    I'll give it a 7.5. It took me around 200 hours to finish and at the end I was rushing. What was a very awesome game turned into something I just wanted to end. It does a lot very well. Usual before the final ending, you saver the conversations with your companion, not here, I was like, yeah, I'm skipping this, I really don't care anymore. The ending was somewhat unsatisfying. There isI'll give it a 7.5. It took me around 200 hours to finish and at the end I was rushing. What was a very awesome game turned into something I just wanted to end. It does a lot very well. Usual before the final ending, you saver the conversations with your companion, not here, I was like, yeah, I'm skipping this, I really don't care anymore. The ending was somewhat unsatisfying. There is some jankiness to be sure, but nothing I couldn't live with.

    A lot of replayability, but I'm not ready for another 200 hours slog. I really want to go for the secret ending, but maybe over a year or maybe not. Seen that ending before in Throne of Bhaal.

    Oh those AC's of 50 to 75.... range touch is a must.
    They need to add a buff macro...
    Expand
  14. Jan 10, 2022
    7
    It is a great CRPG that starts out very strong, and ultimately is just too long and it gets weaker and less fun the further you get. Also I encountered some game breaking bugs several times and had to reload which is never great.

    Otherwise this game does a lot really well, the story is good, the characters are solid, you have a ton of options and its definitely worth a play for fans of
    It is a great CRPG that starts out very strong, and ultimately is just too long and it gets weaker and less fun the further you get. Also I encountered some game breaking bugs several times and had to reload which is never great.

    Otherwise this game does a lot really well, the story is good, the characters are solid, you have a ton of options and its definitely worth a play for fans of the genre. I took off a few points for the bugs and beyond a certain act I had no desire to play it anymore, it felt like a chore where I couldn't even bring myself to slog through to the end, which is saying a lot because at one point, even 60+ hours in, I was still LOVING it, one act in particular I found incredibly boring and annoying
    Expand
  15. Feb 8, 2022
    6
    Me gustó el primero, y esperaba que este fuera una mejora en todos los sentidos. Sin embargo aunque no ha sido una decepción total, si que ha sido bastante meh.

    En lo técnico es lamentable, con un rendimiento y caidas de frames sorprendentes teniendo en cuenta que el juego es gráficamente pobre, con unas animaciones penosas y con escenas que no transmiten nada, con muy pocas cosas
    Me gustó el primero, y esperaba que este fuera una mejora en todos los sentidos. Sin embargo aunque no ha sido una decepción total, si que ha sido bastante meh.

    En lo técnico es lamentable, con un rendimiento y caidas de frames sorprendentes teniendo en cuenta que el juego es gráficamente pobre, con unas animaciones penosas y con escenas que no transmiten nada, con muy pocas cosas pasando en la pantalla a la vez, ya puede pasar en la historia algo hiper mega épico, que la sensación que te transmite es insípida. Bastante lamentable.

    En cuanto a la historia, es de lejos la mejor parte del juego, aunque tampoco es que sea sobresaliente, entretiene y poco mas, han intentado ponerle un toque desenfadado que no pega para nada con lo que te cuentan, por ejemplo después de rescatar x soldados de un sitio en el que los estaban torturando con un montón de cadáveres por el suelo, todos los compañero empezaron a soltar comentarios ''chistosos'' que desentonaban muchísimo con el contexto y echando a perder toda la inmersión.
    Hablando de los compañeros, hace tiempo que no recuerdo un juego con peores ayudantes, es el primer juego en mucho tiempo que simplemente me he desentendido de hacer sus misiones relacionadas, por el desinterés e incluso rechazo que me generaban. Salvando 2 excepciones el resto me eran indiferentes, tiene mucho que ver, ese enfoque ''gracioso e inocente'' que les han puesto. Otra cosa que chirria en la historia es que parece que el juego lo hicieron por trozos inconexos e intentaron unirlo de forma forzada las distintas partes quedando una cosa muy rara a ratos incoherente y en general bastante sosa. Destacar que las decisiones tienen 0 efecto en el mundo, sin embargo en la historia si que afectan bastante, y es la mejor parte del juego. La forma de seguir la historia puede variar bastante debido a tus decisiones, y la verdad es que es de agradece, y es lo que medio lo salva.
    Expand
  16. Sep 18, 2021
    5
    FIrst ~15 hours was 10/10 - very interesting and impressive, but then crusade management started...
    I spent 80% of my last 20 hours of the game in the heroes of might and magic. I wanted to play rpg, make my own choices, play my characters. instead of it i am playing this crusade **** Actuaclly, this is the same problem as Pathfinder: Kingmaker had but it 5x this time. Before dropping
    FIrst ~15 hours was 10/10 - very interesting and impressive, but then crusade management started...
    I spent 80% of my last 20 hours of the game in the heroes of might and magic. I wanted to play rpg, make my own choices, play my characters. instead of it i am playing this crusade **** Actuaclly, this is the same problem as Pathfinder: Kingmaker had but it 5x this time. Before dropping this game i was like "Nah, i don't want to spend another 30 hours managing crusade instead of playing rpg" and then i have enabled auto crusade, this **** ruined my experience completely.
    Another big problem is Big map and crossing around it, in Kingmaker i even enabled cheat for teleporting in certain location because i was tired to walk though map.
    Expand
  17. Nov 21, 2021
    5
    TEDIOSO de jugar. Esa seria la mejor definición. La dificultad está ROTA, hay encuentros con esbirros literalmente imposibles si tu grupo no es perfectamente meta y equipado y aun ni con esas en dificultad NORMAL.

    El modo cruzada es el coñ.azo soberano más grande jamás creado, y encima despues de currartelo llegas a un punto en la historia que pierdes todos tus ejercitos que tanto
    TEDIOSO de jugar. Esa seria la mejor definición. La dificultad está ROTA, hay encuentros con esbirros literalmente imposibles si tu grupo no es perfectamente meta y equipado y aun ni con esas en dificultad NORMAL.

    El modo cruzada es el coñ.azo soberano más grande jamás creado, y encima despues de currartelo llegas a un punto en la historia que pierdes todos tus ejercitos que tanto coñ.azo te ha costado juntar.

    Al final te dan ganas de no jugarlo mas y no terminarlo.
    Expand
  18. Apr 16, 2022
    7
    There are things I like and dislike about this game. I love how it made the D&D rules integrated into CRPG so well and the fighting was fun. However, my biggest issue is how unbalanced they have designed the spells to be. Many foes have ridiculously high resistance to spells, making your magic-heavy characters basically useless specially during the early stage of game; on the other hand,There are things I like and dislike about this game. I love how it made the D&D rules integrated into CRPG so well and the fighting was fun. However, my biggest issue is how unbalanced they have designed the spells to be. Many foes have ridiculously high resistance to spells, making your magic-heavy characters basically useless specially during the early stage of game; on the other hand, there are some spells the foes initiate that can last on your characters for 10 minutes, with ridiculously high threshold to dispel... Expand
  19. Sep 16, 2021
    5
    I've played this game for about 23 hours now.

    The positives: -There's a LOT of character build customization. Fans of Pathfinder's vast amount of choice will surely be licking their fingers when creating a character (but probably slightly disappointed when it comes to customizing their looks). -The voice acting is good and do a lot to humanize the otherwise cartoonishly looking
    I've played this game for about 23 hours now.

    The positives:

    -There's a LOT of character build customization. Fans of Pathfinder's vast amount of choice will surely be licking their fingers when creating a character (but probably slightly disappointed when it comes to customizing their looks).

    -The voice acting is good and do a lot to humanize the otherwise cartoonishly looking characters you meet along the way.

    The negatives:

    -Like people mentioned before there's a lot of bugs and I'm sure they'll fix these, so I won't get into this.

    -The game design is often very dated and unintuitive. It can be little things like trying to find shopkeepers in a town (there are markers on the map, but they often lack important locations such as the inn, the blacksmith.) but also, big things like simply knowing what you're supposed to do next. The quest journal doesn't seem to clearly distinguish optional quests from important ones. The quests are bundled by what I assume are titles of chapters or sections, but you can have active quests in chapters 1, 2, 3 and 4... Which would be fine if you knew which ones were important. Especially because of ..

    F.e. I couldn’t progress the story for hours only to find out I had to save a couple of hard to spot NPC's that were lying under some rubble next to a church in a large and destruction ridden area. If this is so important games will usually do a much better job with their environmental storytelling to try to lead to player to the location they need to get to advance the story.

    F.e. Constantly getting pestered by often pointless random encounters on the world map and being asked to rest every 20 seconds of travelling or face the often dire consequences (people have already complained about difficulty, so I won't).

    F.e. The hilariously tedious but very much mandatory army battles. People have complained about this by my god is this system BAD. It's so bare bones and unattractive that the first thing you'd want to do when you're introduced to this is system is just end the tutorials as quickly as you can and never look back.. But then you realize you actually need to spend time (and a lot of it) clearing the map with these armies. Killing all momentum the story has managed to build up. One of the most aggravating things about this is that you must actually spend some of your own gold to better the army (which I'm sure everyone would much prefer spending on sick weapon and armor upgrades when you do manage to find the shopkeepers in this game).

    -The story.. There's just simply too much of it, so much voice acting, so much text, so many companions to meet and talk to (even in the very first hour of the game you're grouped with 5+ people all tripping over themselves to try and be the first to tell you who they are and everything they've done the past 10 years.. all when you've barely begun to understand what you're actually doing), everyone absolutely bombards you with knowledge about this and that, there's the history and there's all these factions, clans, creatures, orders... that would be fine if it was presented well or often even if it was relevant to the immediate situation you're in right now. But it just isn't.
    I really think less is more in these games and there's a time and place on when to give the player more information about the world. This just feel like a nerd flexing his brain muscles and bombarding you with all the nerdy lore he has found when reading the Dungeon Masters guide.

    And then there’s the numerous little things like every time you want to move to a new area you must wait until your entire party lines up in this formation that's close enough to the exit so you can move on. It only takes a few seconds each time so at the start you're not bothered. But after 100+ times it gets very annoying. There are so many things like this, too much to list.

    So, all in all, I think the game has potential but has a lot of things holding it back. Some of these things are fixable but others are baked into the core design of the game and would require a complete redesign. For now, I think this game is very mediocre, not worth playing and I definitely have buyer’s remorse after reading mostly positive reviews online. Maybe after a dozen or so patches, I'll give it another shot.
    Expand
  20. May 16, 2022
    7
    One of the best CRPG, if not the best over the last two decades: complex, epic story, good characters, a lot of builds. Until now I've had no bugs at all, expect a few graphic glitches. If you liked Kingmaker, you'll love WoTR. I don't understand why some people don't like it, maybe they where expecting another type of game. Also, most of the criticism I've read regarding the TB mode areOne of the best CRPG, if not the best over the last two decades: complex, epic story, good characters, a lot of builds. Until now I've had no bugs at all, expect a few graphic glitches. If you liked Kingmaker, you'll love WoTR. I don't understand why some people don't like it, maybe they where expecting another type of game. Also, most of the criticism I've read regarding the TB mode are in fact due to the (mostly) faithful adaptation of the pathfinder rules.
    It's not an AAA like The witcher 3 or RDR2, it's not divinity original sin either, it's a CRPG that is very classical in it's approach like BG, PoE, Wasteland, but it never promised to be anything else. And honestly, it is a VERY good CRPG.
    Edit: Now I've had a TON of bugs in the last chapters, after more than 20 patches it is the same, maybe even worse. I'm lowering my score.
    Expand
  21. Feb 22, 2022
    6
    The story is good, but the content is repetitive and the puzzles are an extremely annoying distraction. I wanted to love this game, but I got bored halfway through and stopped playing.
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Feb 22, 2022
    78
    While flawed, Pathfinder: Wrath of the Righteous is a grand and ambitious adventure and an impressive adaptation of a popular tabletop RPG. The eclectic characters feel alive, though the thought of that literally being true is terrifying. In some ways, it feels like too standard a CRPG; in others, it stretches the conventions of that subgenre in fascinating directions. The amount of writing here (and pretty good writing at that) is astounding — it’s a rare case where the sheer quantity is a positive, each quest another strand in your character’s tapestry, even if they don’t always hit. As such, if you only play one game you missed out on from last year, it might be this one, as it might be all you have time for. But that decision is less appealing in the shadow of the abuse accusations.
  2. CD-Action
    Jan 19, 2022
    85
    Owlcat Games has made huge progress since Kingmaker. Time limits, randomized elements of kingdom management and other annoying aspects were ditched, while combat and character development return in all their glory assisted by very atmospheric new mythic paths and a bit simple but still cool army management system. For me, the new Pathfinder, Wasteland 3 and Divinity: Original Sin II are a trio of contemporary RPG classics, with the first one being the most faithful to the genre’s tradition. [12/2021, p.64]
  3. Dec 2, 2021
    88
    Pathfinder: Wrath of the Righteous is a fantasy role-playing game that is highly playable and extremely rich in content. Although there are still some obvious bugs and optimization issues in the game, it is still the brightest new star in the fantasy role-playing games.