Planet Coaster Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 393 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Planet Coaster is the future of coaster park simulation games. From the developer: We’ve created a living world where every guest is an individual with their own personality and money in their pocket. We’re giving you limitless freedom to build rides and scenery piece by piece, and toPlanet Coaster is the future of coaster park simulation games. From the developer: We’ve created a living world where every guest is an individual with their own personality and money in their pocket. We’re giving you limitless freedom to build rides and scenery piece by piece, and to seamlessly blend them with your own hand-sculpted terrain. We’re building a connected global village where everyone can share in your creativity. And that’s just the start. We hope you’ll join us to dream, build and share the ultimate coaster parks in Planet Coaster. [Frontier] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Planet Coaster - Dev Diary: Build, Create, Share
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Sep 29, 2017
    100
    Finally, a new amusement park tycoon king appeared. Playability is a brilliant game that lets you try every corner of your imagination. [Issue#277]
  2. Nov 22, 2016
    90
    Planet Coaster is an amazing simulator. We expect that we can adjust anything and everything and the amazing Planet Coaster actually allows us to. This is the stuff that dreams are made of.
  3. Dec 28, 2016
    90
    With its incredible level of customisation Planet Coaster is the pinnacle of theme park management games, however be warned that this depth comes with a vicious learning curve.
  4. Nov 25, 2016
    85
    Although Planet Coaster belongs to a niche genre, it is a well-crafted product that we hope will keep being polished. Despite imperfections that certainly affect the experience, its achievements and potential are worthy of admiration and it is a game worth playing.
  5. games(TM)
    Jan 27, 2017
    80
    An addictive game from a passionate team. [Issue#182, p.84]
  6. Nov 28, 2016
    80
    It’s an absolute blast to build attractions and customize each park’s look from the ground up, and the game consistently keeps things fun and light. It’s hard to shake a feeling of utter satisfaction when one grabs a first-person seat and rides through a freshly built coaster, or watches as a series of triggers make a giant leviathan pop out of a lake every time guests walk near it.
  7. Feb 10, 2017
    70
    You’ll rarely face a situation where you have an idea that the game wouldn’t let you expand on. Planet Coaster is just the most complete theme-park simulation game available.

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 106
  2. Negative: 18 out of 106
  1. Nov 17, 2016
    10
    It's a really good game lot's of management options and although the guests are cartoonish looking they behave like humans. This game feelsIt's a really good game lot's of management options and although the guests are cartoonish looking they behave like humans. This game feels like real life job, countless of management options. Realistic looking rides and great building tools. Don't look any further and purchase this awesome game. cannot wait for future DLC or free updates. Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2016
    10
    Great Game. I very patiently followed this game from the start, it has been an incredible development to watch, they listened to the fans andGreat Game. I very patiently followed this game from the start, it has been an incredible development to watch, they listened to the fans and gave us almost everything we cried out for, and holy cosmic cow they have nailed it! Beautiful visuals, incredibly detail, customisable rides, scenery and shops and an inspiring soundtrack. No regrets! Expand
  3. Nov 17, 2016
    10
    I've been waiting for a game like this since the original roller-coaster tycoon, nothing has come close, until now! This really is the bestI've been waiting for a game like this since the original roller-coaster tycoon, nothing has come close, until now! This really is the best Theme Park sim ever! Expand
  4. Mar 22, 2017
    9
    Planet Coaster is the true RCT sequel. There are some problems here and there but for a Theme Park game it feels very clean. Sadly thePlanet Coaster is the true RCT sequel. There are some problems here and there but for a Theme Park game it feels very clean. Sadly the management side of the game feels dry, boring and pretty easy which is why sandbox is the best mode because to acknowledge the greatness of the game you need to have free reign. Building is a real strength in this game and this game hands down has the best modular building out of any theme park game yet. The terrain tool is amazing you have so much freedom with it. Building mountains, caves, and lakes has never been so simple. And finally the coasters and rides. The coasters are simple and fun you can really do anything you want with the track even though it's piece by piece. The rides are greatly designed but sadly there are not enough but I can deal with the smaller selection for now since they are adding new rides very often. Overall this game has a cartoony and realistic which brings a smile to my face since games always need a little heart but they also need a real feeling as well. Expand
  5. Nov 18, 2016
    8
    I had Theme Park on the Sega Mega Drive on release, same with all of the first Rollercoaster Tycoons. I loved them. They stole hundreds ofI had Theme Park on the Sega Mega Drive on release, same with all of the first Rollercoaster Tycoons. I loved them. They stole hundreds of hours of my life, especially RCT3. And then the long wait began for something that would capture that magic again, as everything else just seemed inferior.

    Over a decade later, you can imagine my excitement when this pops up out of the blue. Although having low expectations (you'd understand that if you've tried pretty much any theme park sim since RCT3!), it was an instant purchase.

    Am I disappointed again? In a word, no, but not without caveats.

    Planet Coaster features fantastic visuals and almost every sandbox option imaginable for a budding theme park designer. However, it falls down a bit on the theme park management side of things, but I'll come to that later.

    The core gameplay is fantastic, but not innovative. This is a modern take on Rollercoaster Tycoon 3, almost to a fault. That's not exactly a bad thing, as that title pretty much set the gold standard, but it is slightly disappointing to not see anything really expanded beyond that, even though the game itself benefits from the tight mechanics that the RCT series established years earlier.

    Graphically, it's sublime - cartoon style graphics which aid the fun factor of the whole title, and it never falls into the trap of taking itself too seriously and devolving into Football Manager for Theme Parks.

    That said, the title does have very obvious flaws. The biggest one is the difficulty curve - as in it doesn't exist. This is an incredibly easy title right now, and I'm hoping that patches give a bit more of a challenge, as it really lets down the management aspect of the game when you are on auto-pilot 15 minutes in without any reasonable chance of failure in most scenarios.

    The other glaring flaw is the lack of ride variety. Sure, there's quite a bit here, but you'd have hoped for a truly breathtaking array of options. It's just so-so right now. Furthermore, the menus are a bit cumbersome - not bad by any means, but could be improved.

    But these are nitpicks. As said, I'm hoping that the game is patched and these issues are addressed, so for now I can "only" score it a 8, but this really doesn't need much to be a 9 or even a 10, because it could very easily be the standard bearer for the whole genre with just a few tweaks.

    It's worth a buy right now. This title has completely caught me by surprise, and it's a pleasure to play a title that is so clearly a labour of love from a very talented team of devs.
    Expand
  6. Oct 29, 2019
    7
    Made by the RCT3 devs (Frontier) and takes everything to a new level and this is only the beginning, hands down the best Theme Park builderMade by the RCT3 devs (Frontier) and takes everything to a new level and this is only the beginning, hands down the best Theme Park builder ever made. The sounds, animations, lighting, guests and unlimited design capabilities combined give you a feeling that you are in a real park. Expand
  7. Jun 28, 2020
    0
    Bring more DLC. Although this is a good game, it’s not evolving anymore, and we’re going to attack it until we finally get another DLC pack.

See all 106 User Reviews