Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Feb 9, 2021
    100
    Persona 5 Strikers delivers the meaningful story, relateable characters, and complex mechanics fans expect from mainline games but switches the gameplay up to focus on action over time management.
  2. Mar 2, 2021
    95
    In all Persona 5 Strikers is a fantastic game that is clearly made with heart, and isn’t just a reskin of the Dynasty Warriors series with Persona characters. This reviewer would look at other examples of this genre shift such as Hyrule Warriors or Fire Emblem Warriors and say that Persona 5 Strikers definitely went above and beyond to tell a Persona story with a fantastic blend of JRPG and Muso game styles that suits it, if not perfectly, pretty close!
  3. Feb 12, 2021
    85
    What can we say except that fans of the planetary hit of Atlus will be delighted to find in Persona 5 Scramble the real sequel they were waiting for, and that even perhaps, they did not expect.
  4. Feb 9, 2021
    85
    Persona 5 Strikers is a successful crossover, bringing a true sequel to iconic JRPG. Among other things, it'll allow fans to learn more about the high school band led by the Trickster. With Strikers, Omega Force delivers: it's a demanding title, particularly enjoyable and complete enough to take you on a road-trip for countless hours.
  5. Feb 9, 2021
    85
    No fusion accidents here: the merging of Persona 5 and the Musou games has resulted in a very strong Persona indeed.
  6. Feb 26, 2021
    80
    Persona 5 Strikers might not be the full fat Persona experience nor a true Warriors game – it is certainly targeting the Persona fans more than Warriors fans – but it is a quality extension to the Persona 5 story, a worthy summer road trip that might be advertised as a spin-off, but truly feels more like a sequel with a new flavour sprinkled on top.
  7. Feb 24, 2021
    80
    If you have an attachment to the world and characters of Persona 5, you owe it to yourself to play Strikers. The shift in genre makes combat exciting, and the story manages to capture so much of what made Persona 5 such an outstanding game. The Phantom Thieves are back, not in some watered down spin off, but in a way that will very likely steal your heart all over again.
  8. Feb 10, 2021
    80
    Early on in Persona 5's development, P-Studio had considered an action-RPG format for the original Persona 5. While the Phantom Thieves debut maintained Persona's traditional JRPG framework, Persona 5 Strikers showcases what could've been in an overall successful manner. There are kinks that could've been worked out, with battles lacking a significant degree of player feedback that unnecessarily inflating the game's difficulty. Strikers' story also takes a little too long to hit its stride, but it does reward players who stick around for the long haul. Acting as a sequel to the critically acclaimed JRPG, Persona 5 Strikers is a fantastic continuation for the Phantom Thieves.
  9. Feb 9, 2021
    80
    Persona 5 Strikers is the most impressive effort yet from Omega Force to adapt a third-party license into the Musou subgenre. This probably will not be the title that will change the minds of those that already harbor an intense hatred for them, but Persona fans who are on the fence should honestly not miss out on this game. It feels like a proper follow-up to Persona 5 and the story is surprisingly one of its most outstanding feats. The journey is not a 100+ hour ride like the original, but in exchange, its tight narrative is exceptionally more cohesive and the pacing is significantly more palatable. Smart, sensible tweaks have been made across the board to the usual Musou gameplay template to remain faithful to the spirit of Persona 5 and the game is that much stronger for it. If Atlus were to ever revisit the Phantom Thieves again in a new title, whether it be a mainline or spin-off entry, they better include the characters from Persona 5 Strikers. Please? Pretty please?
  10. Feb 9, 2021
    80
    The Phantom Thieves arrive on PC in a more streamlined form than the main Persona series, but an equally engaging one that's as stylish as it is action packed.
  11. Feb 26, 2021
    70
    There are enough in-jokes and references to the previous game that newcomers to“Persona 5 Striker” may well feel out-of-the loop. But if you’re as keen on “Persona 5” as I am, Strikers offers a fine way to catch up with the old gang.
  12. Feb 9, 2021
    63
    Strikers walks and talks like Persona 5, but no social game and bland combat make it one strictly for gigafans.
  13. Edge Magazine
    Feb 25, 2021
    60
    The ingredients might sound tasty in isolation, but the recipe isn't quite right, leaving us with a dish best described as an attractive hotchpotch. [Issue#356, p.100]
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Persona 5 had such a strong sense of cohesion, with the deliberate pacing of the combat matching the slow burn of story development, which is just absent in Strikers. It's not that Persona 5 Strikers does anything badly. I'm just unsure why Atlus felt the need to give it the Musou treatment. If you want to make a Musou game, make a Musou game. If you want to make an excellent Persona game... make a Persona game, innit.
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 27
  2. Negative: 9 out of 27
  1. Feb 28, 2021
    1
    Terrible combat aasaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaasaaqassfttct5t6y6s
  2. Feb 25, 2021
    3
    Persona games usually consist of character stats development, time management, relationships, dialogues, combat and story. Strikers offersPersona games usually consist of character stats development, time management, relationships, dialogues, combat and story. Strikers offers only half of the features. There are no time restrictions- you can just jump in and out of Jails as much as you like. There is no way to improve your character social skills- make him braver or smarter. Thus, you will not get the satisfying feeling "its good my character is charming enough to choose this dialogue option". Lastly, there are no relationships. Nuff said, you got all these cute girls around, but you can't date even one.
    So, the game offers you a middle of the road story and long dialogues with zero impact on plot development. The only thing that feels fun is combat. But as soon as you kill another boss, you get 10 minutes of dialogues and proceed to the next Jail. Unlike in original p5 where you got a week of free time to hang out with your girlfriends and have fun.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 4, 2021
    7
    PERSONA 5 STRIKERS after a year or so of waiting finally we got our hands on a persona that is not exclusive for ps4 and i can tell you iPERSONA 5 STRIKERS after a year or so of waiting finally we got our hands on a persona that is not exclusive for ps4 and i can tell you i immediately bought it for the pc master race :D and i can say that the game is a blast to play in term of music and new spin on the gameplay but there are some problems

    cons:

    - the writing is very poor and everything is super predictable

    - the gameplay although fun lacks at some key moments

    - i don't know if that was a problem for everyone but the sp management in this game is terrible there are barely any sp potions and you run out of sp so quick and there is no rest options like in the vanilla persona 5 so you have to get to a checkpoint then exit the dungeon come back and only then you will have a full hp bar and sp bar which is a total bummer for me :/

    -the final boss was really meh

    - the real world was really lacking and there was barely any options of going around and talking with random people yes i know that its a spinoff but still everyone around feels like a dead puppet

    - some performance issues such as fps drops and one hard crash at the wonderland dungeon

    - the side quests were really forced boring and not that fun so after the third dungeon i just stopped doing them because it just felt like a chore at that point

    -the game is a bit short for persona standards took me 30 hours to finish it

    - there are moments where the game intentionally prolongs the gameplay with tedious fetch quest /main objective and it just felt as if they doing it because they ran out of ideas but needed to put more hours in the game

    pros:

    - the music holy h@ll the music i was having so much fun listening to it and was just such a delight and i think one of the best things in the game is the music

    - animations look a lot better everything just looks and goes super smooth

    - the new characters are super awesome and i really enjoyed the new addition to the cast

    - the dungeon design is just super beautiful and finally they have some depth to them

    in conclusion yea i know there are more cons than pros but still the game was super enjoyable and it is a spinoff game for all the non playstation exclusive gamers so of course it wont be as good as a normal persona game but for what it is PERSONA 5 STRIKERS is a cool game to play for over the top dynasty warriors gameplay but it does lack in the other departments so my final score to PERSONA 5 STRIKERS is a 7.5 out of 10
    Full Review »