User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 127 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 127
  2. Negative: 10 out of 127

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 9, 2012
    8
    fairly good game that is enjoyable. Some will deem it disappointing because it doesnt have witty narrative writing like portal but that doesnt appear to be its purpose. Sure this would make it a more enjoyable experience but it only ever attempts to be a puzzle game. Those looking for a portal 2 ripoff should look elsewhere. recommended for people who like to chill and do a few firstfairly good game that is enjoyable. Some will deem it disappointing because it doesnt have witty narrative writing like portal but that doesnt appear to be its purpose. Sure this would make it a more enjoyable experience but it only ever attempts to be a puzzle game. Those looking for a portal 2 ripoff should look elsewhere. recommended for people who like to chill and do a few first person puzzlers. Expand
  2. Jul 29, 2012
    10
    Wonderfull game! Our era need more games like this. Simple yet innovative. Nice music. Visually atractive. Quite challenging at some points. And above all that, SMART. Worth every single cent. Amused me in every single puzzle, specially the ones in the dark. Surprising ending too.

    Some people think that the game is crappy for the lack story but in my opinion one thing that make this
    Wonderfull game! Our era need more games like this. Simple yet innovative. Nice music. Visually atractive. Quite challenging at some points. And above all that, SMART. Worth every single cent. Amused me in every single puzzle, specially the ones in the dark. Surprising ending too.

    Some people think that the game is crappy for the lack story but in my opinion one thing that make this game so good is exactly the lack of it. That way when you proceed through the chambers you wonder who created them, what was the purpose of all that and many other things that are, at least partially, explained when you beat it. People with at least a drop of creativity, imagination and logic should love this game.

    Looking foward to Q.U.B.E. 2!
    Expand
  3. Jan 12, 2012
    7
    Interesting game, but i get the feeling its not living to its potential. the puzzles are fun but they are too separated. one moment you are introduced to dark areas and after solving a few puzzles your never encounter it again. the game could have been better if they at least tried to mix some mechanics.

    still a nice game if you like environment puzzles.
  4. Jul 18, 2012
    8
    The game is decent. The graphics won't blow you away, but the indie developers have done an excellent job of making the game look as intriguing as possible, from flashing lights to puzzles in darkness to broken cubes falling from the ceiling. The puzzles (apart from one in particular ) feel fair and take a while to understand, resulting in a perfect balance between frustration andThe game is decent. The graphics won't blow you away, but the indie developers have done an excellent job of making the game look as intriguing as possible, from flashing lights to puzzles in darkness to broken cubes falling from the ceiling. The puzzles (apart from one in particular ) feel fair and take a while to understand, resulting in a perfect balance between frustration and cleverness. Yet with that said, i find that the game really is a bit too repetitive at a certain points, and certain puzzles actually repeat them selves with very minor changes. Compare that with games like Portal 2 which was exciting all the way through, It results in a dissapointing flow of events. The soundtrack is excellent, with the cool beats keeping up the atmosphere of the lab . The constant sense of solitude is a continuous factor that keeps you going to discover. The lack of story complements this game, and it finishes with a spectacular ending. Yet i doubt this is will be a game i will play again. I will certainly purchase a sequel should they make one and that said this game is certainly worth a play though. Expand
  5. Jul 21, 2012
    7
    First things first. Although Q.U.B.E. looks a lot like the Portal series and has a certain similar feel to it, the gameplay itself is quite different, as in the kind of puzzles you solve and game mechanics that you utilise. Overall it's a fairly good and fun puzzle game. Visually it's very stunning, despite most of it being set in a mysterious white environment. The puzzles are reallyFirst things first. Although Q.U.B.E. looks a lot like the Portal series and has a certain similar feel to it, the gameplay itself is quite different, as in the kind of puzzles you solve and game mechanics that you utilise. Overall it's a fairly good and fun puzzle game. Visually it's very stunning, despite most of it being set in a mysterious white environment. The puzzles are really great, even though at times can be frustrating. The controls and game mechanics relating to what each type of cube does are very intuitive and easy to pick up within a couple of minutes, and with each new area there are new elements added to the puzzle solving aspect (though some of these elements are not used again in latter areas). Some of the puzzles here are very challenging, so be prepared to spend some time on solving them, especially two in particular which take up a fairly big chunk of the game's playtime and sort of follow one after the other. The game doesn't really have any story, but I suppose that is fine for a puzzle game. In fact there is something happening in the background, but it's always kept in mystery and I suppose can be up to interpretation. In fact I somewhat enjoyed that feeling of mystery which was well complemented with the white-themed environments. Perhaps the only major drawback of the game is that it doesn't last long. It should take you around 4-5 hours to complete it and after that there isn't much of anything else to do apart from replaying the puzzles. I think if there were more features added, then they would've extended the game's lifespan, stuff like a mapmaker perhaps, or additional challenges added to some of the existing puzzles (as the first Portal game had). Generally a good game, just short-lived. Expand
  6. May 3, 2012
    8
    Mal seit langer Zeit ein Geschicklichkeits-Rätsel Spiel das mich sehr gut unterhalten aber auch sehr gefordert hat !!! Kann es nur jeden empfehlen . Trotz weniger Bugs sehr gut !!
  7. Dec 5, 2012
    8
    A very solid FPS puzzler. There's no violence in it, no spoken dialog. But it's fun, it's austere aesthetic is compelling and interesting all by itself. There are a lot of solid ideas in here that are well done. Some of the later puzzles are frustrating though. The solutions and the manipulation of objects to achieve those solutions were... rough. Raising the red blocks into the lightA very solid FPS puzzler. There's no violence in it, no spoken dialog. But it's fun, it's austere aesthetic is compelling and interesting all by itself. There are a lot of solid ideas in here that are well done. Some of the later puzzles are frustrating though. The solutions and the manipulation of objects to achieve those solutions were... rough. Raising the red blocks into the light being the worst offenders. I also have to give a nod to Q.U.B.E. for implementing true darkness. In one section everything but certain elements and lights on the walls is black, turn the gamma up and it still won't matter dark. The game is very short (which can be a good thing if you've got a backlog a mile long and want a quick distraction.) Worth playing, music was ho-hum and did little to enhance or hinder the environment. Expand
  8. Jul 2, 2012
    9
    I had awesome fun with this puzzle game. Extrude and move cubes to reach the exit. Much variation that foces the player to change the way of solving puzzles every 3rd or 4th puzzle. Difficulty goes from easy to quite challangeing withougt ever being unfair.
    Do not try to compare it with portal. It somehow looks like portal but those two games aren't really compareable. The puzzles and are
    I had awesome fun with this puzzle game. Extrude and move cubes to reach the exit. Much variation that foces the player to change the way of solving puzzles every 3rd or 4th puzzle. Difficulty goes from easy to quite challangeing withougt ever being unfair.
    Do not try to compare it with portal. It somehow looks like portal but those two games aren't really compareable. The puzzles and are just way too different.
    Expand
  9. Jul 30, 2012
    6
    Qube is an interesting game. It has a great visual feel to it and a pleasant soundtrack and atmosphere with it. The quality of the puzzles on the hand is kind of mixed. The game never gives you any tutorial or hints on how stuff works and you sometimes find yourself in awkward situations where its not clear what you are supposed to do to advance. Later in the game there is also someQube is an interesting game. It has a great visual feel to it and a pleasant soundtrack and atmosphere with it. The quality of the puzzles on the hand is kind of mixed. The game never gives you any tutorial or hints on how stuff works and you sometimes find yourself in awkward situations where its not clear what you are supposed to do to advance. Later in the game there is also some puzzles that is mostly trial and error based and are more time-consuming than really hard. There is also instances where its more difficult to psychically solve the puzzles than to mentally solve the puzzles which is kind of annoying. Its campaign could be a bit longer (about 5-6 hours) but its pretty varied with pretty interesting level and puzzle design. Its still an alright puzzle game though and if you are into the genre you should definitely check it out consider its low price. Expand
  10. Jul 22, 2013
    9
    Excellent puzzle game. Very original, simple but effective. Nice soundtrack as well that complements. So far, very entertaining. Puzzles seem to be a little easy though. However, I'm only at a third of the game so let's wait and see. If at some point, this game goes with Steam Workshop, then the replay value will be ensured.
  11. Feb 19, 2013
    7
    Not as good a Portal, but it's still pretty good. Short but I felt satisfied with the length. Puzzles are hard and feels satisfying to solve. I really liked the style of the graphics, how the environments were all cubes. It's unfortunate that the story was taken out of this game due to the accent, because this game has no story at all.
  12. May 7, 2013
    8
    Great game if you enjoy a good puzzle game along the lines of portal, antichamber, or kairo and though is not really like any of those, its the general idea, while it lack the voices and clever commentary of portal 2, to be honest i didn't really miss it, the puzzles are interesting, unique,and challenging, but so far nothing to insanely hard and i am about maybe 1 1/2 2 hours into thisGreat game if you enjoy a good puzzle game along the lines of portal, antichamber, or kairo and though is not really like any of those, its the general idea, while it lack the voices and clever commentary of portal 2, to be honest i didn't really miss it, the puzzles are interesting, unique,and challenging, but so far nothing to insanely hard and i am about maybe 1 1/2 2 hours into this one. Not much else i can say about this one this one other than if you enjoy a good puzzle game you wont be let down for 9.99! Expand
  13. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    Why must we all compare this to the Portal series? It is a puzzle game and they don't all have to be based from Portal! It is its own as we all are. Yet time and time again I hear puzzle games compared to Portal as if Portal is the template for all puzzle games. Sure the Portal series was fantastic, but that doesn't mean that all puzzle games need a great story. Q.U.B.E. is a purelyWhy must we all compare this to the Portal series? It is a puzzle game and they don't all have to be based from Portal! It is its own as we all are. Yet time and time again I hear puzzle games compared to Portal as if Portal is the template for all puzzle games. Sure the Portal series was fantastic, but that doesn't mean that all puzzle games need a great story. Q.U.B.E. is a purely intellectual game and I feel pity for those who cannot see that. Now on with the review:

    It is a real work of art in puzzle gaming. A game truly about pure puzzle and well worth the investment. Although Q.U.B.E.'s design is simple, after hours of challenging puzzles Q.U.B.E. always offers something new for your mind to chew on.
    Expand
  14. May 23, 2014
    9
    Amazing game. Too short ? True. Not as good as Portal ? True. Still a beautiful, challenging game. Comparing it to Portal is obviously something everyone would do after playing this game. But if you don't, it's a wonderful game, with a nice OST fitting with the atmosphere of the game, correct graphics and interesting puzzles. Just buy it, not for its full price if you don't want to, butAmazing game. Too short ? True. Not as good as Portal ? True. Still a beautiful, challenging game. Comparing it to Portal is obviously something everyone would do after playing this game. But if you don't, it's a wonderful game, with a nice OST fitting with the atmosphere of the game, correct graphics and interesting puzzles. Just buy it, not for its full price if you don't want to, but play it. One of my favourite games for sure. Expand
  15. Jan 9, 2012
    8
    I've already written a full review of this game on Nave360.com so here's a brief summary on whats good and bad. It's a challenging game, and acts like portal in some ways, but is rather short just like Portal. The game is also very expensive for just 3-4 hours of gameplay (perhaps less time depending on how clever you are). Each sector adds something new which is great, but there's notI've already written a full review of this game on Nave360.com so here's a brief summary on whats good and bad. It's a challenging game, and acts like portal in some ways, but is rather short just like Portal. The game is also very expensive for just 3-4 hours of gameplay (perhaps less time depending on how clever you are). Each sector adds something new which is great, but there's not much story in the game. Also when I played, the achievements were bugged. Expand
  16. Aug 4, 2012
    8
    This game gets compared to Portal, and for good reason. Player is placed in rooms with puzzles and expected to solve it. However, the comparison ends there. Q.U.B.E. has very little charm compared to Portal. Actually... It doesn't have any charm at all. However, the gameplay is very, very good and is what makes the game worth buying. So, don't go into this expecting the next Portal, as youThis game gets compared to Portal, and for good reason. Player is placed in rooms with puzzles and expected to solve it. However, the comparison ends there. Q.U.B.E. has very little charm compared to Portal. Actually... It doesn't have any charm at all. However, the gameplay is very, very good and is what makes the game worth buying. So, don't go into this expecting the next Portal, as you WILL end up disappointed. However, if you go in expecting a fun puzzler, you'll have an excellent time. Expand
  17. Mar 12, 2012
    7
    Q.U.B.E is a first-person puzzle game that tries very hard to be Portal. It's a decent game, but it falls far short of Portal's glory.

    The decision to not incude any instructions is interesting. I was able to figure everything out after a while, but there are many moving parts and it's easy to forget which parts do what. Portal was elegant. Portals were the solution to every problem. In
    Q.U.B.E is a first-person puzzle game that tries very hard to be Portal. It's a decent game, but it falls far short of Portal's glory.

    The decision to not incude any instructions is interesting. I was able to figure everything out after a while, but there are many moving parts and it's easy to forget which parts do what. Portal was elegant. Portals were the solution to every problem. In this game, you push blocks, pull blocks, rotate rooms, move balls, switch gravity, push wires, and more. Once you figure out how something works, instead of mastering it, new moving parts are thrown in. Combine that with non-resettable puzzles where you can get stuck, and it adds up to poor level design. The puzzles are somewhat entertaining and decently tough.

    The setting is really boring. Little sound, and nobody says anything. It's like walking through a hospital.

    Puzzle fans may enjoy this, but don't pay too much for it, especially for such a short game. $5 is about right.
    Expand
  18. Feb 16, 2012
    9
    This is nothing like Portal! It sickens me that people compare it to that just because it happens to be a first person puzzle game. There is no story whatsoever. Unless you felt that the rocket taking off when you "finished" Tetris is a story too... about how you were really building the launch pad for the rocket or something. That's about as much of a story as Q.U.B.E. has.
    It looks very
    This is nothing like Portal! It sickens me that people compare it to that just because it happens to be a first person puzzle game. There is no story whatsoever. Unless you felt that the rocket taking off when you "finished" Tetris is a story too... about how you were really building the launch pad for the rocket or something. That's about as much of a story as Q.U.B.E. has.
    It looks very good, has kept me busy for quite a number of hours and as such I feel is definitely worth its price.
    Expand
  19. Feb 6, 2012
    5
    Plusses: nice clean graphics and physics, fun to pick up for 20-30 minutes at a go and complete a level and a bit. Passes the time nicely with its ambient music. Minuses: Pretty simple, short, and for me, a couple of times I encountered an annoying bug of a block going straight through a red/yellow pedestal, which was frustrating. Lastly (similar to another comment), overall, you get thePlusses: nice clean graphics and physics, fun to pick up for 20-30 minutes at a go and complete a level and a bit. Passes the time nicely with its ambient music. Minuses: Pretty simple, short, and for me, a couple of times I encountered an annoying bug of a block going straight through a red/yellow pedestal, which was frustrating. Lastly (similar to another comment), overall, you get the feeling that it has some nice ideas, but lacking the out-of-the-box visual or puzzle imagination to make it a great game, hence no replay value. So 6/10, for being fun to play, and if you get it cheap enough, Expand
  20. Jan 11, 2012
    9
    A very good puzzle game indeed. Superficially there are some resemblances of this game to Portal series. However, the mechanics of this puzzle game is significantly different from that of Portal games. In this game you don't generate portals. Instead you are supposed to touch and to activate varous colored cubes which have different functions. You need to figure out the functions ofA very good puzzle game indeed. Superficially there are some resemblances of this game to Portal series. However, the mechanics of this puzzle game is significantly different from that of Portal games. In this game you don't generate portals. Instead you are supposed to touch and to activate varous colored cubes which have different functions. You need to figure out the functions of different color cubes and to find out the way to go forward by using these color cubes in appropriate combinations. Since the mechanics of this game is very different from that of Portal, you don't feel like repeating Portal games under different disguises at all. There is no story unlike Portal 2. This game is for pure logic puzzles. The game is available as both a steam version and a DRM-free version (Gamersgate). Expand
  21. Jan 24, 2012
    7
    The block puzzles were a lot of fun, because you were so actively involved, but as soon as there were ball puzzles it became a lot more passive. The beginning certainly hinted at a lot more than what was explored. Despite that, it does have good pace, and keeps introducing new concept, so if you're into your puzzles and not expecting much story this is a good game. Personally I got boredThe block puzzles were a lot of fun, because you were so actively involved, but as soon as there were ball puzzles it became a lot more passive. The beginning certainly hinted at a lot more than what was explored. Despite that, it does have good pace, and keeps introducing new concept, so if you're into your puzzles and not expecting much story this is a good game. Personally I got bored after a couple of hours, but they were a good couple of hours. Buy when it comes down in price would be my advice :). Expand
  22. Jan 7, 2012
    7
    Q.U.B.E is a very nice game that dares to take a step away from the original types of games. It can be put together with Portal and Portal 2 in their lonely category, but it is far from as good as those games. This game lacks story and personality. It's pretty much Portals "Manikin". It's like portal but more plain with no feelings. It's quite grey in it's game play. All and all it's a funQ.U.B.E is a very nice game that dares to take a step away from the original types of games. It can be put together with Portal and Portal 2 in their lonely category, but it is far from as good as those games. This game lacks story and personality. It's pretty much Portals "Manikin". It's like portal but more plain with no feelings. It's quite grey in it's game play. All and all it's a fun but short game, not to hard puzzles but worth it's small price tag for the content it provides. I hope this is a step towards more of these kind of games Expand
  23. May 27, 2012
    9
    This game was amazing and anyone who thinks they stole the concept from Portal has no clue. The only thing they may have copied from Portal was the fact that the whole game had white walls. Sure the game was short but it's a steam game, what do you expect. Portal was short too. You want to make sure you play this game with your colors on full blast otherwise it can kind of look dull. IThis game was amazing and anyone who thinks they stole the concept from Portal has no clue. The only thing they may have copied from Portal was the fact that the whole game had white walls. Sure the game was short but it's a steam game, what do you expect. Portal was short too. You want to make sure you play this game with your colors on full blast otherwise it can kind of look dull. I would have given this game a 10 but they didn't complete the game, you couldn't even get all the achievements. Aside from that the game was fun and more difficult than Portal. I'm sure everyone has different opinions but as a person who loves puzzle games I can tell you that this game is more enjoyable than Portal 1 and 2. Expand
  24. Jan 24, 2012
    4
    This is a very interesting puzzle game. I just beat it, and let me say, it HAD THE POTENTIAL to be as great as Portal or Portal 2. What held it back? Lack of story explanation. Some people would count that as a plus, but it makes you feel empty after you beat it. The game was very fun, but very nail rippingly difficult at times. Sometimes I knew EXACTLY how to solve a puzzle, but you haveThis is a very interesting puzzle game. I just beat it, and let me say, it HAD THE POTENTIAL to be as great as Portal or Portal 2. What held it back? Lack of story explanation. Some people would count that as a plus, but it makes you feel empty after you beat it. The game was very fun, but very nail rippingly difficult at times. Sometimes I knew EXACTLY how to solve a puzzle, but you have to be so PRECISE to solve it, it's ridiculous. I highly recommend it if you like any sort of mentally challenging puzzle game. Simple mechanics, complex challenges. Strange environment. Uh, what else.. Oh the music. Play your own, it gets very old very fast. Expand
  25. Jan 8, 2012
    9
    I love this game so much, incredible fun! Good puzzles, mechanics and much more. I hope they add extra content soon. Think we can have sequel with some kind of story, like Portal 2.
  26. Jan 16, 2012
    7
    It is impossible to review this game without comparing it to Portal(2) as its pretty much the same genre regarding rooms/areas to navigate through/out of before progressing to the next one. That said, obviously there is no portal gun, instead, you have some fancy gloves that are able to manipulate coloured blocks to reach the exit. different colours/blocks do different things and itsIt is impossible to review this game without comparing it to Portal(2) as its pretty much the same genre regarding rooms/areas to navigate through/out of before progressing to the next one. That said, obviously there is no portal gun, instead, you have some fancy gloves that are able to manipulate coloured blocks to reach the exit. different colours/blocks do different things and its really down to figuring out the correct order to activate them in. As a review, I must state the obvious, if you enjoyed portal you will enjoy this game - if you have not played portal you will enjoy this game if you like logic/environment puzzles. Certainly not the best game out there but a worthwhile addition to your catalogue and better than average. Expand
  27. Feb 23, 2012
    7
    An interesting play, especially when given no instructions - not even with the controls! The player has to discover everything themselves. The puzzles were intriguing and not too easy most of the time. However, the game felt quite a lot like a portal copy on some parts. There was no narration though, which is good in my opinion, since then it would have been TOO much of a copy.
    It was a
    An interesting play, especially when given no instructions - not even with the controls! The player has to discover everything themselves. The puzzles were intriguing and not too easy most of the time. However, the game felt quite a lot like a portal copy on some parts. There was no narration though, which is good in my opinion, since then it would have been TOO much of a copy.
    It was a generally good game and I would have hoped for it to last longer. Or then the pricing could have been a bit less.

    (There were some glitches with Steam achievements, but according to the new update they should be fixed by now.)
    Expand
  28. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    Great game. The bad reviews are just because its "copied" from portal. This game is amazing. Its fun and works great. Portal is boring while this keeps you playing. Sure it looks like portal but its fun, something that portal lacks. Seriously, one of my favorite games.
  29. Jan 16, 2012
    3
    Too short. Too simple. Stole a lot from Portal, but didn't have any of the intrigue or humor. $15 for 3 hours of bland gameplay? No thanks. If this was $10 cheaper, I'd give it a 5/10.
  30. Jan 24, 2012
    8
    Yes it may look familiar to portal but don't be fooled this games has alot of unique ideas and gameplay to help it stand out from the crowd, personally i think this could be the best indie I've played since minecraft.
  31. Jan 9, 2012
    7
    Best words to describe this game is "Portal without portals", but sadly, also without plot, characters or humor. On the other hand, the puzzles in this game are fun and diverse, so you won't have a chance to get bored of them, even more so the game is very short (only about 4 hours). Even though its quite simple most of the times, there is no real tutorial, nothing is explained, so youBest words to describe this game is "Portal without portals", but sadly, also without plot, characters or humor. On the other hand, the puzzles in this game are fun and diverse, so you won't have a chance to get bored of them, even more so the game is very short (only about 4 hours). Even though its quite simple most of the times, there is no real tutorial, nothing is explained, so you have to figure out everything yourself. Overall, a great game, worth giving it a try, but it just cries out loud for some kind of story and better replayability factor. Expand
  32. Feb 15, 2012
    5
    An interesting idea for a puzzle game. Very similar to Unholy but based on something else. The game is just an interesting idea, but if she had to compete with other games of this type (even ignoring portals) that this is not only a revolution of the arcade. If you actually bought a portal 1, 2, and many other good games is logical only if we join the game. My rating - 5/10
  33. Jan 15, 2012
    10
    This game makes for a fun and stimulating evening of puzzle solving.
    Very Similar to portal.

    I was very disappointed a few times when after trying to rethink the solution to a puzzle I realized I just needed to jiggle things around a bit.
    Also, why do you stop seeing the thing saying how far you are half way through the game?
  34. Apr 16, 2013
    4
    It's $10 for a 2-hour game. The fundamental flaw with this game is that the developers were simply scared to let players have any freedom to explore or experiment. Which is to say that the whole premise is flawed. A Portal wannabe, this game lacks any of Portal's fun, both in the sense that I really, truly missed GLaDoS making the game hilarious as well as giving the game any sort ofIt's $10 for a 2-hour game. The fundamental flaw with this game is that the developers were simply scared to let players have any freedom to explore or experiment. Which is to say that the whole premise is flawed. A Portal wannabe, this game lacks any of Portal's fun, both in the sense that I really, truly missed GLaDoS making the game hilarious as well as giving the game any sort of context for what happens, as well as in the sense that simply pushing and pulling blocks isn't nearly as fun as running through a perpetual portal tunnel.

    Even if Portal 1 constrained you to one solution just to teach you a new trick with the portal gun, you could still USE the portal gun wherever. The gloves in this game only do one specific thing on the handful of blocks specifically given to you in specific areas for you to accomplish your specified mandatory puzzle time.

    When all you have are two to five blocks to push or pull, and you know that EVERY one of those blocks will be used, all the puzzle solutions become obvious. Even a few red herring blocks would have been welcome. What the game could have really used, however, would have been freer-floating blocks, and puzzles that actually use the character's relative position in some interesting physics puzzles (like Portal did) so everything wasn't just so scripted.

    As a result, the developers seem to have quickly found out that they painted themselves into a corner, and couldn't keep coming up with new puzzles using the same block types, so they had to keep inventing new arbitrary block types or conditions. First you have color blocks you have to push with other blocks, then it's a ball. Then it's a ball on a slope with timed actions (annoying). Then you have to do everything all over again in the dark (REALLY annoying). Then some blue balls start wrecking the place for no reason (but you don't know if that's supposed to be good or bad for lack of plot). Then they start being suspiciously part of obviously pre-planned puzzles where they don't wreck things and move in set patterns to activate other blocks. Then magnet blocks. Then lasers and lenses. Then they forget the whole "blue balls wreck everything" concept entirely, and there's just rubble everywhere for no reason, even though everything still works. Then they super-charge your gloves at a Lego temple for some reason, and you can start changing the colors of different blocks (which would almost make you have to stop and think were it not for the fact that there are only 1 to 4 blocks you can change at a time, anyway, so there are still too few permutations to make puzzles challenging). Then the game ends in a completely unexpected, anti-climactic, and utterly confusing way because the game has no plot, and dumps you out to the menu screen because the devs couldn't think of anything more to do with their premise.

    It's funny to see a game so utterly linear seem so utterly aimless. It just leaves me with the feeling that the developers discovered how limiting their game's premise was too late, so they just kept throwing new things at you every 5 minutes hoping that they could milk another 2 or 3 puzzles out of it before you got bored.

    Plus the devs seem to spend an inordinate amount of time making you sit through cutscenes or walk in tunnels where the Lego structures jiggle in ways that cause them to clip through one another...

    What this game could have really stood to try to copy would be games like Trine or Fantastic Contraption, where you DON'T have just one arbitrary solution to the puzzle. Fantastic Contraption, especially, rewards coming up with clever new ways to use the same tiny handful of pieces in new ways to solve new problems, or even to just go back and solve the old puzzles in a new way. When you complete qube, which only took about 2 hours, you never really want to go back, because there's no reason to do so.
    Expand
  35. May 6, 2013
    5
    I've played this before it was called Portal, fun game i'm really into these first person puzzle games but all in all it was too similar to valve's portal and portal 2
  36. May 30, 2014
    9
    Initially I thought this was going to be a "poor man's" rip-off of Portal, but am pleasantly surprised to find it's a great game in itself. It has the same overall style (though not humor) as Portal, there is a plot but I won't spoil it here though. Many of the puzzles were great especially in the second half with coloured laser reflectors & electric cords. Requirements are quite low -Initially I thought this was going to be a "poor man's" rip-off of Portal, but am pleasantly surprised to find it's a great game in itself. It has the same overall style (though not humor) as Portal, there is a plot but I won't spoil it here though. Many of the puzzles were great especially in the second half with coloured laser reflectors & electric cords. Requirements are quite low - should run fine even on a low-end gaming PC. Physics are good (as they need to be in a physics based puzzle game!)

    Some "professional" reviewers sulking about the sterile non-photo-realistic textures - um, that's pretty much the point of the location! Likewise, this is an Indie title and judging it by AAA standards is just silly, especially given Portal itself is a derivative of "Narbacular Drop" (Google it to understand Portal's early development). Voice acting & music aren't bad - what do people expect a full 200-piece orchestra on every puzzle game?

    If you liked Portal, then this is definitely worth playing overall as a game in its own right.
    Expand
  37. May 31, 2012
    6
    Fun puzzle game, which isn't piss-easy, and probably the right level of challenge. You might say it's borrowing a little from portal, but portal didn't invent physics puzzles, and the gimmick isn't the same. Buy it on Steam when it's on sale (50% until 2nd June), and you'll easily get your money's worth. Don't get the ST if you're on a broadband limit - it's nearly 1GB
    (Originally 7, but
    Fun puzzle game, which isn't piss-easy, and probably the right level of challenge. You might say it's borrowing a little from portal, but portal didn't invent physics puzzles, and the gimmick isn't the same. Buy it on Steam when it's on sale (50% until 2nd June), and you'll easily get your money's worth. Don't get the ST if you're on a broadband limit - it's nearly 1GB
    (Originally 7, but changed because not being to save manually is really annoying, and I'm stuck on a puzzle, with the pressure of having to re-do the previous puzzles if I don't solve it. But it turns out it saved - it's a decent game, but 6 is probably more accurate.)
    Expand
  38. Mar 10, 2013
    6
    QUBE has all the makings of a great puzzle game, unfortunately all of the ideas within it are under-utilized. The difficulty spike hits fast and you quickly find yourself flying through levels to getting stalled for minutes on a single puzzle. The biggest problem with the game, like most puzzle games, is its length. I don't consider myself very good at puzzle games, yet i was through theQUBE has all the makings of a great puzzle game, unfortunately all of the ideas within it are under-utilized. The difficulty spike hits fast and you quickly find yourself flying through levels to getting stalled for minutes on a single puzzle. The biggest problem with the game, like most puzzle games, is its length. I don't consider myself very good at puzzle games, yet i was through the entire game without any outside assistance in just 3 hours. It also has a very evident Portal feel to it as in the later levels you walk through a destroyed facility from puzzle to puzzle much like portal. For the amount of content this game offers, you definitely would need to make a purchase when it is $2.50 or less. If this game had a 8-10 hour campaign, it would easily get a 8/10 instead of a 6. Expand
  39. Aug 20, 2013
    6
    q.u.b.e looks a lot like portal but it is nowhere near it it is so short not memorable at all and the puzzles some were good some dumb and some are just put there to frustrate you
  40. AWG
    Jun 23, 2013
    6
    My final vote for this game is the average vote between the two faces of it. On one side, you got a very interesting game with a lot of potential and cleverness, not to mention the intriguing visuals and gameplay.
    And that's a solid 8.
    On the other side you got many graphical glitches that are annoying at the least, but will quickly turn into the biggest source of frustrated rage when
    My final vote for this game is the average vote between the two faces of it. On one side, you got a very interesting game with a lot of potential and cleverness, not to mention the intriguing visuals and gameplay.
    And that's a solid 8.
    On the other side you got many graphical glitches that are annoying at the least, but will quickly turn into the biggest source of frustrated rage when they actually prevent the player to continue the game, and this happened way more often (at least 3 during the whole story) than it should be (zero). Disappearing cubes, invisible walls, important elements stuck forever...
    And that's a 5, that makes the average vote a 6.5.
    I rounded down my vote because of the DLC "Against the Clock", that I didn't like very much; the best part of this game was the fact thet you could go on at your own pace, looking around and thinking and stuff: a constant race against time doesn't apply very much to it.
    Expand
  41. Oct 4, 2017
    9
    Review for "Director's Cut" edition:

    Fun, simple and challenging. Although it heavily borrows from Portal it still shines with its own unique and clever puzzle designs. It's only fault is it ends just as you feel you're getting really good at the puzzles and fails to challenge you even more.
  42. Oct 16, 2016
    6
    Not good but still not bad either. Mostly nice puzzles but everything good ends there.

    Graphics are overly simplistic (especially the fact the whole game has almost no textures and runs on pure colors instead), soundtrack is kinda missing and the plot is, well, there's some kind of plot. But again, the game it's not bad, it's just a pity it wasn't pushed further, because very nice
    Not good but still not bad either. Mostly nice puzzles but everything good ends there.

    Graphics are overly simplistic (especially the fact the whole game has almost no textures and runs on pure colors instead), soundtrack is kinda missing and the plot is, well, there's some kind of plot.
    But again, the game it's not bad, it's just a pity it wasn't pushed further, because very nice ideas resulted in a shallow title.

    Probably recommended to first-person puzzle games lovers, but wait for discounts, it's ages behind Portals or the Talos Principle
    Expand
  43. Aug 9, 2014
    10
    This game was a lot of fun and really deserves more attention than it seems to have gotten. I've seen a lot of criticism heaped on it for its lack of story or lack of soundtrack, basically its minimalistic design, but I think people just compare it far, FAR too much to Portal.

    Here's the thing: You are a nameless, faceless figure with an inexplicable ability to control blocks in your
    This game was a lot of fun and really deserves more attention than it seems to have gotten. I've seen a lot of criticism heaped on it for its lack of story or lack of soundtrack, basically its minimalistic design, but I think people just compare it far, FAR too much to Portal.

    Here's the thing: You are a nameless, faceless figure with an inexplicable ability to control blocks in your environment. Everything is black and white, with the occasional splash of color to indicate a piece of the room you can interface with. Red for spots you can extend or retract, blue for spots that act as launchers, and so on.

    The puzzles are really quite clever and enjoyable, and the controls are simple. At no point did I feel like I didn't understand what I was doing or what I had to do; a bit of experimentation was needed to learn new mechanics as they appeared, but the minimalistic design and the simplicity of the mechanics you have to learn make your course very clear at all times. The game gives you all the pieces to solve the puzzle, you just have to figure out how they fit. It's perfect design in that respect, really.

    As for the lack of story or dialogue or anything else, I think that actually enhances the experience. It's a puzzle game, there's nothing else to it than that. There's very clearly something going on in this world you're suddenly thrust into, but it's never clear what. Leaving the player with a question as to who they are or what they're doing is good design, in my opinion. It lets them wonder and try to answer any unanswered questions, and really creates a memorable experience.

    Final recommendation? It's a great puzzle game. If you enjoy those, you'll like it. If you absolutely need story to explain why you're pushing blocks around, you'll be disappointed; but if you're willing to push blocks for the sake of it and test your cleverness for no reason than because you can, this is the perfect game for you.
    Expand
  44. Aug 3, 2020
    5
    Everything is fine, except it's too hard to play latest levels with gamepad, maybe almost impossible to complete the game
  45. Feb 12, 2020
    7
    I liked this game a lot but it was too short and some puzzles not so interesting.
  46. Aug 4, 2020
    8
    ‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. PC Master (Greece)
    Mar 1, 2012
    63
    The puzzles are truly brilliant, in both concept and execution. No disagreements here. But this core should have been dressed with a more tasteful wrapper to make the whole package more appealing. [February 2012]
  2. PC PowerPlay
    Mar 1, 2012
    60
    An enjoyable, finely crafted puzzler that's over far too soon. [March 2012, p.66]
  3. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 27, 2012
    80
    Absorbing logical game scores with its stylish visuals and brilliant puzzles. Pity there is no level editor to extend a pretty short life span. [Jan 2012]