Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Mar 31, 2016
    90
    There’s a hell of a lot in this game that’s good, and in some cases is really good, and that’s the stuff that really stays with you after you shut the game down. This is a great example of genuinely good ideas being put into practice in a way that’s well done, if not perfect. A lot could have gone badly wrong with this game, and, for my money, it’s a damn impressive game and well worth a play.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    May 9, 2016
    81
    Like almost any 4x space strategy, hits the mark on some features (combat, some aspects of diplomacy), and misses on others (dull, uncommunicative races, rigid Spaceship Tetris). [May 2016]
  3. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Apr 21, 2016
    80
    Ship designing demands a lot from the player. Empty shell of any ship, from tiny fighter to space fortress, has to be filled according to its future role in the fleet. Every square inch of space matters: if you manage to squeeze in an extra generator, you’ll be able put a more powerful gun into pylon. [Issue#208, p.74]
  4. Apr 6, 2016
    80
    Polaris Sector is a little gem of a 4x game. Its gameplay is straightforward yet very deep and full of interesting decisions; its few flaws are all in the user interface design, which has an amateurish overall look and feel. If only fair priced it could have been an instant classic.
  5. Apr 19, 2016
    75
    At first glance Plaris Sectors looks like many other 4X strategy videogames, but the chance to assemble your own ships and the interesting system for the scientific research are interesting twists that any fan of the genre should try out.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23
  1. Apr 3, 2016
    10
    A space 4x game that will stay on my hard drive permanently. It presents the player with numerous meaningful choices, such that I'm schemingA space 4x game that will stay on my hard drive permanently. It presents the player with numerous meaningful choices, such that I'm scheming about my strategy in my current game at all times. The combat system gives the feeling of a real combined-arms experience. Planet specialization requires in-depth planning. I've played just about every space 4x ever made, and this is the best so far. (The graphics aren't as beautiful as something like Endless Space, but the depth of the game systems more than make up for that.) Full Review »
  2. Apr 1, 2016
    9
    Damn good 4x. After somehow so boring GC3 I had zero hopes for this one, but I was positively surprised!
    Game maybe not looks very polished,
    Damn good 4x. After somehow so boring GC3 I had zero hopes for this one, but I was positively surprised!
    Game maybe not looks very polished, but hell it has a depth and 10x better than GC ship constructor.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 27, 2016
    8
    While you might not see anything you haven't before this game does its best to take the best parts of the best games and pack them into oneWhile you might not see anything you haven't before this game does its best to take the best parts of the best games and pack them into one title, its not perfect but any fan of the genre should get more than a little enjoyment out of this gem of a game. Full Review »