Project CARS 3 Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
3.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Project CARS 3 is the third instalment in the best-seller racing franchise that brings all the intense thrills, emotions and fun from the vibrant world of motor racing to vivid life as players undertake a whole new exciting career journey that sees them rise from weekend warrior to racingProject CARS 3 is the third instalment in the best-seller racing franchise that brings all the intense thrills, emotions and fun from the vibrant world of motor racing to vivid life as players undertake a whole new exciting career journey that sees them rise from weekend warrior to racing legend.

    Also new to the franchise is a deeply engaging metagame that challenges players to race hard and earn in-game Credits with which to buy and own hundreds of cars from the world's most elite brands and race them all on dynamic and spectacular circuits around the globe featuring stunning all-weather, all-seasons conditions.

    Race-won Credits and XP will also entice players to buy authentic performance upgrades and customisation options for their stable of exclusive cars, including wheels, tyres, body kits, rims, as well as personalisation options to create their own racing hero personas.

    With a completely redesigned and unrivalled controller experience, an even more accurate and fun handling model, adjustable skill settings for every level of driver and every element of weather-affected races, Project CARS 3 is the biggest, most exciting and authentic evolution to the definitive racing franchise.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Aug 24, 2020
    90
    With its bold new direction, superbly overhauled handling and some of the best, wheel-to-wheel racing out there, Project CARS 3 is a gamble that has resulted in one of the year’s best racers.
  2. Aug 24, 2020
    81
    Project CARS 3 says goodbye to the ambition of being a full sim and drives fast to a safe simcade haven, made of an old-style career mode, car porn and linear progression. It works, it's a fun solid experience and in multiplayer even shines, but somehow the new identity struggles a little bit to find a proper balance.
  3. 80
    Project Cars 3 is bustling with things to do. It’s as accessible as the series has ever been, and while marred by some inconsistencies in its presentation, is for the most part a joy to play.
  4. Aug 24, 2020
    70
    Project Cars 3 is a great way to get into sim racing for newcomers thanks to its overtly gamey career mode, but the move into proper ‘simcade’ territory feels odd and unfulfilling.
  5. Sep 8, 2020
    67
    As the existing fans look on with shock, Project Cars 3 decides to make a franchise U-turn. It doesn't cause any huge accidents and merges into the new lane with decent grace, but it's already trailing the pack of other arcade racing games, leaving many to wonder if it was worth doing.
  6. Aug 27, 2020
    65
    Slightly Mad has changed a lot of things with Project Cars, and it's not going to appeal to gamers looking for outright simulation.
  7. Aug 24, 2020
    35
    If you’re a racing fan, be it arcade or simulation, I recommend you avoid this game – it’s a thoroughly unenjoyable experience from a once great series.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 38
  2. Negative: 25 out of 38
  1. Aug 31, 2020
    10
    Awesome game. It's just not a successor to Project Cars 2. Had a lot of fun with it. It's a very fun simcade game. The only thing wrong withAwesome game. It's just not a successor to Project Cars 2. Had a lot of fun with it. It's a very fun simcade game. The only thing wrong with it is it's name and marketing behind it. But as a game is quite fun, it's just not a sim. Expand
  2. Aug 30, 2020
    8
    Nice game , entertaining , but if you haven´t owned the first other releases.

    I ´d read why such the criticism of the game and the
    Nice game , entertaining , but if you haven´t owned the first other releases.

    I ´d read why such the criticism of the game and the negative rant. I never tried the othere releases so I find this game much fun. It´s a mix of arcade and simulation More arcade than sim. At first the game feels easy but later becomes more challenging. I don´t see any issues besides the same bland victory pose and it looks like there´s a certain ammount of grinding. So if you are lucky enough to haven´t played the other two and like racing, go for it. I suspect that people who own previous releases don´t like it because it turned into a more arcade direction. And so I heard, they removed most sims features. But is also stated that the other two great games were broken in one way or another or so they said. So is the same stupid people who felt burnt fo a third time. lol. And it´s very important to mention that I game on xbox controller. Keyboards are for cheap losers. So I cannot say exactly if this is hurting these cheaps rats anyway and they felt previous releases more friendly. I also heard that it isn´t so good for racing wheels. I cannot said that this is true at all or partially. I only can say that I don´t have that racing wheels and pedals and that bunch of crap. There´s not all that much of racing games today to consider them on buying that stuff. In conclusion is a good game but if you are new into the series. The main proof to said that previous series were unsuccesful is that previous designers were fired practically, and the news devs go for a more arcade experience just to fix the mess.
    Expand
  3. Aug 29, 2020
    6
    It's a bit of a tragedy. i never thought the pCARS games were good games, but at least they were mediocre sims. pCARS 3 is a MUCH better GAMEIt's a bit of a tragedy. i never thought the pCARS games were good games, but at least they were mediocre sims. pCARS 3 is a MUCH better GAME than its predecessors, the career is much better and it's much more fun to play with a controller now, which was almost unplayable before.

    It's a lot of fun to finally be able to enjoy those great tracks, that have always existed, in a more arcade like racer, but it defies my understanding why they didn't call it Shift 3 instead, as that is basically what this game is.

    The game is nothing like the first two games, which seems like suicide from the marketing perspective, as it's clear as sauce this will greatly anger the long time fans and probably be overlooked by the more casual racers, who like Forza Horizon or GRiD, cause that's where this game is aimed at now.

    From a GAMER'S perspective I have WAY MORE fun with this game, than with the other two games though, UNTIL......

    Yeah, until one discovers, that the progression in this game feels very level-gated, which gives the whole game the feeling of a mobile game, which is somehow underlined by the truly lacklustre presentation, which looks clearly worse than on pCARS2, all while not really performing better.

    The VR mode atm is broken and unplayable for me, as it unexplicably jitters along from time to time.

    Sorry SMS, your last two games already released broken and unfinished but were never fixed. Please do better this time.

    As a verdict: I don't understand who this game is for. This would be a good game without the mobile progression, which simply reeks like GaaS and monetisation.

    I'd give it an 8, if it wasn't for that, but as it is I can't give more than a 6 right now.
    Expand
  4. Sep 13, 2020
    2
    Creo que ponerle mas que esto seria un regalo, es horrible con todas las letras, no lo recomiendo para nada, antes que este si esperan pocoCreo que ponerle mas que esto seria un regalo, es horrible con todas las letras, no lo recomiendo para nada, antes que este si esperan poco realismo vayan por el Forza Horizon 4, es un millon de veces mejor, y si esperan aunque sea un poco de realismo, ni piensen en este juego, pasen de largo, es una porquería Expand
  5. Sep 10, 2020
    2
    Altro nome no eh? R.I.P. Project cars!!!!
    Rimborso e disinstallato immediatamente! Non lo voglio nemmeno se lo regalate!
    Che delusione
    Altro nome no eh? R.I.P. Project cars!!!!
    Rimborso e disinstallato immediatamente! Non lo voglio nemmeno se lo regalate!
    Che delusione Slightly Mad Studios,
    Expand
  6. Oct 9, 2020
    0
    all right, i literally had to play the game for 10 minutes to see that it's a **** here amma just say one problem that i found, a big problemall right, i literally had to play the game for 10 minutes to see that it's a **** here amma just say one problem that i found, a big problem if you ask me, i changed the controls from the mouse controls to keyboard controls in the settings, found that it wasn't completely right, so i wanted to switch JUST the steering to mouse, and whoa would you look at that? it won't let you use your mouse, and better yet! you can't even use the mouse buttons!. great job coding this game, it looks like i made it. the old ones were better in every way, i still don't get why they choose to use the arrow keys tho, what am i a 6 foot tall baby? and by the way, that's just one of them, i can't list off all of them here. Expand
  7. Aug 30, 2020
    0
    I dont know how the critics like this. This game is a joke. The problem is not the arcade style. The problem is all the lies what sms said andI dont know how the critics like this. This game is a joke. The problem is not the arcade style. The problem is all the lies what sms said and the trash product. Expand

See all 38 User Reviews