Quantum Conundrum Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 60 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 191 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Quantum Conundrum, players take on the role of a 12-year old nephew to the eccentric Professor Fitz Quadwrangle (Professor Q). Upon entering the Professor�s vast, highly customized mansion, players quickly realize their uncle has gone missing. In order to find him,In Quantum Conundrum, players take on the role of a 12-year old nephew to the eccentric Professor Fitz Quadwrangle (Professor Q). Upon entering the Professor�s vast, highly customized mansion, players quickly realize their uncle has gone missing. In order to find him, players will need to use an Interdimensional Shift Device, allowing them to manipulate space and objects. While on the journey, becoming adept at switching between dimensions will help them trek from one bizarre room to the next. It might sound easy enough, but it�s a tall order for a 12-year old in a vast, kooky mansion! Once players start shifting between dimensions, they�ll soon discover physics is on their side! Expand

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Quantum Conundrum - Announcement Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 60
  2. Negative: 1 out of 60
  1. Jun 21, 2012
    100
    This game is amazing, and I would gladly pay forty bucks for it. It almost seems wrong to enjoy a $15 title this much. Quantum Conundrum has more polish and charm than most full-price retail releases, and it plays just as well. It took me about eight hours to get through the story once, and I could easily spend another eight with it.
  2. Jun 25, 2012
    86
    Quantum Conundrum it's a funny and original title created with great mastery.
  3. Jul 19, 2012
    83
    Quantum Conundrum is a great game that with a clear conscience can be recommended to all puzzlers.
  4. Jun 22, 2012
    80
    Its similarities to Portal will be obvious to everyone and in terms of puzzles this is very much its equal, but in terms of script and characters… not so much.
  5. Jun 22, 2012
    79
    With several dozen scenarios on offer, it'll certainly keep you busy if you've got a hankering for transdimensional brain-teasers. It's just too bad that so few of the puzzles end up feeling memorable.
  6. Jun 21, 2012
    75
    It borrows all the recognizable parts of Portal – devious puzzles, an intriguingly deadly setting, a funny narrator – but it doesn't have the polish of Valve, that uncanny ability to pull everything together into a perfectly cohesive whole.
  7. Aug 29, 2012
    45
    But all this said, the game is only US $15, and although hugely infuriating at times, still manages to offer up several hours of cerebral entertainment. Bonus points should be awarded if anyone can play the thing through to the end without turning off the background music, which has clearly been lifted from an elevator in a Disney building somewhere, or not pausing to reflect how inappropriate and darkly sadistic it is to caption each death screen with numerically catergorised examples of what deceased children will never experience.

See all 60 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 46
  2. Negative: 6 out of 46
  1. Jun 21, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Lack of graphics options in the pc version is disappointing but the fun and inventive yet creative gameplay truly made up for it. The writing gets a little stale at times and the platforming segments can be iffy, other than that the overall game is very reminiscent of the portal series in a good way. Something I was not expecting and pleasantly surprised by was GLaDOS's cameo as the last boss fight. Expand
  2. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    Fun game is fun. Fun game is fun. Fun game is fun. Fun game is fun. Fun game is fun. Fun game is fun. Fun game is fun. Fun game is fun.Fun game is fun. Fun game is fun. Fun game is fun. Fun game is fun. Fun game is fun. Fun game is fun. Fun game is fun. Fun game is fun. Fun game is fun. Expand
  3. Jun 24, 2012
    9
    the story is not Portal, the fact that it takes place in a kid safe world takes away from the wit of the writing, as if the author thoughtthe story is not Portal, the fact that it takes place in a kid safe world takes away from the wit of the writing, as if the author thought they were writing Portal, however the game play has significant changes from Portal and at that it works. Fun and sometimes hypnotic when you get to the time stop levels it starts to pick up. A genuinely enjoyable release with so-so graphics, and a story line that doesn't quite live up to Portal's almost embarrassingly high levels, the mad narrator of this story is a bit of a let down, I would rather had played as him than as his far to quiet nephew. regardless well worth the big 15 usd and buy it with the dlc season pass for two additional add ons that will probably make it more worth the while. Charming, but not brilliant. Expand
  4. Jun 29, 2012
    8
    Imagine Portal missing the drama, lack of proper ending and mixed with occasional frustrating platforming, which is still a solid first personImagine Portal missing the drama, lack of proper ending and mixed with occasional frustrating platforming, which is still a solid first person puzzler despite not being perfect. There is nothing wrong to follow the Portal formula; narration between levels, feedback to signify success, minor visual treats after level, background loading area and even "try to be" funny script. The problem is, it didn't follow Portal to the bone; the story is obviously lacking, challenge in execution (accompany with trial-and-error and frustration) is not optional but a must to pass level. And the ending is an unethical Expand
  5. Nov 9, 2012
    7
    While I enjoyed this game, it was certainly not the experience that I was hoping for. The puzzles are fun for a while but seemed to get staleWhile I enjoyed this game, it was certainly not the experience that I was hoping for. The puzzles are fun for a while but seemed to get stale after playing the game for very long. At many points in the game it feels more like a platformer than a puzzle game as I spent too much time on moving a safe or box into the perfect spot or failing to execute a jump properly. The story is sub-par at best and while the Professor's dialogue throughout the game can be amusing at time it just feels like a bit too much. The game is definitely worth playing and I feel like I should enjoy it much more than I do but something about it just leaves me unsatisfied. Expand
  6. Apr 28, 2013
    6
    pros: Interesting mechanics and a couple really good puzzles. some decent platforming levels. cheap.
    cons: half the game is filler not real
    pros: Interesting mechanics and a couple really good puzzles. some decent platforming levels. cheap.
    cons: half the game is filler not real puzzles. The story is awful and same with the dialogue. The environment is very boring Antechamber has an awesome environment even though its an Indie but this game tried to imitate the environment of bigger budget games on the cheap.

    If you like puzzle games, don't mind playing games directed at children (or you are a child), and you're bored, its worth 10 dollars.
    Expand
  7. Jun 28, 2012
    0
    I was excited to play this after I saw the different dimensions in trailer and started to imagine what amazing puzzles could be made withI was excited to play this after I saw the different dimensions in trailer and started to imagine what amazing puzzles could be made with them. Unfortunately, every puzzle is way too easy, I bet even 10 year olds could figure them out quickly. I was in and out each room with ease. The only times I got stuck was when the execution of the puzzles was too clunky and needed multiple tries. Unlike Portal, you never have to think outside the box. Top that off with a lackluster story, a GLADOS rip-off commentary which makes no sense and is supposed to be funny but ends up annoying, and an obsolutely anticlimatic ending, there is no way I could have given it more than a 6.

    P.S. Metacritic is not allowing me to give it a proper rating, so I guess it will have to be a 0.
    Expand

See all 46 User Reviews