Pumpkin Jack Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pumpkin Jack is a Spooky Scary 3D platformer in which you embody Jack, the Mythical Pumpkin Lord! Dive into an Epic Adventure through otherworldly landscapes and help the Evil annihilate the Good!
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Mar 1, 2021
    85
    Pumpkin Jack is a superb game, but its flaws come baring teeth once the glass shatters and you start to notice them. The combat is fun and rewarding, the writing and story are fantastic, but there are certain parts of the game that fall short. Plus, for no more than 3 hours of playtime to finish, that $30 price tag is pretty hefty. Putting that aside, every single moment of that short playtime is fantastic. I loved every minute of it, and there’s no doubt that developer Nicolas Meyssonnier made something extra special here.
  2. Nov 13, 2020
    80
    A fun old-school platform game, full of fresh ideas and hilarious references, which if not suffering from a lack of resources, it would easily stand among its genre’s big heads.
  3. Oct 31, 2020
    76
    A really enjoyable old-school game with enough charm to be recommended to all the people that loved Medievil, Maximo and other cartoonish horror-platformers from the PS1.
  4. Oct 24, 2020
    70
    Pumpkin Jack is a fun and nostalgic title that is perfectly placed to be your Halloween game this year. Highly recommended for any fans of old school platforming adventures, but also worth checking out for the spookier sorts too. It doesn’t revolutionise anything, but it also doesn’t outstay its welcome, and the fact that it is the work of a solo developer makes it even more impressive. This particular pumpkin deserves to carve out some of your seasonal gaming time.
  5. CD-Action
    Feb 8, 2021
    70
    Pumpkin Jack is a charmingly old-school game that would fit perfectly into the PS1 era. It’s colorful, full of humor, and offers huge, well-designed levels. It tries many different ways to mix up the gameplay, which is great, but all these efforts are too safe to bring any real surprises. [13/2020, p.71]
  6. Nov 1, 2020
    68
    Pumpkin Jack is not the game that will change your life, but what it is trying to achieve, that is, to offer a slightly old-school platform experience accompanied by various "spices" to provide more taste to the dish, it does it with dignity. As a work of a single person, the result is impressive, as a product it is just a decent title to spend your time.
  7. Oct 6, 2021
    40
    Pumpkin Jack is overall an alright game. Every aspect added to it wasn’t deepening the depths of the ocean, but rather lengthening the size of the kiddie pool. Many things were added, but it felt like an attempt to hide its lack of depth because of the terrible implementation.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Feb 6, 2021
    10
    Muy bueno y muy entretenido, recuerda mucho a juegos plataformeros como Crash pero tiene su propia personalidad y hace que se sienta como unMuy bueno y muy entretenido, recuerda mucho a juegos plataformeros como Crash pero tiene su propia personalidad y hace que se sienta como un juego unico Expand
  2. Nov 5, 2020
    10
    Otimo jogo, eu simplesmente adorei é um Medievil no PC , a arte a trilha sonora a jogatina em geral tudo muito bom, valeu a compra , estou naOtimo jogo, eu simplesmente adorei é um Medievil no PC , a arte a trilha sonora a jogatina em geral tudo muito bom, valeu a compra , estou na 4 fase e cada fase é mais bonita que a outra, está legendado em PT-BR Expand
  3. Oct 25, 2020
    9
    Pumpkin Jack
    The jack of all trades
    Im just gonna start by saying go play this game, stop watching this review and just go buy it.. im that
    Pumpkin Jack
    The jack of all trades
    Im just gonna start by saying go play this game, stop watching this review and just go buy it.. im that confident that you will absolutely love pumpkin jack.
    Pumkin jack is a 3d platformer pretty similar to the likes of medivel, but I actually like pumpkin jack much more as this feels like medivel meets uncharted to an extent.. sadly not necessarily in the story as this is the weakest part of pumpkin jack… a story of good and evil except youre on the evil side this time.. you’ve been hired by the devil to stop a wizard from saving all of humanity from the monster running around terrorizing them… sadly no voice acting or what id consider real cutscenes.. which isn’t necesrily a big deal, but I would’ve loved to hear the wise cracks my crow companion was making as id play rather than try to stop and read whoich is near impossible in more than handful or situations.. but this is pumkin jacks biggest sore thumb, the rest of this 5 hour journey is an absolute blast, linear 3d platforming style with secret bird skulls for you to collect and unlock other literal skins for jack, for example you can be a lumber jack, or samurai jack, bashing monsters with what starts as a shovel, but as you beat the games bosses youll unlock more weapons and each of these weapons getting progressively powerful and more fun to use, and this is what I feel makes pumpkin jack so special, it doesn’t allow thing to get stale and it doe so with fun, not over complicating progression, the game progressively gets harder while you get closer and close to god like power, but it always remains fun with great checkpoints, satisfying combat, an little set pieces here and there such as a mining kart roller coaster or riding a ghost horse.. mini games where youll be matching the rhythm of the mushrooms, or matching tomb stones, these are an appreciated break from the main game, however these are also where any frustration can set in.. I died a little over 30 times throughout me 5 hour journey, and id say that probably over 20 of thise deaths came at the hand of not tilting the right direction on the carts, getting smacking with too many boxes as I feel through a portal… and these didn’t feel like fun quick time frustrations, these moments felt cheap and annoying, I dreading the moments I had to jump and dodge on a cart.. mostly be casue these are decently lengthy sections with no checkpoints… but after they were done it was back to the fun.. Pumpkin Jack is such a pleasant surprise and is officially one of my favorite Halloween games. So full of character charm and whit, wonderful music, great cast of characters, I want a sequel like right now.
    I give Pumpkin Jack
    an 8.5/10
    Expand
  4. Mar 25, 2021
    8
    Хорошая инди игра получилась хоть и её делал всего 1 человек. Атмосфера Хэллоуина, отличный саундтрек красивая графика.Хорошая инди игра получилась хоть и её делал всего 1 человек. Атмосфера Хэллоуина, отличный саундтрек красивая графика.
  5. Sep 1, 2021
    8
    I wanted this game on the Ps4 but it is delayed on there so i decided to buy it on Pc instead. Everything in this game is amazing, the music,I wanted this game on the Ps4 but it is delayed on there so i decided to buy it on Pc instead. Everything in this game is amazing, the music, the combat and the maps! The only thing i don't like in this game is the movement. I think the movement is a bit to hard to control. Its at its worst when you have to jump/double jump, i feel like a cant control Jack like i want to and i just hope that i land where i want to land. Overall its a great game and i recommend it to everyone. Expand
  6. May 30, 2021
    8
    It's a surprisingly well made game, and I really enjoyed it. The story was quite interesting (along with the characters), the music was goodIt's a surprisingly well made game, and I really enjoyed it. The story was quite interesting (along with the characters), the music was good and the gameplay was really fun. I highly recommend it if you're into platforming games. Expand
  7. Dec 12, 2020
    0
    Another "i'm indie game, i'm so cool". I'm so tired of these. Indie games are only cool when actually interesting and well made like DiscoElysum.

See all 12 User Reviews