Prey Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1321 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: You awaken aboard Talos I, a space station orbiting the moon in the year 2032. You are the key subject in an experiment meant to change humanity forever – but things have gone terribly wrong. The space station has been overrun by hostile aliens and you are now being hunted. As you delve intoYou awaken aboard Talos I, a space station orbiting the moon in the year 2032. You are the key subject in an experiment meant to change humanity forever – but things have gone terribly wrong. The space station has been overrun by hostile aliens and you are now being hunted. As you delve into the dark secrets of Talos I and your own past, you have to survive using the tools found on the station, your wits, weapons, and mind-bending abilities. [Bethesda Softworks] Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Prey - The Game Awards 2016 Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jul 5, 2017
    100
    Prey offers one of the best gaming environments in the history and builds on it its sophisticated, exciting, and unusually entertaining gameplay. A weaker story and sometimes too high difficulty does not change the fact that Arkane studios has once again produced something special. [Issue#275]
  2. May 9, 2017
    92
    Prey is a masterpiece of the science-fiction genre. A game that hooks the player from beginning to end and creates a wonderful experience.
  3. May 24, 2017
    90
    Excellent first person action with a strong RPG element allows countless gameplay approaches with its sensitively set systems and fantastic game- and level- design. It brings an eye-catching story, a great scriptwriting, a mercilessly exciting atmosphere, and it does not allow criticism of logical deficiencies because it explains everything carefully. Technically, it is flawless and runs smoothly. A handful of minor flaws can be overlooked with no regret.
  4. May 15, 2017
    83
    All in all I would definitely recommend Prey to anyone interested. It is very reminiscent of Bioshock with some hefty Dead Space elements thrown in and some solid Deus Ex mechanics driving it all. It is a well-balanced, lengthy game with a substantial story that is intriguing enough to keep you interested for an extended period of time. Lackluster combat can make some stretches a drag, but that next room to explore and that next secret to uncover keeps you going. If you are on the fence, I would suggest you pick this one up. In a year that seems to just keep on delivering, Prey is yet another success story.
  5. Jun 20, 2017
    80
    It is difficult to overstate what an achievement Prey's environmental and gameplay designs represent, nor the elegance and real ingenuity behind the many interlocking systems that the player accesses throughout. Whether you approach it as a horror-action game, a stealth-puzzle game or a run-and-gun shooter, Prey will accommodate you. Although it lacks narrative drive or memorable characters, Prey will engage you for hours as you realize the potential for creativity that the developers baked in to every area and moment in the game.
  6. May 13, 2017
    80
    Prey's greatest success is its approach to choice and exploration. For players looking for a direct and focused single player shooter experience, this will undoubtedly disappoint and perhaps even frustrate, but for players looking for a smart and immersive world rife with intrigue and tension, Prey is a quality companion for some true classics.
  7. May 10, 2017
    40
    If the PC version of Prey hadn’t become completely unplayable from crashes and save-game corruption just as it was hitting its stride, I’d have called it a very good or perhaps even great game. Its strange alternate-history universe, sidequests, hidden threats, and detailed environmental storytelling make Talos I a joy to explore, one that’s well worth slogging through combat that doesn’t feel fresh enough to sustain it throughout a long game.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 261
  1. Dec 15, 2020
    10
    Отличная игра с отличным сюжетом, с отличными механиками показывающие трудность морального выбора. Почему ее так хэйтят не ясно. ВидимоОтличная игра с отличным сюжетом, с отличными механиками показывающие трудность морального выбора. Почему ее так хэйтят не ясно. Видимо большинство в нее просто не играли! Expand
  2. May 11, 2017
    10
    El mejor juego que he jugado en el año vale la pena por su historia el grafico de 4K no es importante si el juego no es bueno, si te gustaEl mejor juego que he jugado en el año vale la pena por su historia el grafico de 4K no es importante si el juego no es bueno, si te gusta explorar hacer puzzles o hacer lo quieras lo puedes hacer se siente como un mundo abierto pero sin aburrir ARKANE se merece mi diez LO RECOMIENDO.
    The best game I have played in the year is worth it for its history the 4K graphic is not important if the game is not good, if you like exploring to do puzzles or do what you want you can do it feels like an open world but without Boring ARKANE deserves my ten I RECOMMEND IT.
    Expand
  3. May 6, 2017
    10
    This review is based on the game after completing it with all the side-quests available, except two (as far as I know). I played it for aroundThis review is based on the game after completing it with all the side-quests available, except two (as far as I know). I played it for around 25 in-game hours.

    I'm one of those people who was heavily disappointed when Bethesda cancelled Prey 2 (2006's Prey's sequel, which I played and very much enjoyed). In a way, even if I wasn't one of them, I totally understood the people who started bashing and boycotting this new Prey game. But was the hate justified?

    The short answer is no. Not at all. Based on my experience so far, I have to say this game is simply amazing in every possible way. The music is phenomenal, thanks to the talented Mick Gordon who also did the soundtrack for 2016's Doom and for Wolfenstein: The New Order.

    But what is more important though is that the game is full of very smart and intelligent gameplay design ideas. It's more than obvious that the devs well thought out every little gameplay aspect and tweaked them to achieve perfection. This game has a very high production quality.

    Also, I think I never saw a game before that so well utilized the enviroment such as this. In every single area I spent a very large amount of time to be able to discover everything, and it was a whole lot of fun. Prey mixes verticality and platforming very well with the usual, more horizontal gameplay.

    And if I mentonied exploration: the exploration/discovery is fantastic, the game is very complex and deep in terms of world building and gameplay, in fact it's more complex in a way than most AAA games out there today. The story and the lore looks promising, and I like the visual design the artists went for.

    The game clearly took inspiration from the best movies in the sci-fi genre (Stanley Kubrick's 2001: A Space Odyssey, or Ridley Scott's Alien). Other than that, it reminds me some of the best games I've played, such as Deus Ex: Human Revolution, Bioshock, Dishonored, and of course, it also has a very strong System Shock vibe. In fact, it could be called System Shock 3. It has a Dead Space feeling in a way too.

    The good news won't end here. This game is perfectly optimized. I have a rig that is around the recommended specs, and I manage to hit 100FPS average at 1080p on the absolute highest settings (EVGA GTX970 FTW, 16GB DDR4 2400Mhz RAM, i5-6500).

    This game is a joy to play. It's very impressive that it managed to grab me this much under only one hour and never let me go till I finished it. In fact, I'm still not finished (even if I completed the story). I'm starting a second playthrough now and I'll try to get the remaining achievements.
    I definitely recommend checking out this game, it well worth the money!

    If I have to say a con, it's a minor thing, but normal human-sized enemies will provide unpleasant difficulty spikes every time you face them as long as you don't get a shotgun. Fighting against them with the Glue Gun, Pistol, or Wrench is not easy, and they kill you in 3 hits on Normal difficulty. The easiest is to avoid them and/or try to throw explosives at them from a distance (red pipes).
    Expand
  4. Apr 5, 2020
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Good game! Challenging, innovative and very beautiful. The possibilities to solve puzzles in different ways is very interesting and exciting. Expand
  5. Nov 1, 2017
    8
    An excellent atmosphere and well written dialogue creates a truly immersive setting which is something I haven't seen in a while. The gameAn excellent atmosphere and well written dialogue creates a truly immersive setting which is something I haven't seen in a while. The game provides plenty of freedom for the player with the gameplay balanced nicely overall. The art style is refreshing and the graphics were consistent. I encountered no technical issues and had very favorable performance throughout my time with the game. Expand
  6. Jul 26, 2020
    7
    ‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍
  7. Sep 8, 2020
    0
    Pretty terribly designed game. The first actual gun you get (in an FPS) deals less damage than your melee attacks, and has extremely limitedPretty terribly designed game. The first actual gun you get (in an FPS) deals less damage than your melee attacks, and has extremely limited ammo. It has you run around in circles for the objectives, tells you to avoid confronting the monsters without giving any clue as to how, and it's buggy as hell, like any other Bethesda game. This game is not worth your time. Expand

See all 261 User Reviews

Trailers