PGA Tour 2K21 Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 23 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: ALL-NEW PGA TOUR CAREER MODE:Prove you’ve got what it takes to become FedExCup Champion. Take on PGA TOUR Pros during your very own career, earning rewards and gear along the way.
    PGA TOUR PROS AND NEW COURSES: Play against Justin Thomas and 11 top pros on stunning, real-life courses
    ALL-NEW PGA TOUR CAREER MODE:Prove you’ve got what it takes to become FedExCup Champion. Take on PGA TOUR Pros during your very own career, earning rewards and gear along the way.
    PGA TOUR PROS AND NEW COURSES: Play against Justin Thomas and 11 top pros on stunning, real-life courses including TPC Sawgrass, East Lake Golf Club, and more.
    BUILD YOUR MYPLAYER & DREAM COURSE: Create and personalize your MyPLAYER with equipment and apparel from brands you love. Design your ultimate course with 1,000s of custom options.
    DOMINATE THE GREEN AT ANY SKILL LEVEL: Rookies can take advantage of real-time tutorials, tips and shot suggestions. Already a pro? Master your game with Pro Vision, Distance Control, Putt Preview, and other innovations.
    GET THE PARTY STARTED: Hit the links with friends by playing local and online matches, including Alt-Shot, Stroke Play, Skins and 4-Player Scramble.
    MAKE YOUR OWN RULES: Command your Clubhouse with Online Societies. Run full seasons and tournaments and earn bragging rights on the course. Create entry rules and requirements as well as handicap and event settings.
    THE MOST REALISTIC COURSES EVER: Real-world scanning brings the fairway, green, bunkers, trees, lakes and ponds to life! True-to-form PGA TOUR broadcast presentation features slick graphics, dynamic cut-scenes and a seamless replay system, all anchored by the play-by-play commentary of Luke Elvy and Rich Beem.
    Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
PGA Tour 2K21 Gameplay -- Scoring 59 At TPC Summerlin
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Aug 21, 2020
    88
    As golf games go, PGA Tour 2K21 matches any other that I have played recently. And although Wii Sports Golf will still get a run with the younger members of my family, the ease of which rookies can get into PGA Tour 2K21 makes it a game for everyone. Whether you want to play on Beginner and have all the visual aids, or you want to play on Legend where you’ll have to do everything for yourself, PGA Tour 2K21 provides you with that option. With some lovely courses, simple controls, a range of game styles and a slick TV broadcast style presentation, PGA Tour 2K21 will enable golfers the chance to keep hitting the links, even when they’re stuck at home in lockdown or due to bad weather.
  2. Aug 20, 2020
    83
    Despite a few notable missing features and courses, PGA 2K21 is as good as virtual golf gets at this very moment. Drive for show, putt for dough in this cracking sports title.
  3. Aug 24, 2020
    80
    Despite smaller flaws such as an unrewarding progress system, PGA Tour 2K21 manages to appeal to beginners as well as experts alike. The gameplay is thoroughly explained, feels good and is motivating through a surprising amount of depth. The older graphics and long loading times are only minor inconveniences.
  4. Aug 23, 2020
    75
    In short, PGA Tour 2K21 is a nice entry point for novice golf fans, but it won't blow regulars away.
  5. Oct 4, 2020
    70
    PGA Tour 2K21 has improved on many aspects, especially around the gameplay experience, and the way it allows for a more precise monitoring of the hit's power, but the visual are still appalling, and the licensed content is pretty limited.
  6. Aug 20, 2020
    70
    PGA Tour 2K21 delivers the most flexible and enjoyable game of golf since the Tiger Woods series was at its peak.
  7. Feb 11, 2021
    50
    PGA Tour 2K21 is a fluid take on golf with incredibly tight mechanics that would be perfect for newcomers were it not for 2K's aggressive microtransactions. All sense of progression is held back by an in-game shop that demands hours of grinding on the player's part or real-life money. What is worse is that this practice makes it difficult to enjoy everything the title has to offer. Player customisation moves too slow and career mode simply offers too few rewards to feel rewarding. There is a good game in PGA Tour 2K21 somewhere, but it will never be found so long as microtransactions hold back actual game design.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 4 out of 12
  1. Aug 31, 2020
    9
    I often find myself being indifferent to many sports games as to me they do not fully capture the thrill of the game and often involve moreI often find myself being indifferent to many sports games as to me they do not fully capture the thrill of the game and often involve more arcade action versus authenticity. Annual releases also struggle with not really offering more than cosmetic changes and enhanced rosters.

    This is not to say that I have not enjoyed some over the years; I just do not find myself getting excited over the annual release of a new Madden, FIFA, or NBA game.

    When the opportunity to review PGA Tour 2K21 arose I eagerly installed the game and made my way through the tutorial.

    Despite having a very detailed character creator; I went with a fairly basic character so I could hit the links fast. I do not Golf much but have enjoyed going to the Driving Range and have even played a 9-Hole Par 3 and a few holes over the years as well as taken time on the Putting Green. Oddly enough I am not a regular viewer on television but I do make sure to note who has won the recent events.

    After making my way through the qualifying round I entered the tournament and found that I struggle mightily with my putting. This is made more complicated by not always being able to see the breaks of a hole as hitting a ball wide left expecting a downward break will at times instead see the ball pull the other direction.

    Fortunately for me I was able to Happy Gilmore my way around the course. Strong shots of the Tee combined with well-placed chips allowed me to one and two putt my way to Birdies and Pars and win. I was able to win four of five until I faced a course with some crazy wind that cut back on my long game advantage.

    Despite this I was able to qualify for the PGA tour and won my first three events. That is when the game went into overdrive as the courses became harder and harder and I found numerous putts coming up just short or going over the cup.

    Thankfully being able to upgrade sponsors, gear, and apparel based on your tour earnings allows players to change the game experience as they go.

    The courses are well-detailed and the announcers are fun despite some annoying banter. I did not like the check ins on other golfers as in the midst of trying to win I wanted to hit the space bar and move to my next shot versus watching what a A.I. Pro did on another hole.

    I have not been brave enough to try any online play yet but the game offers so many official holes and players as well as variable difficulty levels which makes it not only compelling but highly repayable.

    I would tell myself I was only going to play one round only to find myself finishing up my third event on the Fed Ex Cup tour.

    If you are a fan of Golf or just want to hit the links for casual play, PGA Tour 2K21 is one of the best sports game experiences I have played and lots of fun.
    Expand
  2. Sep 5, 2020
    9
    I have played most all PC golf games extensively since the early 80s beginning with Mean 18. This game takes all the best elements from theI have played most all PC golf games extensively since the early 80s beginning with Mean 18. This game takes all the best elements from the best modern golf games and marries them into one solid package. Golf and swing mechanics are as easy or hard as you want to make them. The harder you make them, the more XP you get . . . . . which seems fair. I absolutely love the beauty of the ambient motion and graphics (using Ultra), combined with the timing and variety of pre and post swing "cut" scenes (that last just a second or two) but emulate what you see on golf TV broadcasts. This adds a great deal of realism to the experience especially if you use the extensive character face editor to closely replicate yourself. Still exploring all the variety and enjoying every hole I play. Finally after so many years, a PC golf game worth playing! Expand
  3. Jan 10, 2021
    9
    I always played the PGA games and I was really enthousiastic that is back on the pc. I am just a regular player who likes that he can spin theI always played the PGA games and I was really enthousiastic that is back on the pc. I am just a regular player who likes that he can spin the ball etc. but don't get more into the details. For me it is a very nice looking and feeling game. In the core it should be about golf and it is giving me that. I play always 4 rounds and one is without wind, one is with a lot of wind and the other 2 are random or in the middle. I mostly play it when I watch a television program or netflix on my left screen, it is still running very good. It is also a game that adepts to your speed. I mostly ffw the movement of my ball, and I also use the prediction of the putt. Can still be difficult ;).

    So you can also adjust the game to your needs of difficulty. I think in a few months I will try a higher difficulty and I will be challenged more. Now I am winning almost always, but it is still satisfying for me. For me it is not about the winning but to get below par and maybe an eagle. So I have and will have a lot of fun with this game, worth the money :).
    Expand
  4. Aug 25, 2020
    5
    The main reason for a 5/10 is because you can't use the "real winnings from tournaments" to upgrade your clubs etc.. instead even though youThe main reason for a 5/10 is because you can't use the "real winnings from tournaments" to upgrade your clubs etc.. instead even though you win $1.1mm for winning a tournament - you HAVE to use virtual cash to buy new clubs or outfits...

    There is no reason to offer in game purchases for more VC in a $60 game. I wish I would've waited for it to drop to $30.. it's worth about that ..

    I miss the old Tiger Woods where you could actually use your earnings to upgrade your player - and couldn't spend more money.. In game purchases in full priced games are a sin against gamers.
    Expand
  5. Sep 27, 2020
    5
    - sensitivity of the sticks and how they affect your swing is frustrating, very hard for me to hit consistently
    - they definitely cut corners
    - sensitivity of the sticks and how they affect your swing is frustrating, very hard for me to hit consistently
    - they definitely cut corners in voiceover / announcers
    - requires online to play career mode
    - overall just kind of boring and frustrating to play, i'll stick to TGC 2019
    Expand
  6. Feb 24, 2021
    4
    Swing speed is too random to be a simulation. Knowing or practicing your swingspeed is useless in this game where the percentage bar isSwing speed is too random to be a simulation. Knowing or practicing your swingspeed is useless in this game where the percentage bar is mostly random and you watch the animation swingof your golfer on screen with noticeable screen flicker and shaking. Expand
  7. Jan 30, 2021
    2
    Graphics by Sears®, physics by Big Rigs and Stellar Stone. And if Luke Elvy says your putt looks good, it's a bogey.

See all 12 User Reviews