Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Nov 5, 2019
    90
    Planet Zoo is the culmination of the best parts of Frontier’s previous efforts, but is far more than the sum of its parts. Hundreds of creatures, both cute and deadly, need homes, and it’s up to you to help them thrive and survive. While a few bugs hamper the overall experience, this is another simulation game that’ll keep me building sprawling and ever evolving parks for hundreds of hours to come.
  2. Nov 5, 2019
    88
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Nov 13, 2019
    85
    Planet Zoo is a wildly satisfying park-builder with a menagerie of lovely looking animals.
  4. Nov 8, 2019
    85
    It seems impossible not to enjoy the construction and management experience proposed by Planet Zoo.
  5. Nov 6, 2019
    85
    Planet Zoo is a true zoo-sim, full of details and love for the nature.
  6. Nov 6, 2019
    85
    Planet Zoo is a great management game that lets you impose your own goals and always gives you something to strive for. With incredible graphical fidelity, a huge overlapping array of mechanics to balance and incredible detail, the only issue is the sometimes annoying controls.
  7. Nov 5, 2019
    85
    Even with occasional design quirks and bugs holding it back, I adore this game as is. Similar to Planet Coaster, I think it'll get better over time, and Frontier will surely flesh out the species list with DLC packs. But even if that doesn't happen, I'll be satisfied. Some of us have been waiting decades for a game like Planet Zoo to come along and scratch our Zoo Tycoon itch. Now that it's here, I can't get enough.
  8. Nov 5, 2019
    85
    Frontier succeeds in doing what we all wanted with Planet Zoo: to offer Planet Coaster's freedom of expression and creation, paired with a worthwhile management game. Icing on the cake, they also bring a game full of caring messages and pro-animal activism, contrasted with a cold observation about the capitalism involved in the animal rehabilitation. Despite some problems related to the construction or the interface, it's beautiful, it's complete, and we can spend dozens of hours perfecting our park or taking care of the sad little fur balls.
  9. Nov 5, 2019
    84
    Planet Zoo has instantly awakened memories of carefree childhood.
  10. Nov 12, 2019
    80
    Impressive. Its good heart and dedication to customization makes it a seriously strong sim, and one that fans of gaming management will be wise to check on. With options for structured play and freeform creation, it's hard to see how Planet Zoo could disappoint, in spite of its occasional foibles.
  11. Nov 11, 2019
    80
    When creating a business sim that attempts to capture the subject matter, a fine line needs to be walked. It can’t get too deep in the weeds of minutia without offering real explanations, nor can it make those explanations boring. On the other hand, it can’t make it too simple, as the subject matter is a huge draw to a specific audience. Planet Zoo pulls off the act and manages to be a great time for it. Plus, people will accidentally learn about the subject matter without ever feeling like they are playing a dreaded “educational” game. There are myriad technical issues that keep the title from being perfect and some of them are biggies. Based on Frontier Developments’ track record, these will be smoothed out in the coming weeks and months. Once this is done, Planet Zoo is arguably the best of this type of game to date.
  12. Nov 11, 2019
    80
    It’s clear that earlier Frontier games like Kinectimals, Zoo Tycoon and Planet Coaster have been stage-setters for this ultimate zoo sim. Whether you enjoy theme park builders, economic sims or most importantly, creating the zoo of your dreams, Planet Zoo will satisfy you, but be prepared for an order of complexity that the previous games managed to avoid, or at least hid a little better. Although it lacks an “immediate gratification” mode, Planet Zoo is still an amazing tool for exercising your imagination and enjoying your love of animals.
  13. Nov 11, 2019
    80
    Planet Zoo has turned out to be a complete, satisfying product, capable of entertaining a wide audience, thanks to its intuitive interface, accompanied by intriguing graphics and a complete localization in Italian.
  14. Nov 8, 2019
    80
    If your passion is building in videogames and you love animals, Planet Zoo is one of your best options if you have a PC.
  15. Nov 8, 2019
    80
    Planet Zoo is the best zoo management game ever. If you're an animals lover, you can't skip it. There are pathfinding issues that can break immersion sometimes, easily forgivable and forgettable. Cute, handsome, deep, intelligent and with a gigantic lifespan, Planet Zoo is making the Tycoon genre great again.
  16. Nov 7, 2019
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  17. Nov 7, 2019
    80
    Planet Zoo is a great tycoon made in the age where tycoon games seem extinct. And it's pretty much the best game for animal lovers. But not for every animal lover. Patient and talented builders will create new and improved parks, achieving new levels of satisfaction. Others (and by this I mean almost everybody) will become bored after a few hours.
  18. Nov 6, 2019
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  19. Nov 5, 2019
    80
    For all its problems—and there are many—Planet Zoo is one of the most satisfying builders I’ve ever played. Maybe not on the management side, which is still a thin and easily manipulated veneer. Guest opinions are weirdly arbitrary, as is cash flow. If you’re looking for a “difficult” builder, Planet Zoo ain’t it. I’m here to build my dream zoo though, and for that there’s no better option. After 30 hours I’ve yet to acquire some of the rarer animals—lions, orangutans, gorillas, rhinos. I’m also far from exhausting the themes, having barely touched the “New World” and “Indian” sets. There’s a lot here.
  20. Nov 5, 2019
    80
    Planet Zoo is a complex, deep simulation game with too much to give, if you can get past the minimalist tutorials.
  21. Nov 5, 2019
    80
    Frontier delivers a richly detailed and visually glorious zoo creation sim for genre fans, newbies, and animal lovers alike, bloated only a little by a few clumsy interfacing points.
  22. Nov 5, 2019
    75
    Another strong (yet stressful) management sim from Frontier Developments.
  23. Nov 13, 2019
    70
    Planet Zoo is an incredible educational tool that also supports conservation which is worth cheering on 100%. The amount of thought given to every detail is astounding but user-interface wise Planet Zoo seems more enjoyable to watch than play especially in Career mode.
  24. Nov 7, 2019
    70
    Planet Zoo put up a lot of obstacles to my enjoyment, but once I broke through the majority of them, I found that engaging loop of mastery and success that makes simulation games fun. I enjoyed trying to one-up my last creation and surpass my previous revenue and years in business. Unfortunately, Planet Zoo requires an unreasonable level of patience that creates a barrier around its best qualities.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Nov 5, 2019
    The sandbox mode is a thing of wonder, and the animals and crowds both add immensely to the cheery atmosphere...Management mode is again a disappointment.
  2. Nov 8, 2019
    Despite these issues, I couldn’t help but love Planet Zoo for what it is: a game about trying to make the world a little better, by making sure some animals are well looked after. From its story beats about protecting animal welfare in the case of evil capitalists trying to drive profits, to the first time I was able to release a set of endangered pygmy hippos back into the wild, I felt like all my stress was working toward something.
  3. It’s buggy, intermittently opaque, frequently saccharine, and – barring an eleventh hour miracle – it’s my undisputed game of the year. Because here’s the thing: it’s a game where you can build your own zoo. And by thunder, it delivers on that promise. [RPS Bestest Bests]
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 52
  2. Negative: 9 out of 52
  1. Nov 5, 2019
    1
    Given what the game *could* be this is a potential 8. Unfortunately it was decided to sell it to people in this bug-riddled state whereGiven what the game *could* be this is a potential 8. Unfortunately it was decided to sell it to people in this bug-riddled state where neither staff nor animals survive an hour without getting caught in some faulty coding, glitches and general wonkyness. It's a great game for the 5 minutes it takes to watch a trailer, but be careful to not get attached to the animals because they will starve to death thanks to bad AI, and don't put too much work into anything because you will lose your progress thanks to crashes.

    All of this was reported during the beta of this game, and yet here we are. Don't give into the hype. All you are going to miss out on is frustration and wasted time, and in a few month - maybe - you'll get the beautiful graphics and great animations and working mechanics on top of that.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 5, 2019
    10
    Okay so what to begin with... Oh man this game is so great. I was playing with my gf during beta and i thought that the game had so largeOkay so what to begin with... Oh man this game is so great. I was playing with my gf during beta and i thought that the game had so large content already and yet they managed to give much more content for the premiere. I wont spoiler anything and I suggest not to look up any lists of animals because you will discover them alone and wont be dissapointed. Cheers from Poland Full Review »
  3. Nov 12, 2019
    8
    I don’t know about any of you, but I am so very tired of game developers thinking they can get away with this sort of thing.

    Frontier
    I don’t know about any of you, but I am so very tired of game developers thinking they can get away with this sort of thing.

    Frontier Development are one of the most impressive developers out there right now. They have top-tier pedigree in my book... until they went and released this total bloody con job. I genuinely feel like I’ve been pickpocketed by an old friend.

    Tell me if this sounds familiar: I pre-ordered the game and paced up and down for a few months. Finally booted it up at launch only to be presented with... a bunch of goddamn animals?!

    Like, what the **** ?! If I wanted a game about looking after blinkin’ animals I would’ve bought Nintendogs or something.

    Why aren’t I monitoring, feeding and caring for an array of fantastical celestial bodies in a facsimile of their natural habitat?! WHERE ARE THE REST OF THE BLOODY PLANETS, BRABEN?!

    This is an outrage and I’m surprised Twitter aren’t all over them right now. Planet Zoo is absolutely the most irresponsibly named game on the market today.
    Full Review »