Psychonauts Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 657 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Psychonauts is a wildly surreal action adventure game where personal paranormal powers are unlocked in order to plunge into the minds of bizarre characters. Journey deep into these crazy worlds of infinite possibility to thwart the secret plan of an evil madman and realize the ultimate dreamPsychonauts is a wildly surreal action adventure game where personal paranormal powers are unlocked in order to plunge into the minds of bizarre characters. Journey deep into these crazy worlds of infinite possibility to thwart the secret plan of an evil madman and realize the ultimate dream of joining an elite force of psychic superheroes, the Psychonauts. Delve into people's minds as Raz, a powerful young cadet at psychic summer camp. While working on his levitation merit badge, Raz discovers that someone is kidnapping psychic children and stealing their brains. In order to foil this evil plot and earn the title of Psychonaut, Raz must project himself into the minds of one bizarre character after another to battle their nightmares and mental demons. He does all this while continuing to earn his psychic merit badges in Telekinesis, Clairvoyance, Pyrokinesis and more. Expand
Watch Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Psychonauts Gameplay Movie 8
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. 100
    It’s one of the most original, creative and inspired titles out there and even better—-it’s one of those rare videogames that can actually make you laugh out loud.
  2. No title is likely to exhibit this much magnetic appeal for some time to come, and as an outspoken resident of Lungfishopolis once remarked, if you don't buy Psychonauts, you "are against children—and against love.”
  3. The fact that Psychonauts isn’t on the radar as one of this year’s big releases is a major shame, as it is, quite simply, superb.
  4. A breath of fresh air that has restored faith in platforming adventure titles. Within the first three minutes of gameplay, one realizes just how funnily bizarre this title is.
  5. Pelit (Finland)
    87
    A wildly imaginative platform adventure. Framerate and visibility issues are a bit of a letdown, though. [Mar 2006]
  6. I’d rather spend my nights playing Psychonauts than a "Myst" or "Resident Evil" title, barring perhaps "Resident Evil 4." It’s livelier, funnier, and more original, in an age when sequels are the only safe bets for publishers.
  7. games(TM)
    70
    It’s not revolutionary by any means, nor is it particularly long, but thanks to some clever creative control the game delivers a funny, engrossing and downright weird experience unlike most other platform adventures. [July 2005, p.104]

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 156
  1. JasonMiller
    Mar 1, 2009
    10
    Very original and fun game. I know some complained about the controls, but I used a standard keyboard+mouse setup and it played great, soVery original and fun game. I know some complained about the controls, but I used a standard keyboard+mouse setup and it played great, so I'm not really sure what the issue was.
    The design came off with a nice balance between weird and realism, and has a maturity to it that most games I've played, especially more recent ones, simply lack.
    This game has now got me interested in the other things the designer (Tim Schafer) has made as well, and I'm impressed.
    Expand
  2. Jan 19, 2016
    10
    Game is amazing whole time playing was pure ecstasy great game #2 will be even better this games combination of humor, storyline , andGame is amazing whole time playing was pure ecstasy great game #2 will be even better this games combination of humor, storyline , and gameplay simply put orgasmic not much can compare to good ol' psychonauts 10/10 Expand
  3. AustinA.
    Oct 16, 2006
    10
    No platformer has ever entertained me. In fact, it's the genre I least admired out of every other genre out there. Thanks to the No platformer has ever entertained me. In fact, it's the genre I least admired out of every other genre out there. Thanks to the persuasion of a friend when this game came out and I played it, I couldn't stop until I had finished it. The humor is wonderful and this game feels like a comedy CG movie that you actually play through. The gameplay is easy and fun and just challenging enough that you feel accomplished and not too challenging that you're throwing a fit. PLAY THIS GAME. Expand
  4. MisterDK
    Jan 13, 2008
    10
    Superb game, very refreshing and strange. Would recommend to anyone out there.
  5. EddM
    Jan 17, 2010
    9
    Brilliant. Pure and simple. The game is wacky, funny, clever and above all: fun. I'm on my fifth play through at the moment and it still Brilliant. Pure and simple. The game is wacky, funny, clever and above all: fun. I'm on my fifth play through at the moment and it still makes me laugh. The only issue really is the frankly insane difficulty spike over the last level or two. The game goes from fun to mind numbing slog for a half hour or so. It's no where near enough to ruin it, but it does take the shine off it! Fully recommended though! Expand
  6. Jul 31, 2020
    9
    Pyschonauts | Aug. 1, 2020 | [★★★★]

    I did not expect this to be this good when I started it. This has a writing & production par with a
    Pyschonauts | Aug. 1, 2020 | [★★★★]

    I did not expect this to be this good when I started it. This has a writing & production par with a Nickelodeon show while having a story setting of the movie Inception.

    The aging graphics really not bothers me since they're not aiming for a realistic approach and yet the world felt more alive than most games I've recently played.

    Really good voice acting and even though the game was targeting young audience, You could still enjoy the humor it brings. I just hope that the sequel still stays true to the nature of this gem.
    Expand
  7. Jan 18, 2020
    0
    Encore l'une des daubes de "Double Fine" Déjections, grand fournisseur d'étrons indés pas frais et d'une suprême débilité !

    Ici, comme
    Encore l'une des daubes de "Double Fine" Déjections, grand fournisseur d'étrons indés pas frais et d'une suprême débilité !

    Ici, comme d'habitude le mauvais goût omniprésent côtoie l'absurdité d'un pseudo-jeu aussi bête qu'affligeant mais également aussi crétin que mongolien ; une telle daube en vérité que même chez Nintendaube, ils n'en ont pas voulu ! c'est dire si le sous-niveau est ici très bas dans cette sous-espèce d'ersatz de jeu de plate-formes gogoloïde à gogols !

    C'est donc affreux et d'un pseudo-humour de fond de caniveau qui ne déridera personne et ennuiera tout le monde... une misérable connerie, à la fois jeu de merde et étron indé pathétique !
    Expand

See all 156 User Reviews