Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Mar 31, 2020
    91
    Yes, I think Pirate Outlaws is a worth while experience. It has a good storyline, there are alot of activities to partake in, and it's entertaining with a replayability factor that's enhanced by the card building system. The game is in early access, but it's close enough to completion that with a tweak here and there Fabled Game is basically reading to release Pirate Outlaws fully. It certainly didn't leave me disappointed.
  2. Apr 22, 2020
    83
    This is a really strong yet extremely approachable deck-building game, and after eight months in Early Access it’s fully released now. And really deserves a lot of attention.
  3. Sep 12, 2020
    80
    Pirates Outlaws is a very pleasant card game with clear rules and fairly soft entry conditions for beginners. A large roster of characters, several diverse worlds, from the tropics to cold seas, as well as increasing complexity leave an exceptionally positive impression. It is a pity that this project is not yet on the Nintendo Switch, where it would be most appropriate.
  4. Jun 1, 2020
    80
    In the end, Pirates Outlaws is a hidden gem of a game. It’s easy to pick up, has a wide variety of characters and strategies, and also offers enough depth for deckbuilding players players who really like to dig in. Strongly recommended!
  5. Apr 30, 2020
    80
    Pirates Outlaws is a very strong roguelike that concentrates what works about the deckbuilding genre into one neat package. Its card-based strategy should be speedy enough to keep players engaged, while veterans of roguelikes in general could find much to enjoy about its varied character designs and vibrant world - particularly if they're looking for a different setting but the same general gameplay of the likes of Slay the Spire.
  6. Apr 24, 2020
    80
    Lacklustre animation aside, Pirates Outlaws is a great addition to the strategy card game genre. It might not push the boundaries or offer up anything extraordinary, but it is a solid, genuinely fun and easy-to-play adventure. It’s a game that I can see myself going back to time and again, because I know there’s still more it can offer me. If you’re a fan of pirates and a fan of strategy card games, you should set your sights on Pirates Outlaws, me hearties.
  7. Apr 20, 2020
    80
    Pirates Outlaws isn’t very original (comparisons with Slay the Spire are obvious), but it is a very addictive game. If you enjoy card-based games, make sure you check it out.
  8. CD-Action
    Jun 25, 2020
    75
    Dubbed ‘Sail the Spire’ it’s just a clone, but a clone well made. [06/2020, p.70]
  9. May 7, 2020
    60
    50+ hours of addicting, fun, fast, and easy-to-understand gameplay awaits fans of roguelikes in Pirates Outlaws - plus some simple, yet beautiful, and varied visuals, and hundreds of unlockables (and achievements, for those who care about those). The thing is that the whole thing is a roll-of-the-dice kind of deal, not a turn-based strategy that's mainly about skill. Luck always played a big role in the genre, sure, but here it probably plays the only role. Again, this is fun… but it takes a very specific kind of mind-set to enjoy.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Feb 25, 2021
    6
    Fun to play overall but excessively difficult in my opinion. I get that roguelikes are meant to be challenging, but if you can never finishFun to play overall but excessively difficult in my opinion. I get that roguelikes are meant to be challenging, but if you can never finish after many runs (I think I've done a couple dozen by now) then I think the bar is set too high. Maybe I'm just crap at it, but many of the situations it throws at you seem excessively unfair to me. Note that there is no story and no meaningful changes between runs. You can unlock new characters and areas, but progress for this is very very slow, even though I paid extra for the coin doubler, which is frustrating. Worth buying if you like the card mechanics like me, but don't expect it to be a satisfying experience in the long term. Full Review »
  2. Nov 30, 2020
    10
    Attracted by the art, I downloaded this game.
    Get addicted by the gameplay, I continued to play it.
    For tons of content to explore, I have
    Attracted by the art, I downloaded this game.
    Get addicted by the gameplay, I continued to play it.
    For tons of content to explore, I have spent hundreds of hours on this game.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 2, 2020
    9
    Out of all the rouge-like card games I played in the recent years, this has to be the most addicting and well polished one. The variety ofOut of all the rouge-like card games I played in the recent years, this has to be the most addicting and well polished one. The variety of characters to choose from, the art style, the game balance and the interesting quests and riddles on the journey made this game almost a 10 for me.
    Only downside for me is the heavy luck based mechanics that can really make or break a complete run in the harder difficulties.
    Still I can recommend this game to everyone who is a fan of this genre 100%.
    Full Review »