Pillars of Eternity Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2604 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Eternity aims to recapture the magic, imagination, depth, and nostalgia of classic RPG's that Obsidian enjoyed making - and playing. Eternity takes the central hero, memorable companions and the epic exploration of Baldur’s Gate, adds in the fun, intense combat and dungeon diving of IcewindEternity aims to recapture the magic, imagination, depth, and nostalgia of classic RPG's that Obsidian enjoyed making - and playing. Eternity takes the central hero, memorable companions and the epic exploration of Baldur’s Gate, adds in the fun, intense combat and dungeon diving of Icewind Dale, and ties it all together with the emotional writing and mature thematic exploration of Planescape: Torment. Choose to play as one of the six playable races: Human, Aumaua, Dwarf, Elf, Godlike, and Orlan. Whether you're playing a stout Dwarf, a towering Aumaua, or one of the otherworldly Godlike, Eternity's plethora of playable races scratch every role-playing itch you may have and allow for deep character customization. [Obsidian] Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Pillars of Eternity: The Road to Eternity - Part 2
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    May 12, 2015
    100
    Is it even possible to return to the roots of isometric RPG, and not only find them healthy but create such a wonderful game from them? Obsidian has proved they could do miracles when their hands are not tied. [Issue#252]
  2. May 1, 2015
    95
    Renaming the game to "Baldur’s Torment" may be the easiest way to describe the triumph of spirit, design and scope of this masterpiece made lovingly by Obsidian.
  3. Mar 27, 2015
    93
    It has so many moving parts that work so incredibly well together with an unbelievably rich history and mythology.
  4. Mar 30, 2015
    90
    Beautiful and complete, Pillars of Eternity is a captivating game mastered throughout. Despite a lot of text to read and lengthy load times, it stands out as one of the best RPGs of our time.
  5. Apr 7, 2015
    90
    Pillars of Eternity is an outstanding game. It can be criticized with number of individual issues, but as a whole it works great, almost perfect. I know that all veterans of isometric RPGs will enjoy this game, and I firmly believe that not only them will do so.
  6. Apr 2, 2015
    86
    Pillars of Eternity is indeed great fun for RPG players young and old, and you don’t need a $2000 beast to play it on either.
  7. Jul 7, 2015
    70
    Pillars is a title that should make old-schoolers happy while still offering a solid core game, story, and a rich setting for new-schoolers.

See all 71 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 501
  1. Mar 29, 2015
    10
    This game will take you back on a time travel to the good old days of PST, BG, IWD when all the best RPG games ever created. A magnificentThis game will take you back on a time travel to the good old days of PST, BG, IWD when all the best RPG games ever created. A magnificent atmosphere interesting story and a comfortable engine. good job to all the people in Obsidian. I am glad I'm a backer. Expand
  2. Mar 27, 2015
    10
    i have never written a user review on metacritic because i'm lazy but this game is way too damn good not for me to make a ranking and tell youi have never written a user review on metacritic because i'm lazy but this game is way too damn good not for me to make a ranking and tell you guys this is literally on par with BG2... the most epic rpg ever.... get it if you're into old school rpg, i can't say anything bad about the game because its really that damn good. Expand
  3. Mar 26, 2015
    10
    You can say it this way or the other: Baldur´s Gate is back! From the look of the game, the feeling when playing, the customization of yourYou can say it this way or the other: Baldur´s Gate is back! From the look of the game, the feeling when playing, the customization of your characters, the interaction withe them and the environment - everythinfg feeld like Baldur´s Gate - and plays like it. It´s the great old-school RPG all bakers - and not only them - waited a decade for. Fantastic, deep gameplay, tactical pausable combat and many many loot to ind.
    I can just say: love it. And recommend it everyone who only slightly loves deep and richt group RpGs, where tactical combat is more important than fast clicking in 1st person view!
    Expand
  4. Mar 27, 2015
    9
    Will try to make it short, since I'm having one hell of a time from hour 1 purchase. One would think that in times of "amazing graphics withWill try to make it short, since I'm having one hell of a time from hour 1 purchase. One would think that in times of "amazing graphics with ultra GOGO effects", "one-button-does-all strategies" and "10 second learning curve" there is no place for a game like this. Yet, one would be wrong. The whole idea behind PoE was the sheer belief that there is a certain group of gamers, raised among post-apocalyptic ruins of Necropolis, burned more than once by the flaming breath of Firekraag and all that while searching for an answer to a question "what can change the nature of a man". Such group exists indeed and although hardly a young bunch, they remain incredibly sentimental when it comes to games that require that "little more" of you.

    PoE is not for everyone, I agree. You will learn the game, you will learn what defines your character, you you will learn combat. You will also get your butt handed to you on a plate more than once. You will learn how your attributes affect certain situations in a way you simply do not expect. You will learn that your companions can die and remain dead, should you perform poorly ;-) So if you expect modern learning curve of 5 minutes, brace yourself. Yet in the end, you'll simply enter that magical time machine which made old-school classics so worty of your time.

    I salute every person who contributed to the project and made it possible, both players and producers. I feel like home again ;-)
    Expand
  5. Apr 9, 2015
    8
    This is a pretty impressive game, but it is far from perfect. There are plenty of reviews covering the good parts, so I'll just focus on whatThis is a pretty impressive game, but it is far from perfect. There are plenty of reviews covering the good parts, so I'll just focus on what I didn't like. My problems with this game are:

    - Most of the side quests are boring, inconsequential fetch/find quests. This was very disappointing, as I think side quests are what makes or breaks an RPG game. Party characters and factions are bland and I didn't really care which one I was doing quests for so long as I maximized the rewards. Party dialogues/development are not even a shadow of KotoR (or Dragon Age: Origins as a more recent example).

    - The game is very combat heavy, so much that it often feels like a bit more sophisticated version of Diablo (the "mega dungeon" under the keep IS essentially Diablo 1). By the end of the game I was quite tired of combat because every fight involves TONS of repetitive micromanagement (casting the same buffs with the priest character over and over, ensuring that the wizards spams spells with no downtime, making sure to use the "per encounter" abilities as much as possible). I seriously wish half of them were auto-cast, or that the game had some sort of AI editor (like "tactics" in DA:O). Additionally the game limits the times you can rest without going back to town to 2 on hard difficulty, which serves no purpose other than to make you sit through up to 10 loading screens just to make the trip to re-supply and back to the dungeon.

    - Later into the game the creatures suddenly all start having "mind control" spells that you can't defend against until VERY late into the game (I think you can actually finish it without even getting to that level). They will mostly target your ranged/caster characters, and they will switch their weapons to melee for some stupid reason. Your other characters will immediately happily start attacking the controlled character unless you explicitly tell them not to. Now imagine how it feels doing the "don't attack him" / "switch back to proper weapon" EVERY BLOODY TIME that they cast the mind control spell.

    - Pathfinding is pretty broken in combat, characters will get stuck running into walls or another characters. It seems like most of the time they will only try to use the direct route even if it is impassable, ignoring a longer route that exists and that has to be programmed manually through shift-clicking.

    TL,DR: too few interesting side quests, bland characters, too much repetitive fighting with annoying (borderline broken) AI.
    Expand
  6. Jul 17, 2020
    7
    This game have a general and unsolveable performance issues.This game universe is not interesting for me.
  7. Feb 23, 2020
    0
    Its not Baldurs Gate. Its utter **** Vague story, shallow characters. Thx god Larian make BG3, not this morons

See all 501 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The 20 Best PC Games of 2015

    The 20 Best PC Games of 2015 Image
    Published: December 21, 2015
    We reveal the 20 highest-scoring computer games released in 2015.