Prince of Persia Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 399 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in a land rooted in ancient Persian mythology, the Prince finds himself caught in an epic battle between the primal forces of light and darkness: the God of Light, Ormazd versus his brother Ahriman, the destructive God of Darkness. The Prince arrives just in time to witness theSet in a land rooted in ancient Persian mythology, the Prince finds himself caught in an epic battle between the primal forces of light and darkness: the God of Light, Ormazd versus his brother Ahriman, the destructive God of Darkness. The Prince arrives just in time to witness the destruction of the legendary Tree of Life - an act which threatens to plunge the entire world into eternal darkness. Manifested in the form of the Corruption, a dark substance that physically contaminates the land and the skies, the Prince must partner with Elika, a deadly companion, to heal the world from the evil Corruption. [Ubisoft] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Prince of Persia is a wonderful and nearly magical game. It’s not very long but it’s long enough, as it will entail around 10-14 hours of continuous platforming and fighting, even if you don’t try to pick up the 1001 Seeds of Light.
  2. The new visual style works and the technical side of the game is flawless but ultimately this re-imaging of Prince of Persia ends up being a bit short and easy. In the quest to rid the game of all potential sources of frustration, the low difficulty level is unfortunate collateral damage. Fun and accessible but fails to match the brilliance of Sands of Time.
  3. 90
    The new title combines strong platforming fundamentals, Assassin's Creed's open-world structure, and some of Okami's wonderful aesthetic flourishes. What it introduces to action games is something truly wonderful.
  4. While Prince of Persia is definitely flawed and can even become tedious at points, it creates a dreamlike world that keeps you interested. It is an interactive extension of what good fiction tries to be, and while it's not for everyone, it can often leave you with a desire to come back for more.
  5. PC PowerPlay
    80
    Having said this, Prince of Persia is one of those games that has obvious flaws but manages to pull together to become so much more than the sum of its parts. The charmingly cliched story, the visuals, audio, and their sparkling polish come together to make the Prince of Persia a modern epic. [January 2009, p.51]
  6. Were it not for obtrusive hints and copy/pasted design, Prince of Persia would have taken its rightful place in our Hall of Fame.
  7. PC Gamer UK
    49
    Dumbed down; drawn out; deeply annoying. [Jan 2009, p.84]

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 56
  2. Negative: 20 out of 56
  1. Dec 2, 2012
    10
    For me it was never a problem with game's difficulty. I liked the game more then i expected because it put me in the sense of flow that iFor me it was never a problem with game's difficulty. I liked the game more then i expected because it put me in the sense of flow that i rarely experience in video games nowadays. But what makes it stand out for me so much is that when you make the biggest game decision you never question your choice or it's outcome and you accept all consequences while saying "It was all worth it" and spilling a little tear at the end. The biggest pleasure i got was AFTER i finished the game and realized what was it about and why things happened how they happened. Its a masterpiece. Simple, but it doesn't have to be difficult to be good. Its a perfect example of story-based video games that actually put a "story" and a "video game" not running along but depending on each other 100%. Expand
  2. MikeChapman
    Dec 10, 2008
    10
    God bless this game. Is anyone else sick of photo realism? I live in it everyday. YES, this game has it's flaws and (over)God bless this game. Is anyone else sick of photo realism? I live in it everyday. YES, this game has it's flaws and (over) simplifications, but it is one of the most stunning and beautiful achievements in next gen platforming games. I expect a game to show me something I have never seen before, this game does it in spades every time I play it. Thank you Ubisoft. Expand
  3. Sep 11, 2011
    8
    It was a hard time choosing the right score for that game. Prince of Persia puts you in an amazingly beautiful universe: the one that youIt was a hard time choosing the right score for that game. Prince of Persia puts you in an amazingly beautiful universe: the one that you cannot forget after playing the game. Contrary to what a lot of players think, the game is not easy; it isn't hard as well, but difficult enough to force you to redo a few checkpoints. There are some sequences that are simply epic. The ones where you're wondering why they are so short, the ones where you actually go back just to feel that sensation again. The complicity between the prince and Elika is very touching: everything in the game, maybe besides some dialogs, are going towards this. Every move that involves both characters tends perfectly to create a unique atmosphere throughout the game.

    However, the ending of the game (that I will not reveal here) is really disappointing in my opinion: it goes against everything that is built during the whole adventure, and I felt it did not really fit in the story, thus the score. Even though it is poetic, it doesn't have the depth of other adventure games. Despite a very good (but quite easy) last battle, Prince of Persia doesn't really end what it has started and will leave a unpleasant taste of unfinished story.
    Expand
  4. Nov 23, 2012
    7
    Its been 20 odd years since I last played a Prince of Persia game (and 30 years since Karateka on the Apple II). The franchise has evolved aIts been 20 odd years since I last played a Prince of Persia game (and 30 years since Karateka on the Apple II). The franchise has evolved a bit since then.

    The platforming in POP is on rails- almost to the point of being a chain of pre-rendered quicktime events similar to the classic Cinimeatronics titles (Dragons Lair/etc). This reduces the difficulty level to merely Pavlovian responses: See a ring- press
    Expand
  5. LaurenP
    Feb 7, 2009
    6
    Prince of Persia is a masterpiece in its own right. That being said, it's not for everyone. It requires a lot of patience and a Prince of Persia is a masterpiece in its own right. That being said, it's not for everyone. It requires a lot of patience and a willingness to accept that this game chooses accessibility and ease of use over challenging and rewarding gameplay. Once you accept this, you can move on and enjoy the visuals and cinematics for what they're worth. If you are new to gaming and are looking for a fun, easy game experience without frustration, difficulty, or controller-throwing, this is the perfect game for you. If you're an experienced gamer, however, you will probably be disappointed with the complete lack of challenge whatsoever. It is somewhat appreciable solely for its story, but nothing else. Overall, Prince of Persia set out to be a work of art, and at the same time be easy and enjoyable for newcomers. It achieved those two things with flying colors, for better or for worse. Expand
  6. JeremyN
    Jan 7, 2009
    3
    Despite looking rather pretty, it falls short and feels rushed in many respects. Yes, moving quickly through levels feels good, but the Despite looking rather pretty, it falls short and feels rushed in many respects. Yes, moving quickly through levels feels good, but the Prince's movements are blocky and feel absolutely catered to the lowest possible difficulty. Additional gameplay mechanics added later in the game add a token amount of fun, but end up being frustrating more often than not. There is no way to "fail" in combat or moving through the world, so there is a continual feel of a safety net, and the only real perk to proficiency is preventing yourself a vast amount of annoyance. Furthermore, the story bears exceptionally minimal relevence to the character that is the Prince of Persia, except for a handful of lines scattered throughout the game. I do not suggest it for anyone who appreciates the history of the franchise. Expand
  7. SeanT.
    Dec 10, 2008
    0
    This game rocks.

See all 56 User Reviews