User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1294 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JustinL
    May 10, 2009
    5
    It's a fun enough tower defence type game. Do not however expect anything particularly new or interesting from it; it is in the end a very simple toy and its neatly done, kind of humourous packaging doesn't save it from being getting old very, very quickly. I think if they'd sold it as the $10 time waster it is I would have been pleasantly surprised but coming on the back It's a fun enough tower defence type game. Do not however expect anything particularly new or interesting from it; it is in the end a very simple toy and its neatly done, kind of humourous packaging doesn't save it from being getting old very, very quickly. I think if they'd sold it as the $10 time waster it is I would have been pleasantly surprised but coming on the back of a $20 tag and some great reviews, I was expecting a lot more. Expand
  2. johncj
    May 7, 2009
    5
    It WOULD be a fantastic game if it had difficulty settings. As is, it's completely unchallenging to anyone over about 12. Even though they give you new plants, you can use the same old ones to easily win screen after screen. It only gets interesting when they change the environments and force you to develop a new strategy. But once you figure that one out in the first screen, It WOULD be a fantastic game if it had difficulty settings. As is, it's completely unchallenging to anyone over about 12. Even though they give you new plants, you can use the same old ones to easily win screen after screen. It only gets interesting when they change the environments and force you to develop a new strategy. But once you figure that one out in the first screen, it's rinse and repeat for the screens following. I really wanted to love this game, it's got fantastic style; but I just keep seeing how cool it should have been if they'd just let you choose a higher difficulty. Buy it for your kids, but don't confuse this with something that'll hold the interest of an adult gamer. Expand
  3. b00tsy
    Sep 1, 2009
    7
    Its a nice and basic game with an original look. Graphics are nice cartoonish and it has the fun factor aswell. To rate it with a 10 or a 9 like a lot of the other reviewers have done i wont do, it simply does not deserve that. However its worth the buy and a fun game to play on the side (once in a while). I am missing some options in the game. Once you created a profile for example and Its a nice and basic game with an original look. Graphics are nice cartoonish and it has the fun factor aswell. To rate it with a 10 or a 9 like a lot of the other reviewers have done i wont do, it simply does not deserve that. However its worth the buy and a fun game to play on the side (once in a while). I am missing some options in the game. Once you created a profile for example and you have played some levels you can not select the early levels if you want to play them again. Did not see an option for multiple profiles either. Also the game difficulty settings can not be found. Things like that. Expand
  4. JoostL
    Jun 1, 2009
    7
    Great game for a low price. However, its still a Tower Defense game, its more fun then most other free to play ones online but in the end its still a Tower Defense game that does get boring quite fast as levels take less then 10 minutes and the start of each one goes way way to slow.
  5. DominickC
    May 15, 2009
    7
    Rather disgusted at how many people are being so harsh on this game due to it's graphics. You call yourselves gamers? Pathetic. The game itself is a basic tower defense with a rather silly concept, weeds and flowers defending your home from the undead menace. There are some twists along the way like zombies that only one kind of plant can damage, plants that instantly kill zombies Rather disgusted at how many people are being so harsh on this game due to it's graphics. You call yourselves gamers? Pathetic. The game itself is a basic tower defense with a rather silly concept, weeds and flowers defending your home from the undead menace. There are some twists along the way like zombies that only one kind of plant can damage, plants that instantly kill zombies but are then rendered useless, and the field itself being altered to force you into building a different kind of defense (day becoming night so you only recieve your resource from plants that produce it). All and all it's a simple, but fun game, expecting as much from Pop Cap. If I had to nit pick I would say my greatest complaint is that the music gets old, fast. If you like this kind of game, for 10 bucks, it's a great deal and a good game. If you're more into the action and fast paced games, this likely won't appeal to you. Expand
  6. Dec 12, 2013
    7
    "Plants vs. Zombies" is fun the first time you play it. But after you beat the levels and you play it the second time, it really does get boring. However, the game is simple and silly, so perhaps kids and teens would enjoy the game more.
  7. ERB
    Jul 29, 2013
    6
    I kinda enjoyed the game but after finishing the game you will not actually be able to do anything fun anymore so I kinda put a score of 6 for the game but still loved the game.
  8. AWG
    Jul 18, 2013
    7
    At first, Plants vs. Zombies is a very enjoyable and funny tower defense game but it gets boring a little too earlier than when you would expect this to happen.
  9. Nov 20, 2013
    7
    Plants vs. Zombies is a unique and challenging video game… This may fall under one of my least favourite genres of gaming, that being Tower Defense, but I found myself thoroughly entertained by this game! I think what makes this game more interesting comes down to the fact that it’s quite bizarre in theory… The aim is to stop zombies invading your home by using many varieties of plants (inPlants vs. Zombies is a unique and challenging video game… This may fall under one of my least favourite genres of gaming, that being Tower Defense, but I found myself thoroughly entertained by this game! I think what makes this game more interesting comes down to the fact that it’s quite bizarre in theory… The aim is to stop zombies invading your home by using many varieties of plants (in the right circumstances) to kill your enemies… It also has a killer theme song involved! Overall though, graphically it looks very average with no widescreen resolutions but it provides many hours of bobsledding zombie fun… Expand
  10. Oct 11, 2020
    5
    Interesting idea for a Tower Defence setting, but doesn't offer much more than that.
  11. Dec 20, 2021
    7
    I thought this game wasn't mean to be on PC because I first discovered it back then on iOS... I guess this is a great example of self-centeredness despite myself ! So this is officially the primary version of this tower-defense worldwide success. I don't get why it isn't considered as a 'Must-Play' in here. Story is funny especially with its terrific DAVE the neighbor character. Plants areI thought this game wasn't mean to be on PC because I first discovered it back then on iOS... I guess this is a great example of self-centeredness despite myself ! So this is officially the primary version of this tower-defense worldwide success. I don't get why it isn't considered as a 'Must-Play' in here. Story is funny especially with its terrific DAVE the neighbor character. Plants are funny, zombies are funny. The feeling of progression is terrific even if some strategies kind of ruin the play once you get to know them. It goes the same for upgrades : some really save your life when you need them to. Levels and environments are as varied as colorful. Mini-games offer different gameplays. Boss fights are amazing. Easter eggs are hilarious to find. The main story is still quite short (as you can see, 'Plants vs. Zombies' seems to have been designed to be a kind of mini-game itself) but after that, you can play it again in a more difficult mode ! Steam achivements are really hard and long to get. Also since a level lasts between 5 and 15 minutes it can feel truly repetitive, because all you have to do is a) plant sunflowers, b) collect enough sun and c) invest sun on defensive plants. Again and again until the boss appears. Clearly fun to play but well... Not more than something like 7 to 10 hours. (I only persevered in order to get the achievements of course.) Expand
  12. Jun 4, 2019
    6
    Fun game to play during breaks. Lots of enemy classes keep things interesting. Multiple strategies can lead to victory.
  13. Jul 1, 2022
    7
    Un defensa de torres clásico y magnífico que si eres amante del género no puedes dejar pasar, jamás te dejará estar cómodo cambiando de estilo de gameplay casi continuamente, un Juegazo que quedará para la historia del género.
  14. Feb 21, 2022
    6
    ⠀⠀⠀⠀ ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ ⠀⠀ ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ ⠀⠀⠀⠀ ⠀⠀ ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ ⠀
  15. Apr 24, 2021
    7
    Its a fun game, its nothing too special and its really not a deep game at all, its a fun little tower defense with a really fun twist.

    There is enough content to warrant the price and the fun you get.
    Just don't expect a deep game, its almost a mobile game.
  16. Nov 19, 2021
    7
    great aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Hardcore Gamer
    80
    Plants vs. Zombies is a huge game with a great sense of humor, and while it tends to play itself once a strategy is completed and the field of fire constructed, putting it all together and experimenting with the possibilities stays fun for a long, long time. [Summer 2009]
  2. AceGamez
    100
    Plants vs Zombies is what casual gaming is really all about; it's intuitive, easy to start and stop at any time, and has a tremendous variety of gameplay modes.
  3. Pop Cap realizes another masterpiece. Plants Vs. Zombies re-invents tower defense game and offer a great number of minigames and other activities.