Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Jun 15, 2020
    70
    Maybe this new release could have been a chance for Atlus to tweak other aspects of the game, but Persona 4 Golden remains a thoroughly enjoyable romp through teenage life. If you have any interest in the setting or genre mash-up games, don't hesitate to grab this.
  2. Jun 14, 2020
    70
    If you don't have a PS4 and have never played a Persona game before, you're in for a treat. If you do have one, you should just pick up Persona 5 Royal and get the best the series has to offer.
  3. Jun 13, 2020
    70
    Atlus RPGs are not for everyone by any means. This one, in particular, is even less for everyone than most of them. And yet…! If you are a Persona fan who hasn’t played one of these games in a while, who also missed out on Golden, then this game will be perfect for you. If even one of these conditions isn’t met, I can’t promise you’ll enjoy this ride. If you’ve somehow never played a Persona game, then welcome! This is a prime place to start. Golden is the superlative version of this entry in the series. There’s nowhere else you’ll find such an expert mix of ruthless battles, lovely social interactions, and awesome music. First-time players of all varieties would do well to snag Persona 4 Golden on the PC.
  4. Jun 13, 2020
    60
    Its occasional pizzazz, including Shoji Meguro’s blissful J-pop soundtrack, is undermined by how hard it often is to actually look at the game.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jun 13, 2020
    It’s the best the game has ever looked or played, and is available at a more than reasonable price.
  2. Jun 13, 2020
    Am I a convert? Not yet, and I may never be, fully. But I’m glad I finally had a chance to see what everyone else has been telling me for years.
  3. Jun 13, 2020
    Persona 4 Golden’s Steam version is a fantastic way to play this game, with solid graphics options, arbitrary resolution and framerate support, relatively fast loading times, and good support for remappable keyboard controls. Steam features such as achievements and cloud saves are included, and even the minor online aspects of the “Golden” version were faithfully ported. Additionally, this release adds the ability to choose between English and Japanese voice acting, a very welcome addition in what is inherently a very Japanese game. The nit-picks such as video asset quality, locked aspect ratio, and even the far-worse-than-it-could-be performance are all at least somewhat understandable from a development and prioritization perspective, and do little to detract from the quality of the port in most practical cases.
  4. Jun 13, 2020
    If you’re excited to play Persona 4 Golden again, or curious to dive for the first time, the game is still as excellent as it was when it was first released 8 years ago, just finally more convenient.
  5. Persona 4 is a twisting tale of dreams gone rogue in a town sapped of purpose. It brings personal demons to life in gaudy but plausible ways, and uses this to rejuvenate the dog-eared framework of a town-and-dungeon fantasy RPG. Unceremonious as it is, the PC port leaves all of that peculiar magic intact. It’s just a shame that the insight and empathy on show here doesn’t extend to everybody.
  6. Jun 13, 2020
    After playing through a bit over thirty hours of the game, it’s clear that Persona 4 Golden feels right at home on PC...Persona 4′s music is still as brilliant and joyful to listen to as ever. The largely upbeat tracks are massive ear-worms and hearing them in the game again brings back a great feeling. The English voice acting is also, on the whole, great. There’s definitely a bit of the overacting that punctuates many JRPG and anime titles of the era. For those who prefer it, the PC version grants players the ability to switch to the Japanese voice acting if they wish.
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 487 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 487
  1. Jun 13, 2020
    10
    Persona 4 Golden is one of the best JRPGs of all time. Don't let its graphics deceive you it is an awesome game with nice gameplay
  2. Jun 13, 2020
    10
    Persona 4 Golden on PC! Come on! I'm happy that we've got this game! I hope more people will enjoy this game.
  3. Jun 13, 2020
    10
    Persona 4 Golden on PC! Come on! I'm happy that we've got this game! I hope more people will enjoy this game.