Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
Buy On
  1. May 20, 2019
    90
    Since we took our first steps in Avalanche Studios' post-apocalypse, we have had a hard time putting the control aside. The combination of an open world, mutant freaks and super powers is too entertaining, actually far above our expectations. Along with the eminent control and the dynamic battles, it makes Rage 2 one of the year's most addictive titles to date.
  2. May 17, 2019
    90
    Rage 2 has some problems, but taken entirely as an FPS it’s probably my favourite game of the year so far. The open world needs a bit more personality, there needs to be more actual story missions, and you could drown in the amount of upgrade options there are - but none of that matters once you get into combat. I spent over 20 hours in Rage 2 and every moment was a blast, with constantly exciting shooting that rivals Doom for thrills. And I’ll be carrying on playing it after this review, too. If you’re looking for a 100-hour open-world game, look away. If you want an FPS, look no further.
  3. May 21, 2019
    85
    While it’s a bit slow to start, frontloaded with tutorials and exposition, and generally muddled at the outset, Rage 2 shapes up into an incredibly fun time and a natural evolution of a franchise I was worried Id had written off as a dead end.
  4. May 17, 2019
    85
    Rage 2 is an excellent shooter, and not much else. Want a complex story? Wrong address. Looking for an original, authentic world to explore - nope, not here. But if you want to shoot, shoot, and then shoot some more, be invincible and also crazy, then hop in - you're in for a ride.
  5. May 13, 2019
    85
    Rage 2 shines in its gunfights, driving sequences, and from the fun perks and upgrades that you can use. The open world is an invitation to exploration but still sometimes feels a bit empty.
  6. May 13, 2019
    83
    Rage 2 has been an immense improvement over its predecessor. And as someone who loved Avalanche's Mad Max, I can say it's very clear that id and Avalanche work well to create mayhem only they're capable of mastering. We may never get a sequel to Mad Max, but with Rage 2, we don't need it. It may not be perfect, but Rage 2 is a whole lot of fun, and I expect we'll be seeing more in this series for years to come. Or so I hope.
  7. May 13, 2019
    82
    RAGE 2 is a frantic, mad and satisfying FPS, with tons of possibilities to play and kill enemies and with a very rich endgame.
  8. May 16, 2019
    80
    It’s amazing how little Rage 2’s issues matter, because of how enjoyable the combat is. The slow start and uninspiring open world may damage the pace, but it’s a game that truly excels when you’re treading the line between being hopelessly outgunned and a super-powered Rambo.
  9. May 15, 2019
    80
    Although Rage 2 features top-notch close-quarters combat with a variety of enemies, it’s defined by its big boss battles define it. However, it doesn’t offer enough to maintain an entire open world game. The activities outside of shooting and story missions quickly grow stale, as does the world itself once you blaze a trail of destruction across it. While its glitches and issues aren’t enough to outright ruin the game, they happen frequently enough to be distracting.
  10. May 14, 2019
    80
    It would be easy to break this game down to its constituent elements. You drive, shoot, and soak up loot, slowly growing strong enough to rip the head off of an evil empire. Each piece holds satisfaction and joy that belies its base description, however. Combat in Rage 2 feels smooth as glass, with every gunfight playing to a violent rhythm. Travelling throughout the world is fast and engaging, with every pit stop bringing new wonders of varying quality. Even the stock-standard open world components have been polished to a vibrant sheen. While it hasn’t reinvented the wheel, Rage 2 still manages to deliver on every promise with ease. Among sandbox shooters, this game shines, crackles, and sparks.
  11. May 13, 2019
    80
    When the game isn’t getting in the way of what it really, truly wants to do, you’re high on your own reward and all the nuttier for it. You might even say you’re filled with a compelling sort of rage, too.
  12. May 13, 2019
    80
    Rage 2 is colorful, visceral and fun, thanks to the collaboration between id Software and Avalanche Studios. The story contains memorable characters, but the story itself knows no surprises and can be completed in nine hours.
  13. May 13, 2019
    80
    RAGE 2 is an honest game, a true ode to brainless action that doesn’t want or need to be perfect. Avalanche Studios and id Software have crafted a game that’s funny from the beginning to the end thanks to an awesome gameplay and an open world full of things to do.
  14. May 13, 2019
    80
    The collaboration between id Software and Avalanche Studios brought us a nice open-world first person shooter, despite a bunch of issues with the world building and a shallow plot.
  15. May 13, 2019
    80
    With its large open world and vast array of upgrades to earn, Rage 2 feels very much like an antidote for Far Cry fans who have overdosed on that particular style and want a new take on the large-scale shooter-RPG idea. Though Avalanche hasn’t quite figured out what makes a world feel alive and dynamic or how to make good use of its vehicles, it absolutely nails the moment-to-moment combat thanks to a Doom-inspired energetic pace that few shooters manage to pull off. Combined with a steady stream of great weapons, abilities, and upgrades, its firefights are constantly reinvigorated even as mission objectives become repetitive.
  16. May 13, 2019
    80
    In Rage 2, you move fast and kill faster. It's the synthesis between id Software's 2016 reboot of Doom and Avalanche Studios' Mad Max, bringing together some of the best ideas from both. Moment-to-moment play on foot is fantastic with each weapon and ability just opening up your options for destruction. Driving could be improved and it's a little on the shorter side, but Rage 2 is a damned good time.
  17. May 13, 2019
    80
    Rage 2 excels as an FPS for its agile gunplay mixed with killer skills. It is a pity that the open world, despite the effort to present different biomes, has so little to offer.
  18. May 13, 2019
    80
    I was pleasantly surprised with the shooter chimera that is Rage 2.
  19. May 13, 2019
    79
    RAGE 2 is a great shooter, but it is a step below other comebacks like Doom or Wolfenstein. Still, if you like shooters or open world games, you’ll have a good time with it.
  20. May 13, 2019
    77
    If you're looking for something to blow things up, using super powers and crazy weapons, then you're going to love Rage 2. Just don't look any further, because there's nothing more to see.
  21. May 13, 2019
    77
    Rage 2 is a pleasure to play if you like to shoot and destroy things, but don't ask for much more in terms of gameplay… you would be disappointed.
  22. May 24, 2019
    75
    I played almost all of last weekend, and just stopped playing an hour ago, and I have no specific memory of any of it. Some driving, some shooting. I can hardly recall the boss battles except the ones that stood out as awful. Come to think of it, beyond general feelings that I liked it, I have no memories of Rage 1 either. And that’s Rage 2 in a nutshell: good enough, not great, entirely forgettable.
  23. May 20, 2019
    75
    Rage 2 is a good time if you can look past its issues. On one side of the neon-pink fence, the game’s story is frustratingly generic amidst a world of potential. On the other side, the action, gunplay, and variety of things to do is great. Chaining special abilities together to take down mutants inhabiting the wasteland is immensely satisfying, especially when it involves hurling them into spinning blades on ‘Live TV’. In the end Rage 2 is fun for what it is, and certainly hits the right high-octane note when the action gets going. It’s just a shame it can’t carry that momentum through to the other cogs in the machine.
  24. May 17, 2019
    75
    Rage 2 is a super violent shooting game with a huge amount of blast, blood, and body pieces. Killing and torturing enemies is extremely exciting. However, the open-world of the game is hollow and full of flaws.
  25. May 14, 2019
    75
    Rage 2 could have been so much more. The gun action feels and looks awesome, but the world in which it all happens is just too flat and the story doesn't help either.
  26. May 14, 2019
    75
    Rage 2 isn't a revolution, but it's a well-executed open world shooter with satisfying core gameplay and big splashes of color.
  27. May 14, 2019
    75
    RAGE 2 is undoubtedly a fun game. It has all the adrenaline of a shooter from id Software. But its missions and open world structure do not consistently match its quality, ending up being a bit repetitive.
  28. May 13, 2019
    75
    Since Doom in 2016, no shooter has played so well for me and has motivated me so much to further develop my character's abilities and weapons. Here lies the greatest strength of Rage 2: lure me with skills that actually feel like an improvement...However, thanks to the monotonous missions and the empty open world, Rage 2 runs out of steam after only five to six hours of play.
  29. May 13, 2019
    75
    Rage 2 is an engaging game that's hindered by a number of annoyances. The open world is chock full of things to do, but it caters more to those who want to travel via vehicle over those who want to wander around on foot. The shooting is good until you realize that your hit feedback is either muted or absent, and the melee strength and range feel pitiful. The multiple currencies needed for the various upgrades and perks are an annoyance, but they aren't as bad as the plethora of bugs that pop up to ruin good gaming moments. If the latter is fixed via patching, then the game will end up being a big improvement over the first title, but it's still not the masterpiece that most id games are known for being. For now, Rage 2 is worth checking out if it's on sale instead of at full price.
  30. May 13, 2019
    75
    Rage 2 is a frenetic, brutal and satisfying shooter, but it is too easy to complete and it lacks content. At least the game made by id Software and Avalanche is still an enjoyable experience.
  31. May 13, 2019
    75
    RAGE 2 delivers an absolutely stunning shooter experience, with nice weapons and powers to unlock, but it's also really short for an open world game, way too easy at medium difficulty and not so fun when it comes time to drive across the map.
  32. May 14, 2019
    70
    Rage 2 offers a pretty standard open world, but adds formidable shooting action, an awesome upgrade system and entertaining extra skills to it. It's fun to be a super-soldier, though not as exorbitant as we hoped it would be.
  33. May 14, 2019
    70
    Some of the best first-person shooting on PC, but the rest of the game struggles to keep up with it.
  34. May 13, 2019
    70
    Rage 2 delivers incredible action at a ridiculous pace which makes it easily one of the best FPS experiences I've had in years. Sadly the rest of the game falls flat in comparison, with uninspired open world design, clunky driving and a shallow story that can be finished in just a couple of hours.
  35. May 13, 2019
    70
    The pace of id and Avalanche’s FPS is neutered by a dull open world and thin story but, in an unbridled whirlwind of gruesome gibs, you probably won’t care.
  36. May 13, 2019
    70
    For all of its attempts at garish glitter, Rage 2 is a muted, cliché, and uninspiring experience that's propped up by spectacular shooting and neverending battles that sometimes live up to the promise of a carnival of carnage.
  37. May 17, 2019
    65
    Rage 2 might retain the signature and utterly satisfying shooting of id games, but it cannot overcome the significant repetition of its "map cleaning" structure marred by a startlingly limited number of main missions.
  38. May 13, 2019
    65
    With Rage 2, Id Sofware and Avalanche combines their expertise to create a FPS in an open world with exciting but repetitive fights. If the superpowers and weapons unlocked in the Arches allow you to have fun for a few hours, the big lack of stakes changes everything. You can count about ten main missions, mixed with mandatory micro-objectives, before seeing the end of the adventure, i.e. 6 to 8 hours in one go. It is possible to complete all the secondary objectives of the map in order to gain more power, but without any real goal to achieve. What's the point then?
  39. May 13, 2019
    65
    Rage 2 takes Doom-like gunplay and puts in just another dull open world game that doesn’t do anything particularly memorable.
  40. May 24, 2019
    60
    The shooter core is as healthy as can be, but everything surrounding it is seriously lacking. The open world is empty, the artificial intelligence is stupid, the content tends to be reused. The only element that really works is the action.
  41. Rage 2 could be amazing, but it fails on wrong game design, short story and lack of character.
  42. May 14, 2019
    60
    Rage 2 suffers the same fate as many other open-world games. It tries to lure the player in with the size of its world, then needs to conjure an abundance of content to fill it. But, when you mix up every colour, you always end up with brown, and the impact of Rage 2’s scintillating shooter action is dulled as a result.
  43. May 13, 2019
    60
    The action is mostly exhilerating, but the open world is a rather strangely lifeless barebones experience - except for the ressources, that you find in an inflationary abundance.
  44. May 13, 2019
    60
    Rage 2 has a fun core gameplay loop, but everything around it falls flat on its face.
  45. May 13, 2019
    60
    The wild, exceptional combat of Rage 2 contends with some of the genre's greats, but it's disappointing that the game's world squanders its potential.
  46. May 13, 2019
    50
    As much as I wanted Rage 2 to work, it just doesn’t deliver the best that it could from the two top-notch studios working on it. Right now, I can’t rightfully recommend picking it up at full price, as I just don’t feel there’s enough content here to warrant what they’re asking.
  47. May 13, 2019
    50
    Rage 2's brilliant shooting fails to make up for its shortcomings everywhere else. Because even though there's fun to be had in the Wasteland, the shooting fails to keep me wanting more after not too many hours of gameplay. And when that happens, the lackluster story, the shallow characters and the repetitive mission systems all reveal what a bland experience this really is.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. May 13, 2019
    Artistically, it's uninspired. But mechanically, it's one of the best shooters I've played in years.
  2. May 14, 2019
    The playground is very real in this game. You're meant to have more toys to mess with than the story's length can realistically justify. That feels like the whole point. Rage 2 left me wanting in the best way, and I can't wait to see what's next.
  3. May 14, 2019
    I hoped for better. I’m still plugging away at it, and I’m not willing to slap a score onto Rage 2 this early. That said, it’s not doing much for me at this point in time. I’ve found myself wanting to reinstall Doom and replay that instead. It’ll take half the time, and I think I’d probably have twice as much fun.
  4. May 14, 2019
    Rage 2 is enjoyable as long as I make the effort to do very simple things in the silliest ways possible, and game’s many systems reward this style of play more by their quality than by any extrinsic payoff. There is creativity and joy hidden here. You just have to find it beneath the pile of ideas pulled from a thousand other games.
  5. The parts I like far outweigh the parts I don’t. I’ve got my weirdo NPCs, my Ark hunting, my Whoopinkoffs and Dimbledicks. I’ve found every Ark, now, but I still plan on gambolling between side activities. I still want to explore, even though I wish I was exploring a world that had been less generically destroyed. Most of all, I want to do more super-powered fighting. I might not even bother swapping from that rifle.
  6. May 16, 2019
    Rage 2 is a game that knows what it is and what it wants to do, and it does that particular thing very well. There’s a bit of fluff padding out the experience, but the core of the game is solid. Really, though, Rage 2 does something very rare: it offers an experience you’ve already seen plenty of times, but makes it fun regardless.
  7. May 13, 2019
    The interplay between the AI, your abilities, the physics of the world, and your guns is some of the best I’ve seen, and I never thought I would be saying anything like that about a sequel to Brown Shooter: Apocalypse. There’s much more to this than its kooky, pink-hued marketing campaign. If you sleep on it, you’re sleeping on one of the best – if not the best – single-player FPS games of this generation.
  8. May 13, 2019
    Some of what’s wrong in Rage 2 feels like compromised implementation of fundamentally good ideas, but I think its fatal flaw is that it’s a game obsessed with feeling fun rather than trusting any of its ideas to be fun.
User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 456 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. May 14, 2019
    3
    Good gunplay and lot of upgade buffs

    BUT

    BAD story
    Bad characters
    Bad voice acting
    Bad empty world
    Boring overall
  2. May 14, 2019
    1
    Typical bugthesda game. To be honest the shooter mechanics are great, but the rest is awefull. Empty open world, boring characters, zero and ITypical bugthesda game. To be honest the shooter mechanics are great, but the rest is awefull. Empty open world, boring characters, zero and I mean ZERO story.
    For 10-15 h campaign it is not worth 60-70 $/€. Days gone is a ton more fun than this game and has no microtransactions
    Full Review »
  3. May 14, 2019
    4
    Would not recommend unless on sale.

    Its a decent game but its not worth of its current price tag. Contents start to run dry and become
    Would not recommend unless on sale.

    Its a decent game but its not worth of its current price tag.

    Contents start to run dry and become repetitive after awhile. But the gun play is good and dynamic.
    Full Review »