Plants vs. Zombies Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1277 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Zombies are invading your home, and the only defense is your arsenal of plants! Armed with an alien nursery-worth of zombie-zapping plants like peashooters and cherry bombs, you'll need to think fast and plant faster to stop dozens of types of zombies dead in their tracks. Obstacles like aZombies are invading your home, and the only defense is your arsenal of plants! Armed with an alien nursery-worth of zombie-zapping plants like peashooters and cherry bombs, you'll need to think fast and plant faster to stop dozens of types of zombies dead in their tracks. Obstacles like a setting sun, creeping fog and a swimming pool add to the challenge, and with five game modes to dig into, the fun never dies! [Steam] Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Plants vs. Zombies Debut DS Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. AceGamez
    100
    Plants vs Zombies is what casual gaming is really all about; it's intuitive, easy to start and stop at any time, and has a tremendous variety of gameplay modes.
  2. 92
    Plants Vs Zombies is clearly a labour of love and on top of that it's what you might call the perfection of simplistic budget gaming. The game stimulates the emotional mind from start to finish, providing the kind of spontaneous quick-fire stimulation that our minds have come to expect from 21st century lifestyles.
  3. With a main game mode that spans 50 levels, numerous unlockable modes that extend the lifespan significantly, stupidly addictive gameplay and fun-infused presentation you'd be a fool to pass up Plants Vs Zombies.
  4. Plants vs. Zombies is not just one of the best tower defense games out there, it also gives you a tremendous value for the mere 10 euro you pay for it. PopCap has really surpassed anything they have done before with this game’s beautiful graphics, depth and modes that will keep you busy for months. You’ll love every minute of it.
  5. Plants vs. Zombies is not as complex as classic titles of this genre, GemCraft and Protector, but then again, it doesn't want to be hardcore. Its graphics are nice despite the minuscule 800x600 resolution, voice-overs make you smile, and there are many ways to entertain yourself (even more than in Space Rangers 2).
  6. PC Format
    82
    PopCap at its finest. [July 2009, p.95]
  7. This game masters all aspects of a good tower defense game and comes along with a lot levels and many items to unlock. Recommendation alert.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 267
  1. JosephS.
    May 6, 2009
    10
    It's a fun game, does what it's ment to do, and does it well. It has personality and it has style. I loved the zombie bowling It's a fun game, does what it's ment to do, and does it well. It has personality and it has style. I loved the zombie bowling minigame, as well as the the overall art direction. It's definitly worth the $10 on steam, and with the amout of actual content is worth the $20 if you want a boxed copy. Expand
  2. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great game. Long story line and just plain addictive. I love the comedy put into this game. As for those negative comments over this game, well, all I gotta say is haters gonna hate. This game has great potential. $10 is a fair price for this game, If your looking for a casual night on your PC, this would be the right game for you. ALSO half the people below are probably used to those action "gotta'kill'em'all" game. They only played the demo as well. Take it from me, I bought the game. You constantly get introduced to another plant after every level. You also change scenery from Front yard at day, Front yard at night, your backyard at day, your back yard at night, and your roof at day, I recommend this game to EVERYONE that likes casual laid-back games. Thanks for reading my review! Expand
  3. Nov 18, 2021
    10
    This game is one of the best the music the sprites the final boss the minigames the story I think umm
  4. JamesB
    May 7, 2009
    9
    Henry M and his "Power Gaming House" should probably stick to something flashy and brainless- perhaps sticking his own leg in a lawn mower Henry M and his "Power Gaming House" should probably stick to something flashy and brainless- perhaps sticking his own leg in a lawn mower would be a sufficiently visceral experience. This is game crafting at it's best and you'll be playing for weeks. It's the kind of game where you sit up from your computer and realise you've just spent 4 straight hours glued to the screen. You won't mind though, those Zombies had it coming. What is most surprising is it's depth; without mentioning all the mini-games and extra bits, the main game forces you to make really tough decisions all the time: do you really NEED the Jalapeno for this lesson or can you get by without it and put in the gatling pea attachment for some extra firepower? Great game, impossible to dislike. (Unless, like Henry, you get your kicks from watching your POWER GAMING HOUSE make pretty colours for you) ;) Expand
  5. Apr 16, 2011
    9
    This is for the Steam version.

    This is a great casual game. It does exactly what it's supposed to do: Entertain. It has 50 levels of
    This is for the Steam version.

    This is a great casual game. It does exactly what it's supposed to do: Entertain. It has 50 levels of "Adventure mode" play which unlocks 20 mini-games, 11 survival mode games, and 18 puzzle games, not to mention the "zen garden," which has three different gardens itself. The mini-games are entertaining and I'm still working on the "endless" puzzles.

    If you're looking for adrenalin pumping excitement and challenge, this isn't for you. If you're looking for fun, it is well worth the price. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is because it doesn't have a "quick play" option to let me replay specific adventure mode levels. This game never fails to make me smile.
    Expand
  6. May 5, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Really enjoy this game. Defeat zombies with plant ammo and unlock stuff in Crazy Steve's store.Earn money through gameplay and buy plantfood for your plants in your garden. The PC version offers all of these things compared to a hand held versions of this game. You're much better off with the PC version of this addicting game Expand
  7. DougH
    May 5, 2009
    0
    I'm with Henry. The PC is the most powerful gaming platform, use it! If someone released a 2D game with poor animation on the Xbox or I'm with Henry. The PC is the most powerful gaming platform, use it! If someone released a 2D game with poor animation on the Xbox or PS3, the critics would tear it to pieces. This might make a good $5 app on the iPhone, but give us something a bit more substantial on the peecee. Expand

See all 267 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Games of 2009

    The Best Games of 2009 Image
    Published: December 9, 2009
    Metacritic's Best of 2009 coverage kicks off with Games. We reveal the best-reviewed games of 2009, and rank the performance of each game platform for the year.