• Publisher: NVIDIA
  • Release Date: Dec 8, 2022
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Dec 7, 2022
    95
    It’s still a relatively short game, about three hours or so if you’ve got your Portal brain switched on - but still a remarkable experience. The puzzle rooms and pacing toward the big GLaDOS reveal, and iconic end and credits sequence is still spot on. Portal is as finely tuned, deep, and fun as ever. Case in point, after firing it up I couldn’t stop until the epic “last room” was cleared. As a visual showcase of what a remaster meets remake can be, as a re-release of sorts, and as a reminder that classic design and pacing will always be just that, Portal with RTX is a triumph. Now bring on Portal 2 with RTX, and maybe some Half-Life 2 with RTX whilst the Source engine is still fired up inside NVIDIA’s labs.
  2. Dec 6, 2022
    95
    Portal with RTX proves that a game that was released in 2007 can put the most modern hardware to date to suffer. If we had enjoyed it before, now it is much more beautiful, colorful in its entirety and with so much ray tracing that we will not know what to do with it. New NVIDIA technologies (DLSS 3 and Frame Generation) show once again that we are in the future.
  3. Dec 6, 2022
    90
    Portal with RTX doesn't add new content, but the visual improvements make it shine like a new game. A playable wonderful that updates the graphical aspects with ray tracing, reflections, shadows, materials and textures to make it even more impressive. If you have a RTX GPU, you should try it for sure.
  4. Dec 6, 2022
    85
    Portal remains a masterpiece of a game. Even more than 15 years later, the game still hits its marks, from puzzle design to length and everything in between. Portal with RTX adds to that by sprucing up the graphics enough that it immediately rivals many modern releases on more advanced game engines. The high system requirements, along with the breaking of some core functionality, restricts who can enjoy the improvements, but the sting doesn't hurt as much due to the fact that it's free. If you are fine with those caveats, give Portal with RTX a spin, whether this is the first time you're playing it — or the 50th.
  5. Dec 8, 2022
    80
    Portal with RTX is the same masterpiece as Portal, accessible only by a small niche of people.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Dec 6, 2022
    Or, if you’re the sort of person obsessed with the future of video game visuals, you will appreciate Portal’s RTX update for what it does best: Prove that ray tracing matters. Ray tracing’s ability to significantly alter the game’s mood captures something powerful about the technology that can’t be seen in screenshots or a tech demo video on YouTube.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 21
  2. Negative: 6 out of 21
  1. Dec 18, 2022
    0
    Sorry portal ist kein schlechts spiel. Aber diese neue rtx version ist eine frechheit Ohne 4090 kann man das spiel gefühlt nicht einmalSorry portal ist kein schlechts spiel. Aber diese neue rtx version ist eine frechheit Ohne 4090 kann man das spiel gefühlt nicht einmal starten Performance ist unterirdisch Full Review »
  2. Jan 7, 2023
    0
    Does not even look that good, old game not worth replaying anyway, but NVIDIA turned it into a crappy advertisement to buy a 4090. This gameDoes not even look that good, old game not worth replaying anyway, but NVIDIA turned it into a crappy advertisement to buy a 4090. This game is unplayable on my 2080 TI even though I played MANY RTX games just fine, most need DLSS, but that is ok with me.

    WITH DLSS on performance and LOW SETTINGS, this game is a UNPLAYABLE slideshow! Total trash.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 15, 2022
    3
    Looks great, but it's the WORST performance witnin RTX games. Can't reach past 10-25 FPS on my pc that capable of 80-90 FPS in modern gamesLooks great, but it's the WORST performance witnin RTX games. Can't reach past 10-25 FPS on my pc that capable of 80-90 FPS in modern games like Marvel`s Spider Man with RTX at Ultra. Full Review »