Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 100
    Persona 4 Golden is a genuine, bona fide work of art, and one of those games that show the potential for the video game format to offer more than cheap thrills. It's one of those games that you get the feeling will be remembered as a masterpiece well into the future too. With most AAA blockbusters falling out of the public discourse just a few months after release because they offer nothing but passive entertainment, it's games like Persona 4 that we continue to discuss. Even in comparison to its own sequel, it seems to have the combination of characters, narrative, and ideas that help it to continue to be worthy of thought. We'll still be talking about Persona 4 fifty years from now, and hopefully, it remains as accessible as this new PC release has allowed it to become.
  2. Jun 13, 2020
    100
    Sporting a great cast of wonderful characters, a memorable soundtrack, and a deep story filled with humor, drama, and twists and turns, there is absolutely no sound reason to miss out on this wonderful and spirited video game.
  3. Jun 13, 2020
    100
    Persona 4 Golden is comforting, it’s warm, and so lovingly inviting. With its bright color palette and relentless optimism and hope, it’s summer incarnate and a beautiful reminder of the rose-colored past. Summer has begun.
  4. Jun 13, 2020
    100
    Atlus' classic Japanese role-playing game makes a surprise jump to PC, bringing with it the Carl Jung-inspired story and exciting monster-slaying action that makes it a beloved series entry. If you missed Persona 4 Golden's original PlayStation Vita release, or simply wish to revisit the game, you can now enjoy the masterpiece in its best form.
  5. Jun 16, 2020
    95
    While it almost lost me with the incredible amount of story and dialogue, it set me straight when the gameplay finally kicked in. The nearly perfect juggling act between wild visuals, great story, and familiar JRPG gameplay has me sold that I need to check out other Persona games in the series. Hopefully, they make them for the PC. Persona 4 Golden was an excellent PC game that deserves gamers’ time and attention.
  6. Jun 16, 2020
    95
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Jun 13, 2020
    95
    Persona 4 is still one of the best JRPGs of all time, and this port only further proves that while clearing up your vision of Inaba and adding a new control scheme with which to Face Yourself. With this PC version bringing along the enhancements and new features of Golden, there’s never been a better time to Reach out to the Truth for newcomers or for veterans to Make History.
  8. Jun 23, 2020
    90
    Persona 4 Golden is a magnificent opportunity, and even more so after the overwhelming success of Persona 5, to get to know one of the most beloved installments by the fans, which solidified the pillars of the franchise.
  9. Jun 23, 2020
    90
    Persona 4 Golden was arguably the game to get on the Vita, among a library that's very unsung after Sony put that little portable out to pasture. Now that it's on one of the most accessible platforms in the world, there's little to no excuse for avoiding it. $20 is a steal for something that's going to last you a full month and keep you thinking about it for months to come.
  10. Jun 13, 2020
    90
    Persona 4 Golden remains one of my favourite RPGs of all time and this rock solid PC port is quickly becoming the definitive release of the game for me.
  11. Jun 13, 2020
    90
    Persona 4 Golden is a massive JRPG that looks better than ever on PC. Those that have already played through the PS2 or PS Vita versions of the game may not find the HD visuals to be a good enough reason to double dip, but the game is highly recommended to new players. Anyone wanting more Persona after getting their fill of Persona 5 Royal should most definitely give Persona 4 Golden on PC a try.
  12. Jun 13, 2020
    90
    Persona 4 Golden on PC is the best port yet of one of the JRPG genre's previous generation greats, and time has been kind to Teddie and friends.
  13. Jun 13, 2020
    90
    Persona 4 Golden on PC is the best thing that could have happened to this game. Once held to Vita exclusivity, many new gamers can discover all the great moments that this adventure has to offer. Add in the inclusion of a few PC-only graphic enhancements and Japanese audio, and you now have the definitive version of this timeless RPG.
  14. Jun 13, 2020
    90
    Persona 4 Golden, by all accounts, is still one of the best JRPGs that you can play right now, which speaks volumes given that the original game is over 10 years old. Whether you’re a longtime fan looking for a reason to return to Inaba or you’re someone who has had an eye on P4G for years but just never had the means to play it, this new PC version of the game is definitely worth snagging. Hopefully, Persona 4 Golden will be the first in a long string of new ports from Atlus, and in time, we can start to see the full series become more accessible on modern platforms.
  15. Jun 13, 2020
    90
    Persona 4 Golden is slowly starting to show its age in the gameplay department, but that doesn’t detract it from being one of the best RPG experiences you’ll find. The lovely cast of characters and goofy, yet shockingly serious story will have you enthralled for the 100+ hours it has to offer. The PC port itself is also well optimized; it doesn’t have all the bells and whistles most PC titles come with, but considering this is a remaster of a handheld port of a PS2 game, there’s more than even I would have expected. Persona 4 Golden is an absolute must for all JRPG fans and the PC version only highlights this further. Even if you owned it on PlayStation Vita, this is a tale well worth experiencing again at a higher resolution and 60fps.
  16. Jun 13, 2020
    87
    A bare-bones refit, but this remains a captivating JRPG, marrying slice-of-life drama with stylish demon battling.
  17. Jun 15, 2020
    85
    Persona 4 Golden is an honest port of the beloved classic Atlus released years ago on PlayStation Vita. As much as it aged, Persona 4 Golden retains all of its charm.
  18. Jun 13, 2020
    85
    Could it have been a much better conversion, and more elaborate? Yes. But does it let itself play perfectly and continues to offer us an outstanding and essential adventure for fans of the genre at a very affordable starting price? Without any doubt.
  19. Jul 6, 2020
    82
    Persona 4 Golden has been a bucket list game for me for several years now. I put the Devil Survivor series on my "best of all time" RPG list, and wanted to find out how this sister series played. At 90 hours, it better have been worth it! Occasionally misty-eyed, infrequently laughing out loud, and other times pensive as I sit idly, controller in hand, I can honestly say it was time well spent. With this successful port, I hope that Atlus finds the drive to put Persona 5 on PC as well, because I'll definitely bite.
  20. Jun 13, 2020
    80
    Twelve years later, and the dreary little world of Persona 4 Golden is as captivating as it's ever been. Having it on Steam is a wonderful boon to its accessibility, given the limited range the Vita and PSTV had, and this port more than does it justice. The elements unique to the expanded rerelease may not add much to the experience, but there's no doubt that this should be on everyone's list of must-play RPGs.
  21. Jun 13, 2020
    80
    Persona 4 Golden remains an iconic and hugely enjoyable JRPG, and its arrival on PC means a slew of new players can discover its delights. It’s a shame that there are a few technical problems lurking in the current build, but with the inclusion of both the Japanese and English dubs and the crisp, clear visuals, this marks a fantastic way to experience the game.
  22. Jun 16, 2020
    75
    Persona 4 Golden is finally out of the PS Vita prison and still is one of the most enjoyable JRPGs around, even if with some technical flaws.
  23. Jun 15, 2020
    70
    Maybe this new release could have been a chance for Atlus to tweak other aspects of the game, but Persona 4 Golden remains a thoroughly enjoyable romp through teenage life. If you have any interest in the setting or genre mash-up games, don't hesitate to grab this.
  24. Jun 14, 2020
    70
    If you don't have a PS4 and have never played a Persona game before, you're in for a treat. If you do have one, you should just pick up Persona 5 Royal and get the best the series has to offer.
  25. Jun 13, 2020
    70
    Atlus RPGs are not for everyone by any means. This one, in particular, is even less for everyone than most of them. And yet…! If you are a Persona fan who hasn’t played one of these games in a while, who also missed out on Golden, then this game will be perfect for you. If even one of these conditions isn’t met, I can’t promise you’ll enjoy this ride. If you’ve somehow never played a Persona game, then welcome! This is a prime place to start. Golden is the superlative version of this entry in the series. There’s nowhere else you’ll find such an expert mix of ruthless battles, lovely social interactions, and awesome music. First-time players of all varieties would do well to snag Persona 4 Golden on the PC.
  26. Jun 13, 2020
    60
    Its occasional pizzazz, including Shoji Meguro’s blissful J-pop soundtrack, is undermined by how hard it often is to actually look at the game.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jun 13, 2020
    It’s the best the game has ever looked or played, and is available at a more than reasonable price.
  2. Jun 13, 2020
    Am I a convert? Not yet, and I may never be, fully. But I’m glad I finally had a chance to see what everyone else has been telling me for years.
  3. Jun 13, 2020
    Persona 4 Golden’s Steam version is a fantastic way to play this game, with solid graphics options, arbitrary resolution and framerate support, relatively fast loading times, and good support for remappable keyboard controls. Steam features such as achievements and cloud saves are included, and even the minor online aspects of the “Golden” version were faithfully ported. Additionally, this release adds the ability to choose between English and Japanese voice acting, a very welcome addition in what is inherently a very Japanese game. The nit-picks such as video asset quality, locked aspect ratio, and even the far-worse-than-it-could-be performance are all at least somewhat understandable from a development and prioritization perspective, and do little to detract from the quality of the port in most practical cases.
  4. Jun 13, 2020
    If you’re excited to play Persona 4 Golden again, or curious to dive for the first time, the game is still as excellent as it was when it was first released 8 years ago, just finally more convenient.
  5. Persona 4 is a twisting tale of dreams gone rogue in a town sapped of purpose. It brings personal demons to life in gaudy but plausible ways, and uses this to rejuvenate the dog-eared framework of a town-and-dungeon fantasy RPG. Unceremonious as it is, the PC port leaves all of that peculiar magic intact. It’s just a shame that the insight and empathy on show here doesn’t extend to everybody.
  6. Jun 13, 2020
    After playing through a bit over thirty hours of the game, it’s clear that Persona 4 Golden feels right at home on PC...Persona 4′s music is still as brilliant and joyful to listen to as ever. The largely upbeat tracks are massive ear-worms and hearing them in the game again brings back a great feeling. The English voice acting is also, on the whole, great. There’s definitely a bit of the overacting that punctuates many JRPG and anime titles of the era. For those who prefer it, the PC version grants players the ability to switch to the Japanese voice acting if they wish.
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 523 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 523
  1. Jun 13, 2020
    10
    Persona 4 Golden is one of the best JRPGs of all time. Don't let its graphics deceive you it is an awesome game with nice gameplay
  2. Jun 13, 2020
    10
    Persona 4 Golden on PC! Come on! I'm happy that we've got this game! I hope more people will enjoy this game.
  3. Jun 13, 2020
    10
    Persona 4 Golden on PC! Come on! I'm happy that we've got this game! I hope more people will enjoy this game.