Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    95
    Payday 2 is a Co Op game. While it might have benefitted with a cool story arc for a single player mode the game offers a great outing with 3 other friends for an experience that will keep having you come back for more. Payday is simply put the improved, polished and closest experience you’ll find to robbing an actual bank. It’s just legal.
  2. Sep 25, 2013
    90
    It's not the desire for cash or gold that'll keep you coming back, but the desire to pull off the perfect heist. [Oct 2013, p.94]
  3. Aug 15, 2013
    90
    In the end, its faults are only minor, really. This is by far the most engrossing co-operative arcade experience I have had in a while, probably the best since Left 4 Dead 2 came around. Pulling the trigger of a Uzi in close proximity of an enemy is like shoving a rabid Tasmanian devil into someone's face. The guns really feel that exciting and dangerous - one of the key differences between a good shooter and a great one. I have a feeling this one will stay with us for a while.
  4. Sep 1, 2013
    88
    A superb co-op shooter, with rich character customisation and unpredictable missions. [Oct 2013, p.70]
  5. Aug 13, 2013
    87
    PayDay 2 is a fresh, new first person shooter that makes you walk in the shoes of four criminals trying to steal as much money as possible in Washington DC. This setting opens up new possibilities for a quite deep and solid gameplay. If you liked the first episode, you’ll love the sequel.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 981 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 60 out of 287
  1. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    So much fun coop. Huge improvement on the first one and the replay value is insane with the map changing geometry, I got 40 hours clocked up on just the 6 heists that are in the beta! For the price you pay you cant go wrong! Full Review »
  2. Aug 13, 2013
    0
    A throughly surprising moment when they decided to dump all pretense of logic and release this game insanely early in the month announced. Even back in June/July, there was Internet stores with the date of 13-16th august which means they had the intent to release it that early for a really long time and I'm quite disappointed that they decided to do so even with all the bugs floating around, be it the still atrocious enemy AI, broken stealth or the laughable matchmaking. There was tons upon tons upon tons of genuine concerns being discussed in the beta game's community hub (a large amount of them being deleted/banned, nice censorship starbreeze) and they have changed literally nothing from beta stage 2-3 besides ironing out a few, very minor bugs like making an window entrance easier to get through where are literally thousand cries for other concerns (The steam bug concern thread alone has 800+ replies as of this moment) like people not being able to join their friends, their game crashing nonstop, the broken cloud data-storing, bodies being detected through solid roof or through walls, the infamous mouse cursor lag where a majority of the players must play with 1-2 mouse feedback lag, a broken FOV, no host migration, absolutely horrible friendly AI (like the first game).. I can go on and on, but at the end of the day, they fixed nothing of any considerable importance and for that, I can only shake my head in shame. Full Review »
  3. Aug 15, 2013
    0
    Hmm...Where should I start....There are connectivity bugs which block me from using the most essential part in this game, the multiplayer. When I am sick and tired of multiplayer, I then resort to singleplayer but singleplayer is even worse. The AI is just downright terrible in singleplayer. Also, enemies can see through solid walls at some point. What is up with that? I do not recommend you to get this game. Full Review »