Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Apr 12, 2019
    100
    I can’t find many faults with Pathway beyond the occasional bit of bad luck with the map generation that puts camps and traders too far off-track to be worth going to or throws a particularly tough combat at you straight away. Apart from that small issue, this game is frankly amazing and it kept me up until dawn trying to find out what the Wrath of God was and I am so distraught that I died just before the finale. Let’s just say “I chose… poorly”.
  2. 90
    The five campaigns give over 20 hours of content to the competent. If it is too challenging for you then there are sliders to alter enemy density/difficulty, starting fuel and starting ammo. The character skill trees are all unique. Finally, the music is amazing and sounds straight out of an Indiana Jones movie. All of my initial complaints about Pathway disappeared as I continued playing, and my only real concern now is that they might not make more campaigns or characters to add to the game.
  3. Apr 16, 2019
    79
    Pathway is fun. It's good. Not great. Pathway's on the cusp of greatness, though. I'm sure ever-looming deadlines rushed this game to its release, and that's the unfortunate reality of the industry, but I still have to write about how the game currently is and not how it could be. Not since Darkest Dungeon have I wanted a game to be so much more as I do Pathway. It's there. I can feel it. Fortunately, we live in the era of patches, free content updates, and purchasable DLC, so here's hoping I get to write a review later about how Pathway is finally the fantastic experience I know it can be.
  4. Apr 25, 2019
    70
    Pathway is… fine. It has brilliant atmosphere and is solidly designed. But in the end, the concept is just too simple and cannot carry the game all the way to its conclusion.
  5. Apr 23, 2019
    70
    Pathway is an interesting roguelike with good ideas, and we think fans of the genre will enjoy it. The only problem, though, is that it can become very repetitive quite quickly, and the novelty can wear off.
  6. Apr 22, 2019
    70
    The repetitiveness of the schemes and the re-use of assets risk making the product much less long-lived than the other exponents of the genus, reducing in the advanced stages the variety of situations, the originality of their outcomes, and more generally the transport for this adventure of the past.
  7. Apr 17, 2019
    70
    Pathway brings together RPG tactics and roguelite progression with a unique Indiana Jones setting, but it doesn't have the depth to feel replayable.
  8. Apr 16, 2019
    68
    Pathway can count on an outstanding art direction, but there are many issues preventing the players from fully enjoying the game.
  9. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Jun 26, 2019
    67
    Even a great setting can’t save the game that’s mediocre in every other regard. [Issue#238, p.46]
  10. Jul 8, 2019
    60
    An enjoyable game that leaves you longing for a bit more depth and complexity. While it may feel like it’s a missed opportunity at a great concept, it may yet turn out to be a real gem.
  11. May 28, 2019
    60
    Pathway is an aesthetically gorgeous tactical roguelike that feels oversimplified and never achieve the right level of engagement or strategic depth.
  12. Apr 16, 2019
    60
    Pathway looks and sounds great, it nails the pulpy attitude it's aiming for, and, of course, it's always fun to shoot Nazis. But the more I played, the more the cracks started to show, the more samey it all became, and the more uncomfortable some aspects of its design made me feel.
  13. Apr 16, 2019
    60
    Pathway is a through and through a run-of-the-mill experience. The story is pretty uneventful, battles are far too easy to win and the constant need to stock up on fuel for your car drags the game to a screeching halt. Pathway does have its own charm, but Robotality missed the chance to learn from their prior experiences with Halfway and repeats - as well as adds - many avoidable mistakes.
  14. Apr 15, 2019
    57
    Crisp combat let down by boring enemies, repetitive missions and a disconnected story.
  15. Apr 19, 2019
    55
    Quotation forthcoming.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. I think it’s a generally inoffensive game with extremely charming presentation that’s badly suited for the ritualistic plonking down of oneself in front of a chunky desktop PC, but would probably be a welcome distraction on the Switch.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 32
  2. Negative: 6 out of 32
  1. May 23, 2019
    3
    Positives

    -Novel Idea -nice story -lovely old school visuals Negatives -Gets repetitive fast -Characters have fixed skills and or
    Positives

    -Novel Idea
    -nice story
    -lovely old school visuals

    Negatives

    -Gets repetitive fast
    -Characters have fixed skills and or perks which means you end up getting the same 4 people all the time(unless rng dosent give you the other 2 you want)
    -Game is short
    -Despite gearing your heroes with teh best items when you find them during a stage they have the starter gear
    -Various "Instances" are 8 9 and they also get repetitive after a while eg truck appears follow or not etc and the outcomes are the same 2 always(either negative or positive)
    -You might finish all 5 campaigns and never find a legendary or epic weapon despite exploring every single stop at the map or you might start a single campaing and end with 2 3 legendaries
    -some weapons are totally useless,and i mean useless,even an epic zapper or whats its name does underwhelming dmg whereas with a knife you can kill an enemy in full armor and hp

    Its a diamond in the rough,With a bit more love this could be an awesome game,but the repetitiveness of it leaves you with a bitter experience at the end.If you find it for 7-10 bucks get it otherwise move on
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 15, 2019
    6
    Needs more content, gets boring easily, too repetitive, it needs more options and differences between fights and events.
  3. Sep 1, 2020
    7
    Pathway offers a lot of content. The first hours aren´t easy to get in but highly addictive. The art direction and sound are marvellous too.Pathway offers a lot of content. The first hours aren´t easy to get in but highly addictive. The art direction and sound are marvellous too. But after the first impressions, the game becomes a bit repetitive and seems slightly unfinished. Fans of Indiana Jones will cheer! Full Review »