Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. CD-Action
    Jun 5, 2018
    85
    A delightfully absurd, genuinely funny tactical game that offers a lot of content, looks and sounds great and is an absolute blast to play in co-op. [05/2018, p.66]
  2. Mar 23, 2018
    85
    Pit People is one of those games that I enjoyed despite being terrible at the genre. While the game can be simple compared to other games in the genre, the combination of the easy to pick up gameplay and the graphics and humor that The Behemoth is known for makes this a game worth checking out regardless of whether you’ve played other tactical RPGs or if this is your first one. Plus, who doesn’t want to hear a giant space bear taunt you throughout the game?
  3. Mar 6, 2018
    85
    Pit People is a great strategy game with a chaotic and funny turn based combat, a great art style, an amazing hilarious story and an addictive multiplayer.
  4. Mar 2, 2018
    85
    It's a wild, creative, occasionally erratic game. Pit People is imperfect, but it's so worth your time.
  5. Feb 28, 2017
    85
    A simple game, but amazingly funny and fun to play alone or with a friend. If you enjoy RPGs and a good laugh you need to be playing Pit People!
  6. Apr 11, 2018
    80
    Pit People is absolutely solid, provided you can forgive its simple nature. The auto battling system does enough to get people in, while the ability to capture all sorts of enemies satisfies the veteran looking for some more depth. There's a ton of content here, and all of it is fun to explore, but the lack of an online community means that your army curation is only going to be useful against CPU opponents. In the end, Pit People is certainly a game worth checking out.
  7. Mar 22, 2018
    80
    Pit People is a game full of madness on the side of the story and the characters, but does not offer anything really innovative in terms of playful structure and pure gameplay.
  8. Mar 8, 2018
    80
    If you like The Behemoth, you know what to expect. It's their own take on the genre: fun, crazy and it doesn't take anything too seriously. And that's what makes it good.
  9. Mar 7, 2018
    80
    Wonderfully weird and eccentric, this is another great example of a The Behemoth Game, if only one we wish was twice as complex.
  10. Mar 6, 2018
    80
    ​A very fun and foolish tactical game. We played it with a lot of pleasure even if it too simple compared to other tactical games. Another marvelous video game from The Behemoth.​
  11. Mar 6, 2018
    80
    Titles such as Battleblock Theater have illustrated that The Behemoth can tackle new genres and still deliver a great game and Pit People is no exception.
  12. Mar 5, 2018
    78
    The catchy song that plays over Pit People’s ending credits (and has been stuck in my head for the last several days) proclaims: And it all makes sense now! That might be overstating things, since its tactical battles never played out the way I expected due to each character having a mind of their own when it comes to what to actually attack or heal. But pit People’s weird world has a special, quirky way of being amusing no matter what you’re doing. I enjoyed it mostly in small doses, as the bright colors, twisted sense of humor, and goofy, energetic soundtrack can get to be a little much sometimes.
  13. Apr 3, 2018
    75
    Pit People is an average turn-based tactical game with outstanding visuals and humor, especially entertaining when playing with others.
  14. Mar 13, 2018
    70
    Pit People's irreverent appeal isn't enough to make it stand alongside the greats, but it's entertaining and mildly engrossing.
  15. Apr 30, 2018
    60
    The developers present Pit People as a ‘turn-based adventure‘. But even this classification does not explain away all the problems of this game.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. The fights can be plenty challenging, especially if you venture online or into the openly-described-as-unfair gladiator arena mode, but I was never able to shake the sensation that they’re just a delivery vehicle for a really great cartoon.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 37
  2. Negative: 4 out of 37
  1. Mar 6, 2018
    8
    I'm having a blast with Pit People so far. I was a huge fan of Castle Crashers back when I was in high school, so to see the art style of TheI'm having a blast with Pit People so far. I was a huge fan of Castle Crashers back when I was in high school, so to see the art style of The Behemoth return was a treat. The game had me laughing within seconds of it's opening cinematic sequence. The humor isn't for everyone. But I enjoy it. The soundtrack is awesome.

    My biggest gripes are that there's not much of a tutorial in this game, which I think is important for the tactics style gameplay we've got. You have to get a feel for your new party members by playing them, which isn't a bad thing. But after the first few party members you get via the story, you don't get told how new ones operate. Which is a bit frustrating. I do like how you don't have complete control over your characters in regards to who they attack. It adds a bit of chaos that I really enjoy.

    There's a lot going on at the screen at any given moment, which can be kind of an eye sore, but sometimes it looks really awesome too.

    The various menus are a pain to deal with and there wasn't really a tutorial for how different items work. it took me a while to figure out that a lot of items are the exact same statistically, with the only differences being the cosmetic changes. It was an "oh duh" moment when I figured it out, but it would have been nice to know that without having to search around for the answer.

    Overall, this game is a blast and I highly recommend it if you're a fan of The Behemoth or like the tactics style game with some chaos thrown in there. Haven't tried multiplayer yet.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 16, 2021
    10
    One of my favorite games , just play it and you would love it By the way don't try the peramadeath
  3. Dec 16, 2020
    8
    It's a pretty solid game and has an interesting idea in terms of strategy, making enjoyable missions with funny interactions between the mainIt's a pretty solid game and has an interesting idea in terms of strategy, making enjoyable missions with funny interactions between the main characters and the constant new characters. However in terms of gameplay the game is just decent, of course there can be spectacular moments, but to a certain degree you are smashing rocks to together which attack random enemies/the ones which your character can actually reach. The many collectibels and monsters which you can get in your team always add something new, however this ends when you have tried out most monsters, with just a few offering interactions with another, streamlining your teams in some occasions. Full Review »