User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 106 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 106
  2. Negative: 26 out of 106

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 15, 2017
    1
    I would have rated this release much higher if it was sold for original price + 5 or 6€. It doesn't offer anything new aside from some conveniency for the lazy casuals, which are not the audience intended for this game to begin with. It is especially grating with the GOG release considering that the Soundtrack of "Planescape: Torment" has been available for all owners of the game, everI would have rated this release much higher if it was sold for original price + 5 or 6€. It doesn't offer anything new aside from some conveniency for the lazy casuals, which are not the audience intended for this game to begin with. It is especially grating with the GOG release considering that the Soundtrack of "Planescape: Torment" has been available for all owners of the game, ever since GOG relaunched seven years ago... up until now.
    Beamdog, the new publishers of "Planescape: Torment", have chosen to sell the Soundtrack for a price that used to cover both the Soundtrack and *the game itself*.
    To make matters worse, they've also removed the original edition of the game from the store and effectively doubled its price by bundling it together with the twice as expensive "Enhanced Edition".
    The end result? Customers now have to pay 30€ for what used to cost 10€, a prime example of despicably unethical price gouging.
    Sad since Planescape Torment is a timeless classic whose name will be now associated to a shady company who aims to milk established RPG franchises by adding mods and ugly UI targeting the android market while forgetting about its main audience.
    There was a real opportunity for Beamdog here to finally do something right by hiring Mr. Avellone to add the original cut content and develop some areas he clearly stated would like to expand on in several interviews, But God forbid, that would have cost Beamdog some money and this EE would not be the easy cash grab presented to us now.
    "What can change the nature of a man?" After this, I've come to believe that the true answer is dialogue option number 5.
    Expand
  2. Apr 11, 2017
    1
    Man, part of me really envies these Beamdog hacks! Must be GREAT to feel yourself competent/talented enough to actually add ANYTHING of worth to a game like PS:T! Wish I was capable of deluding myself to such extremes. At least Avellone, who have to put food on the table since he is freelance, did all the heavy lifting so he didn't allow any fan fiction tier degeneracy to mar the narrativeMan, part of me really envies these Beamdog hacks! Must be GREAT to feel yourself competent/talented enough to actually add ANYTHING of worth to a game like PS:T! Wish I was capable of deluding myself to such extremes. At least Avellone, who have to put food on the table since he is freelance, did all the heavy lifting so he didn't allow any fan fiction tier degeneracy to mar the narrative of this timeless gem. But looking at that UI that Beamdog programmed with their feet I can tell that they have not lost thei magic touch from Siege of Dragonspear.

    So this "Enhanced Edition" amount to a shameless cash grab to finance the next big project that the masterminds at Beamdog will gratify us in their effort to eradicate the toxic patriarchy. Offered at double the price of the original masterpiece, this low effort is a worthless addition from a parasite company.
    Expand
  3. Jun 30, 2017
    0
    Greedy MoFos
    Quote from Joewashere:

    To make matters worse, they've also removed the original edition of the game from the store and effectively doubled its price by bundling it together with the twice as expensive "Enhanced Edition".
    The end result? Customers now have to pay 30€ for what used to cost 10€, a prime example of despicably unethical price gouging.
  4. Apr 11, 2017
    10
    They modernized a classic RPG to work on modern PC's and 4K displays! This is an old school D&D rpg, but unlike Baldur's Gate and Icewind Dale (which take place in Faerun), Planescape: Torment is set in the bizarre world of Planescape in the city of Sigil.

    However, word of warning to those who have not played this classic rpg - their is waaaay less combat than in Baldur's Gate and
    They modernized a classic RPG to work on modern PC's and 4K displays! This is an old school D&D rpg, but unlike Baldur's Gate and Icewind Dale (which take place in Faerun), Planescape: Torment is set in the bizarre world of Planescape in the city of Sigil.

    However, word of warning to those who have not played this classic rpg - their is waaaay less combat than in Baldur's Gate and Icewind Dale and waaaaaay more dialogue than Baldur's Gate and Icewind Dale. Since this is an old school rpg from the 90's, most of the dialogue is in text boxes with very little voice acting (small portions of the dialogue are voice-acted, but the majority is just text).

    The game tells a very intriguing tale and has a great setting and amazing characters, but be prepared for LOTS of reading and NOT a lot of combat.

    If you set your expectations right going in, you may discover what a pleasure this game truly is!!!
    Expand
  5. Apr 22, 2017
    10
    Absolutely worth it. Even for people used to running modded games.

    First, for those who already played it, it's the same game you remember, but hassle free. It just works out of the box, and after playing with the the Enhanced Edition UI, you'll never go back to the old one. Not only is that annoying radial menu gone, but you have many quality of life improvements (such as the quickloot
    Absolutely worth it. Even for people used to running modded games.

    First, for those who already played it, it's the same game you remember, but hassle free. It just works out of the box, and after playing with the the Enhanced Edition UI, you'll never go back to the old one. Not only is that annoying radial menu gone, but you have many quality of life improvements (such as the quickloot feature, unmemorized spells scroll being highlighted in green, etc.), more detailed breakdowns of stats, gorgeous font rendering (which is a must for a text-heavy game like this). For anyone worried about Beamdog "tempering with perfection", every change has been run by the original lead designer Chris Avelonne, who took the opportunity to review which bugs (from Quinn's fixpack) were actually bugs, and which were not. Chris considers this the best PST version, and the canon one after he's done an editing pass to resolve plot inconsistencies, typos, and other outstanding bugs that always annoyed him. If anything, his word should matter over that of haters.

    But even if you like dealing with mods, this one has a lot of feature you'll love. The enhanced engine means that the game is MUCH MUCH more moddable, with several new opcodes, and cleaner implementations of existing stuff. Old mods like Unfinished Business are being updated for it, and new ones will be made.
    Expand
  6. Apr 12, 2017
    10
    One of the best Western RPGs ever made. The game has an incredible cast and story, coupled with excellent gameplay. Do you enjoy Baldurs gate, Icewind dale, Fallout, or any isometric game for that matter? If you answered yes, maybe, or unsure, then get this game.

    Now what does the EE add? Proper resolution alone makes the game worth it if you are using a modern machine. Many people will
    One of the best Western RPGs ever made. The game has an incredible cast and story, coupled with excellent gameplay. Do you enjoy Baldurs gate, Icewind dale, Fallout, or any isometric game for that matter? If you answered yes, maybe, or unsure, then get this game.

    Now what does the EE add? Proper resolution alone makes the game worth it if you are using a modern machine. Many people will critique it for not adding a ton of new content, however many people realize that there is no need to change perfection. The game was a 10/10 for its time, this new edition is allowing us to enjoy that on modern machines, with updated interface and resolution to make it proper.
    Expand
  7. Apr 16, 2017
    0
    In my opinion Planescape: Torment is the best narrative CRPG ever made. I've ranked that game here at 10/10 and i stand by my evaluation.

    This release is a mod. A very basic mod, and there are better available for free . The main disadvantage of this mod is the price, and the fact, that the original game was removed from the market. Before this release one could have bought the game,
    In my opinion Planescape: Torment is the best narrative CRPG ever made. I've ranked that game here at 10/10 and i stand by my evaluation.

    This release is a mod. A very basic mod, and there are better available for free . The main disadvantage of this mod is the price, and the fact, that the original game was removed from the market. Before this release one could have bought the game, use of the High resolution mods and few fixes (it will take you less then 30 minutes to deal with them) and enjoy the game as it was made.
    Now, you still get pretty much the same game with few changes:
    You get the zoom (the only good feature), tab to highlight interactable objects (questionable), autoloot (very bad idea for the game like Torment), and how to play pop-ups (useless for a game like Torment).

    Nothing else was changed, nothing else is Enhanced. You'd expect a better UI (but there were better fan made UIs for this game), you'd expect better models (all you needed, is to rerender them in higher definition). But alas, you don't get it. There's nothing that defends the new price tag, and it is very clear, why the original game was removed from the stores - nothing justifies buying a new game, when you can get the old one, and follow few instructions to install mods online.
    So Original Planescape Torment - 10/10
    Beamdog's mod - 0/10
    Expand
  8. Jun 24, 2017
    10
    Brilliant mastering of the original. The hate is completely unfounded. The beauty of remastered versions like this is that they not only retain the original gameplay but they offer modern conveniences and run extremely well on any setup. There's no need for mods or Dosbox or anything that would keep away most mainstream gamers who simply don't want to deal with the setup.

    This is the
    Brilliant mastering of the original. The hate is completely unfounded. The beauty of remastered versions like this is that they not only retain the original gameplay but they offer modern conveniences and run extremely well on any setup. There's no need for mods or Dosbox or anything that would keep away most mainstream gamers who simply don't want to deal with the setup.

    This is the best opportunity for people who've never experienced the game to finally play it, period. If you've never experienced this game, get it. It's by far the easiest of the Infinity Engine games to get into. Very little knowledge of the D&D system is required to play; it's still so simple to understand that it's truly timeless. I've not only got the PC versions but am completely happy with the iPad version as well.

    Make the time to experience it!
    Expand
  9. Feb 4, 2018
    10
    A bunch of seamless fixes, convenience-type changes, instant saves/loads and small additions no mod offers make this release really great to have. If you can bag a bargain on some black Friday sale or some such, it's a convenient product you must have.
  10. Jan 4, 2018
    9
    Отличное переиздание великой RPG. Улучшен графический интерфейс, добавлены новые опции и устранено большинство ошибок. Теперь игра и выглядит приятнее, и работает стабильно. Считаю данное переиздание лучшей работой Beamdog. Из недостатков могу отметить отвратительный ИИ сопартейцев, который бы стоило исправить, но Beamdog решили оставить без изменений. В незначительной степени присутствуетОтличное переиздание великой RPG. Улучшен графический интерфейс, добавлены новые опции и устранено большинство ошибок. Теперь игра и выглядит приятнее, и работает стабильно. Считаю данное переиздание лучшей работой Beamdog. Из недостатков могу отметить отвратительный ИИ сопартейцев, который бы стоило исправить, но Beamdog решили оставить без изменений. В незначительной степени присутствует разрыв логических связей, вроде бы Chris Avellone обещал исправить подобные недоразумение, но на деле остались пробелы. Expand
  11. Apr 18, 2017
    10
    I tried to go back to the original Torment some time ago and it was a pain in the a**. I bought GoG version since my original 4CD edition wasn't working. I had to spend a lot of time to do some research on mods and some more to install and set them up. Even with mods, my experience was far from perfect, with my desktop flashing through the game, game crashing after alt-tabbing, action menuI tried to go back to the original Torment some time ago and it was a pain in the a**. I bought GoG version since my original 4CD edition wasn't working. I had to spend a lot of time to do some research on mods and some more to install and set them up. Even with mods, my experience was far from perfect, with my desktop flashing through the game, game crashing after alt-tabbing, action menu being very small etc.

    Thank goodness Beamdog decided to do EE. I didn't even know how much more enjoyable the game can be with some tweaks.

    Is the amount of work Beamdog had to put into making EE enough to justify 20 EUR price tag? Probably not. Is tweaked edition of Planescape Torment worth 20 EUR? HELL YEAH.
    Expand
  12. Nov 11, 2017
    5
    One of the biggest bummers about this game is the load times whenever you transition from an area, I honestly got up to walk across my house and grab my laptop to write a review and the dang game was still loading when I got back. It would be fine if I was playing it on an old amiga or something, but thats not a throwback element you want to incorporate into a revered game. Other thenOne of the biggest bummers about this game is the load times whenever you transition from an area, I honestly got up to walk across my house and grab my laptop to write a review and the dang game was still loading when I got back. It would be fine if I was playing it on an old amiga or something, but thats not a throwback element you want to incorporate into a revered game. Other then that, there is some excellent story telling and character development but I feel like it gets bogged down in it owns cleverness, Expand
  13. Apr 11, 2017
    1
    The only unique features are zoom function (which makes everything blurry and which isn't necessary if you'll choose the right resolution for your display), fugly UI, quick loot and Avellone's proofreading which doesn't affect gameplay at all, the rest (and more like Unfinished business) you can get for free. Not worth the price. What's worst however is that Beamdog is taking credit forThe only unique features are zoom function (which makes everything blurry and which isn't necessary if you'll choose the right resolution for your display), fugly UI, quick loot and Avellone's proofreading which doesn't affect gameplay at all, the rest (and more like Unfinished business) you can get for free. Not worth the price. What's worst however is that Beamdog is taking credit for something they hadn't done, Black Isle is the developer, they're only modders. Expand
  14. Apr 9, 2020
    10
    The perfect RPG, improved - not much - with bugfixes, better UI and some hassles taken care of,
  15. Dec 10, 2019
    1
    A scam. Beamdog did nothing and charged a lot. Buy the original version, worls without problems, and with mods you can upscale.
    This isn't worth the Money. Buy the original version instead, its's cheaper.

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. CD-Action
    Jun 7, 2017
    95
    If you haven’t played the game yet, fish out some cashish from your pocket and fix that serious oversight immediately. The work done by Beamdog on the remaster does not justify the purchase on its own, but Planescape: Torment is still the best RPG game ever created. [06/2017, p.46]
  2. May 30, 2017
    72
    Planescape: Torment will continue to be a classic — a titan standing tall in the history of RPGs. However, the Enhanced Edition has only really enhanced the price and little else. Though I have to say, Planescape itself is okay. I know I may aggravate or annoy some fans who remember this title fondly or have even experienced it again and enjoyed the trip down memory plane, but if we’re being honest with ourselves, Planescape: Torment has not aged well. The writing is as engrossing as ever, yes, but even in that regard, so much more has been done with games like Pillars of Eternity. Certainly, the gameplay and controls could be better. I’m not here to give praise for the history and importance of Planescape, but to judge it as it stands today amongst whippersnappers, like Tyranny, who likely owe a great deal to what this title has done for RPGs.
  3. May 3, 2017
    90
    Picked nits aside, there is no better time to explore the world of Planescape with this enhanced edition. The content of the game has aged extremely well, providing almost endless hours of top notch exploration, dialogue and story. Beamdog has done a great job with getting it running better on modern machines while not going overboard. It ran without a hitch on my humble, underpowered laptop. As a must play for returning fans and newcomers alike, there is no real reason to skip Planescape: Torment: Enhanced Edition. This is PC RPG gaming done right.